Total 119 messages Pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >
Unite India
by surendra bansal on Aug 15, 2007 05:31 PM  Permalink 

I think Mahatama Gandhi whom we call Bappu is started to devide India in form of support to British Policy for devide and rule. British starting to devide our country on 1917 to devide Bangal in two part and then Burma is separate province for British.

Again in 1947 they devide our country by relegion and make Hindustan and Pakistan.As per my version this is serious mistake done by Mahatama Gandhi to accept this devidation.

gullible minds read this
by Siva sundaram on Apr 23, 2007 02:33 PM  Permalink 

I found the following comments by sudhanshu an eye opener.........................................Seriously, no offense intended, but I knew people like you, with an engineer guru ji from some foreign university, could not have reacted in any other way. I also had a guruji at one time. He too was an great researcher (Believe me, he was a B Tech from IIT, did his PHD from a top US university, had been among leading researcher in Computational Fluid Dynamics in the world at one time). He seemed to be a great soul. even after experiencing the best physical life one would imagine, and being capable of earning a lot of money, his only priorities were spiritual. I was very much impressed by him. He also told me all the history you wrote in our comment..and even more. He even told the future as predicted by the scriptures, till the advent of lord Kalki and finishing every thing up. I did not find all that funny at that time. I was very serious about spiritual life. And tried very hard, and very sincerely to completely assimilate it. He also said the same thing - you can not know what spiritual life is unless you get into it. No one an explain it from outside, you have to see it from inside to know what it is. And I did that. After spending two years in trying to be spiritual, I realized all he was doing was to recondition my mind, from its material state to a spiritual state by putting the right kind if thoughts in it. All he was doing was to recondition my mind to accept everything that his cult thought was true. But I guess I was too free spirited to be bogged down the rules of that so called spiritual life. I found it too much against by true basic human nature. In an attempt to get closer to god, in an attempt to get closer to the truth which nobody really knows, I was going farther and farther away from the realty, that I am a human. After two years I realized that things were getting too dogmatic, and I was easily accepting those dogmatic ideas, which I would have never accepted if he had not conditioned my mind for it. I just looked at myself once, as an outsider, what I was before, and what I had become. I was essentially the same person inside. Just the way I represented myself to the outside world had changed. I was the same person, with or without god. I realized that I did not need it at all to be good person, and hence left it. And do you know why I got interested in that stuff in the first place, because when I first heard of it, I was just eighteen, and had never seen any other paradigm of life but the prevalent material one. I found their ideas very interesting. just like you, they also said "if the same information would have been given by a westerner in any university u would have said is that so". They said that everything we see around is created by something. How could the world have been produced by a big bang. they gave me all sorts of interesting argument like that. And I was convinced. They said that perfect knowledge can be imparted only by someone who has it. And it has to travel in disciplic succession. With the limited capacity human mind, we can never decipher all the mysteried of nature. We can know them only when the one who created it (god) explains it to us. And to test its truthfulness, one has to follow it, there is no other way. I decided to follow it. I decided to be proud of the spiritual culture that India has for so many years and follow it. But later on, when I looked at it as an outsider, leaving aside my positive bias towards him, I realized that he did not really convince me about the correctness of his way of life. He convinced me of the uselessness/futility of the material I had before I came to him. All he said about spiritual life was that it is sublime, and I can understand it only once I am in it. I realized what a trap it was. The power of control over minds of people is very alluring, even more that that of money or political power. Thats what the guy was doing. Misleading young, impressionable minds to increase his and his cult's influence. thats what all these guyz do. They seem to be very logical, very nice, they talk of making you nice people, of making you god's people (Well, they have to offer something alluring, otherwise no one would follow their unnatural suppressive life style), but they are just trapping you.
We humans have fears, we are very afraid of the unknown. these guyz take advantage of it. Just think about it once. Nobody knows what the absolute truth is. Some people claim they have seen it, but the claim can not be tested. When you go to these people, first they give very convincing arguments about the futility of material life, then they train your mind to accept their philosophy. You see other people following their philosophy, they all seem to be following it so well, you think you are the only fallen one who is unable to follow the right thing. You feel wretched, and vow to follow your guru's teaching even more strongly. every time this happens, your gurus hold on your mind becomes stronger. When you get deep into it, you become friends with other guyz, who seemed to be following it so well, you find that they have their own problems. even they havent realized god, but they believe that the guru has, and following him, they also will. But the fact is, you never come across people have attained the truth, accept your guru and some of his closest people. Others only feel the ecstasy sometimes. Read about/experience hypnosis, and you will know what it is. I have experienced hypnosis, I know what it is.
I do not know how you will react to it, but thats the way I feel about these things. Its good to be connected to your roots. I am an Indian, sone of Mr so and so, a hindu by birth etc. But these are facts about me, which are not in my control. They can be used to track me physically, these do not define me. they are a part of me being, but not my identity. It is what I do that defines me, not the physical facts about me. When One starts confusing these things with his identity, one becomes vulnerable target people who like to control other's minds.

