Raj the neta, is doing what muslim leaders do. They tell them, 'our Islaam is in danger'. Same Raj, Our marathi culture is being destroyed. Its not true. Who is stopping you from following your tradition, speaking marathi among yourself. But why should u force outsider to speak your language. India is free nation ruled by constitution or neta ? I think Raj is big hit among marathi for only one reason, I will get you job reservation based on marathi. Easy, isn't it. But think, can pvt company survive if it give jobs to local and not based on merit. Also jobs in mumbai is created by indians (Not marathi/bihari) Then why not it should go to all meritorious indians. Now the crowding problem ? Yes i agree its big problem in Maharashtra now. Govt, pvt, NGO all should join hand to control the growth of slums, hawkers on street. Then auotmatically more crowd wont come. But Raj is only intersted in his vote bank. Just like Lallo/Mayavati.
Muslims and christians are terrorists because they believe in killing humans as sacrifices. Almost all of them believe in it even if all of them don't take part in it.
Christians are also more cunning because they like to do it secretly so the world would not think of them as violent people, even though christians are the most violent people.
Some times they do it in the name of other religions so the people of other religions would look like violent people.
Sonia gandhi is an evil christian, who now a days is urging the christians with hindu names to take a leading role in urging the low caste hindus to kill upper caste hindus.
She is promising them forgiveness if any gets caught.
She wants the world to think of hindus as old fashioned violent people who fight on the basis of caste.
And she wants every one to think of herself as a modern forgiving christian.
For proof go to myspace.com/rakesh22 and/or myspace.com/vidhu2.
A law must be passed to enforce an upper limit for the number of personnel selected from each state in the Indian Union. This is required as the Central Govt Services like IAS/IPS should have a pan-India representation and therefore should carry people from all states in proportion to their population. This would be an ideal step towards national integration
A couple of days back Sagarika Ghose, anchor for CNN IBN TV channel presented a program 'Bangalore vs Karnataka' on the upcoming Karnataka elections. Siddaramaih in an interview openly said in the program that locals MUST be preferred for jobs even for skilled IT PRIVATE SECTOR JOBS. JD(U) party announced that it would implement 30% reservation (not mere preference) for local Kannadigas in skilled jobs in Karnataka. Every single party in Karnataka endorses such views.
This is even a step further than what Raj Thackeray says. What's wrong then if Raj speaks out for the local people?
RE:Nothing wrong with what Raj Thackeray is saying!
by varun on May 06, 2008 10:08 AM Permalink
Nothing wrong actually! but he must not drag outsiders in his every speech..no one stopped him from speaking abt betterment of marathis!
by milind sabnis on May 06, 2008 10:43 AM Permalink
It is the outsiders who are stealing jobs from locals by wage undercutting (even for unskilled manual labor), use of unfair means like labor contractors sourcing only UP/Bihar migrants. What about the quest for political power by outsiders in Maharashtra with UP/Bihari politician forming huge vote-banks with the outsiders? eg. Attempt to make Hindi the national language in BMC (a local govt body). Therefore, by implication, if outsiders move out, this will only be for the betterment of Marathis. This is simple logic.
RE:RE:Nothing wrong with what Raj Thackeray is saying!
by KALYAN MITRA on May 06, 2008 10:14 AM Permalink
Milind - I can agree with you to some extent..yes locals should get some preference and it has to be done across all state but why to hate people...why to hit poor auto driver...thats my question...
I feel we can short out any issue with discussion and in a cool way...after all we are Indian and everyone has the right to work anywhere in India. We have many Marathi people working in Bihar/Jharkhand, it is no issue with us.
We need to respect and love each other instead of hurting and dividing the society in the name of region,religion,caste etc. To became a strong nation, we need unity.
by Sameer Nikam on May 08, 2008 10:29 AM Permalink
Dear Kalyan Mitra, If our Government is strict on outsiders entry then we need not to hit or hate outsiders. I agree we all are Indians but you dont know KAYDA, read it first, understand & then say "everyone has the right to work ....."
