Mumbai Immigration
by dominic on Dec 20, 2006 10:17 AM   Permalink | Hide replies

Vijay and Vaishali should leave immigration officers alone as they have done their duty scrupulously. It is the family's fault that they did not bring the visas; may be the green cards in the first place encouraged them to roughshod over the indian officials. But with green cards now available a dime a dozen, they should realise that it no longer holds any charm for the immigration officials. As far as inhumane treatment meted out to them goes, they should philosophically reflect and look back on how they spend their time in USA, where even tougher discrimination is meted out to brown skin! Bravo officers, keep up the good work!

  RE:Mumbai Immigration
by Ajit on Dec 21, 2006 12:23 AM   Permalink
Dear Dominic,

Are you really serious?
or are you that much hurt by not being yourself in US, that you don't even have left with any common sense and compassion?
It does not matter who is wrong or right here.
It also does not matter if browns get any different treatment in US (No Actually they don't- but that is subjective experience). We are Indians, we have most ancient culture, and we are best. We should live up to those standards.

Also if green cards are dozen a dime, then go try to get yourself one and send me a few too.
The only thing matters is that those kids had to suffer when there was a legal solution available to the situation.
I am not even expecting anybody to bend the rules, but just give full benefit of laws and regulations to every human. and especially the to definite innocents - the children.

-
Ajit Kale

by Rajkumar on Dec 21, 2006 03:02 AM   Permalink
I am not surprised the way you people suffered. I have a very horrible experience about my journey to India. When I was landed in Mumbai air port for the first time from USA they didn't stamp my passport at the entry. The custom officer came to me and asked about the materials in my bag. Since I am a J1 VISA holder I have a legal permit to carry new items of 300$ I have shown them the receipt of all the possession they took it from me and trash it and asked me, now prove the worth of my goods and asked for money and took my passport. While coming back I was with my wife and my wife took another flight to London. When I am about to board a plane they told me you can't go to USA because your passport is not stamped while you landed last time and took my passport. Though I was angry both the time and feeling flustered about my country I didn't have any other options looking at the determined afford by the customs to extract money from me. Just few dollars prove both the time one will able to carry any items to India and can fly without a stamp for entry or exit. I think you have refused to give them some $$ thats the reason for your misery. God may save India

by Srinivas on Dec 20, 2006 08:43 PM   Permalink
I strongly disagree with the author of this post. Basically we Indians always don't respect ourselves in the same manner as we respect the western citizens of the world and we are still slaves at the hands of gora skin. I agree that it was a mistake to forget the Visa's of the children, but that's not the way you treat your fellow country men especially the parents are still Indian Citizens.

If the officials want to deport, then they should have deported the Frenchman too. Why this discrimination and we should not forget that no matter where we are are, We Indians are always Indians in body and soul.

by dilip on Dec 20, 2006 04:52 PM   Permalink
I strongly disagree with the tone of this letter. Agreed that the parents overlooked the requirement of the Visa and hence were basically wrong. However, the description of the incident brings out that the Immigration officers did not behave in courteous and sympathatic manner. It appears,as is typical of any government officials,they were indifferent. Also, what is strange is that there is an appropriate authority at the Airport who has the descretion to grant a temporary Visa but in this incident, benefit of using this descretion was denied to the children.
I only hope that this will convince the gentleman to apply for and obtain US citizenship A.s.a.p.

by Senthil on Dec 20, 2006 08:57 PM   Permalink
Sure, the parents made a mistake of not bringing the visas. So if the situation was a little different that the parents lost the travel documents on the way do you think it should be treated the same way. Losing travel documents happen quite a lot. Leaving the race card aside, I think the best course of action should have been that the officers had given time to the family to get the documents faxed to them or they should have been able to find the children's detail in the computers. The attitude of the immigration oficers clearly show that they dont care to help. What is the hurry to deport them immediately, they could have kept the family in the airport until the next day (for the next air france flight). It's a shame that the airport officials and the air france officials didnt even attempt to show basic courtesy.

by Prakash on Dec 21, 2006 03:13 AM   Permalink
I don't find this shocking. I want to ask Mr. George Joseph if the same thing had happened in USofA would he have complained??? And more importantly, there is no proof that the French National was granted VISA under questionable circumstances.