See, no body do really knows the truth about the absolute truth. One can not be logically sure about the right way of life. One can put faith in anything one wants, and follow it through out his life. What one can be sure about is this life one has - one has to decide himself what he wants to do. Going just by logic, not by any faith, nobody knows what will happen if me and you follow any religion or not. It doesn't even matter, i guess.
As far as western people adopting indian ideas is concerned, well Yoga is definitely a good thing, and it is bound be popular on the whole earth. as far their their following Sanatan dharma is concerned, well, they are as susceptible to falling it these spiritual traps as we are, they are also humans.

Some last notes: I do not like anybody preaching his lifestyle to me, or me preaching mine to others. But when I see such things as you comment written for public viewing, I feel compelled to present my side of it to people. People should know the tricks commonly used by religious sects/cults to trap them. So that they do not get trapped, instead they are able to do what they wanna do, with an open mind.

Hinduism a way of life
by rashmi sahu on Apr 23, 2007 12:50 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dear friends i am pasting this article for spiritual souls to read it a nd appreciate it and introspect.This was written by Sri Satguru Satguru Sivaya Subramuniyaswami, Founder of Hinduism Today, a weterner who has adopted hinduism.How well he has interpreted which we as indian has failed:-

The Hindu enjoys all the facets of life as transmuted into a religious expression in art. The Hindu's art is a religious art--drawing, painting and sculpture of the Gods, the devas, and the saints of our religion. The music is devotional and depicts the tones of the higher chakras, echoes the voices of the Gods; and the dance emulates the movements of the Gods. We are never far away from sights, sounds and symbols of our religion. A mountaintop represents Lord Siva; a hill represents Lord Murugan, Karttikeya; and sugar cane fields represent Lord Ganesha. Everything that one sees on the planet represents something religious. Art is not merely for egotistical and existential self-expression, but for spiritual expression, done consciously in service to the Divine. That is why one seldom sees or even knows the name of the artist of the great Hindu artistic creations. The artist is not creating in order to become famous or rich. He is surrendering his talents, serving his Gods and his religion through his art, and his art takes on a certain sacredness.
One great joy that the Hindu has is the appreciation for all other religions. Hinduism is theocentric, that means God-centric, whereas most other religions are prophet-centric, revolving around the personality of some living person or some person who once lived in history and interpreted religion to his culture in his time. Hinduism has no founder. It was never founded. It has neither a beginning nor an end. It is coexistent with man himself. That is why it is called the Sanatana Dharma, the Eternal Path. It is not one man's teaching or interpretation. It is not limited to a single facet of religion, but consists of the entire spectrum, seen in its various components as if through a prism. It does not say that this religion is wrong and this one right. It sees God everywhere, manifesting all the great religions. The Hindu can appreciate Buddha without becoming a Buddhist. He can understand Jesus without becoming a Christian. Therefore, the joys of all the religions of the world become the joys of the Hindu.
But as Hindus, we must first think of the joys and happiness within our own religion. Consider our blessings. Come closer to the Gods of our religion. The many Gods are in the Western world now and have circumferenced the planet with their shakti of radiant rays that penetrate with spiritual power, bringing harmony and culture, balancing out the dharma of the planet.
Hinduism is such a great religion. All practicing Hindus are very proud of their religion. Unfortunately, these days too many born into the religion are not all that proud to be Hindus, but this is slowly changing. Hindus are now welcoming into their religion others who are, of their own volition, adopting or converting into the Sanatana Dharma. They are proud enough of their faith to want others to share its wisdom, its mysticism, its scriptures, its broadmindedness, its magnificent temples and its final conclusions for all mankind. To all Hindus, who today are found in every country on the Earth, I say: Courage! Courage! Courage! Have the courage to know beyond a doubt that Hinduism is the greatest religion in the world. We must be proud of this.
Hinduism Cannot Be Destroyed: It is false to think that one has to be born a Hindu in order to be a Hindu. That is a concept postulated by certain caste-based Hindu lineages and reinforced by the Christians in their effort to hinder the growth of our religion, to deprive it of new life, to hold it down while they in turn try to convert Hindus en masse to their religion. Swami Vivekananda (1863-1902), a Hindu monk and missionary who wrote extensively on the Hindu Dharma, when confronted by this same issue in the West would explain how Hindus who have been converted by force should not be denied an opportunity of returning to their ancestral religion. As for the case of those not born into Hinduism who might be interested to join it, he simply said, "Why, born aliens have been converted in the past by crowds, and the process is still going on." Dr. S. Radhakrishnan (1888-1975), the distinguished Hindu philosopher who became the second president of India, confirms this view in writing, "In a sense, Hinduism may be regarded as the first example in the world of a missionary religion. Only its missionary spirit is different from that associated with the proselytizing creeds. It did not regard as its mission to convert humanity to one opinion. For what counts is conduct and not belief. The ancient practice of vratyastoma, described fully in the Tandya Brahmana, shows that not only individuals but whole tribes were absorbed into Hinduism."
During the era of India's domination by alien religions, when Hinduism was scheduled to be destroyed, the attack was to be carried out in three ways. The first strategy was to convince the women to abandon their age-old stri dharma--of maintaining the home, its purity and ways of worship--thus drawing them away from the household in order to receive a so-called "higher education " or to teach in alien religious schools, thus denying future generations the mother's religious counsel and grounding in the dharma. The second strategy was to overtly break down the various castes of temple priests by enticing them to accept other, often higher paying, occupations, thus leaving the temples unattended.
The third strategy was to convince Hindus that they had inherited a crude and outdated religion. This last attack was accomplished mainly through ridicule, by ridiculing every aspect of the religion that could possibly be ridiculed. For example, those who slandered Hinduism claimed it has no sacraments. Why, Hinduism has more sacraments, more sacred rites and ceremonies for its members, than perhaps any other religion in the world. These sacraments include the namakarana samskara, name-giving sacrament; annaprashana, first feeding; karnavedha, ear-piercing; vidyarambha, commencement of learning; vivaha, marriage; and many others.
Though India was politically dominated for generations by adherents of alien faiths, and though every attempt was made to discourage, weaken and crush the native religion, the carefully calculated, systematic assault failed to destroy Hinduism. Hinduism cannot be destroyed. It is the venerable eternal religion, the Sanatana Dharma. But it was an effective campaign that has left in its wake deep samskaric patterns, deep subconscious impressions, which still persist in the minds of the Indian people. It is going to be difficult to completely eradicate these impressions, but with the help of all the millions of Hindus throughout the world, in adhering to and extolling the benefits and joys of Hinduism and the gifts which it holds for mankind, this is possible and feasible, within the range of accomplishment, perhaps within this very generation.

