Think of a guy who is not a passout of a good college, had no campus interviews, but is talented. Not all can afford to study in good colleges. This guy cannot even attend entry level interviews of big companies because they are not from recs or iits. In the interviewif the person is able to display immense capabilities and at times when a guy is capable of performing a job better than experienced persons. What is this fuss all about? The work that is performed counts more than their experience. I dont think India will be missing out on business worth billions as some one mentioned earlier just because they faked their resume. It might miss out on billions if they recruit a worthless candidate. In the company that i work for, i had taken a few interviews till date and dont mind people faking their resumes provided i find them capable of performing their job/role efficiently.
RE:Fake CVs?
by sulagna roy on Feb 20, 2007 02:57 PM Permalink
there are too many companies hiring now and almost all companies visit the engg colleges for campus interview,even if the company do not visit that college there are more than enough walk-ins conducted for freshers,essentially what i mean is that the guy who have the potential will easily get a job, its just when people are prdinary, getting a job becomes dificult.
by glow glow on Feb 20, 2007 02:53 PM Permalink
Its justifieed taht companies should not allow students from XYZ college to attend interview. If this happens then whats the value of IITs and RECs. If you justify them then you and me or any one is justified to be apart of IITs or IIMs. if you fell justified show me some fake ways how to get into IIMs.
RE:RE:Fake CVs?
by Smart Fool on Feb 20, 2007 03:33 PM Permalink
The number of students passing out of other engg colleges are much more than coming out of RECs and IITs. If everyone wants to hire only RECs and IITs, where should the other college pass out folks go. They try n try n try and when nothing works out. They fake their CV. Its because of the people from IITs RECs sitting in these big companies, the other college folks are forced to fake their CVs. When sending the CVs to the overseas clients to get projects, its these very same IITs and RECs who do it. Stop double standards.
RE:RE:RE:Fake CVs?
by Kaushik Das on Feb 21, 2007 02:05 AM Permalink
But logistics won't allow them to go for only IITs. The requirement is much more. So, they all colleges are being made happy nowadays.
RE:RE:Fake CVs?
by pranav chaturvedula on Feb 20, 2007 03:26 PM Permalink
Heh.. you mean to say, people from XYZ college dont deserve a chance? even though they have very good percentages?
RE:RE:RE:Fake CVs?
by Kaushik Das on Feb 21, 2007 02:03 AM Permalink
not chance, but definitely, glow has a point here... iitans SHOULD get the first (not only) preference. I'm NOT an IITan.
by sunil giri on Feb 20, 2007 03:35 PM Permalink
Faking degrees or experience is never a good policy. But in as Pranav mentioned,there is an entirely different side for the story. In India None of the big companies consider inexperienced and efficient candidates if they are from a less known institution and/or with out a high percentage of marks. Infact majority of the guys who boasts about high percentages and reputed collages are from the creamy layer of the society. So there are these aspiring candiates who comes from less known collages in rural areas or who doesn't enjoy a sound socio-economic status and with out any godfathers :). For them faking or massaging resume seems like the only option to get a good job in a reputed company . Again once you are in a job what matters is the output, All the companies need good performers only. Once again, getting a high percentage by simply assimilating bookish knowledge is entirely different from facing challenges in real life.
Having read all the comments on this article, I would like to share my experience on the following. I have come across a lot of fake candidates whom I have rejected and found that after a couple of days, there are in a well known company, thru an outsourcing agency. The reason given is that, the outsourcing / temp staffing agencies are not bothered about the authenticity of the candidates, as long as they are able to get thru the interview.
But the performance of these candidates is a big question, as they would not have enough hands on experience and would be asked to leave after some time.
RE:Fake CV candidates
by Jignesh Shah on Feb 20, 2007 08:33 PM Permalink
The reason given by outsourcing/temp staffing agencies is absolutely right. Suppose I am a graduate and able to crack an IIM ot IIT interview or any managerial job interview than what is wrong in it?? As far as performance question it depends upto me if i able to tackle the given task or not? But by thi candidates get an OPPURTUNITY NAA..............
RE:RE:Fake CV candidates
by Kaushik Das on Feb 21, 2007 02:06 AM Permalink
Don't agree... that candidate is getting an opportunity OVER another who might NOT have faked his resume. THAT is wrong.