Everybody respects and love each other instead of hurting and dividing the society in the name of region,religion,caste but upto certain extend. Even if your neighbor is not giving the building maintenance, you will ask him for that because its a rule. Read KAYDA/RULES THEN GIVE STATEMENTS..
by Rex Indian on May 11, 2008 10:20 PM Permalink
hi I also agree with you guys,but see the reason behind it. 1.I keep on reading all the comments especially written by North Indians, they never talk about the politicians those are coming from UP and Bhihar creating problems here in maharashtra.. 2. why nobody talks about similar developement in northern states. 3. if someone is ready to work on half the salary who is already expecting further growth would create problems in economy as well as standards of living. 4. Yes, we should go everywhere this is our country but we should respect the culture and prevalent standard of that soil. if this is not happening then you can see such chaos. 5. I feel all north indians should take this as positive note and assist the UP and Bihar to put on the maps of india as number one states. 6. I admire north indians are smart, hardworking but what is wrong with their own home state? i am confused ...
by milind sabnis on May 06, 2008 10:33 AM Permalink
This "poor" auto/taxi driver you say is a politically active person attending political rallies of UP/Bihari politicians in lakhs! Come to Mumbai, where auto taxi permits have been frozen since 1997 yet the number of taxis autos are increasing fast. How? These poor auto taxi drivers copy a single existing legal permit 8-10 times and drive 10 different taxis on that single permit.
This "poor" migrant knows very well that political power is the easiest route to the legalisation of illegal activities like encroaching on public lands through slums, illegal hawking/vending on streets, illegal plying of 15-20 year old taxis on forged permits etc.
by Ajeet on May 06, 2008 11:04 AM Permalink
Mr Milind, so do you mean to say that only North Indians are doing this and no other Marathi men is involved in this kind of activity. Are they all so patriotic that they dont do anything illegal in there state. Give me a break...as far as I know Maharshtra especially mumbai politicians comes under the most corrupt state...thas why even being apple of the eye of the government only politicians od maharashtra are becoming millionaires and all your people are still poor. I agreed this is the situation everywhere but no till this extent ...there is not this much disparity. Why doesnt thackeray speaks about farmer suicide in vidhrabha ...is it becasue of north Indians....I think the ONly mistake of Norht Indias is that instead of doing suicide he creates a fake taki permit and drives it and and helps his falmily which I think you people dont want you want him to go the same fate as the others farmers doing. North has always been a agriculture based ecomnomy and we know that how much government cares about farmers and agriculture now. So wht should he do should he commit suicide or try to survive in this world. It doesnt matter how much you try industrues will not come to these sates because these are far away from rich consumer base and offer no advantage and anyways they will always face opposition in converting a fertile land used for industry.
by Ashish Kanekar on May 06, 2008 11:13 AM Permalink
Oh wait a minute... that is not the whole deal.
The FARMER suicides are not affecting your damn UP/Bihar. You UP/Bihar will do nothing about it so shut up about it.
Rampant population growth over already saturated situation in UP/Bihar is cause of the overflow. The political power comes from the overpopulation and the poverty too!
Industries not coming there is not causing you people to have lots and lots of children. Sheer irresponsibility.
They look at a Maharashtra - a responsible state among the nations lowest population growth and UP/Bihar starts thinking, let me try to move there and try to take over a great state with access to high seas, lot of rainfall, lot of catchment area, lot of good roads, lot of electricity etc.
We are not naive and we don't excuse you committing crimes because our farmers are committing suicide. Enough of your crocodile tears for Marathi farmers.If anybody helps them it will be Maharashtra.
Re: RE:RE:Nothing wrong with what Raj Thackeray is saying!
by Guest on May 29, 2009 08:21 PM Permalink
To KALYAN;
Well We have no problem with the people working in Maharashtra, But what about large number of people are coming from UP and Bihar. They work in 1/4 of salary what maharashtran takes, It not only create problem but under vacancy. Also most of vacancies in railways were taken by UP and Biharies.Some of them even have ability to work and dont deserve job. whatever this should be stop and The first preference should be given to people from that state
Police can not do anything to Raj unless there is political will and proper grounds.
