Total 394 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Why forcing languages is wrong?
by Kumar on Feb 22, 2008 04:19 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Suppose an IT professional with kids works in Bangalore for 2 years. You will force the kid to learn Kannada. Next the IT person changes job and moves to Hyderabad for next 3 years, then you will force his kid to learn Telgu. Then he moves to Mumbai and Calcutta, so you will force the kid to learn Marathi and Bengali. When he moves to Delhi and Tamil Nadu next you expect him to learn Hindi and Tamil. This whole idea is a joke. How dare does anyone torture a poor kid? If people love their respective languages,they should go ahead and teach those languages to their OWN kids. How dare they force this on OTHER'S kids? This sounds like facism to me.

RE:Why forcing languages is wrong?
by ThoondilKaaran on Feb 22, 2008 04:54 AM  Permalink
are you expecting the whole population to spend time and learn a particular language because a few people are moving around?

by D S on Feb 22, 2008 04:59 AM  Permalink
We expect them to be controlled by language politics to make CHAOS, volatility AND CONFUSION in their life guided by their pious politicians who have reserved seat for them in heaven based on language

RE:RE:Why forcing languages is wrong?
by Kumar on Feb 22, 2008 04:59 AM  Permalink
No what I am asking is that we don't demand that every time a person passes through a city he learn the language and culture of that place. Knowing the national culture and one national language be it English or Tamil or Hindi should be fine. Also, the number of people moving around is increasing day by day. So don't assume it's only a few people. Why this mentality that if it doesn't hurt me but hurts the 'other', it's fine by me? This is a non-compassionate behavior and is not a sign of a civilized society.

by ThoondilKaaran on Feb 22, 2008 05:06 AM  Permalink
If a person moves from their home state (say TN) to other state (say Andra), it is the responsibility of TN guy to get assimilated in Andra in whatever way he could. The TN guy should not expect a Andra guy to know Tamil language. it is not a civilized expectation...

if you move out of your state, do it in our own risk...

by Kumar on Feb 22, 2008 04:44 AM  Permalink
First they started hating based on religion, then it moved to region and language, next it will move to caste, then to sub-caste. Welcome to the great Indian civil war drama that took a short break under the British rule.

by Roger Binny on Feb 22, 2008 04:41 AM  Permalink
Kumar,,,simple solution to this problem ,,,don't be a Gypsy and wonder around. Stability in life is important. If you can't stay at one job and do it right then, there must be something wrong. Is this your case? Or you are generalizing? You need to learn about facism. Listen India is a linguistic nation, these problems will be there wherever you go.Instead blaming the local populas you should ask what can I do to stay in my state to provide me what I need to survive. Secondly Marathis are not favored by all the International and multinational companies as a destination of business. It is the choice they have and they make Maharashtra as a prime location. We Marathis don't mind if some company opens a center in Patna or Lucknow or anywhere in India. It's upto businesses, not to us. So all this Marathi bashing needs to stop and you guys need to look at where is the real problem. Even if that doesnot happen things will not be normal in Marathi Mumbai and Maharashtra. There is no turning back. There will be a blacklash.

by Kumar on Feb 22, 2008 04:50 AM  Permalink
I am generalizing to prove a point.
Since this is confusing you guys, I will simplify the problem. Let's assume a person's father works in Bangalore for 5 years and he is force to learn Kannada in School. Then because of job loss or a company transfer his father moves to say Calcutta, now you are forcing a poor kid to learn a brand new language. This kid for all that matters would probably migrate to US and would need neither Kannda not Bengali. Think of a kid who is in the ninth class and has to appear for the board examination next year and you force him to learn a brand new language from scratch. This is going to effectively spoil his education. Why steal a chance at better life from a poor kid merely to satisfy the language ego of non-compassionate people.

by jay b on Feb 22, 2008 04:50 AM  Permalink
The above is nothing but arrogance of a certain percentage of people of a state which has prospered because of Mumbai and all the people allover india who have directly or indirectly contributed to its development. Now most of the maharashtra is developed (except vidharba) because of mumbai. For ex Pune,Pimpri chinchwad,baramati,nashik,... would never have developed for the same reason.