RE:Hinduism a way of life
by rajesh bsr on Apr 23, 2007 02:53 PM  Permalink
God to know your intrest in hinduism.
You know this is one religion which has got infinite gods, saints, dharmas & on & on.
For a common man it's difficult to choose the god.most of the gods are involved in all kinds of activities which a common man is involved.eg(voilence,sex (including promiscuous),jelousy,anger,& so on.
I know a furious god who cut's of his own son's head just because he didn't allow to enter while his mom was having bath.This is degree of anger or voilence some god inherit. There many instances like this which cannot be listed here.You can justify by saying respect, commitment etc etc. But this is not acceptable for a god stature. it's very difficult to find a god without any of these qualities.They are very similar to a common man. I don't see these so called god's can ever set a example to mankind.
In my opinion it's a total confusion here.

can u suggest a god who has some principles & commandments & who himself is a eg for it.
I think Love is the biggest essence in any religion. Sincearly Loving some one who is against you is great form of love. The more greatest way of love is sacrifice.

Please sugggest any religion which offer this god.

I see you have too much of love,respect,etc to your religion. you do not know, somewhere in you, you have devloped a hatredness towards other religion(people). This can only help to give birth to terrorism what we are seeing in India,Iraq,Pakistan,palestine& US & so on...

So just don't love/brag/ preach to much about religion/god. just love one onother as you love yourself. no religion is greater than humanity.
Just beleive there is one god, who is beyond everything, who created the universe& definetly don't posses any of the bad human qualities. He just beyond everything & he is filled with enormous love if you follow his principles. For the good principles he has already installed that software in you. ask your conciousness, you will know it unless you become the victim to the religious based evil virus

by rajesh bsr on Apr 24, 2007 11:58 AM  Permalink
as i said you have devloped a great love for your religion. you love your religion more than yourself. This is the exact why there is a hatredness in you for other religion/people.

