Total 58 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Amul
by metacause on Sep 25, 2005 11:47 AM  Permalink 

Excellent story. But it would be good to know which were the years of best growth and what/who caused it. The only year mentioned is 1946...
Also, can any readers recommend other good stories on Indian small scale industries? How many people are employed in small scale/ home industry? % in GDP, etc

Hats up to V. Kurian
by ASHOK GANDHI on Sep 25, 2005 10:12 AM  Permalink 

We are very very greatful to you sir for making operation white flood a SUCCESS.
thanks.

4.47 lac liters and 5 lac retail units
by Sreenath on Sep 25, 2005 09:46 AM  Permalink 

Article says 447,000 liters collected each day and 5 lac retail outlets which translates to less than 1 liters percapita retail outlay!! Something is missing!!
-Sreenath

Pl. get the figures right
by Dinesh Aggarwal on Sep 24, 2005 06:53 PM  Permalink 

The story is interesting. However there seems to be some problem with the figures. The opening paragraph of the story says 447 thousan liters of mils per day and 500 thousand retail outlets. This gives average figure of sales of about 1 liter of milk based products per day per liter. There seems to be something worng.

Dinesh Aggarwal

purchase of amul products through internet
by atul on Sep 24, 2005 05:49 PM  Permalink 

its a very good concept.i ve been using the products
incl.milk/ice cream/ghee/butter since last ten yrs.and availing a discount also every time.last week i ordered a box of 12 amul taaza thru net,but their was neither a respond frm amul nor the delivery .how can a expect a discount ! pls revert back.i thank u for the concept but expect it to be promp n reliable.pls revert back so as to place the order.....rgds atul

Comments
by Prof Bijoy Joseph on Sep 24, 2005 11:09 AM  Permalink 

Dear Author,
I am always inspired by this company, a great institution in co operative movement combining the true values of societal purpose, organisational strength and marketing acumen that stands tall among
the consumable product firms in the country today, thus enjoying a pride of place .
The SCM practices has stood the test of time and can vie with the best in the category. I wish you had a word on the leadership
Long live Amul Co operative !!!!

Bijoy Joseph
Prof Marketing

missed out
by deepu on Sep 24, 2005 10:24 AM  Permalink 

the article was good and informative. But i was sad to tell you that, not even a single word was mentioned about the man behind this big endevour. And that was a big miss in the article. When millions of people read in rediffmail, i think it is a fair play to give some credit to the great man, whom we call as the "milk man of INDIA"...

Consumer care
by S.Ramesh on Sep 24, 2005 10:02 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Thanks for featuring them on the home page.

Amul is far better than any MNC, in the following aspect:

a) MNCs JUST INVITE QUERIES, by mentioning their email i.d's on their product containers, BUT NEVER REPLY TO OUR COMPLAINTS or SUGGESTIONS:

I have had this experience with Nestle Tomato ketchup, Horlicks and Ponds Powder.

See the difference:

I once wrote to Amul, complaining that their Srikand was not as they had declared on the container. I got a immediate "sorry" letter. Within a week, the local man came and replaced it.

It is not the money that matters. It is the concern for the customer, which is neccesary.

Ramesh

Re: Consumer care
by Shreepad Gandhi on May 23, 2017 03:31 PM  Permalink
Dear S Ramesh.
What you have written is partially true. But you have a valid point. Once I observed some unexpected texture in a Pilsbury cooker cake readymix. I called their customer care toll free number. The attendant apologized for my discomfort and insisted to not use the packet and assured that somebody would visit my house in Pune in 48 hours. And to my surprise the next day a Pilsbury representative travelled from Nasik to Pune at my residence, regretted for the disappointment, provided me with a new packet of same weight and also offered few packets of their new products as a complimentary gift. So some companies take customer satisfaction very seriously.

The extraordinary story of Amul
by P Mohanaiah on Sep 24, 2005 09:52 AM  Permalink 

Dear Sir

Thanks a lot for a very informative and inspiring story about Amul.
However I feel there is something wrong about the quantity of milk collected as indicated in the opening sentence. 447000 litres of milk from 2.12 million farmers means per farmer it is less than a quarter litre per day. Kindly check up and correct if need be.

Thanks again for the inspiring article.

P Mohanaiah

story of amul
by Air Commodre G Radhakrishnan on Sep 24, 2005 09:36 AM  Permalink 

Fine account of acheivements of Amul. But not a word about Kurien, the man who made it possible. He was the difference between many other cooperatives and Amul!

Total 58 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>