And forgetting your VISA when you are on an international trip is utmost stupid. Please do not blame the immigration officials at Mumbai. They are doing a pretty good job. If you had gotten through with a temporary VISA you would have objected that in India everything runs on corruption and its easy to pass through even Immigration and Customs.

I don't think any action needs to be taken against the Immigration officials. Rather a complaint must be filed against Mr. George Joseph on charges of racial discrimination. Its a shame that being in America he's talking about racial discrimination in India.

by nilesh on Dec 21, 2006 06:31 AM   Permalink
Hey Dominic, I wish the same experience to you and then you will understand the agony and pain and helplessness people feel in such situations. I have gone through a similar experience (not as bad) with the IT officers. But, believe me, these officials are not completely sold out. I was lucky that my Dad had contacts with people who could wrestle the IT officer to grant me a clearance certificate. With 2 kids and almost 24 hours of travel, you should not be a big mouth trying to side with the officers on the Airport. They should have given them a fair chance and knowing the family, they have been travelling to India quite often. Dominic, Wish you a similar experience in the near future...

by Tejash on Dec 20, 2006 10:44 PM   Permalink
Two Things:
1. I can understand that it might have been one of the worst 2-3 days of their life.

2. The biggest culprit of the suffering were the parents. How can they forget the visas. When it comes to India, everyone takes it for granted. Same people would have checked 10 times before they left home if they were travelling back to the US.

Just take this as an example and be prepared next time.

by Rajneesh Kumar on Dec 21, 2006 01:42 AM   Permalink
Hi Dominic!
I am sure you have never ever travelled by air. If at all you did, not with kids or for more than 2 hours. You do not have any idea what does air travel for 24 or more hours can do to you. Both the parents had valid visas and also the kids had their passports. They could always be granted transit visas and their relatives waiting anxiously for them could have given surity for them I am sure. The point here is not that they are Americans, a fact which you either hate or are jealous of, but the point is why double standards for two cases with same conditions. Point is how can you run such an important dept without any decision making authority? Point is are we still slaves to the white skinned? while it is rules that the officials followed with a zeal for US based Indians, the same officials bent backwards to accomodate the French tourist. How can you justify the behaviour of the officials by comparing it with the behaviour of their USA counterparts. The issue here is of compassion and discrimination. If you have problems with Americans close all the call centers, tech and other USA companies to invest and operate in India. We will see very soon what happens

by shubnam on Dec 21, 2006 02:10 AM   Permalink
Shame on you Mr.Dominic. I guess you either dont have sense or havent read the complete article. How can a French national be eligible for atransit visa and nota an america of India origin??????????
Are you out of your mind??????
I feeeeelll sorry for you. This is the problem with Indians. We are a confused lot without souls. Cant see a fellow indian smile and be happy. I guess I race will take another 50 years to cleanze up!!1 emmmmm. Better be careful than be at the mercy of these maniacs!!!

by Ashok on Dec 20, 2006 09:34 PM   Permalink
I strongly disagee with the person who disagrees. It is clearly the parents irresponsibility. The indian government does not have to give them temporary visa. If he has forgotten visa for one kid then you can understand. If both the kids dont have it - and if I were an immigration officer I would not have done a bit differently. I dont know which country takes a photocopy or fax of a visa document - Give me a break man!!!