What the people of mumbai (leave rest of india) have got in return is quite obvious when you visit mumbai.

by CMat on Feb 22, 2008 05:11 AM  Permalink
Kumar forget teaching language, teach ur kid to respect local people, local culture. Thats what will make him/her PROGRESS ..by any chance ur kid learn attitude of Bihari, or UPs ..its going to be questionable otherwise

by D S on Feb 22, 2008 04:45 AM  Permalink
Kumar, if you read the comments, people don't understand your analogy. So many consultants from south and west live in different cities of USA like CHicago, NY, Boston...but they all speak English. Same is true for China. But they won't understand your logic. THEY WANT CHAOS, volatility AND CONFUSION BECAUSE this is what their politicians have trained them into for vote politics.

by Kumar on Feb 22, 2008 04:55 AM  Permalink
D S thank you for bringing this in prespective. I still remeber when in school my teacher used to LIE and claim in USA people need a passport to move from one state to another. When I came here I realized there is simply one national language here, English, so that people bond based on values and don't support crooks based on their narrow language bias.

by Pyare Mohan on Feb 22, 2008 04:36 AM  Permalink
kumar settle down some place. if u change a dozen jobs in such short time u r messing ur kids future urself. why r u worried for ur kids future anyway? he will come to Mumbai work on the docks and do zat puja

by Kumar on Feb 22, 2008 04:44 AM  Permalink
You sir are a facist!

by Sicilian on Feb 22, 2008 04:46 AM  Permalink
So anyone who does not agree with you is a facist ?? hehehe

by Kumar on Feb 22, 2008 04:50 AM  Permalink
No everyone who doesn't agree with YOU is a facist since you are the one forcing language and not me. hehe.

Hindi
by Drive A McLaren on Feb 22, 2008 04:00 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hindi should be made the National Language across the country. North, South, East or West. Regional languages should be second to Hindi. Thats how my school was set up. If we do not have a National Language we might as well split the entire country up based on Language.

RE:Hindi
by Pyare Mohan on Feb 22, 2008 04:28 AM  Permalink
yes lets have a national language. agreed. but why hindi?

by D S on Feb 22, 2008 04:32 AM  Permalink
Who care about language superiority. We need chaos and confusion. Language politics gives it so state level people's sentiments can be abused for votes.

by ThoondilKaaran on Feb 22, 2008 04:21 AM  Permalink
Why should Hindi be the national language first of all? what value does it have?

by D S on Feb 22, 2008 04:23 AM  Permalink
I come to conclusion, it should be CHinese the ancient language and they have more will to kill than North Indians or for that matter English who were successful with their divide and rule policy.

Russians did not different

by D S on Feb 22, 2008 04:02 AM  Permalink
How much have smaller Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri-Lanka developed??? Not to forget what happened to Tibet!!! Maharastra cannot defend itself on it's own, no way. Neither could Tibet. Pakistan will have a field day here.
It is all on sacrifices of North and our patience.

by Sicilian on Feb 22, 2008 04:09 AM  Permalink
That is absolutely foolish, separate out rest of India and see the power of Maharashtra then !!
Marathi Bandu ani Bhagini!!
Do not let the northies prosper in your state, North is full of rapes, women oppression, caste system , sati , corruption , scandles, Do not let them even come closer , drive them out....
Jai Hind (excluding north indians)

by D S on Feb 22, 2008 04:11 AM  Permalink
North is whatever but chinese, sri-lankans and Pakis will not be that compassionate for you

by Sicilian on Feb 22, 2008 04:14 AM  Permalink
Neither we will be for them !!! Dont worry about us , take care of yourself, we have history of driving out the mongols (with all the northies supporting them !!)

