What nuclear deal? Newspapers and TV channels in US don't even know this deal till time came for govt in BIGGEST DEMOCRACY in the world almost fell. In just published report India is ranked 160th in per capita income, one of the poorest countries in the world. Somehow people like Amar,MullaYam,Lalu,Maya,Abu Azmi can get their mark on people and India as slow moving can't get rid of them easy. Congress is giving false promises since last 65 yrs and have got us nothing but people still believe they will do something good one day, in comparison with developed nations. Even while Britishers were here for 125 yrs they pitied India and tried not to keep some logic in gap between then India and developed nations. But they were right our own people are giving us worse and we believe them.Alas our converted brothers Pakistan,BDesh,Afghanistan are still lagging behind India as they wanted a 'separate' home for 'development. Indian subcontinent already has 150 crores and fast paced to have 200 crores. There will be water,electricity,roads,food in India one day as promised in 1947. Mindboggling.
RE:Cut the crap
by sanjay on Jul 24, 2008 08:39 PM Permalink
IN 100 YEARS AMERICA REACHED WHERE INDIA BY ITS PACE AND COURTSY CONGRESS, WOULD REACH IN 500 YEARS...
RE:We dont need nuclear power and certainly not the imported version
by Gopal on Jul 24, 2008 08:26 PM Permalink
YES. We shall produce energy from OUR OWN Thorium using OUR OWN technology. It just five years ahead. We can not believe any of the assurances from congress or 'the respected PM. We are aware the deceitful methods used by the congress in handling the deal.
RE:We dont need nuclear power and certainly not the imported version
by anand kallapur on Jul 24, 2008 09:49 PM Permalink
If we start doing hard work and develop things indigenously , my freind, how can congressis get money ( bribes from MNCs) for them stashed in foreign banks. How can their family/freinds enjoy trips abroad ?!So, everything that comes from abroad especially USA is good for India ( Congress)!!
blind BJP supporters were against reforms, liberalization. They were shouting about swadeshi self-reliance etc. Blind opposition due to the sake of ideology is the prerogative of the traitorous Left, BJP is a national party and should be above it.
RE:Even in 1991
by don dicosta on Jul 24, 2008 09:25 PM Permalink
U FOOL WHAT BJP DOUBTED THEY ARE RECTIFYING NOW. WHY THERE WAS SO MUCH PRESSURE,URGENCY,WHY NOT ALL PARTY INC BJP BRIEFED. U MORON DURING BJP RULE (KARGIL.POKHRAON)INDIA EMERGEDAS STRONG GOVERNMENT. WHY YOU DOGS HOLD BJP RESPONSIBLEIT? IT WAS COMMIES THINKING OF FUTURE DESERTED THE 4 YEARS MISRULE RESULTED IN THIS AMAR SING DANCE.
Pakistan is going to oppose special deal for India at IAEA. Now atleast all blind BJP supporters should acknowledge that deal is good. Any deal opposed by Left and Pakistan has to be good.
RE:Breaking news
by navindian on Jul 24, 2008 08:07 PM Permalink
something is opposed by communists should be considered as being by china(an enemy). We should throw communists out of this country to china. if there is a war between india and china. I dont think these communists would support us. Obsolete people,except being good at fighting for justice,they are for nothing. Communists need to understand the realty and the new world.
RE:Breaking news
by Sriram R on Jul 24, 2008 08:30 PM Permalink
What do you mean by saying "I don't think communists will support us in case of war with China" There is nothing to thing - it is a fact. Kindly check the stand taken by them during the 1962 war. They are nothing but a bunch of thugs
This is because it has to first pass thru IAEA without much hurdles! And if we already modify our rules etc. its going to be difficult at IAEA.
Anyway, its just a safety precaution. Future testing, its after-effects, strategic programmes all depend on the guts, diplomacy and willpower of the govt of the day!
RE:This is Leaked info and rediff is shouting from the roof
by Gopal on Jul 24, 2008 08:29 PM Permalink
Nobody need to worry about the IAEA and NSG. Special interests will take care of it.
by Niraj Prasad on Jul 24, 2008 08:07 PM Permalink
on the contrary it would be a breeze at IAEA ... they are already under pressure from nuke corporations for hastening this deal ... they would find it very diffcult to hold back under pressure from various govts who are eager to sign multi million dollar contracts with india ... and this includes china too ...
by Girish Rao on Jul 24, 2008 08:09 PM Permalink
with or without deal future testing is virtually ruled out.
by don dicosta on Jul 24, 2008 09:28 PM Permalink
u fool ha ha ha what a knowledge if pakis oppose then it is good deal ha ha
India would require 500-600 thousand MW of power by 2030 up from 132,110 at present. Thus nuclear power is the only way forward for India. Energy needs of India are increasing exponentially and only nuclear power is the way forward. Increased price of oil and gas internationally, issues of climate change associated with coal as well as the breakdown of consensus on big dams, India needs Nuclear Energy. India generates 132,110 lakh MW of power annually. Of this, 64.7 per cent is generated from thermal power, 26.2 per cent is generated through hydro electric power, 5.9 per cent is from renewable power sources and only 3.1 per cent through nuclear power.Nuclear power would contribute 10 per cent of the country's energy needs by the year 2022 and 26 per cent of the needs by the year 2052. Share of nuclear power in world wide energy production was one per cent in 1960 and between 1960 to 1986, it rose to 16 per cent of world's energy production. The share has remained constant since then.There are 439 nuclear power reactors operating around the world and the US accounts for 104 of these reactors followed by France at 59, Japan at 55, Russian Federation 31 and Republic of Korea 20. Out of the 35 new nuclear power plants under construction in the world, Asia accounts for 24 of these. While China is building six new nuclear power plants to get 5,222 MW power for its grid, India too is building six such plants which would add 2910 MW of to its grid.