Ashok

Feeling ashamed of being Indian
by Sandeep on Dec 21, 2006 12:24 AM   Permalink
Be rest assured that you are not the only Indian who feel ashamed to call themselves Indians, there are millions out there including me who have same feeling. This type of incident only reinforce that our feeling are not misplaced. I can only sympathies with you and do nothing else. Government babudom culture has spawned their roots so deep that even if our best prime minister decides to do something about it, he cant do anything. My blood boils more when I think that I am giving my 30% salary to feed these monsters. It seems all the development stops in their desk. You should feel fortunate that your suffering came to end after 22 hours, for some these sufferings lasted 22 years. Now you could understand, why an innocent guy picks up gun and become naxalite. I still couldnt understand what kind of national threat a 10 yrs old kid could pose, if he had been given 2 hours transit visa.Be proud that you are atleast part of a nation saving movement called "Quit India movement". If everybody of us leaves this country then they won't have anybody to harass and change themselves.

by Priyanka on Dec 21, 2006 04:05 AM   Permalink
Dominic, I think you are one of those idiots who live with a false sense of naitionhood and patriotism. If the immigration officers are so honest, then how come they allowed an entry for the French national. I think we Indians have an obsession for white skin and perhaps we are the biggest racist in the world. Pick up the matrimonial section of a newspaper and you won't need any further proof... And for god sake stop justifying these officials' actions, by telling them that it is nothing compared to the racial discrimination meted to them in US. I have been living in US for 6 years now and have never seen or faced racial discrimination here.

by MJ on Dec 20, 2006 07:40 PM   Permalink
I too strongly disagree with the tone of the letter. I am an NRI and have so far never faced any descrimination due to the color of my skin in US. If a similar incident had occured in US, I am sure the authorities would have made us wait at the airport lounge till the necessary paperwork was faxed. But I also agree the parents were a bit irresponsible for overlooking the most basic thing about their children's travel.

Mumbai immigration deports kids
by labrea on Dec 20, 2006 08:31 PM   Permalink
Welcome to "Stinking India, The Land of Dung"! Yessir, even in their own land they're treated as 2nd class by their own arrogant, imperious and uncaring babus who fall all over themselves to please the white-skinned firangs - "shining" examples of the filth that passes for Indian babudom. Betcha he's incensed at the kids having US passports and are punishing the parents by deporting the kids - pure petty vindictiveness. Of courde, there are always two sides to a story.

by wizard on Dec 21, 2006 11:18 PM   Permalink
This is a perfect example 'How common man in India can not progress'. Because he pulls other people's leg in the same basket. Mr. Vijay although NRI is one of Indian like millions other who do not have political contacts. Everyone knows here, if Vr. Vijay knew any politician, there would be no news. One phone call from a minister would make Mr. Grover carrying his luggage. I have seen this with my own eyes on Airport. Politicians, their contacts, sportsmen, Businessmen when arrive, are taken from a side channel where they don't even check their passport. Mr. Vijay got into bad scenario because of his mistake. But he is an Indian citizen like you and me. Its up to us to support him when he is treated inhumane. All who say that officers were doing job, are foolishly assuming they will never be against the corrupt and dumb system. The system we want here is not a machine but human that is intelligent and kind for its own people. A heavy fine for Mr. Vijay would be a win-win for all.
All these people comparing India to US should understand that if a US citizen is stranded on US airport, US would have given them transit Visa. This is happened before for an American who claimed that he

by SAMEER BHOSALE on Dec 21, 2006 01:09 PM   Permalink
Shut up Dominic! have you read the report carefully? While the Immigration Officials grant two days transit visa to a French national,cann't they do so for our very own Indians that too for such small children? Mr dominic,you are not God.You must know that to err is human.The parents have admitted their mistake in not bringing the visas of their children.But the cruel officers had not sympathy with the family which had travelled for 24 hours and wanted some more time to receive fax of the documents.This is real disgrace! The Home Minister of India should take note of this as thousands of anti- national Banladeshis & Pakistanis are happily staying in India withot any proper documents and carrying their destructive activities with a motive to destroy our country but these senseless Immigration Officials stick to the rules when small children of Indian origin were begging for temporary visa.I share their feelings that it is real bad luck that we are born in such a country where constitution is being time and again amended to enact the discriminatory laws based on religion,castes & gender always favouring one against another and where Banladeshis and Pakistanis roam freely.

by Hari Prakash Dwivedi on Dec 21, 2006 01:55 AM   Permalink
Story ended with hue and cry without the aftermath. Man by nature is egoist without feeling guilty of his act whether right and wrong.But we needed to make comment only after having solved equations with the right formulas and anwer. Problem is whether permit to land? Variable is without Visa. Formula is without Visa entry is not allowed? Now any of aware human mind including both childrens affected with the drama can solve the puzzle. So,our conclusion include there is enough evidence that parents are responsible for the episode occured.