RE:RE:Hindi
by D S on Feb 22, 2008 04:16 AM  Permalink
You did not, the rajput salvaged you and Shivaji...also Moghuls went all the way to south to establish their Tipu Sultan Empire right under your nose

RE:RE:Hindi
by D S on Feb 22, 2008 04:18 AM  Permalink
You can't take care of yourself, one Ghauri Missile from Pakis and it will end your excitement.
Thanks to the Marathi Home Minister and his North Indian support. Not to forget Marathi President of India.

by D S on Feb 22, 2008 04:35 AM  Permalink
poli'tics' will make many traitors and they change colors when their hand is hard pressed.
They want choas and trouble all around as their politicians want, they want no peace in South and West of India.

RE:RE:Ek aur Marathi Banmanoos bola..
by D S on Feb 22, 2008 03:59 AM  Permalink 

You are shielded right now by Sardarji and his confidant Shivraj patil and ofcourse the President. But that is all our patience. That is why TADA is not applied to Ship Sena and MNS who should be declared terrorist organizations by now.
How long we will tolerate this politics?

The Reality
by on Feb 22, 2008 03:49 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

What is happing in Mumbai and other south Indians cities especially in Bangalore, large numbers of North Indian people are settling down and they show utter disrespect to local language and culture, instead they try to impose their language and culture on local people, this is totally unacceptable. There are lots of incidents where gangs of migrant people abusing locals and insulting women folks as per media reports. Show me how many incidents of Maharastrians and Kannadigs involving in any anti social activities in North India? There is a fundamental difference North Indians with rest of the country. Please refer to recent statement by Lt.Governer of New Delhi.

Lets talk about Lalu and other UP politicians, they are the real culprits for mass migration from Bihar and UP states into southern states. These corrupt and criminal politicians ruined both the states and causing socio and economical problems for rest of the county. If these politicians from UP and Bihar are not contained, they will create a situation which leads to civil war. I dont blame Thackeray as much I blame North Indian corrupt and criminal politicians.

After all, states were created to preserve local language and cultures.

RE:The Reality
by Anil C on Feb 22, 2008 04:20 AM  Permalink
have you heard about the rape of the the women from north east by the local people.
people from delhi clain that the women from northeast dont have honour etc...
who are they to decide who has honour or not.
live peacefully and let others live others live the same way. First of all people should have the ability to accomadate and adjust. that solves a lot of problems.
if you say people behave rudely or pass lewd comments at women, then they should be taken to task. obviously you cannot generalize all the people from the state to be like that.
what you need is effective policing not moral judges.

by D S on Feb 22, 2008 04:26 AM  Permalink
Not all northies or delhites are the same either.

by D S on Feb 22, 2008 03:54 AM  Permalink
If we north indian did not allow the industrial-science complex in south such as BARC, ISRO, HAL, .... The south and west would be totally different. The base allowed things to grow bigger. It is due to our security and blood that you are having free ride.
THIS WILL CHANGE and you will bring this change against yourself, not us.

by on Feb 22, 2008 03:58 AM  Permalink
So you are saying, Only North Indians decide the fate of India? rest of the country is at your mercy? Come on wake up. Today UP and Bihar are burden on the nation,economically,socially and pose big threat to Indias security and unity.

RE:RE:The Reality
by D S on Feb 22, 2008 04:07 AM  Permalink
Nope, they are idiots who did not kill Chacha Nehru before he let the bad things grow against them. Have military rule maybe until things were good for all Indians i.e forcefully distribute things equally!!!

by SUNTV on Feb 22, 2008 03:53 AM  Permalink
This is NOT REALITY. What you're saying is utter nonsense

by D S on Feb 22, 2008 03:57 AM  Permalink
We gave and let Idiot Nehru, BJP and others from North Give away.
I know it is difficult to ask some returns when we go to places where beggars are rich.

by on Feb 22, 2008 04:01 AM  Permalink
Yes , rest of the country became rich by hard work but you guys turned into beggers because of corruption and criminal mentality.

