Hard to believe - but true. There is very little scope for biotech in India, unless some meracle happens. BSc / MSc biotech are a waste. These are courses that have been put together thing of a huge boom, which did not happen, in 2002-2003. Just look at this - BSc/MSc - stands for science. Biotechnology - it is technology not science. So if you opt for btec in biotech you still have a remote chance. In todays job market BSc/MSc biotech has only a value of paper on which the certificate is printed.
With my experience in HR, this is what a BSc/MSc Biotech should do.... Join as an research assistant, by paying a firm which has top of the line equiptments about Rs.50,000.00 for a 6 months project, and continue in this way for 2 years. The second option is to do a PHD in biotech. So eother ways spend 2 more years and Rs, 2,00,000 to Rs.6,00,000 and then hope to get a job in India.
Please dont read any articles and come to a conclusion, like one of the readers here. Look at the classifieds, make some bogus resumes, send it to companies, try if you get a genuine interview call, then decide. Articles in news papers are just a new way of advertisements and not based on any research or truth. The truth is that, in 2002-2003, hoping for a biotech boom, many institutes have invested in crores for the equiptments, so they show a hype in this field to attract students, and get a return on investment. Once this is done they will shelf this degree program.
RE:Biotech is not the future in India for another 15-20 years.
by Mehul Meisheri on Aug 31, 2007 05:04 PM Permalink
i have applied to over 250 companies but not a single reply , they dont teven bother to send a rejection letter
RE:RE:RE:Biotech is not the future in India for another 15-20 years.
by Mehul Meisheri on Aug 31, 2007 05:05 PM Permalink
mail me at goldentulip008@yahoo.com
who said india is lacking alot of jobs in the biotech sector... i dont agree to this thinking... Recently the times of india had published an article. it stated that there are many jobs for biotech and companies are looking for biotech students... they are paying 20000/- pm and that is good for starting for freshers...
RE:Biotech Jobs
by Jisha Janardhanan on Jul 06, 2007 08:59 AM Permalink
Look in the jobs column. I have done my MSc with 2nd rank in the university in 2004. I have not even got a single genuine interview call till date.
Articles in news papers are the latest way to advertise. There is no research or truth in it. I have been called for interviews, in biotech firms, which operate from home, and asked to pay 15,000 to 50,000 for job assured courses. Think again, a person who cannot invest a few lakhs for a building, how does he invest in crores for the equiptment. Just having a pressure cooker and a freezer does not make a bio tech firm. These are no.1 scams and all of these people who are involved in false hype should be hanged till death in public.
by LeYaM on Jul 07, 2007 11:28 AM Permalink
Biotech is a word of hype in the country. There are no real jobs for this sector. Mostly due to very minimal, highly qualified people required in R&D and also coz compnies wont risk their QC by admitting a fresher to it. The best a fresher in biotech (B.Sc, B.tech, M.Sc or even Ph.D) who is genuinely interstd in the subject can do is to apply for scholarships outside the country and immigrate or start your on VENTURE. Latter seems to be a "wishful thinking" for many, but the fact remains that it is not an impossible task. As a personal experience am passing out as a B.tech Biotech student from Delhi. Iam 101% sure that I wont fetch a reasonable paying, satisfiable job in biotech for next few years. So I decided to join a business incubator in my final project time. Now my aspirations of becoming a biopreneur is gradually materializing. Starting fully from scratch, we a team of 2 (unexperienced me & another experienced person from diverse background) were able to develop a prototype which is attracting VC investments now. We are now confident of starting our enterprise by early 2008. So my humble suggestion is that to try your risk at entrepreneurship or join a startup and please dont beat the bush about all this hype. Else go ahead do an MBA or join the mundane jobs of infy, tcs & other software firms..
by on Oct 09, 2007 01:02 PM Permalink
hey LEYAM, even Iam in a dilemma as what to do after my Btech, which would finish in july 2008.Iam interested in finding a job.give my some guidance
all the persons has to accept one thing for sure here...that any biotech persons took their courses only because of their passion towards this subject.not like the IT or engineers...so, u cant doubt about the level of knowledge they possess.......the basic problem is these young , brainy biotchies are not even bothered bny the so called biotech MNCs or pharma companies.....they have to remember one thing that experienced peoples where all once been a freshers.....so give cahnce for freshers...