Now question is same problem will replicate its answer in each situation. I think absolutely no,type of variable may affect the solution and even formula to solve the problem will change with the some added conditions to variable.Now before solving any problem we usually peruse available literature including the same problems and their conclusions. This ease us to solve the repeated problem if occuring again.

conclusion;
(1)Does Defence Minister of every country require same security checkup to enter white house?
(2)If some innocent girls are raped by some powerful guys, being a very erotic gal what will be ur treatment to those boys?

by Prasanna on Dec 21, 2006 01:35 AM   Permalink
Immigration department has done a good job. Why do they have to show mercy? What if one Indian forgets his US visa papers and landed in Bosten or Paris Airport. Do they show mercy?

by Don on Dec 21, 2006 03:23 AM   Permalink
Dude, I am sure you don't have kids. Talk all you can until you have and then you would have a little more empathy for the poor family.

- Don

by Manu on Dec 21, 2006 02:31 AM   Permalink
Forget the officials,they are still living in the babu culture you should be ashamed to have posted comments like this, even after seeing how old the kids are.

by Manish on Dec 21, 2006 06:40 AM   Permalink
Please read the article first. Family was Not trying to smuggle their kids into India.

They applied & paid for the correct visas & PIO cards in tens of thousands of rupees.

It was just a matter of officials extending standard professional help to a family who by mistake misplaced travel documents pertaining to their 3 & 7 year old sons.

If a French national was granted 2 day transit visa on the spot, why deport 2 small NRI kids.

Specially since the family was ready to bear further penalty by paying for additional transit visas & in the meanwhile get friends to send the correct documents across.

Infact correct document copies reached within minutes of kicking the family out of India.

So real reasons for this incident are :
[1] Officials are envious of well paid young professionals & jump at such opportunities to showoff power & teach a lesson to others who earn more than them. In legal earnings : )

[2] Government officials are uncouth & believe India never gained independence, the British merely transferred powers to them in 1947.

[3] Finally after signing one transit visa the ACP felt he had earned his monthly salary & went home. He will return in January.

by AtomicDesi on Dec 21, 2006 03:08 AM   Permalink
Spoken like a true idiot with no sense of logic or analysis. What the hell has anything got to do with "Green cards holding charm over immigration officials"?? What kind of moronic statement IS that?

As far as "inhumane treatment of brown skin"...REALLY Einstein?? You think?? I have been in the US for 14 years and live like any other US citizen...but again, what does that have to do with THIS case anyhow?

Even if that (inhumane treatment of browns) WERE true, does that then justify inhumane treatment of people who are originally from your own country?? And what about the transit visa granted to the French national?? You didn't mention that, did you, you puny-brained rat??

But what can possibly justify sending two kids back and not giving their parents the chance to prove their case??

Ass!

AtomicDesi

Bravo!!!! :Mumbai Immigration
by Abhishek on Dec 20, 2006 08:12 PM   Permalink
In fact, mumbai immigration has acted in an impartial and non racist manner. Should the two kids have been allowed in just because they had brown skin? That would have been real racism. The parents forgot to bring the visas; the immigration officers acted in accordance with the law. And I hope the parents are aware of what would have happened if the two children had been Indian citizens and had arrived in the US without a visa.

by Sree on Dec 20, 2006 05:18 PM   Permalink
What ever discrimination one faces in US or outside India, I bet the treatment given to Children would not have been as ridiculous as the one done in this incident. One can understand treating Adults with strict rules and deporting them from which ever country, but ill treating Children of Indian parents when they had valid proof of their identity and needed just a few hours to prove it cannot be justified.

