If the banking officials are reading this news, can they let us know as to why they do this. They should clearly realize that this creates bad impression in the eyes of the customer. Be loyal and logical. Don't write terms and conditions in very fine letters. Why cheating. keep yourself in customer shoes and then think. Someday down the line, you too, can be in the same position. Then how will you feel about it. cases like this are very common and frequent. Please find out a concrete alternative to prevent them from happening.
The staff in Call center may ask for your Date of birth Validity of ATM and passoword.. Dont give CVV Number.. If there is a high bill on your ATM i.e Creidt Card you will ahve to invariably pay it.. Dont give PIN No. and never give your ATM to any body.. Note it down in your diary.. Dont use Credit card in inetrnet but if it is being misused you will geta call in your call center number.. So update details wherever you go and in case of misuse send a fax to the call cenetr and all tarnsactions are recorded and theif is caught.. The call cenetrs normally give IPIN bu registerd post and on phone after verification.. The call cenetrs can make a program for voice recognition and it is not easy to make mimicry once it is recored.. One secret question and e-mail ID may be recoreded.. Regards Mahesh nayathil
After a a constant follow up, I was convinced by a person calling himself from ICICI Bank for applying a credit card without any fee. A representative from ICICI Bank came to my office and got the application signed from me with assurance that I would be delivered the card within 15 days. But after more than 20 days when no one called me for the card neither it was delivered, only then I realised that neither I do remember the name of the person, who called me for the card nor I retained a copy of the application form I submitted for the card.
I wrote to the bank to cancel my application, if it exists with them and I do not need any credit card.
I was asked to provide the information that I have given in the application form. I provide the information.
The next day I received the card.
Within next two days I got the mail that the credit card has been approved and the same has been sent to me.
I wrote to the bank, please confirm that there exists only one card that has been received by me and no second card.
I received a call from the ICICI Bank to confirm that only one card stands in my name. I requested to confirm the same by e-mail.
I received a mail stating that my query has been resolved over the phone, without a mention that there does not exist a second card in may name or the reference number of my application.
In such case, is there any possibility of any misuse of the card.
ICICI is one helluva bank which's good and bad. You can't match them for their fast processing, their atms, etc. But, when you are caught on the wrong foot, they are the ones who can screw you all around.
I've been in this catchy position many times. Once I threatened them I'll go the Consumer court and exchanged mails relentlessly. Next time, when I was charged late fees for my credit card, even though it was my mistake, I took those representatives and made them dance to my tunes. I didn't allow them to speak and say 'I don't know this, that.. all you've to do is pay this amount'. I constantly followed them up and irritated them so much, so they waived all the charges against me..
So, the best thing is, catch them first before they swallow you..
RE:How to deal with ICICI
by rohan rao on Mar 28, 2007 10:03 AM Permalink
I agree with Raghavendra, ICICI is the best bank for worst customer care. You find there lines always busy, non cooperative reps. Website is always down/slow for maintenance unlike other banks. If u have a savings account n credit card.. they take up ur money for credit card without any intimation. so say bye bye to this Bank.
RE:How to deal with ICICI
by Girikumar S on May 05, 2007 12:49 AM Permalink
Dear Mr. Rao, If you want to know the efficiency of the websites you must try sbicard's. I haven't managed to get anywhere beyond the home page in last six months
I guess every credit card is as bad as teh other... it just depends on ur luck when and by which card.... we shud have stringent sue laws against cr card harassment and even for ppl who default payments to cr cards....
My personal experience with the bank is that they have given me amortization chart for loan but on asking the top officials also none was able to explain how they arrived at that EMI. All are educated highly in finance without any financial knowledge or thay don't want to tell. And they call themselves resolution officers.
The banks, which is public utility service, and being run by the money belonging to the public, is not at all doing any service. Recently, Ihad a experience.I still have to be cleared of it. The Bank of Hyderabad branch,mount Road branch, is where I am having my account(savings) Due to some problem, i could not maintain, the minimum balance. and they were deducting a monthly charges of Rs. 30/- monthfor many months.After sometime, I had regularised my account, and the balance was abve 1000/-(1023) After that too, they were deducting the amnount. When I questioned, for minimum balance. when I showed that I am havion g mmbalance, and after deduction only it is coming down to the level, they just asked me to meet various fellow within their office, and I have made more than six to seven visits, and it is yet to be done. When they are giving a interestjust6-7% per annum for our deposits, see the percent theyare charging for small difference of the bal, that too everymonth. Should I have any amplaints, where should I go? Can someone guide me, so that it will be helpful notonly for me, but also for guyiding others. Similarly, when I took a loan from the bank,mortgaging my flat, they did not give any record for myself to keep, saying it is not given. Further, all the conditions are written in very small letters, to be read only theo microscope, and no copy, even after everything is done given to us. Just when er are approiaching the bank, along with the application form,they can give a BOLD LETTERED terms and conditions copy, which will make us realise, and and also know their terms. Can the authorities be expected to change their way of making changes like these!!! Bannks for said to be for common man, but nowadays,it is only for haves, who will be telephoned from the bank"s phone abt. his sudden arrival of a cheque for payment, and obligations.. Does any one questions, where there is least necessity for phoning outside, gets a huge bill?