RE:enna kodumma sir idhu.
by Jisha Janardhanan on Jul 06, 2007 09:04 AM Permalink
Dear friend, you seem to forget one thing... The cource here is only a foundation builder. You have beef fooled by the universities into a degree which does not even carry the value of the paper it is printed on in today's job market.
These companies wants you to spend a few more lakhs and a few more years, I mean 2 - 3 years and 2-6 lakhs, and do a phd or pay and do some research work, so that you gain the actual knowledge that is required by them.
There is no use pointing at the companies, thay look at only their profit. The people to be blamed are the universities who look for only their return on the investment in equiptments, and the stupid government, who are anything but FOR THE PEOPLE, for conducting such courses.
In continuation to my earlier message dated May 26, 2007.
Every one will have two professions on completion of their education, first one is academics and other one will be industry. If someone is interested in basic research please prefer academics and the one interested to have fatty salaries; then prefer industry. When you are in academics you need to lead standing in the front with good number of publications under your name and need to stick long duration at given responsibility; but some one choosing industry then you should be innovative in doing things better with speed as to stand as achiever & your education is just a qualification to obtain some title under your name.
Today education is business; please judge the best course you fit comfortably & do not compare your salary with your associates. Only way any one can grow in career is to start work at basic level and grow experiencing the difficulties that come your way; some one doing the prior said will have professional satisfaction as well as can obtain enough maturity to choose best available prospects at that point of their life as no one can expect future dynamics of technology business.
Our education qualification has minute role & it is the ability that will fetch us better work, so please don%u2019t feel disheartened.
RE:Aspiring Biotechnologists
by Jisha Janardhanan on Jul 06, 2007 09:11 AM Permalink
Yes, I agree, but only partly. This is the mistake we indians do, as parents and as students. There is something known as return on investment. Even though it is our parents who invest in our education, it is our money.
What I am trying to say is that... parents and kids have a collective responsibility to see that any education they take up will be usefull and fruitful. First decide the course that you want to undertake, then find out about the job market feseability, also decide how much more education is required for getting a job, then find the correct instutions, and then start your studies. You have to plan atleast for 5 years of professional life ahead, else you will be left behind.
is btech/be in biotech low grade compared to msc biotech? iit delhi has been offering btech in biotech since 1967. also how is btech biotech in colleges like BIT MESRA,RANCHI & THAPAR INSTITUTE OF Engg. & TECHNOLOGY,PATIALA
RE:btech/be in biotech
by chinmaya on Jul 01, 2007 12:01 PM Permalink
no Btech/Be is not as low as compared to MSc biotech. Btech biotech is something like doing an engineering degree in life science(Biotech is life science only)
I dont knw abt the colleges u ahve mentioned above but there are more colleges like IP (Delhi), Osmania University (Hydrebad), VIT (Vellore), DY Patil (Mumbai and pune). These colleges offer Btech Biotechnology also....
RE:btech/be in biotech
by Jisha Janardhanan on Jul 06, 2007 09:13 AM Permalink
BE, BTech are in.. Bsc, Msc Biotech are out. Biptechnology in the technology behind the science, hence Bsc is a certificate that will leave you no where.
Hi !!! I am student of Biotechnology from Pune. I am totally ageree with the writer. I came to know form a student of Pune university not to pursue career in Biotechnology as there are no jobs for Biotechnology students. I want you all readers to know that whole batch of BSc Biotechnology students of VIDYA PRATHISTHAN SCHOOL OF BIOTECHNOLOGY Baramati IS REJECTED BY RELIANCE COMPANY. And there are no hopes for other students. All the colleges of Biotechnology are running on almost no Infrastructure and ineligible teachers with no knoweledge. All the colleges of Biotechnology are flooding with the students every year in north & south universities. We all are being cheated by the Stupid universities. I really think one can`t get complete knoeledge in BSc biotechnology and hence we can not apply our knoweldge in real working world. I request all the students to join the field of BIotechnology if you are interested in research & can accept to earn 10,000per month at the age of 28-30. All of the students are leaving this field and joining MBA because it is the only option that we can opt for. And I feel there is no future for Biotechnology students for next 15 years with some exceptions. And for getting good jobs all of us can not afford to go to U.S, U.k & australia. I am really thankful to Rashmi Bansal for all the reality and myth about mesmerizing field of biotechnology. I request you to Please let all the students read this message. And I thik rather than just writing we sh
RE:No Future in Biotechnology!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
by chinmaya on Jul 01, 2007 11:59 AM Permalink
Hey Prashant I am also a student of Btech biotech frm Pune's DY patil... Our college students of 3rd year have been placed in well reputated companies. But one thing is for sure and i completely agree to u on that point. the point is that if one is completely intrested in biotechnology and doing a lot of research and earning 10000 to 15000 pm then only he/she shuld join biotech. Biotech is a research field.