If he has sown that poison seed amongst the masses & if his statements are responsible for "migration of people from Maharashtra", then it should be construed as grave offence.
These are things one can not & should not ignore. If people are forced out of their homes with all their belongings then it amounts "ethnic cleansing" even though in softer terms.
Instead of arresting him, his party MNS should be banned for the upcoming elections & the ban should continue unless his take on North Indians changes.
No, I am not against any Maharashtrians & neither am I supporting Lalu or Amarsingh. What Raj is doing is harming the Mahrashtrian pride, big-heartedness & the very culture of tolerance which has prospered that state into current position. His myopic view is hurting Maharashtra more than anybody else.
Its time the GOI & CEC crack the whip before these type of things start elsewhere in the country. Its matter of shame for India in general & Mumbai in particular.
RE:Why should you arrest Raj ?
by milind sabnis on May 06, 2008 10:14 AM Permalink
Dear John,
You are exteremely one-sided in your analysis.
You are blaming only Raj, why are you not blaming Amar Singh, Mulayam Singh, Lalu Yadav who are cultivating huge vote-banks in Maharashtra? They are trying to grab power through unmitigated migration from UP/Bihar. Look at Abu Azmi saying he will get 20,000 from Azamgarh UP to fight against Marathis. Hindi-bhashis do not learn the local language do not assimilate with the local culture, on the other hand try to impose Hindi and their culture on locals instead.
The worst part, migrants from UP/Bihar are extremely politically active as they are well aware that the political route is the key to the regularisation of their illegal activities viz. encroaching slums on public lands, illegal hawking on streets, plying 9-10 taxis/autos with a single permit forget 10 times, bribing to get rationcards/ voter ids etc.
You have not spoken about the labor contractor system which provide labor to industries in Maharashtra. They are only sourcing bihari/up laborers. Why? because they work for lower wages, If lower wages is the only criteria for industries to be set up in Maharashtra, they can as well go to Bihar/UP.
Here's one more example of the quest for political power by Hindi-bhashis in Maharashtra. They are trying to make Hindi as the official language in BMC (a local govt body). This is an extremely aggrogant move, which is unprecedented, unheard of in any non-Hindi speaking state of this country.
by Ashish Kanekar on May 06, 2008 11:01 AM Permalink
Point is Milind the industries take help of MIDC, water from Maharashtra state, electricity from Maharashtra state and then give us lectures about labor. As you said appropriately, if the cost is such a big factor move your damn industries to Bihar/UP - it will be even cheaper there.
Another point is this Kohinoor Mills plot for Rajsaheb Thackeray.... Nobody talks about lands that the parsis for example have from Brit India days in Maharashtra. Brits were very liberal in handing out land to whoever hassled them less. One Maharashtrian gets some land in Mumbai and everyone from Jaya Bachchan down has their hackles raised about it.
by John Corniche on May 06, 2008 11:38 AM Permalink
Milind,
I agree to most of the points you have raised.
We all know Abu Azmi's background & how he runs his politics. There is a definite need to counter his politics.
Second, I agree with you regarding North Indians flexing their political muscle in Mumbai. They ought to assimilate into the local culture. (Problem with Mumbai has been it was always osmo & Hindi always had upper hand over Marathi).
Third, the taxi permits & labour contractors should be brought certain legislation and local people should be protected. The onus here is on Maharashtrain politicians who has stand their ground & protect the interests.
And finally, even though Hindi is spoken widely in Mumbai, it should never be official language inside BMC or any other govt organisation.
But Milind, all said & done I still feel the route to this could have been different. We can not just kick-out fellow Indians while we are happy with lakhs of illegeal Bangladeshis inside Mumbai (who are a real security threat).
Yes,what Mumbai police say appears correct>This time Raj proves very restrained and balanced in his talk.Prima facie,there are no derogatory or abusive words.There is discernible change in his tone and tenor for good .Let him maintain it.