In the past Invasion was a trend amoung empires,dynasty,kingdoms.During invasion ,they used to kill people. this is history. there is no point unecessarily sit & dig about past & pinpointing the religions. It's like digging a corpse.
Instead try to think why people use to invade, what was the cause & think how these can be prevented in today's world.
BTW i'm not naming any god here & i don't want to do. iT's tooo immature to do so.
I don't talk of specific god/religion here & i also think it's not right to brag/love one's religion

by rashmi sahu on Apr 25, 2007 01:28 PM  Permalink
I have a great love for sanatan Dharma and Nation.This spiritual understanding has helped me a lot and evovled me as an individual.Further it has made me to speak up against any thing wrong , the price of which i pay.But i believe now follow truth and stick to it, God is there.Help others not to cheat, try to help poors which i do in all my capacity as an individual and as part of a system.The problem comes when you preach but not follow, that is the case with most of us , best moment comes to me when my men look up to me.

by rashmi sahu on Apr 24, 2007 10:42 AM  Permalink
Dear As per vedas there is only one God who nurses destroys and creates.Vedas talk of only one almighty form less God interestingly Brahma, Vishnu, Shiva by these sanskrit names one god is referred to in Vedas.Our ancestors used to keep the name their progenies from these vedas. They all were philosher of vedas and yoga, they were consulted by even Kings for guidance and conduct.There used to be shstrath among them to come to a conclusion note not imposition of thoughts.However LOrd Rama, Hanuman and Loed Krishna were highly advanced souls who have studied this knowledge from respective Gurus. I hope You all know.Vedas do not talk of idol worship.

RE:RE:Hinduism a way of life
by Shambu on Apr 24, 2007 11:36 AM  Permalink
How was America converted to Christianity? The natives were systematically hunted by Columbus & co and they spread their faith of LOVE. There are so many good things inherent in Hinduism. We have many Gods what is your problem in it?

by rajesh bsr on Apr 24, 2007 12:49 PM  Permalink
there is no problem for me. I'mjust saying my opinion as
Hinduism(religion) is not the way of life.
instead
Loving one onther is a way of life.
beacause where love prevails, there is no jealous,violence,greedy,horror,hatred,cheating.
It's peace everywhere.I'm sure we all seek peace.
all thae vedas,bible,quran are based on one word finally called Love which many people still have failed to understand, instead just fight in the name of religion by claiming my "religion is way of life" and not yours. ranting pages together. There no need to complicate & confuse ourselves to such a extent where we find ourselves unable to accept the truth.

RE:RE:Hinduism a way of life
by Shambu on Apr 24, 2007 01:51 PM  Permalink
You're right in a way. How many people in this world can love others simply like that without expecting anything? Do you think all are so mature enough to practice the kind of love you talk about.

All religions are corrupt today. People interpret the holy texts to suit their needs.

There is no use fighting about religions, since it has been the major cause of all wars in history. All i am saying is do not find fault with other religions as you cannot comprehend it in whole. Follow your way and find the truth.

Don't he a hindu try to be Lord krishna. Don't be a christian try to be Lord christ. Dont be a muslim try to be Prophet.

Spirituality is the need of the hour and not religion.

Why alone India?
by on Apr 23, 2007 11:27 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Can anyone answer why alone India has produced multitude of saints/mystics/avatars/yogis compared to any other country in the world?

What does veda teach? Does'nt it teach that we are not the combination of mind/body/intellect but we are pure consciousness?

How many of us have made real attempts to find out the divinity in us? What do other religions say about self-realisation? Is there any concept of self-realisaion in other religions?

How many cultures have survived to this day? If you answer is Hinduism then think why? Many religions tried to overcome Hinduism but they failed and will fail in future Think why and what makes our religion special?

Caste based soceity is one of the best social models. Every model has its own -ves and ves,but it has less. In past materialism was very less and spiritual values more. today it is upside down. All people wnat to become rich, famous etc.

Why are there so many problems in today's world? Why are there so many religions when all preach the same concept? Why are there wars?

It is becos of the human nature. The EGO is the root cause of all problems and problems arise becos of desires. We always think we are perfect and what we possess in this world is best, may it be beliefs or materials. If you are one of those you become a frog in a well and cannot progress spiritually. Spirituality is development of good qualities not a set of rites and rituals. What makes Lord Rama special? Did he display his supernatural powers?
His character was flawless? Thought, deed and action was perfect.

What do you posses when you sleep? You dont even know who you are. As soon as you wake up from sleep you regain everything.

Realising that "I am not this body", "I am not this mind", I am not this intellect but I AM PURE CONSCIOUSNESS is spirituality and that was the way shown by our rishis. Today's gurus are pathetic and the gullible public still pathetic.