Yes it is also true that everyone cannot go to US, UK or Australia but India also have some compnaies... To name a few companies like Mahyco seeds, Monsanto Seeds, Ranbaxy, Biozeen, Biocon to name a few... They accept biotech students...
by Jisha Janardhanan on Jul 06, 2007 09:17 AM Permalink
Chinmaya... You are doing Btech in biotech, so please keep your comments confined to Btech / BE biotech. I agree that there is scope for this in India and abroad, at the same time there is a waste of a course called bsc/msc biotech. You will confuse the readers with your comments. So please mention specifically about btech in your comments.
RE:RE:RE:No Future in Biotechnology!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
by chinmaya on Jul 01, 2007 12:16 PM Permalink
http://in.rediff.com/money/2007/jun/18biotec.htm
refer to this article for ur doubt abt the industry...
RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:No Future in Biotechnology!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
by Jisha Janardhanan on Jul 06, 2007 09:18 AM Permalink
Articles are only the latest way to advertise. Please look into the jobs column, do a research on the companies who are offering these jobs.
Dont forget that Biotech requires and investment in crores, and is not for any tom, dick & harry to start a business with.
by LeYaM on Jul 07, 2007 11:45 AM Permalink
Are you kidding ?
Who said biotech require investment in crores ?..dont get swayed away by big MNCs R&D expenses. India has a unique cost advantage and a miraculous biodiversity (a subject just taught for the sake of it without knowing the actual utility). I was surprised to see scientists working in different parts of the country who have come from countries like France, Denmark, Russia etc where they dont have rich biodiversity like India. They wont come in frontpage of TOI or Hindu. They wont goto companies like biocon or avestagen. They work silently in their domain space and make cool useful products. Thus they get registered in India and get approval from foriegn authorities (coz registering in India is cheap). Then they go back to their country and continue their work.
By utilizing this unique advantage we can cut down the capital required to start a biotech venture. Certainly am not kidding. the minimal investment required to start a biotech venture will be less than a lakh. For this you can easily approach business incubators or banks who are ready to shell out money with a reasonable ROI.
So think BIG, but start small.
First please start out into this field and then give affirmative statements. Coz am hearing this for yearsss that investment in biotech is in crores, which is an understatement for MNCs and overstatement for startups.
I take this opportunity to congratulate Rashmi Bansal for writing such a timely and informative article. Let me share my experience as R&D professional and teacher of Biotech. I did M.Tech in Biotech from Jadavpur University, Kolkata. Only one friend managed job in Dr.Reddy's R&D. Others including me went for Ph.D. in India & abroad. I joined teaching B.Tech Biotech after my guide passed away amidst the Ph.D program. I taught for one and half year. I used to teach Molecular Biology.I found almost all students joined B.Tech Biotech dreaming that they will land up lucrative jobs in Biopharma industries.But the reality is sad.Industries in biotech are scanty in India and they prefer M.Sc and Ph.d for R&D. Even for production in Biopharma and fermentation industries people with M.Pharm or M.Tech in Chemical Engineering with Fermentation technology specialization are preferred. Where do B.Tech Biotech stand then?? For these students it was very difficult to obtain compulsory industry training also. Most of the research institutes in India prefer M.Sc for summer training, not the B.Tech Biotech. Most of my students have opted for higher studies(M.Tech,Ph.D).Apart from these problems of joblessness I found the B.Tech course to be unscientific. A B.tech has to learn Biochemistry, Microbiology, Molecular Biology,genetics,cell biology, Immunology,Bioinformatics,Recombinant DNA technology,Computer science,plant and animal cell culture,details of fermentation technology/bioprocess engi
RE:Biotech boom - a media hype
by chinmaya on Jul 01, 2007 12:03 PM Permalink
even btech are considered to be good... and for doing mtech do we need some qualifiacations...