RE:India would require 500-600 thousand MW of power by 2030
by Sincere Citizen on Jul 24, 2008 08:06 PM Permalink
Nuclear power is expensive and dangerous and at its best can server about 10% of our needs so what crap are you saying here.
Before making such statements do your math right or rather say that you are the mouthpiece of rulers/US lobby
by don dicosta on Jul 24, 2008 09:30 PM Permalink
hi vargoose u have come again u start with decent but in the end u end up with filthy words wash u r mouth with phenyol thrice a day
by Mr George on Jul 24, 2008 08:20 PM Permalink
The whole country is reeling under power cuts. Everyone looks at monsoon for hydroelectric power and wind for wind energy. This are all at the whims and fancies of nature. India needs power to progress ahead.
Nuclear power will definitely help in moderating the demand and supply of power no matter at what costs it would come up with. It is better to have costly power than not to have power at all and live in dark ages without electricity.
by aman on Jul 24, 2008 08:53 PM Permalink
Yes Surely Gobar Gas is one of the home made alternatives we have for our enery needs at a smaller level and our climate suits it well.
Whatever you say.. Nuclear energy out of this deal would be very much expensive, even western countries where safety standards are much higher doesnt go for it completely.
RE:RE:India would require 500-600 thousand MW of power by 2030
by dayananda m on Jul 24, 2008 08:50 PM Permalink
Why only nuclear power? I recently saw a program in National Geographic Channel.. Where one guy produced power using solar heat.. I repeat SOLAR HEAT.. not using Aluminium plates.. In some hundred of acres of land he placed mirrors with slight curvature in line one adjacent to other all focussing on a pipe which is placed parallel to the mirrors at the point of convergence(I dont remember the exact name wat it is called.. but it is the point on which all rays that are reflected from those mirrors will be focussed..). In that pipe flows some oil.. Which is heated to around 600 degrees C, that circulates through the pipe n heats up the water producing steam n inturn power.. Its only one time investment.. no need to pay for the fuel needed for the plant.. why cant u place them in places like Rajasthan where u get a lot of heat??!!.. There are researches going on to store the heat produced at day time that can be stored n used at night for 24 hrs power production.. The showed some salt that is used to store the heat in liquid form at around 400 degree Celsius that solidifies when used for heating the water n gets cooled down.. This project is done in USA itself. first done on 1991. but due to low cost of coal plants which need just on furnace n subsidised coal made those plants popular.. but now they are finding ground.. why cant such projects be implemented????
RE:RE:India would require 500-600 thousand MW of power by 2030
by dayananda m on Jul 24, 2008 08:50 PM Permalink
Why only nuclear power? I recently saw a program in National Geographic Channel.. Where one guy produced power using solar heat.. I repeat SOLAR HEAT.. not using Aluminium plates.. In some hundred of acres of land he placed mirrors with slight curvature in line one adjacent to other all focussing on a pipe which is placed parallel to the mirrors at the point of convergence(I dont remember the exact name wat it is called.. but it is the point on which all rays that are reflected from those mirrors will be focussed..). In that pipe flows some oil.. Which is heated to around 600 degrees C, that circulates through the pipe n heats up the water producing steam n inturn power.. Its only one time investment.. no need to pay for the fuel needed for the plant.. why cant u place them in places like Rajasthan where u get a lot of heat??!!.. There are researches going on to store the heat produced at day time that can be stored n used at night for 24 hrs power production.. The showed some salt that is used to store the heat in liquid form at around 400 degree Celsius that solidifies when used for heating the water n gets cooled down.. This project is done in USA itself. first done on 1991. but due to low cost of coal plants which need just on furnace n subsidised coal made those plants popular.. but now they are finding ground.. why cant such projects be implemented????
When we have all this hype of India being nuclear power, there is a price we are paying for it which is never exposed. We used up all the plutonium which we had reserved for fast breeder reactor project (which could have given us all energy requirement in India when it reaches criticality) for the Pokhran tests. Now, whatever plutonium we would get from the civil reactors we cannot use it for military use. We are paying the price of being nuclear power by having energy scarcity now.