by shree on Dec 21, 2006 01:32 AM   Permalink
You seem to hate NRIs. I hope your children get into this as well. The Officers should be considering that this matter involves Indian children and act accordingly.
May be Mr. Grover was not given a hand under table that infuriated his anger.

by Das on Dec 20, 2006 08:25 PM   Permalink
Hahaha, You seem to be a frustuated guy, how many time did you fail to get a usa visa.

by sudhagilroy on Dec 21, 2006 04:15 AM   Permalink
I am totally disgusted by this reader's reply. He must be either a friend or a relative of that immigration officer. As a mother I feel the parents' pain. What bothered me most was this reader's reply praising immigration officer's action. If he was doing his job, then why did he favour the French man? India wants to be the next superpower but she has a long way to go!!

by Arijit on Dec 21, 2006 01:17 PM   Permalink
hi, i congratulate the immigartion team for conducting their job intelligently. I do not know how the parents remembered to bring their own visa while forgetting that of their sons(both of them) who are US citizens. I really doubt that they actually have one. I feel they tried to bully the immigartion team showing their green card status into accepting that they forgot to bring their visa. While for that of the French, considering he was alone, it can be justified that he forgot to bring it.

Further I see the letter describes how they cried and how their sons felt which does not add to their reasoning but is an attempt to draw sympathy. I know how the immigartion team functions and how they are trained to deal with such false claims.

Thanks,
Arijit.

by Arun on Dec 21, 2006 03:18 AM   Permalink
green cards - dime a dozen... i'll give you a dollar... can you get me some...

by Srini on Dec 20, 2006 08:46 PM   Permalink
I agree with Dilip and condemn the comments of dominic. It is not sensible to compare the discrimination of whites against browns with browns against browns. Is not there anything like nationality? Dont you think your fellow Indians or People of Indian Origin in other countries as your brother/sisters? I have observed this type of treatment even in US, desis wont treat desis as good as they treat whites? Why is that so? Come on we are all Indians and we must be united and help each other in hitch.

I feel pity for Vijay and Vaishali and hope they will never ever have such bitter experience in their future trips to India.

Be Indians, Help Indians.

Hamara Bharath Mahan Hai.......

by Indian on Dec 21, 2006 12:41 AM   Permalink
Surprised to see your response. Are you a sadist or just woke up on the wrong side of the bed?

Looks like making the kids travel back another 24 hours made you happy. I only hope your/your kids wont face a situation like this.

by Pradeep Dhuper on Dec 20, 2006 08:35 PM   Permalink
Dear Mr Diminic,
Shame on you for your immature mentality. I agree there was mistake on their part for not bringing proper papers for kids but you should understand that they themselves had all papers and kids had their American passports with them. There is provision of "Visa on Arrival" for American citizens (presumably any skin color) and that could have been used for minors. But this Immigration Officer, who is either from a reserved catagory or has paid heavy bribe to get this posting, wants to show his might by harassing others. I don't understand how he could go home and look into eyes of his own kids. This piece of shit must be removed from job immediately.

by Ram on Dec 20, 2006 08:40 PM   Permalink
I strongly support Mumbai Immigration officer. If they have courage to come to India with out Visa, why they didnt try with USA on them first visit or any visit to USA?

While they are in US they use to sought at India for not implementing the rules and regulation on its people. If they started impose the same on them then they will sought on India/Indians. What is this?

I congratulate the Indian Immigration officers for them stub-born action.

My Dear Green Card holder why don\\\'t you try the same with USA immigration and share you experience in the same column!

If the USA allows any foreigner with out visa into them nation I will save off my head.

