Total 357 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Older >   >>
Put a gag order on DRDO scientists
by Attatar Yena on Jan 16, 2008 05:05 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

It is high time that news media should stop giving undue publicity to efforts of DRDO scientists. Especially, when they say a particular produst is ready for induction. It has happened many times in past ( Akash, Prithvi, Agni) that DRDO announces ( with much fanfare) that a particular product is ready only to be rejected by the ultimate customer - Indian armed forces. The ultimate authority on battle readiness of a product is and will always be the armed forces. So when a particular scientist goes out and speaks to media about battle readiness of a product we should realize that individuals real motive - perhaps to be under the limelight of media and get his/her share of glory. There should be gag order on all DRDO scientists. The only agency who should talk to media about the efficacy of any DRDO's defence product should be the ultimate customer - armed forces. If the armed forces are not happy then that product is not good enough irrespective of what lazy looking media savvy scientists have to say. In fact the art of projecting failures as success has been mastered by DRDO long back ( not sure if they have mastered anything else). It is high time this is stopped.
Mr Antony please do the needful

RE:Put a gag order on DRDO scientists
by on Jan 16, 2008 07:08 AM  Permalink
DRDO is setup for failure, Every system that indian forces have imprted from outside has problem, but they try cover it , fix it ...but when it come to drdo developed they just reject it. It all about kikbacks, and all of us know that and media is part of it as we will never hear about the problems with imported toys.

by Sanjay on Jan 16, 2008 05:18 AM  Permalink
Please they should publish DRDO achievments on the Front Page, and ask why do the government go for foriegn junk like Barak, when we have our own technology. Why does the government invest so little in Defence Reasearch and why should our scientist worry about the learning curve?

When the government has failed to get the technology transfer for Bofor gun, and T-90 battle tank.

We understand the government wants kickback they are not interested in national seceurity, because they wish foriegn missile system when they know in the FalkLand war French gave the British the code to disable the missiles, rendering those missile useless.

by Attatar Yena on Jan 16, 2008 05:35 AM  Permalink
Definitly they should publish 'achievements' and not some mediocore performance that is tom-tomed as achievement. What is dished out most of the times (as sensational news) is work in progress and not a fully functioning and battle ready product. 25 years and thousands of crores spent with very little to show in terms of achievement.. Support performance and not mediocracy.

by Sanjay on Jan 16, 2008 06:08 AM  Permalink
Now the Akash system is better then anything we have currently, that is well known. But what those in the army say we should jointly enter in technology development to produce a new missile with longer range because this is not yet to our requirements.

A logical person will say still it is better then anything else you have and it is a current system not a future system, but the army, why don't we joint development with Israel.

Let me interpret for you see Israel gives good kickback, but DRDO does not. Therfor the armies logic is understood better a future system then a current system that is better then anything it currently in arsenal..

So we should wait another two to five years for the next development that would be Israeli who give good kickback.

Please pay attention to the Bull. I think they should teach basic logic to people in college first. DRDO has made a state of the art current system it should be deployed till, the next better thing comes.

Correct way of doing defense research
by on Jan 16, 2008 05:02 AM  Permalink 

I have not one but 6 of my class mates placed in DRDO. With the knowledge I gleaned from them plus couple of other general issues peculiar to India, I think the article was spot on
1) No deadlines and accountability: On of my friends said that they were working on ******, whose design and targets were updated every two years and they never try to finish it within those 2 years. So after a decade, it hasn't been in production stage. And mind you, this is not a complete system, but only a part of some bigger system.
2) Lack of competition.: DRDO is the sole institute working on the said projects. But in countries like US, Russia they have not one, but many companies competing to develop something which satisfy the defence needs of their countries. Research money (defence budget) goes to only companies which show promise that they can develop and complete the product within budget and time
3) Organizational structure: If you have to report amnt of paper used for printing, God save these defence institutes of India (may not be true actually but these kind of petty thigs exist)
4) Quality of people joining: This may appear flimsy argument, but the lack of proper education on part of freshers. Even NITs(RECs) were deficient in training their students. And I am from one of them. And I say this after seeing the work done in US universities. Coupled with reservations, its is a disaster.
These are IMO the recipes for the disastrous show of DRDO and sister institues (can we call them co

failure of DRDO
by suku vet on Jan 16, 2008 04:32 AM  Permalink 

Most of the research organizations in india dont have simple hassel free system for doing any research.Most of the top positions in the research organizations are filled by incompetent persons due to political interferecne and even a competent person got some top position,he cant use his powers to achive target due to same political interference.In most of organizations,there is no particular target,some of them randomly doing something without any focus.so it is bit difficult to expect a lot of good achivement from these indian organizations.