What should you do to reach that highest level?
First make your mind calm. Dont run after materialistic things. Your destiny will take you where you belong. Without a calm mind you cannot see your true SELF. Swami Vivekananda talks about this.

There is no need for any new age gurus. All that needs to be said has been already said by our greatest saints. All taht you need to do is to have the quest for your true identity. There is no use arguing about which religion is best, which caste is best, which country is best. We are living in a relative world. so, difference of opinion is permanent.

Today our soceity, rulers, gurus are corrupt exactly as predicted in our scriptures. There is bound to be a step rise in all sort of crimes and Adharma and then peace will follow. Everything is a circle. What goes up has to go down.

Do not get caught in the web of materialistic things. They are impermanent by nature.Be self-content, do not compare your life with others. comparison gives rise to jealously, hatred etc.

Beware of your MIND. That's the culprit of all evil of mankind.

RE:Why alone India?
by z on Apr 23, 2007 12:50 PM  Permalink
are u from aastha channel?

LOL

by rashmi sahu on Apr 23, 2007 01:52 PM  Permalink
No i am not from aasth channel but whenever i get time i try to search on net reagrding indian history or spirituialism or read some good thing.i like aastha channel especially swami ramdevs yoga only.I love to read and store in my computer.I love this country, being in defence developed strong patriotism and i love the values taught by our culture my ideals are not film stars or rich people but people who can move others and do good to socity at large.Is it wrong to share good things with people.

by Shambu on Apr 24, 2007 11:25 AM  Permalink
fsafs

by rashmi sahu on Apr 23, 2007 01:54 PM  Permalink
Sorry wrongly answered my sincere apologies

Why alone India?
by on Apr 23, 2007 11:25 AM  Permalink 

Can anyone answer why alone India has produced multitude of saints/mystics/avatars/yogis compared to any other country in the world?

What does veda teach? Does'nt it teach that we are not the combination of mind/body/intellect but we are pure consciousness?

How many of us have made real attempts to find out the divinity in us? What do other religions say about self-realisation? Is there any concept of self-realisaion in other religions?

How many cultures have survived to this day? If you answer is Hinduism then think why? Many religions tried to overcome Hinduism but they failed and will fail in future Think why and what makes our religion special?

Caste based soceity is one of the best social models. Every model has its own -ves and ves,but it has less. In past materialism was very less and spiritual values more. today it is upside down. All people wnat to become rich, famous etc.

Why are there so many problems in today's world? Why are there so many religions when all preach the same concept? Why are there wars?

It is becos of the human nature. The EGO is the root cause of all problems and problems arise becos of desires. We always think we are perfect and what we possess in this world is best, may it be beliefs or materials. If you are one of those you become a frog in a well and cannot progress spiritually. Spirituality is development of good qualities not a set of rites and rituals. What makes Lord Rama special? Did he display his supernatural powers?
His character was flawless? Thought, deed and action was perfect.

What do you posses when you sleep? You dont even know who you are. As soon as you wake up from sleep you regain everything.

Realising that "I am not this body", "I am not this mind", I am not this intellect but I AM PURE CONSCIOUSNESS is spirituality and that was the way shown by our rishis. Today's gurus are pathetic and the gullible public still pathetic.

What should you do to reach that highest level?
First make your mind calm. Dont run after materialistic things. Your destiny will take you where you belong. Without a calm mind you cannot see your true SELF. Swami Vivekananda talks about this.

There is no need for any new age gurus. All that needs to be said has been already said by our greatest saints. All taht you need to do is to have the quest for your true identity. There is no use arguing about which religion is best, which caste is best, which country is best. We are living in a relative world. so, difference of opinion is permanent.

Today our soceity, rulers, gurus are corrupt exactly as predicted in our scriptures. There is bound to be a step rise in all sort of crimes and Adharma and then peace will follow. Everything is a circle. What goes up has to go down.

Do not get caught in the web of materialistic things. They are impermanent by nature.Be self-content, do not compare your life with others. comparison gives rise to jealously, hatred etc.

Beware of your MIND. That's the culprit of all evil of mankind.

How did this column come under UP elections Neta, Neta
by Gajanan Mohite on Apr 23, 2007 07:45 AM  Permalink 

Neta , Neta , without indentity.

india is a riddle...
by surajit som on Apr 22, 2007 09:54 PM  Permalink 

read all the comments and you realise how difficult it is to define "indian identity" or india. may be we can borrow from shri winston churchill(may his soul rest in peace in heaven) and define india as follows:india is a riddle wrapped in mystery inside an enigma at the core of poverty and spiritualism with the tendency of the indians to escape abroad by hook or by crook,particularly to usa and europe !!!!