I am the student of MBA Biotech at SIESCOMS, Navi Mumbai, Nerul. I dont completely agree with the writer as far as her views on this course is concerned. We at SIESCOMS are doin a pretty good job in the course, and the writer should have done a little bit of research before making that last statement of the article. We have many Biotech & Pharma recruiters believing in us for last many years including Biocon & Novartis, NPIL. I belive in Biotech, placement is never a problem if you are good enough to prove yourself. The niche sector like Biotechnology requires well trained managers who can comprehend the needs of this sector both technical as well as commercial. I cordially invite the respected author of this article to attend our mega event in store & decide if we have fallen for a boom gimmick or rising with the Biotech tide. Anybody interested in knowing about this course and SIES college of management studies, Do contact me. Siddhesh Naik siddhesh84@gmail.com
RE:MBA Biotech is the future.......
by ravi teja on Feb 04, 2008 06:46 PM Permalink
please tell wat to do im now bsc biotech final year pls tell wat to do im opting for msc biochem wats up with that tell im relly confused
by Alisha chopra on May 31, 2007 02:48 PM Permalink
Mr. Bharat Tilak, Glad to read ur reply, but I didnt understand what you want to convey by saying that I am still a student of Biotechnology. Yes, i will still remain a proud student of Biotechnology even when I get into the corporate. It is not worth mentioning either that success will follow confidence.
Thanx for ur response & support. Biotechnologically Yours, Siddhesh Naik
by Jisha Janardhanan on Jul 06, 2007 09:34 AM Permalink
Hi Alisha, I do not understand what MBA biotech can do in India, Biotechnology is a small department which needs investemnt in crores. So what exactly do you see as a future in India, unless you are very rich or very influential. Phd, yes has some scope yet.. What Bharat said is true... You are still students, and not faced the harsh reality. May god bless us with scores of bio jobs by the time you finish your course.
by RASHID SAIFI on Jun 14, 2007 11:13 AM Permalink
dear alisha
I agree with ur views but can u tell me which cmpanies take b.tech biotech students.I am doing this course from uptu.Is it really a boom in this sector or it is a media hype.
RE:Biotech & Crazy people
by Jisha Janardhanan on Jul 06, 2007 09:37 AM Permalink
I agree with you completely Bharat. All articles in newspapers, etc are false. All are hype by institutes to make money. Let me tell you about a person I met in Chennai. He call himself as a scientist (of his own research and training institute). This person has a 2 bedroom house, on rent where he runs that Biotech research. He has written a few reviews on books, which he claims as the greatest achievement in bio. He also runs a job portal website (for email collection). Go to the website, register for free, search anything, any location, It will show you a min of 4 jobs available, try applying, It will ask you for a fee of 1,500 to access this. The rest is up to you to understand. Then this person will email you contineously for a course of Rs.15,000 which he claims to be job assured. Remember all he has is a rented 2 BHK house, a pressure cooker and a freezer. I have also come across a similar fraud in Bangalore.
So that is the level of Biotech in India now. I hope the government, which is supposed to be for the people, stop eating money from these frauds, and stops this nonsence, and come out with a true picture.
RE:Biotech & Crazy people
by LeYaM on Jul 07, 2007 12:11 PM Permalink
Biotech is a huuuuge bubble which is now bursting...but not like IT boom burst..this bursting coz of inumberable amount of students finishing course and being in streets..
a few remarks about a company which initiated this hype in India. I got to know about this from an industry insider.
*Startd an org. called ABLE and became its torchleader for 2 yrs which is solely meant for promoting that single organization in the state *Startd organizing mega event projecting tht it is to lure investors from across the world to India. but the reality and motive is entirely different (which cant be disclosed in a public forum) *Hardly anyone knows that one of their API forumlation has a banned chemical presence. Due to this license of this company is cancelled in china and some other countries *Posterwoman of this company led a delegation to Europe 2 yrs back with reps from Dr. Reddys, Avestagen etc. They signed in certain treaties over there which included non-commercialization of certain drugs in India. This company led by the posterwoman came back and openly violated the treaty and thereby invited mass embarassment to the country and other fellow delegates.
*then comes the much hyped IPO which boasts of 4 times oversubscription. it was the most hyped and most begged IPO (beggin cmpnies like ICICI to invest) ever in biotech industry.
*ANother fact is about starting the company itself. Nowhere she has mentioned her father for the credit of helping her settin up the enzyme company i