An
NRI who live in USA

by Pradipta on Dec 20, 2006 10:52 PM   Permalink
Dominic, I understand your frustration of not being able to set foot in the USA. You maintain the outer veil of not caring about USA but deep inside you are on frustrated soul. I pity you.

by priyadarshi on Dec 20, 2006 06:52 PM   Permalink
welcome to India...lol .. anyway its not mumbai airport..delhi airport is the same...i faced problems at both airport during my last 2 visits to India . Both the time I had valid documents and those immigration officials were behaving nasty with me and gave me such a hard time getting out of airport after I landed. Fortunately I have spent my entire life in India , so I knew how to tackle them..be nice , be polite and blah blah...But I think immigration point should be clean and with full of curteous people willing to help you out , but I believe its just another government department where no one cares of responsibilities they hold ... poor immigrants ...if they didnt have families in india , probably they would never even come back to India...never... I love India to death..this doesnt change anything..i love people there...I hate goverment and politicians there who are making our country a garbage ...

by Sri on Dec 21, 2006 07:17 AM   Permalink
I feel bad for Vijay and Vaishali though I guess you guys cannot blame as you haven't done your part.It's Still Developing India!! things are changing now and will take time to be effective..I would say Be Indian and do something about it so that things would change in future...

by Lalitha Davuluri on Dec 21, 2006 03:06 AM   Permalink
Dear Mr. Dominic,

I am shocked by the way you have appreciated the immigration officials and this has only made me conclude that you are probably one of those heartless officers. We all do agree the fact that the children did not have appropriate visas, but all efforts were being made by their parents to bring in those documents, can't the officers(you)see that. How can you even talk about racism in other countries when we are selves are favouring the whites. And didn't Mr. Vijay mention that the French guy was given a favourable treatment probably for (I guess few Euros) he must have promised the corrupt officials. I wonder if you ever know a word called "SLIME"(that's self loathing Indian mentality). That pretty much describes you and other such corrupt and ruthless officers.

Lalitha Davuluri
Boston, USA

by V on Dec 21, 2006 05:13 AM   Permalink
Dominic, I don't know how you can laud the behavior of the immigration officials. Ok, I understand the point that the travellers had been ingorant and forgot their visas. But don't you think that one rule should apply to all? Where is the justice in allotting a visa to the French gentleman who also forgot to file his paperwork, and mercilessly punishing these 2 children? What wrong did the poor children do? Why hold them responsible? I don't know if you have kids of your own, because if you did, you would know what a nasty ordeal it is for kids that age to travel 20 plus hours, and then have to do the whole thing over again, 2 hours later. It's simply ridiculous and cold. I am not saying the same thing would not happen in America. Sure it would. But one rule would apply to all. And if you are at the end of the day going to make an exception to the rule, at least side with 2 innocent children, who are being made to suffer because of their parents' ignorance.

RE:Inhumane act -- Mumbai Immigration
by Nagesh on Dec 20, 2006 08:48 PM   Permalink
Brother we share your pain . But don't expect anything better from the likes of immigration, custom official or government official in India. They are more likely to send a smuggler through the backdoor for money than be considerate people with genuine concerns. Many indian people living in the US has their own awful story to tell.

by Kadwa Sach on Dec 20, 2006 09:35 PM   Permalink
First i was shocked by the behavoiur of the immigration officials in the article and now I am shocked by such a comment. Dude, from your comments "green cards a dime a dozen" and "go back to white skin land", I see complex in you against someone with green card. Why did you always want to go to White skin land and failed? Agreed that they do not need to be treated specially but then they need to be treated as everyone else - humanely!

Instead of leaving the officials alone, I will tell you the real reason... They must have offended the officials somehow, Foe Ex - either by not paying bribe OR by offering bribe to an honest official(extinct species) OR saying do you know whom I know OR unfortunately being common people not knowing a "great" indian politician and such! The problem with this article is that it tells only one side of the story. If they had doen some investigation and interviewed the officials as well. Maybe we would understand the situation better.