RE:Hinduism has disintegrated and destroyed India till 1947.
by rayman on Apr 22, 2007 01:38 AM  Permalink
My dear m,

Well whatever the status of any state is, its not brought by any particular religion. I have friends from all religions and all of them r close to me like my brothers. Just by few bad examples please dont paint the whole communities. It's best if we keep religion to ourselves and learn to appreciate good and bad in people for what is good n bad not relating it to religions. What we need is to find ways in our lives by which we can change the status of our people of our country. If u r that disillusioned by the state of our people try to do something for it rather than blaming it on anyone else. Great are people who take the blame on themselves and strive for correcting things. Its always easy to blame others :-) I hope u and others too get the meaning.

No matter how much u hate hindus , muslims, sikhs or matter of fact any other religion, India has always been multi-religion, multi culture and it will not change, ur hate is just bringing us down not giving us any push to a better future.

RE:Hinduism has disintegrated and destroyed India till 1947.
by sridhar gorantla on Apr 22, 2007 02:09 AM  Permalink
THOSE WHO HATE INDIA donot truly know the magnanimity of the VEDIC INDIAN SPIRITUAL VALUES OR KNOWLEDGE.

First, calm down your mind by removing all the crap that you hosted in your mind till now, and then with the calmed down mind, please read the book "Autobiography of a Yogi" by Swami Paramahamsa Yogananda to understand the practicality and powerfulness of the INDIAN SPIRITUAL values. Here is the online version of this book:

http://www.crystalclarity.com/yogananda/chap41.html

Here are the acclaims that this book gathered all over the world irrespective of race, religion, nationality. Afterall, each individual in their originality are one and the same and will definitely take the knowledge if you serve them only after you know it first hand and the serve with sincerety.

http://www.srf-yogananda.org/special_ancmnts/ayanniversary/intro.html

READ THIS BOOK. THIS AFFIRMS THE ESSENCE OF ALL RELIGIONS AS ONE AND THE SAME AND THIS WILL ALSO MAKE YOU REALIZE HOW MUCH WE HAVE LOST OVER THE GENERATIONS OF WHAT IS TOLD BY EVERY SAINT WHO REALIZED THE ALL PERVADING DIVINITY TO THE FULL EXTENT.

mythology, religion,history and science
by surajit som on Apr 21, 2007 07:49 PM  Permalink 

the discussion has become(predictably!!!) geligion-centric. now mythology is one thing, science is another. the clash between religion and science is very very old.in america ,many die-hard chritians wont believe evolution even today . some of them even want it to be stamped out of text books!!! yes believe it or not.

some of the comments completely negate evolution. what are we to accept-evolution of pure mythology? one must hasten to add another clarification. mythology,religion ,history etc are not identical but they tend to coalesce togather. take moses' life , ramayana ,mahabharata etc for example. and this has caused enormous problem for mankind(take contemporary ayodhya for example). the best solution would be to separate mythology, religion, history, science etc . but some of the comments indicate that that would never be possible and therein lies the danger.

surajit.som@gmail.com

origin of Hindu relion
by rashmi sahu on Apr 21, 2007 12:23 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This piece of information given by my guruji i am putting for awareness of readers and spreading truth which is the duty of every individual.If you read articles by swami dayanand saraswati and paramhansa yogananda, you will find this information similar:This is a truth that even today every religion decide the truth or untruth based on its religious holy book. This is also a well known fact & world accepts it that in the world's library (in Britain also)there are four Vedas as the ancient holy book of the world. Yajurveda chapter 31, Rigveda Mandal 10 sukta 129, Atharvaveda 8/11/3-6 & Saamveda 617 already say that the knowledge of four Vedas is direct from Almighty God at the time of creation. Knowledge can be given only when someone gives knowledge to others. That is why before more than 5000 years Rishi Patanjali told in Yog Shashtra Sutra 1/26 that almighty God is the Spiritual master of all human beings. In the Vedas there is no mention of any sects & caste system. We the mankind are the children of only one Almighty God, our father. Manu Smariti is also a holy book written by Manu after studying Vedas. Manu Smariti give the proof in its chapeter one that the present time of the Earth is 7th Manvanter uptil now 6 Manvanter have passed. Those are Swayambhar, Swarochish, Ottmi, Tamas, Ryivat & Chakshash, now its 7th Manvanter. 71 Chaturyugi=1 Manvanter. There are four Yug: Satyug, Treta, Dwapur & Kaliyug.
Satyug = 17 lakhs 28 thousand years
Treta = 12 lakhs 96 thousand years
Dwapar = 8 lakhs 64 thousand years
Kaliyug = 4 lakhs 32 thousand years