India and it cultural/linguistic woes and its rivers.I have been blogging for sometime regarding this.
The current fast changes in the national politics are a result of globalization, international trade and individual states aspiration to deal with foreign countries on their own terms because each region has legitimate need to be represented and respected with their own culture and/or language, when they are outside country.
Indians have been within India for a long time so there was an unsaid understanding between the indians about who is who. With more and more indians going outside to foreign countries there is an growing need amongst indians about expression of their unique heritage and form relationship with other nations based on that unique heritage. And Indians generally fight with other indians about culture and language and indulge in dirty politics with each other when they are outside.
Now as more and more remittances are foreign trade getting into india, no state wants to bear the financial burden of another state.
As we all know that trade and work go together. And working together means communicating together first, Hindi was that medium of communication thus far as indians were mostly with in india, that was the understanding.
With more and more indians going abroad and money coming from outside the country because of each states international trade / work relation, most of the indians dont feel the need to do their communication in hindi, and computeri
RE:CAN INDIA GET POLITICAL REORGANIZATION .. IN CHANGING TIMES?
by JaiHanumaan on May 06, 2008 08:12 AM Permalink
Indian secular UNION should be REORGANIZED in to A FEDERATION OF 5-8 nations states and reformed into a federation having common national military as well as state military.
We give foreigners a very poor and confused impression about india and keep fighting with eachother when we go outside india.
If we reorganize we can have a clear sense of national cultural identities with some common cultural background. The current state police/business/and adminstrative structures of current states can be used to form the new nation states to form common tax base. This will give clear national identities to each group in an administrative mess caled india, where every body thinks the other state is taking advantage of me.
Upper north India:- Punjab, haryana, Kashmir,and I think rajasthan should also be part of it, but it gets counted in nothern india.. i dont know why.
There is north india Hindi speaking regions :- UP, Bihar, MP .. Rajasthan, but rajasthan should be struck out of this arrangement.. as vasundhara raje herself said rajasthan is not part of BIMARU states.
West India :- Maharashtra, Gujrat
East India :- Starting from bengal, assam, and 7 sister states of india.
South India :- Four states of karnatak, tamilnadu, kerala, andhra pradesh.
by JaiHanumaan on May 06, 2008 08:22 AM Permalink
SOME MORE PIOINTS ------------------
*Every Citizen SHOULD START TO PAY TAXES, STATE, NATIONAL. *There should be one national army. *Every Indian should have 2 identities cards. 1)Indian Passport 2)State/(future country) issued State ID. *ENGLISH be made national language for interstate communication. *New nation States can work out arrangements with other states for trade and taxation purposes and to control flow of people. * IT BE MADE MANDATORY TO LEARN THE LALNGUAGE OF THE STATE OR ENGLISH IF PPL CHOOSE TO SETTLE IN OTHER STATES i.e, After a period of 5 years of stay in another state they should be issued a new state ID card.
*Amritsar or chandighar could be capital of proposed Upper North Indian States. *Delhi could be capital of north indian states. *Bombay can be capital of the west india states. *Calcutta can be capital of east indian states. *And south india can choose a capital for itself.
National Capital of the proposed INDIAN FEDERATION federation can be voted by the proposed indepedendent nation states. It could be any where in the country based on the votes. It could be DELHI only if people so decide, IT Could be BOMBAY or even CHENNAI OR BANGALORE.Based on peoples will.
The future power structure in new delhi will represet the interest of north indian states. Not all of INDIA.
Maharashtra can also have consulates from various countries. And the INDIAN FEDERATION CAPITAL NEED NOT BE DELHI. It can be anywhere in the country based on how people vote.
RE:RE:CAN INDIA GET POLITICAL REORGANIZATION .. IN CHANGING TIMES?
by Ashish Kanekar on May 06, 2008 10:42 AM Permalink
I have replied to you before....
The people who have power in India namely UP/Bihar due to their excessive breeding would never agree to divest themselves of power.