RE:Nuclear power
by Niraj Prasad on Jul 24, 2008 08:13 PM Permalink
if we had sufficient plutonium for energy production there wouldn't be any need for this deal ... we need to conserve whatever nuke minerals we have for making weapons and we will import all our energy requirements .. that is the real impact of this deal ... not for nothing it is considered a smart move ...
as a side benefit it would create a pool of nuclear scientists inside the nation just as IT collaboration with USA did for IT industry in India ... people who needlessly blame US for all the imagined threats do not recognize what a huge role US has played in India's growth story ... in spite of the political differences over the past 50 years we have been immensely benefited from US educational, commercial, scientific and financial institutions ... there is a big lesson to be learnt here ... investment in creation of good institutions doesn't only help our own nation it does so much good to the world too ...
Now the real face of the congress government has come to the fore. The same congress party was saying that Indo US nuke deal does not have any Hyde act implications and it is US's internal law not applicable to india. How come the government is suddenly worried about Hyde Act. BJP was pressing for the same to be removed from N deal and was put to corner by Manmohan singh and its party men saying that their is nothing like Hyde act.
Whole country has been made to believe that Nuke deal is good for the country in the current form.
RE:This is utter non sense by Congress
by Nitin on Jul 24, 2008 07:57 PM Permalink
Because it has to first pass thru IAEA without much hurdles, stupid! And if we already modify our rules etc. its going to be difficult at IAEA.
Anyway, its just a safety precaution. Future testing, its after-effects, strategic programmes all depend on the guts, diplomacy and willpower of the govt of the day!
by Nitesh jain on Jul 24, 2008 08:20 PM Permalink
If you dont know anything abount deal you should barge on the same, Indo US deal is altogether separate from the IAEA and hyde act is nothing to do with IAEA. You prove that you are a stupid who think that entire world is stupid!
RE:RE:This is utter non sense by Congress
by Nitesh jain on Jul 24, 2008 08:23 PM Permalink
The point i was trying to make is that there was denial from the side of congress that Hyde act is nothing to do with indian nuclear programme and if BJP has suggested that same should be removed. I dont think they have done anything wrong in that. I also think that you should also feel happy not me or BJP, if the same has been accepted by congress because it will also has implication on your life.
RE:RE:RE:This is utter non sense by Congress
by prabhat mohanty on Jul 24, 2008 08:45 PM Permalink
- In business bargain or International bargains, a good negotiator would move step by step, particularly when one is operating in negative environment.
Similarly here, we needed to create an environment where the world would see that USA, only super power is interested in the deal. Since almost every country has some stake in USA, they would come around.
In US congress also there are oppositions to the deal. For example Pakistan has also been aiming for similar deal with USA but could not manage. Naturally Pakistan will create through lobbyists. And senator can throw a stinker.
Idea is to show the world, that this is a two way process.
India has accomodated. So did USA.
Both moved few steps forward to meet at a mid point.
USA needs India for strategic reasons. India too need USA for similar reasons.
But we need to show that both of us have been accomodating each other.
It should not look like one sided affair.
Once we cross few crucial points, we will open few cards that would bring us strategic advantages.
So it's a serious and complicated bargain in that sense. One has to play it cleverly.
BJP is behaving like a guest who shouts and creates scene to see all that has been cooked in the kitchen before starting with the soup for the dinner.
That action only embarasses the host because the guest does not trust the host.
by prabhat mohanty on Jul 24, 2008 08:31 PM Permalink
- When you participate in discussion about strategic importance, you need think differently. Not just in linear manner.
Both USA and India would be governed by respective Domestic Laws.
In football matches, you have both "forward" to take the ball forward and "back" to defend.
The game plan is based on the mix.
Similarly, since 123 agreement says we would be governed by our respective domestic law, amendments in the Atomic Energy Act would insulate the country's strategic interests.
We can not change other's domestic law. And ofcourse we can not remove it easily. So better option would be to create an option that would close all flanks leaving no chances in cases of emergency.
by Nitesh jain on Jul 24, 2008 08:36 PM Permalink
I think you have answered my question in your quote itself. To create a protection wall first you need to find out the threat and its direction. If you do not accept that Hyde act is applicable (in probability also) to india, you will not invoke such a move and fact of the matter is that congress has never accepted this fact that Hyde act is applicable to india even in probable scenario.
If it's all been so clean and over the board, why spend Rs.100 crore per MP to save this stinking rotten government, over this deal? What's in it for the Bofors Scandal Queen, and her Italian boyfriend?
RE:If politicians were ever to speak the truth
by martand shukla on Jul 24, 2008 07:53 PM Permalink
just b'coz of the dam n foolish communists..... understand Mr.COMRED
RE:If politicians were ever to speak the truth
by don dicosta on Jul 24, 2008 09:34 PM Permalink
very goose 100% commie I THOUGHT HE WOULD NOT COME.HE HAS CHANGED COLOURS!!!!!!U FOOL WHAT BJP DOUBTED THEY ARE RECTIFYING NOW. WHY THERE WAS SO MUCH PRESSURE,URGENCY,WHY NOT ALL PARTY INC BJP BRIEFED. U MORON DURING BJP RULE (KARGIL.POKHRAON)INDIA EMERGEDAS STRONG GOVERNMENT. WHY YOU DOGS HOLD BJP RESPONSIBLEIT? IT WAS COMMIES THINKING OF FUTURE DESERTED THE 4 YEARS MISRULE RESULTED IN THIS AMAR SING DANCE.