RE:I have never faked my resume
by Ganesh Mudliar on Feb 20, 2007 02:34 PM Permalink
This is the reason u should promot National Skills Registry so that all those who fake resumes will be eliminated and we will get proper recognition for the truth we write in our resumes
RE:I have never faked my resume
by prateek gulati on Feb 20, 2007 05:54 PM Permalink
this is the reason am in favour of the people faking the cv should be jailed. The poeple going clean and earning less would definitely feel irritated and they would also next time fake their cv. This way this problem would aggravate and can easily get out of control.this should be stopped at once.
Before we analyse this, look at what companies demand: 15 yrs exp in IT to be a Project Mnager.
How many do you thick will fall in this group?
10 Yrs of real time experince in SAP to be a Sr SAP consultant. DO you thick scuh resources are avilable in India, May be but you can surely count them using your fingers.
One interesting opening in my own company: 5 yrs experince in the J2EE AND .Net together
Do you know any one with genuine experince in such area?
Even the company and recrutiers know it, BUT they play smart and HIRE though they know the real story.
once the project is CLOSED, Companies engage in referance checks and Send the resources home in the name of FAKE resume.
As an industry and country we are upbeat of the growing business on IT/ITeS side. We cannot risk to loose this business worth billions of dollars and millions of job due to few people faking their resumes and hence causing confidence-shake to the clients. These are considered as issues of integrity and are of great concern to clients and cannot be over-looked. As such backgroun checks do not cover knowledge or quality of a person which is judged by selection process. They cover facts stated in the CV and they should be right.
NASSCOM initiative will bring a good name to the industry, bring transparency and separate good apples from bad. Appreciate and all the best.
RE:Appreciate NASSCOM 's initiative
by Para Mesh on Feb 20, 2007 10:01 PM Permalink
Come on friend, the major market for out IT industry, the USA is the mother and father of all fakes. Let Nasscom come clean and say that the companies themselves do not fake the resume's of their employees with a view to getting contracts and I will agree that they have a valid point in objecting to fake CVs from prospective employees.
Y r v so much concerned about fake profile. If a person can work & perform well even with a fake resume, than y the hell r v hovering on this point. HRs r playing their monopoly to shortlist candidates based on how the CV looks, without a least concern of really knowing the capability. Or a person is capable only if he can nicely decorate his CV. Thats the reason y so many consultancies r coming up who sucks up money to make ur profile look damn good. Half the time they r responsible 4 faking. Many of my juniors who r searching jobs r unable to get the interview calls until they revamp their CVs. But more or less, what ever the CV says, the person is the same. Finally, from my point of view, interview should only b the best way to judge a person.
RE:whats wrong
by Kaushik Das on Feb 21, 2007 02:11 AM Permalink
but how many interviews can one take? The applicants are many more - so one way is to restrict people on the basis of academics. That's not really wrong. Also, we should be concerned because people who have REAL resumes AND PERFORM WELL SHOULD get better recognition and salary. Lastly, say you recruit a guy with 2 yrs fake exp and he is working. Tomorrow, if it is found out that he has committed a crime 1.5 years back and has faked many other things (other than resume) to change his life, WHAT WILL YOU DO?
RE:whats wrong
by glow glow on Feb 20, 2007 03:01 PM Permalink
how can can you feel that ther is nothing wrong to fake CVs. Just realise that in every pase of life filtaration keeps on happening. If you can remember lot of your friends sored good marks in 10th & 12th but they managed to make it big. Do you have any justification for them, but however they managed to do something else to go ahaed with life. Similarly who are not getting jobs should not fake Cvs to get jobs but find alternatives.
RE:RE:whats wrong
by Smart Fool on Feb 20, 2007 03:36 PM Permalink
I will ask you what would be your alternative when you are passed out of college and its 1 year now and you don't have a job even though you have 60% marks in your engg and you are the sole person who can earn as your father is retired and your mother is a house wife???