Something like what you say can happen only after a struggle. Why would the likes of Maya/Lalu/Mulayam agree to this deal?
by nitish kumar gupta on May 06, 2008 02:05 PM Permalink
Dear Mr. Kanekar,
There was one time when Mr. Bala Thakare raised slogan against south indians specially for people of Karnataka, Now most of Marathi IT intelectuals are licking at Bangalore. Now his relative Mr. Raj Thakare has raised slogan against UP & Bihar. Things are changing fast, beleive me most of Marathi farmers must be getting ready to lick the UP & Bihar.
by Jay Sinha on May 06, 2008 10:24 AM Permalink
what r u doing in rediff discussion...the kind of talent u have u should join politics
by JaiHanumaan on May 06, 2008 08:18 AM Permalink
They should be made independent countries. And then they should have economic cooperation and treaties between them. That will be much better than an indian union as it stands today. There are three leves of resource sharing:-
1) Water 2) Minerals 3) Food
For water sharing arrangement:- --------------------------------- South indians shares the river system which has origin in maharashtra. south indian rivers, so they could form a soft union of their own to.
Similarly punjab sares their rivers with pakistan. they should make a loose federation of upper north indian states to manage their affairs with pakistan.
Maharashtra and gujrat has some common culture so they can make a happy social setup in a separate soft union.
East indian states have brahmaputa river and culturally close to bengal they shoul make a separate political identity.
As far as MINERAL resource sharing is concerned, ------------------------------------------------ there should be a separate cross national (ie various future state countries) comission to manage that. That commission will belong to the future indian federation.
Food sharing arrangement can stay as it is with central authority for controlling prices nationally.
by JaiHanumaan on May 06, 2008 08:10 AM Permalink
..Contd
computerization is enhancing this trend because all the computers and their systems are in english.
Now Indian ppl. face this delimma, of dealing with outside world and/or representing their economic interest /culture(which is tied to language)/ representing their nation.
This delimma is causing a lot of upheavel and heartburnign amongst states and how do they comunicate with each other and how do they align there state interest(read states people prosperity) with national interest and cultural indentities.
This gets reflected in the office politics aswell where ppl get their paychecks. Indians are very bitter about eachothers regional/cultural identities and dont want to be dominated/led by another.
To solve this delimma we need an urgent solution ourselves, lest this further spirals out of control. Here are some thoughts to this end :-
Why do riot, mass violance starts ? It does not start just like that. First people get abusive, insulting conversation. Then arugments, feel threat with particular community. It keep building up up and one day ... boooom. That way Raj has been creating crime ever since he made his party. His intention is not to control crowd in mumbai, or help marathi get better job. If it was he would be developing better system, for this. Wont be spreading poison between outsiders and marathi in mumbai which is almost 50-50%. He is causing real damage to mumbai and our futur looks red. Lets pray for our Mumbai and india.
RE:Violance does not mean only damaging physically.
by Ashish Kanekar on May 06, 2008 06:21 AM Permalink
Why does mass migration start?
Why are some states like Bihar/UP so so overpopulated? Why is their population still growing?
Why is Maharashtra with a low population growth being punished for being responsible? Irresponsible states are being rewarded by everyone supporting them and asking Maharashtra to accomodate the irresponsibility? It makes these people's mouth water at the thought of taking over Maharashtra, its access to the high seas, its great rainfall catch areas in the Sahyadris, its large network of roads and the nations highest statewide electricity network. They envy what Maharashtra is for the Marathi people, they want to take it for themselves.
I agree this may end with horror - but we Marathis will pray for Maharashtra.
by Pradip Parekh on May 06, 2008 07:26 AM Permalink
as long as urdu rules north, the people there will have the infamous islamic attitude of taking over other peoples' possessions. i am sorry the truth must be told. to recivilize themselves, the north needs to revert back to sankritic culture so they can relate to the rest of india appropriately.
by Ashish Kanekar on May 06, 2008 10:49 AM Permalink
Interesting... I never looked at it from that angle but you have a point. Man do you have a point!!!!! Thanks.