RE:RE:RE:The Reality
by D S on Feb 22, 2008 04:09 AM  Permalink
fanatic groupism, I have seen it when in India.

RE:RE:RE:The Reality
by D S on Feb 22, 2008 04:08 AM  Permalink
No hard work, cheating!!!

by D S on Feb 22, 2008 03:56 AM  Permalink
Imagine if we allowed Chinese, Pakistanis and Sri-Lankans to have a free go all the way to south. Not to forget Burma.
South and West of India has so much for FREE that they take IT ALL FOR GRANTED!!!

by on Feb 22, 2008 03:59 AM  Permalink
You are talking about allowing ? come on you guys were ruled and kicked by Moghals for centuries. This is funny.

by D S on Feb 22, 2008 04:08 AM  Permalink
That is why we should let them kick you and move out of their way.

Mentally unbalanced Marathis Banmanoos
by Raks on Feb 22, 2008 03:47 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Marathis are mentally unbalanced now, jab gidar ki maut aati hai to wo apane aap ko Marathis Banmanoos kahne lagta hai

RE:Mentally unbalanced Marathis Banmanoos
by on Feb 22, 2008 06:11 AM  Permalink
This Raks is a paki idiot trying to create trouble. Rak, let me tell you we as Indians will fight over Hindi, Marathi, Tamil within Indian, but when it comes to Pakistan, let me tell you it does not mattter where we are from, but we are Indian first and will beat you like we did in 1965, 71, kargil, so hands off!

You started accusing marathis and now u are directing it towards Tamil. Hands off India, or else we will chop you further like 1971, and now pashtun, baloc etc

by CMat on Feb 22, 2008 03:54 AM  Permalink
Aur jab bhaiiya tatha bihari ki maut aati hai to wo mumbai mein aakrar chat puja karta hai...

by Raks on Feb 22, 2008 04:30 AM  Permalink
Banmanooso ne atleast bhaiya to bola, ku*tte sa*ale Banmanoos

by CMat on Feb 22, 2008 05:15 AM  Permalink
U showing ur family background and ur cluture keep it up RK...i would just comment dogs are better loyals and with better attitude than some Biharis, some UPs..
Aur Sa**la mat bol..Kisko interest hai tumhare khandaan ke saath rishta jodne ko..??

Ek aur Marathi Banmanoos bola..
by Raks on Feb 22, 2008 03:22 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

These all Banmanoos should be kick out from all over the country first. Then will see what takla thakre does?

RE:Ek aur Marathi Banmanoos bola..
by D S on Feb 22, 2008 03:35 AM  Permalink
The way Thackrey his inflicting his mental disease on people, All his followers kicked out of India (and that includes Maharastra ) to be sent to Kala pani jail in Andamar and Nicrobar.

by on Feb 22, 2008 03:38 AM  Permalink
Dont talk like stupid, do you know what are you talking? How do you people even come here?

by Raks on Feb 22, 2008 04:37 AM  Permalink
What you've done in Mumbai is shown all Marathis family back ground, drinking & beating their famliy. Keep it up all Banmanoos.

by CMat on Feb 22, 2008 04:00 AM  Permalink
D.S. are u a fiction writer for kids..?? chandmama mein likhte ho kyaa...??

by Roger Binny on Feb 22, 2008 03:36 AM  Permalink
Ummmm,,,how are you going to send 12 crores Marathis to Kaala Paani? And who is going to kick, When Marathis have flexed the muscle already. You?

by Raks on Feb 22, 2008 03:41 AM  Permalink
Marathi Banmanoos are the cancer of this country. So they'll grow untill being choped off. Ans so called 12 crore cancers are flexing the muscles. So decision is urs, what u would prefer to call??