They are 3-6 year old kids of "Indian" parents who have visited before, not security threats. For god's sake there is something called as "judgement".

by Vijay P on Dec 21, 2006 02:12 AM   Permalink
The original poster is an idiot and must have never set a foot outside India to make such tall claims. Basically India is a nation of arrogant fools.

by Utkarsh Dave on Dec 21, 2006 03:04 PM   Permalink
Shocking!!!!
I m with Vijay on this occasion but not surprised at all.
They should have waited for FAX atleast.

by swati on Dec 20, 2006 10:06 PM   Permalink
If you appreciate them doing their duty why did they not do it with the French man then ..explain that Dominic...
Whats the partiality??

by Al on Dec 21, 2006 08:20 AM   Permalink
Wait a minute.. why the assumption that Vijay and his wife were rough on Officers, even if they did - given a long ride and small kids etc. - I don't think we should attach it to Green Card. Actually - they were going back to their home... the fact they came with their kids - we as India should have worked to provide a pleasent experience for India's grand kids..

As far as discrimation is concerned, India has 50 times more than here. I have seen how blue collar workers are treated in India. Even executives are highly discriminatory. Our sheer caste system say a lot about it.. In this case, our Indian officers had a chance to show them their mother country will welcome them - especailly the second generation Indian kids born in US...

by shashi_mang on Dec 20, 2006 07:44 PM   Permalink
To understand how the Indian officials treat their citizens one have to go to Indian embassy in Malaysia. The Indians who work in unskilled jobs are treated very shabbily wben they visit. If the Indian Government and its machinery does not respect their citizens you cannot expect the world to repect the Indians.

to Domnic::RE:Mumbai Immigration
by sandhya pochiraju on Dec 21, 2006 01:34 AM   Permalink
Its a shame that you think in this manner and praise the inhuman behaviour of the immigration officials. What under the sun makes you think that if one has green card then he should be treated badly at airports in India?
By the way they allowed the french national!!!
Discrimination happens in India on the basis on caste/religion etc. I have lived in US for the last 4 years and never faced it here.

by Giri on Dec 21, 2006 12:13 AM   Permalink
First of all I want to congratulate to Mumbai Immigration for deporting the NRI kids .
I support them because .....

1.Its not Immigration fault. Its your fault mainly because you did not bother to get visa papers for them .This is the truth !!!

2. When one goes to any country ,Immigration checks valid documents and after they convince they allow.
How can you take so lightly even after you did not bring documents with you. Are you in 11th cloud and of the impression that your kids are US citizens and does not require VISA.Tell that French idiot to shut his mouth and mind his business.

3. Now ,I really am ashamed of you being an Indian. Because you will defenitely one day,you will sell your motherland one day and become a US citizen,This is the truth and mark my word.This incident will be a reason in taking US citizenship.

You know how US is so strict and you do not say anything because you have acceoted it.I remember how many hurdles people take for entering in US on H1 and Students.We are not given visas immdiately a,After several attempts we get visa.

Do not make your motherland feel guilty.If you made a mistake ,accept it.

by ashok on Dec 20, 2006 10:57 PM   Permalink
what if the same treatment is meted out in US. should they commit suicide or what??
simply the attitude of a loser. just another excuse.

by Salil on Dec 21, 2006 05:42 AM   Permalink
In reply to Mr. dominic: your point of view is very narrow minded and shameful. Sorry to say that but I will love to see you in the same situation ;)

by AS on Dec 21, 2006 07:54 AM   Permalink
They should've atleast given them Transit Visa, I had a similar prob in japan, I and my son are American citizens, my wife has Indian passport and we forgot to take Japanese Visa on our visit, we apologised but they were very courteous and gave us 2 day's transit, in the mean time we got our documents and everything ready, so I can't see why you cannot grant temp stay visas to your own citizens' children, I guess its just envy to NRI's that Indians have and this guy here is a strong example, " a dime a dozen" :) hah!, I'm sure this guy is craving for green card and has never got it, so comes all the envy . I've never had problems travelling anywhere in the world beacuse of my US passport but I'm on my nerves when I'm in India and unfortunately I was born in India.

by Vedant on Dec 20, 2006 09:40 PM   Permalink
I think the Indian officials did a fantastic job. If two indian kids with american citizen parents landed at boston without US visas in their passport- what would the US officials do?

Mumbai immigration deports kids!