Total 127 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Nuclear Power
by Krishnamachari on Jul 16, 2008 11:00 AM  Permalink 

Nuclear Power is essential but the riders attached to the deal are undigstable like
1.Ban on future nuclear tests
2.Getting officially identified as Non Nuclear
state.It is identifying Indianas as Uneques or Hijras.

YES it is all about good bussiness
by fun guy on Jul 16, 2008 10:54 AM  Permalink 

Suppose if some one develop some technology, he has to continuously do research and upgrade the technology otherwise it will become obsolete. Instead one can get technology from others. In this case no need to worry about the R&D. but only thing is the buyer has to buy another new technology or upgrade from the same supplier if the operation viability is lost.
The same rule is applicable to the Indian Sarkari scientist.
They are not fit for R&D. they are always interested in monthly salaries and pension. No accountability too.
Why should they favor for developing technology handling head breaking problems and by spending sleepless nights.
It is better to favor for buying technology from others and operating it. so peacefully work 10-4 for 5 days and rest enjoying life.
The main reason may be the government. The government don't have vigorous technology development policies.
Who is to blame?

US will use NDeal money to bomb Iran
by Venkatesh Babu on Jul 16, 2008 10:54 AM  Permalink 

Already cash crunch president Bush, will use this money to attack Iran and have more control on Oil.

People should stop USA to monopolize on economy of world.

A misleading article
by Sandeep on Jul 16, 2008 09:08 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This is plainly a misleading article. Going by this logic, no big project should be taken up in India since that will involve big business.

Clearly the issues is - We need nuclear energy as also all renenwable resources we can which includes solar/wind etc. Clearly India has huge shortage of power and this needs to be attacked urgently.

My feeling is that we need to get as much energy and as fast as possible without relying on oil. Energy can be a bigger problem in future than worrying about some countries stopping nuclear fuel supply or big business.

Not all the reactors have to come under safeguards. There will for sure be a problem if India decides to explode another nuclear device but then does that look likely in near future?
Hopefully, we got enough information from last explosions to not having to repeat it for next 10 years. Then bank supplies in parallel just in case we have to later on..

RE:A misleading article
by Sanjay on Jul 16, 2008 10:16 AM  Permalink
Idiot 100 billion dollars for just 20,000 Mwe capacity does not seem to costly to you then you are a fool. When our own technology is cheaper and safer why go for expensive imports.

Why do people want to reduce our bomb making capacity and go for the fantasy of first generation nuclear reactor technology which even American gave up this fantasy after Three Miles Island.

When china Pakistan are not putting any of their nuclear reactors under inspection to loose capacity under bomb making why is India taking this unilateral step. Why is India being made the guinea Pig for the foreign reactor technology? Like Pepsi and coke whose containments are well documented after paying more money then America, Like BT cotton and genetic foods, Like experimental and international banned drugs being used common place in India without warning to patients. So Indian radioactive guinea pig experiments are to began.

Say no to cap our nuclear bomb capacity by allowing international inspectors in our nuclear plant that too used to make the bomb. Say no to the nuclear Experiments by these foreign multinationals who have habit of sanction.. Say no on anything that compromises our sovereignty.

RE:A misleading article
by Annapoorna Nair on Jul 16, 2008 10:28 AM  Permalink
That is 400K MW of power per annum. Not in total till 2020. Rs 400,000 crore is not bad investment.

Bribe Takers and their Swiss Bank account
by Dipak Bose on Jul 16, 2008 07:25 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This Nuclear deal is another Sharad Pawar type deal ( to import wheat from Australia because Australian Wheat Board gave huge amount of bribes; but not to give a proper price to the farmers of India)in a gigantic proportion. It is obvious a number of politicians. officers, editors of major news media have accepted huge bribes from the American nuclear industries, and they are propagating with thousands mouths all kinds of lies to sell India for some Dollars in their Swisss Bank Account. that is the reason now Amar Singh and Molaem Yadav came into the picture as well, as they have vast experience in bribe taking.