DRDO needs at least 50% reservation
by abcd abcd on Jan 16, 2008 04:28 AM  Permalink 

.. for OBCs, SC/ST and Muslims. Only then will it improve and build better weapons for India. Also, Narendra Modi should be appointed as the director.

Why expect too much
by on Jan 16, 2008 04:08 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Sir no goverment organization in india produced results properly, thenw why to have high expectation from DRDO. Leave them alone and make your dollar and have fun.

RE:Why expect too much
by Attatar Yena on Jan 16, 2008 05:08 AM  Permalink
Sir, Then why are you wasting your two cents here ?? Keep your two cents ( advise) with you.

by Har on Jan 16, 2008 10:20 PM  Permalink
Sir, an advice is like an as.. hol.. everyone has got one, justlike you have one for me.

by Attatar Yena on Jan 16, 2008 11:21 PM  Permalink
Well from you comments it seems you have two. One at top and one at bottom. Stop discrediting our scientists is toto.

by Har on Jan 17, 2008 12:52 AM  Permalink
Well it takes one to know one. Also you seem to be frustrated. I wasn%u2019t discrediting anyone.

Lack of Object oriented approach
by Deepak Patel on Jan 16, 2008 03:55 AM  Permalink 

"It is wasteful to try to 'reinvent the wheel'". I agree with this. The IGMDP has been a very very mismanaged program. It gave lot of fame and recognition to some people, but nothing to the armed forces. What about the recent successful test of missile hitting missile. DRDO has lot of money but they do not spend wisely.

SHAME SHAME SHAME SHAME-this messgae eported for abuse @ rediff :-)
by sandeep saini on Jan 16, 2008 03:26 AM  Permalink 

Well, the toppers in US go to finance sector. It is not surprising that India is also suffering from shortage in science field. But at least these guys from good engineering colleges join DRDO. It is upto DRDO to motivate these folks to stay on.

RE:Worked with NASA
by Saumitra s Rahatekar on Jan 16, 2008 04:15 AM  Permalink
LOL

by Devils Own on Jan 16, 2008 04:16 AM  Permalink
Any thing for Gayatri

RE:RE:Worked with NASA
by commander hans on Jan 18, 2008 08:55 PM  Permalink
while u duffers are arguing about women...the guy on the border is getting screwed..because of drdo...think about that...

by Fun Lover on Jan 16, 2008 04:04 AM  Permalink
Are you getting Angelina Jolie at NASA?

by sri on Jan 16, 2008 03:38 AM  Permalink
Can you not apply directly to some top scientist and see...? It might help that you work for NASA.

by Deep Indian on Jan 16, 2008 03:47 AM  Permalink
The oaf Mohan Bhargav is joking about a Sharukh Khan starrer which had Gayatri Joshi as the heroine:)! What poor taste!

RE:RE:Worked with NASA
by Devils Own on Jan 16, 2008 04:18 AM  Permalink
You wont understand the true Indian beauty... You Dupe Indian

DRDO
by sri on Jan 16, 2008 03:22 AM  Permalink 

Okay, several people are saying here that DRDO is not as bad as being made out to be and that they have contributed important things. But even as someone who is sympathetic to the efforts of the DRDO I would like to hear more facts and less allegations and angry reactions about what exactly DRDO has done to make our missile systems credible? Why was the weapons locating radar not built? Why is the DRDO averse to collaborations now that many countries would be willing and considering the success of the BrahMos. The defence of the country is more important than the egos of the DRDO scientists I assume. Please counter with facts the points made by the author. And please leave out a listing of the things that the DRDO has done which dont compare to the large programs such as the IGMD.

Total 357 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Older >   >>