The total of four yugas comes to 43 lakhs & 20 thousand years which is equal to one Chaturyugi. 71 Chaturyugi i.e., 30 crore 67 lakhs & 20 thousand years equal to one Manvanter & 6 Manvanter have yet passed whose calculation comes to one Arab 84 crore 30 lakhs & 20 thousand years. This is 7th Manvanter & 28 Chaturyugi & the present Kaliyug has passed its time of 5002 years. So uptil now the age of the earth & Vedas is one Arab 96 crore 8 lakhs 53 thousands & 2 years. Bhagwat Geeta Shaloka 8/17 also says about this fact. ManuSmariti Shaloka 1/64 to 1/80 also says at that time there were no any sects or caste system. And there was no any word Hindu at that time.

The word Hindu is also not mentioned in holy books, Upnishads, Shashtras & Valmiki Ramayan, Shatpath Brahmin Granth etc. And in these holy books there is no any word Hindus or sects or caste system, where as it is clearly mentioned in every chapter of thereof that there is only one God of the Universe. Yajurveda chapter 31, Rigveda Mandal 10 Sukta 129 Mantra 1-6, Saam veda Mantra 11/8/3-6 says that this Universe including Earth and all human beings is the creation of one Almighty God. Manu Smariti Shaloka 1/21 also says that cow, horse, mankind etc., made by God and its name were made from Vedas. Shaloka 1/136-141 & 2/17 says that on whole of the Earth, the man & woman took birth only in Trivishtup.

Those who have good qualities they were named Arya and who were entangled in bad deeds were called Dasyu (dacoit or Asur). The whole of the mankind at that time were called Aryans and Dasyus accordingly. After so many years the Aryans came down and where they started living they name the place Aryavrat and long afterwards it was named as Bhartvarsh. Bharat means Vedvani that is Ved Mantras in four Vedas as mentioned in Rigveda Mantra 3/53/12. The meaning of said Mantra is that Almighty God does protection of all those who know and respect the Bhartam (Ved Mantras).

So untill the voice of four Vedas is there in Indians, there will be automatically protection from God because Ved Mantras is the knowledge originated in the heart of selected four pious souls of previous Earth at the time of the present creation, there names are Agni, Vaayu, Aaditya & Angira Rishi. Vedas are thus not books, this is knowledge generated in the heart of the said four Rishis.

Long after that is after one Arab & more than 86 crore years this knowledge which was being learned by heart generation to generation by mouth was written on Bhoj Patra by Vyas Muni & in 18th century it was published. Most of the Indians have forgotten this eternal & Supernatural Vedas knowledge wherein there is only one GOD of the Universe who creates, nurses &destroy the Universe & again after destroying HE creates again. This is faith on Vedas as is the faith of every man or woman in their respective religious book. The Aryavrat countries are is in North Himalaya, in South Vindhyachal, in East & west ocean & river Saraswati, in west Attak river & in east Drishdawati river which is originated from east Nepal mountain and goes to Assam(East Bengal) and from west of Burma to South ocean which is now called Brahmputra. From north moutains to south ocean where Attak river is mixed with ocean. From Himalaya Equator to moutains of south upto Rameshwar & in Vindhyachal the whole area was called Aryavrat country whose present name is Bhartvarsh or Hindustan or India in English. Mahabharta also tells about the same fact. In view of this it is proved that all mankind took birth in Tibet. And there was no any sect at that time.

Mahabharta or Bhagwat Geeta was written by Vyas Muni about 5084 years back. And Valmiki Ramayan was written about nine crore years back. In these authenticated holy books there is also no mention of any sect or caste system. We all mankind were called Aryans upto 5000 years back and thereafter too. The Indian philosophy who has given so many philosophies and views forbenefit of mankind and human beings uptil now. There were Takshila & Nalanda University where the students from all parts of the world used to come to study Vedas & other subjects. Those all were called Aryans at that time. First time Greeks & Unanis used the word Indu for Sindhu ocean and the public lived on the bank of Sindhu. Thereafter Arabians & inhabitants of Farasstarted saying word Hindi to the Aryans lived across Sindhu river. So whosoever was living across the Sindhu was called Indu. & now Hindu either Muslim, Christian etc. So Hindu word was used for all who lived across the Sindhu. When there was no any word Hindu except Aryans before 5000 years and thereafter too then it is clear that it is being used for the last 2-3 thousand years back.