It seems like everybody here is simply trying to highlight their bad experience with the banks.. People are ready to file suits..Helping each other by giving contact of their lawyers...Calling banks goondas, criminals..One person even suggests that Mr K V Kamath (ICICI bank chairman) needs to be reprimanded for his "mindless" and "deficient" services by means of credit cards...Haha...making money avalb to millions, getting an entire infrastructure in place so that people can enjoy more financial freedom or convenience is seen as "mindless & deficient" service..Let me remind people that ICICI credit card are still the most well managed credit card company in India..Even I have had a couple of minor bad experiences but they are far insignificant to the number of good expereinces I have had.. I beleive most people are either too afraid of using credit cards, dont know how to use them well or simply have a preconceived notion that all the banks are here to loot us... Our banks have enough stagnating funds which no one uses and are thus able to give credit cards by the millions... Banks thus allow better circulation of money which would otherwise been unaccesible... In Delhi all my shopping could be taken care of by credit cards.. No carying loads of cash around..No need of managing change.. The ICICI and SCB credit card I use have my photo and even if I were to lose it the other guy cant use it because of my photo on the card.. Moreover I store the credit card no and the banks call centre no on my mobile to call the bank and block the card in case anything goes wrong... The banks are only trying to offer us an improved service... They even offer various insurance services like 90 day theft insurance on purchases, life insurance when travelling by road or rail.. Also the call centers do provide assistance (which may not be accurate or very reliable) unlike the bank which works only for a couple of hours.. Look at the employment banks create by CC staff working 24 hours in call centres...Alas some people are still stuck in the old mindset that only sarkari banks are honest and private ones here to run away with the money.. Ok if u dont like credit cards what alternative do u want.. Imagine standing in the loan queue...Going to the bank, fill details, show income, explain your needs... If this is what u like plz go ahead with it.. My credit cards give me lakhs of rupees for a credit free period of 40-60 days and that too without any hassles..I remember when I wanted to fly home on my birthday and didnt have adequate ammount of cash ICICI bank credit card allowed me the way.. It saves me the harrasment of begging for money from freinds or near and dear ones who may or may not help as per their moods... Credit card allows me the piece of mind that some money is always avalb at my disposal.. All credit cards have the cash advance facility where you can take get cash available from the chain of ATM's around.. Moreover online and overseas purchases are difficlut without a credit card.. Also credit cards have become international and can be easily used abroad.. Credit card is like a dual edged sword..Use it well and it can bring happiness in your lives.. If u r careless or dont understand how to use it properly it can also bring about misery.. I do agree that there have been a few shoddy instances but that does not allow you to call for a close on the system.. The banks can never force you to use a credit card if u r too comfortable with u r sarkari bank and carrying cash around... Please look at both sides of the coin...While the world has gone ahead with credit cards which are a reflection of the lifestyle and credit worthiness of a person I find that the current mindset of my people who make life difficult for our banks who are only making a better service available...Credit cards are modern way of managing and people need to be educated about them... Alas what the media and other ppl will generally tell them is the banks are trying to "loot" you which is not really the case.. Highlight your concerns, problems but please do not try to throw away a system just because you had a couple of bad experiences...
RE:Hold on Guys , u r getting it wrong !!!
by N Venugopal on Feb 06, 2007 10:14 AM Permalink
He is credit card manager- stupid, and a ICICI Bank representative, writing para after para just to confuse himself and others, some where "please" and some where "ALas". Now, the credit card people feeling the heat as growth of the card is coming down, and many are surrendering their cards.
by Raj Sekhar on Feb 06, 2007 09:20 AM Permalink
Yes, this guy seems to be a Credit Card Agent and thus he has appreciated the working of credit card issuing banks.
by Mohan Ramamurthy on Feb 06, 2007 10:35 AM Permalink
We are all not dumb Mr.Yogi. We know the advantages of credit cards. You sound as if everyone is a novice. What is being discussed is with the presumption that everyone understands the rules and how banks are trying to bend the rules to suit them. Please spare us the sermon..............
RE:RE:Hold on Guys , u r getting it wrong !!!
by Yogi on Feb 07, 2007 12:28 AM Permalink
Haha...going by that logic anybody who speaks in favour of the banks is an agent/associate and anybody speaking aginst them a victim... To be honest enough I am neither of the above.. I am an entrepreneur selling projectors who business is being financed by various credit cards...If u need a home projector to watch TV/movies/play games or even presentations I could sell you one for Rs 25K... Your negative view towards the banks on credit cards is biased..
I am sucked by the bank and its Call centre.They have a very strange operation. "Worlds Local Bank" is too far when it come to reality.
I have taken a card 6 months back till date i havent recieived any statement. Some excess money was in the card. So i was using it as a debit card. Calling this customer care and getting some one is such a pain.
Pl dont go for HSBC cards its my humble advise to all who read this
RE:HSBC Is the worst in my case
by vinayagamoorthy kuppusamy on Feb 06, 2007 09:41 AM Permalink
I am also using the HSBC credit card for the past 5 years. Till now I did not have a single problem. I have been completely happy with the HSBC service. You cannot use credit card as debit card even if you have excess money in it.
by Ravichandran Natarajan on Feb 05, 2007 11:37 PM Permalink
HSBC is by far the best. They immediately reverse wrong credits.. If u got fed up with call center, u can lodge the complaint in their website to get immediate response. But they never mail bank statement or bonus vouchers ....
by Truth Teller on Feb 05, 2007 11:55 PM Permalink
Dear Mr. Ayyapparaj KV. Please understand that your bad experience would have been because of your way of using the card. It might not be a mistake of HSBC. First of all, you can never use a credit card as a Debit card, even if you have excess money. (atleast as far as I know). Just because you had bad experience, you cannot ask everyone not to go for HSBC card. I have had this card for almost 10 years and till now I had not had any problem. In fact they had reversed the late payment fees for me, so many times. Whenever you get a chance, tell about your problems. But dont advise others not to go for HSBC.