RE:RE:RE:Ek aur Marathi Banmanoos bola..
by Roger Binny on Feb 22, 2008 04:52 AM  Permalink
I know which cancer is most deadly to Indians which has ruined my beautiful country for last 60 years of "lallu, Mullyam,Papu and Maya" type cancer which has spreading all over the country but we Marathis has the solution and answer.

RE:RE:RE:Ek aur Marathi Banmanoos bola..
by on Feb 22, 2008 06:12 AM  Permalink
This Raks is a paki idiot trying to create trouble. Rak, let me tell you we as Indians will fight over Hindi, Marathi, Tamil within Indian, but when it comes to Pakistan, let me tell you it does not mattter where we are from, but we are Indian first and will beat you like we did in 1965, 71, kargil, so hands off!

You started accusing marathis and now u are directing it towards Tamil. Hands off India, or else we will chop you further like 1971, and now pashtun, baloc etc

by D S on Feb 22, 2008 03:41 AM  Permalink
You guys can flex your balls now, keep the goondagiri.Keep it all on the way it is.
when your time comes, you will be made Nagaland. Will not leave until half of you are pushed out or gone UPaar.

by Roger Binny on Feb 22, 2008 04:48 AM  Permalink
Deep Shiiizzz,,,Well we are goondas to the criminals, rapists,chors,molesters and vagabonds of UP and Bihar. So if want to protect our family and property from the mafiaos of Bihar and UP, we will do what is necessary. You can call us anything , hum to tumahari poongi baja hi denge...there is no doubt. You behave you live, if not. Jai Sita Ram.

by CMat on Feb 22, 2008 04:02 AM  Permalink
Why dont u teach ur ppl about good manners and better attitude insead...? If u start now atleast after few generations we can see some improvement in Indian society

by D S on Feb 22, 2008 03:51 AM  Permalink
You are shielded right now by Sardarji and his confidant Shivraj patil and ofcourse the President. But that is all our patience.

by on Feb 22, 2008 06:11 AM  Permalink

Why Thackeray does not look too irrelevant?
by on Feb 22, 2008 03:13 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The issue of North Indians in Mumbai is being raised from quite some time by various politicians and media is very religiously printing every bit of garbage it can lay hands on.

Well, let%u2019s see what Thackeray is saying. The raising number of North Indian population is naturally point of concern of locals, I mean for Maharastrians. As per some estimate there are 40% of Mumbai%u2019s population is from UP and Bihar now. So what is the big deal about it? Yes there is a deal about it. Every City has its own cultural identity and social fabric of its own, when people from outside starts to migrate into the city they are expected to respect the local culture and lives harmoniously with already existing population. Please note that no one is asking migrant population not to practice their culture and follow their social life, but migrant population should have some respect for local culture and social setup.

What is happing in Mumbai and other south Indians cities especially in Bangalore, large numbers of North Indian people are settling down and they show utter disrespect to local language and culture, instead they try to impose their language and culture on local people, this is totally unacceptable. There are lots of incidents where gangs of migrant people abusing locals and insulting women folks as per media reports. Show me how many incidents of Maharastrians and Kannadigs involving in any anti social activities in North India? There is a fundamental difference wi

RE:Why Thackeray does not look too irrelevant?
by Arrow on Feb 22, 2008 03:20 AM  Permalink
What you are talking is a law and order problem. I dont agree people discriminating our own country men as "North Indian" "South Indian" etc. If there is hooliganism, why is the police force for? Why there is a Chief minister? Governor? Ministers? isnt it a shame to say a fellow countrymen from living in any part of india? Come on man this is shame.

by on Feb 22, 2008 03:25 AM  Permalink
You missed my point, in a democratic country Police can%u2019t do much on law and order front, it takes years to get culprit to be punished. I am talking about migrant people behaving with responsibility not to create rift between. Please don%u2019t argue for the sake of arguing.