RE:Bribe Takers and their Swiss Bank account
by Sandeep on Jul 16, 2008 09:10 AM  Permalink
dude, think about what would be best for India.
Don't get confused by this CPM tirade which is mostly without logic and trying to whip up confusion by meaningless statements.

by Dipak Bose on Jul 16, 2008 07:34 AM  Permalink
123 Deal is NPT. It comes with IAEA treaty for non-nuclear weapons countries which India has to sign. Then there are Hyde Act, NSG treaty and Fission Materials Cut off Treaty. Altogether it will be worse than NPT, as India cannot come out of it before 40 years.
Nuclear power plants are readily available from Russia even today without any of these treaties.

by Radhakrishnan V on Jul 16, 2008 08:54 AM  Permalink
"Nuclear power plants are readily available from Russia even today without any of these treaties. "

yes..but their safety has been a question mark and russians can jack up the price anyday like the Gorskhov..not to forget that they backed out from the cryogenic deal

by Dipak Bose on Jul 16, 2008 10:16 AM  Permalink
There was no accident like Three Miles Island in Russia. Chernobyl accident took place only during an experiment, not during routine operation.
Al most all nuclear plants in India today are Russian. Was there any accident?
Prices of Russian plants are about one tenth of that of corresponding American plants. Russians are the world leader in nuclrear technology, when the Americans did no research for the last 30 years.
Russians supplied cryogenic engines, it was delayed by Clinton who put pressure on Yeltsin not to supply anything at all to India. Clinton also has created Taliban and bombed Yugoslavia to create the Islamic states of Bosnia and Kosovo. So, think whom you are dealing with in 123 Deal.

Gorskov will be an entirely new air-craft carrier with a fleet of MIG-29 , which are equivalent to F-18.
Gorskov was a nuclear missile laucher, not an aircraft carrier before, so India should have taken it as it was. The cost would be in that case minimum. India insisted to take out missile lauching pads and build an aircraft carrier; that had escalated the costs. You should know the details before crying out like the stupid Indian journalists all pais by Dollar by the CIA.

by tathya on Jul 16, 2008 11:23 AM  Permalink
Dipak, thanks for info.But don't get personal and biased.Let arguments be objective...
I have also a question.Why the Rusian Embassy came out with statement supporting Indo-Us deal?Pure selfish buisness interest and carried away with the Hype?U gave so much info regarding Gorskov hance asking,in case u know.....

by waseem on Jul 16, 2008 11:13 AM  Permalink
u true boss,we should understand first ,what is more important,the deal, the timing,the bush,why so much fuss,,Ok, india need energy,,
let talk fairly with all political parties,,,
we u hide some, expect some from others,,,its wrong,,,,u said we can't show the documents, its classified ok , u true,,in next couple of hours document pasted on web site....what is this...

One media boss [ newsreader] said ,when talking to congress Mrs jayanti, 25 crores per MP congress paying...he added further, as we all knew all MP's having some pricing , what does it meant...how he can say,,,can he says about our Congress Naukar shah....BJP Naukar shah...
Left Naukar shah... SP ,Naukar shah,,,BSP Naukar shah,,etc..

why Pranab wants deal before bush going?
GOD BLESS INDIA

by redindian on Jul 16, 2008 11:20 AM  Permalink
The communist parties were a party to all the deals by govt during the last 4 yrs. Why didn't you wake-up at that time and stop them from all bribes etc... The left itself was receiving money from ..... don't try to play the role of "HARICHANDRA". The communists have sided with the Congress to ruin the country as per the wishes of China. Stop this non-sense Communists.

RE:Big contracts mean big kickbacks to politicians
by Sandeep on Jul 16, 2008 09:12 AM  Permalink
Have you been living mostly with your head covered in sand lately?
Did you not see what happened to Narmada dam project?
No big hydel project can come easily in India due to political opposition etc.
Everyhting you try to do, you would find people trying to find fault with it..

Rubbish Indian Politicians
by Santu on Jul 16, 2008 12:42 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Indian Political leaders hurrying to make big money in short time. Indian government (congress) wants to make a nuclear deal with US which may cost more than $100 Billion. This deal may help resolve the energy crisis by some extent and also fill some politician’s pocket. But why Indian government is not encouraging any Indian research organizations?
If at least 10% (of $100billion) money had been sanctioned for research institutions in India before, then by now India could have developed many things indigenously. I worked in a research organization (Indian government) for 3 years. To buy an equipment of worth Rs100K, it took more than a year to get the money sanctioned (delayed because Indian government has no money). If the equipment had been purchased early then the research could have been finished early with better results. Many other research works have been stopped/delayed because of no funding (again reason being Indian government has no money for research). But how come suddenly Indian government has huge money to make this deal which costs more than $100 Billion. I believe that India has a better (more) talent than any other country. If the talent is harnessed properly and utilized, India can become a super power in less time. India need not depend on any country except for raw materials. The attitude of Indian politicians has to change. They should stop thinking of making money for themselves/party through such deals which hurts Indian talents. More research

RE:Rubbish Indian Politicians
by Sandeep on Jul 16, 2008 09:26 AM  Permalink
Very few Govt organizations can carry out research properly. Look at all the huge delays in major defence projects.
No doubt India has huge talent but privatisation is needed to make good progress with R&D.
Inida is quite a bit behind latest technologies in Nuclear research and there is no reason why we should not adopt latest technologies.
Remember, this would also allow fule imports which would also help to run domestic plants. No one is stopping India from creating their own plants.