RE:RE:RE:whats wrong
by Kaushik Das on Feb 21, 2007 10:15 AM Permalink
Emotional outbursts will keep you from getting jobs. The market is open now. Walk ins are happening. Attend the interviews. I have passed through the same situation but I did not fake the resume. I didn't have a paying job the first 5 months of my career. The point is: if you are not positive minded, you will not be a good fit in the industry. Develop happiness and a positive bent of mind. Have belief in life and you will see good things happening to you. But DON'T fake your resume, else you may get succour in the short run but in the long run, you will face more difficulties.
I cameto know through oneof my friend that there are so many small time training institutes arrange to get u a fake experience certificate provided you take thier six month course. At the end of six months you get a experience certificate that is just enough for you to apply for almost all entry level or above that type of jobs....so whats great about CVs. Smart guys fake even their experiences. Rather than running around and wasting time, companies should assess the skills of the candidate they want to hire. The best way could be to put him on a non-paying mode for six months to see if he really knows the stuff he claims. I dontthink even INfosys, Wipro, TCS or any other biggies in software does this. So what is the point in the late witch hunting. Aslo many get into these companies solely because they know someone in the company who can recommend them. the companies blindly hire them on the basis of these insiders, which denies opportunity to a deserving person who is trying to come thru proper channels. It is these companies themselves to be blamed for this mess. No one else. Many candidats have the necessary skills and but no great stuff in thier CVs. So he is naturally forced to or toadopt a wrong means to reach the means. Almost all the candidates who pass out have no idea what he/she will face during the job. Curriculam at the universities are outdated. No interaction with industries. So the natural outcome is Fake CVs and Fake Experience Certificates.
RE:We have fake experience certificates also......not just CVs
by Para Mesh on Feb 20, 2007 07:33 PM Permalink
I agree. Education has nothing whatever to do with qualifications. A person can be educated without being qualified, in terms of the criteria laid down by the companies, and still be competent to do the job.
RE:RE:We have fake experience certificates also......not just CVs
by Kaushik Das on Feb 21, 2007 02:16 AM Permalink
And how, may I know, is the company to understand who is qualified and who is educated???
Faking CV is not only done by the employees but also by the employers. These guys beef up the CVs of their employees when they have to be furnished at clients places to appeal to them. Now, why are these guys worried as long as they get the right talent, this is not an integrity issue but because of the one upmanship shown by the HR of the employer, the candidate has to show more value than he has be it in terms of remuneration or experience.
NASSCOM should also define a hiring best practice guide so that potential candidates get a fair deal.
As far as my experience goes, people faking their resumes are filtered in the interview. And the people with fake resumes who manage to get into the organization are real smart. It's my personal opinion that if a person has faked his/her resume and got a job, and if the performance is good, there is no reason why he/she should be fired. Organizations too take up whatever steps possible to sell their products/services. Same is here. A candidate does whatever possible to sell his services to an organization.
RE:Faking CV is not wrong.
by annapoorna pandit on Feb 20, 2007 02:09 PM Permalink
Yes. Sometimes people take better route among 2 bad routes. Instead of being a terrorist or a bitch, they fake their CVs.
It is indeed true that many prospective employees fake their resume. The most importabt primary reason being the employers always take a cheap route to negotiate salary as percentage over and above their existing CTC. The faking menance will stop if employers take a stance that they will offer very close to what the the prospective employee demands after a thorough scrutiny of his skill levels. Let us say Mr.X really draws a CTC of Rs.10 Lakhs/annum, and the employer goes to propose an age old increase of 15-25% hike above his present CTC, when he knows pretty well that he needs this guy with his skill levels. The approach of the employer should therefore not be on his current CTC, but close to what is demanded by the prospective employee. Only if this approach is followed this menace could be brought down.
RE:What can be done to minimize faking?
by annapoorna pandit on Feb 20, 2007 02:06 PM Permalink
Yes. You are right. Companies must pay the candidate what's he/she is worth of getting payed and not based on the old companie's CTC. Actually this cheap procedure is making people tell lies. Bigger companies know the fact that small companies don't pay like them. Inspite of that, they happen to ask employees from start up organizations about CTC and if the person tells the truth, I am sure he/she is treated as a dumbshell.
Thanks a lot for your loud voice against bad things.
RE:What can be done to minimize faking?
by Smart Fool on Feb 20, 2007 01:47 PM Permalink
I agree that its the attitude of the employers have to change if the faking of CVs have to be minimized