RE:RE:Why Thackeray does not look too irrelevant?
by Arrow on Feb 22, 2008 04:24 AM  Permalink
so its not fair to attack the immigrant, people like thackarey should make sure that the CPC is changed. CPC is criminal procedure code & even if constitution is amended to add power to state governments.

by CMat on Feb 22, 2008 04:04 AM  Permalink
Arrow its not just law and order ..Its attitude problem...too...

by Arrow on Feb 22, 2008 04:23 AM  Permalink
CMat: When u say attitude problem, can you eloborate what u mean?

by CMat on Feb 22, 2008 05:23 AM  Permalink
Arrow nowadays Biharis and Ups have started acting in most arrogant ways..its been happening alsmot a decade now. i was referring to that. The root cause is that. next comes the prob of law and order. I m not saying wht happened was good. But if ppl from outside come and try to impose their thinking then suddenly it becomes issue. Hindi corportators want Hindi as official language in MH VidhanBhavan, Nothies Taxiwalla are arrrogant. They appear seedehsaadhe then start netagiri.Jyada Hoshiyaari shurur ho gayi hai..kahi na kahi danda to padfga naa...Why other region ppl not having any prob in Mumbay becoz they blending nicely Gujrathis, Kannada, Telagus,oriyaas, Punjabis...I was referring to attitude of UP and Bihar ppl. And otehr states are concerned abt it too not just MH.

HIndi!!
by Desi on Feb 22, 2008 03:00 AM  Permalink 

All politicians are terribly confused and speaking whatever they want to be in news..UP and Biharis are imposing Hindi?? really funny.. They dont even know how to speak correct Hindi. They speak Bhojpuri mixed and Hindi and they learn Hindi when they go to places like delhi or Mumbai... BTW no one can impose any language on anybody..Its a need that drives learning a language. IT and BPO folks dont need to learn Hindi because America is bread and butter for them but Say Army or cricket team where ppl come from all over india and they need to communicate in one language ..they prefer Hindi.

After all they prefer a language from our own land created by us rather than an alien language.

Bal Thackery wants to impose Hindi then?
by ig on Feb 22, 2008 02:54 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Bal Thackeray has no moral right to comment on the so-called Tamil imposition in TN. Perhaps he prefers Hindi imposition then!!
This Bal guy is deeply into hatred of anybody non-Marathi and now Hindi people are on his last of hate. And this casteist old man who swears by Manu Dharmasasthra and the hated Varna system dares to talk ill about Hindi people and Tamil people. Reform yourself, Bal.

RE:Bal Thackery wants to impose Hindi then?
by CMat on Feb 22, 2008 04:08 AM  Permalink
Why dont u just admit Up and Nihari ppl need to learn abt mannerism and better attutude too...U think UP and Bihar are the best ppl on the face of earth and thye r simply being targetted...Apne aap ko samazo fir dusaron ke moral rights dhundo...

by Arrow on Feb 22, 2008 03:02 AM  Permalink
Mumbai is the homeground for all underworld dons, can any thackarey with spine dare to ask the dons to stop operations? Can they assure none of the marathis are killed for whatever reasons? Hypocrites like these must be ignored by public and taught a lesson by the law enforcement.

by Roger Binny on Feb 22, 2008 03:44 AM  Permalink
That is not Bala Thackery's job.It's Mad Mohana Sing's job. Thaackery doesnot hold any position if he becomes PM you know what will happen all the Jehadis,Secularists, Hindi media will be hanged publicly alongwith Lallus,Mallus,Kallus,
Sonias and what not.If you know a don then go fight yourself. It is not a Marathi problem. Ask a Gujju,Marwari,Muslim or a Sindhi they know the underworld very well.Without the underworld help they will not be able to run their illicit businesses. There is no law and enforcement in India stupid. If it was there then wherever you are from, the leaders of that state would have been target practiced long time ago. So talk something sensible.

Total 394 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>