RE:Rubbish Indian Politicians
by Gopal on Jul 16, 2008 03:45 AM  Permalink
Your observations are right.
Here we target $100 Billions for nuclear energy generation for 20000MW of power to be commissioned in 20 years. Do they believe that building power stations are like constructing wells and ponds. Every station should have a time schedule, material availability, human resources etc. I do not have the statistics for the plants constructed for the last 10 years. Western countries are averse to nuclear energy. Construction cost is high compared to other methods. The biggest problem is the running and maintenance cost. I feel we are going to have projects under BOT scheme to be carried out by foreign countries. Of course with Indian participation for name sake. In that way the country will be ruined by draining all our resources. Waste disposal will come only after the plants are handed over to India. Google “ Group up for £17bn Sellafield job” . Look at the decommissioning cost. Can we bear this burden? Is it right to put the next generation in distress for the energy we use? Import of equipment from different countries is definitely create problems as observed. As seen, everything is moving as planned by the BUSINESS. Indians beware!!

Pessimist and narrow minded view about Nuclear Deal
by Ranjan Chowdhury on Jul 16, 2008 12:22 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

My only question to our learned friend Mr. Prasad is what is the solution to the huge shortfall of power in India? If you can't answer this with valid reason then please don't fool the people with useless articles like this. Are you an anti American communist?
Ranjan, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

RE:Pessimist and narrow minded view about Nuclear Deal
by Santu on Jul 16, 2008 12:58 AM  Permalink
There are many options to resolve energy crisis.
There are many places where wind turbines can be installed. Many dams can be built across rivers which can resolve both water crisis and energy(Hydro electric). Remember that nuclear energy is not the only solution and US which has many nuclear power plants till now could full fill only its 14%(max) of the energy requirements through nuclear reactors and rest others come from coal, hydro and wind. Instead of spending so much money for nuclear plants it can be spent on building dams and installing wind turbines.
Santu,Texas,US

by Dipak Bose on Jul 16, 2008 07:30 AM  Permalink
India has vasr reserve of coal and potential hydro electric sources. Solar power can be a big hit in India.
Nuclear plants are not for electricity. It is much cheaper for Tamil Nadu( where all nuclear plants are located) to import coal from Australia to produce electricity.
Nuclear plants are really for nuclear weapons and that is exactly the place Americans want to hit to stop India having any nuclear weapons.
123 Deal is NPT in another name.

by G A on Jul 16, 2008 10:52 AM  Permalink
Is this $100 billion the only solution to the so-called energy crises ? How come noone is questioning the enron plant, another gift from pawar-congress, which is idling now ?

Wrong interpretation of Nuclear deal
by Anand Mujumdar on Jul 15, 2008 11:52 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I did not expect this kind of pessimist article from highly educated accomplished person like Mr. Prasad. The meaning of Nuclear Deal is U.S. is making special case for India to get nuclear material and equipment to build nuclear energy plants. Without the deal, India has to sign NPT. There are many in U.S. congress who want to destroy the deal. The deal does not say how India should procure requirements of nuclear plant. For your knowledge Mr. Prasad France is most advanced in building reactors for power plants. U.S. companies abandoned manufacturing reactors after the accidents at Three Mile Island. U.S. discontinued to build nuclear power plants. France has most nuclear power plants. As far as Hyde Act is concerned Mr. Hyde and Mr. Lantos the main proponent of the act are dead now. Do not be pessimist about future. The political interest in world change every year. China also got nuclear deal from U.S. with lot of conditions. China violated many conditions and U.S. did not scrap the deal with them. India needs lot of energy to support livelihood and manufacturing sector. The deal does not restrict India to manufacture some items indigenously.
Economic power is better than defense power. For defense India needs only deterrent. india will not be in the business of dominating the world.

RE:Wrong interpretation of Nuclear deal
by Dipak Bose on Jul 16, 2008 07:33 AM  Permalink
123 Deal is NPT. It comes with IAEA treaty for non-nuclear weapons countries which India has to sign. Then there are Hyde Act, NSG treaty and Fission Materials Cut off Treaty. Altogether it will be worse than NPT, as India cannot come out of it before 40 years.
Nuclear power plants are readily available from Russia even today without any of these treaties.

Total 127 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>