Within these years too Islam, Jain, Bodh, Christianity, Sikh religion came into existence & who were after Vedas Shastras, Upanishads, Brahmin Granth, Bhagwat Geeta, Ramayan were studying as before have been named with word Hindu instead Aryans. Whole of the world knows about the fact of origin of these religions. So whole of the world can't be considered Hindu now at this belated stage. The study of all religions conclude that no any religion preach hate or war or quarrelling etc. Every religion speaks about love together, worship of one Almighty God, live and let live and to promote brotherhood internationally. The whole mankind thus try to remove the ravages of hatred at all level.

RE:origin of Hindu relion
by sudhanshu singh on Apr 21, 2007 01:25 PM  Permalink
Now thats really funny!!

by rashmi sahu on Apr 21, 2007 04:37 PM  Permalink
Dear Sudhansu i knowpeople like u will find this funny , if the same information would have been given by a westerner in any university u would have said is that so.but now when i search on net i found most westerner more educated on sanatana dharma then indians.there is a magazine called hinduism today written by all western monks adopted hinduism,their monastery is in kuaii, similarly,atmajyoti ashram.b'coz this is atransition phase of india once it is over then we will awake to realise truth by then we west would have mastered this.My guru ji who is an engineer by profession from a forign university was asked to continue as a professor of hinduism in Ny but he refused.stilll in india you find true yogi's.Please do get reducated in your civilisation.First search for truth and then ridicule it.read autobiography of a yogi,vivekananda,sai babab, swami nityananda,swami ramtirth, ramkrishna paramhansa, mahavtar babaji and lahiri mahashya and then come back to me. All the best.

by sridhar gorantla on Apr 21, 2007 07:14 PM  Permalink
Good explanation rashmi. Once a person experiences divnity, there exists no chance for any other doubt, but to accept the truth and follow. The truth is that GOD IS ONE, GOD IS GREAT & GOD IS EVERYWHERE. Until one experiences this truth by own experiencs, the maya or the satan or saitan mentioned in other texts will always trick one in to seeing the indivisible all pervading divinity as having divided. Just as the modern science re-affirmed that, material that the naked eyes see as individual entities, are in essence one and the same in their sub-atomic form.

by surajit som on Apr 21, 2007 07:36 PM  Permalink
now mythology is one thing, science is another. the clash between religion and science is very very old.in america ,many die-hard chritians wont believe evolution even today . some of them even want it to be stamped out of text books!!! yes believe it or not.

the above comment completely negates evolution. what are we to accept-evolution of pure mythology? one must hasten to add another clarification. mythology,religion ,history etc are not identical but they tend to coalesce togather. take moses' life , ramayana ,mahabharata for example. and this has caused enormous problem for mankind(take contemporary ayodhya for example). the best solution would be to separate mythology, religion, history, science etc . but the above article indicates that that would never be possible and therein lies the danger.

surajit.som@gmail.com

by sudhanshu shekhar singh on Apr 21, 2007 11:35 PM  Permalink
Seriously, no offense intended, but I knew people like you, with an engineer guru ji from some foreign university, could not have reacted in any other way. I also had a guruji at one time. He too was an great researcher (Believe me, he was a B Tech from IIT, did his PHD from a top US university, had been among leading researcher in Computational Fluid Dynamics in the world at one time). He seemed to be a great soul. even after experiencing the best physical life one would imagine, and being capable of earning a lot of money, his only priorities were spiritual. I was very much impressed by him. He also told me all the history you wrote in our comment..and even more. He even told the future as predicted by the scriptures, till the advent of lord Kalki and finishing every thing up. I did not find all that funny at that time. I was very serious about spiritual life. And tried very hard, and very sincerely to completely assimilate it. He also said the same thing - you can not know what spiritual life is unless you get into it. No one an explain it from outside, you have to see it from inside to know what it is. And I did that. After spending two years in trying to be spiritual, I realized all he was doing was to recondition my mind, from its material state to a spiritual state by putting the right kind if thoughts in it. All he was doing was to recondition my mind to accept everything that his cult thought was true. But I guess I was too free spirited to be bogged down the rules of that so called spiritual life. I found it too much against by true basic human nature. In an attempt to get closer to god, in an attempt to get closer to the truth which nobody really knows, I was going farther and farther away from the realty, that I am a human. After two years I realized that things were getting too dogmatic, and I was easily accepting those dogmatic ideas, which I would have never accepted if he had not conditioned my mind for it. I just looked at myself once, as an outsider, what I was before, and what I had become. I was essentially the same person inside. Just the way I represented myself to the outside world had changed. I was the same person, with or without god. I realized that I did not need it at all to be good person, and hence left it. And do you know why I got interested in that stuff in the first place, because when I first heard of it, I was just eighteen, and had never seen any other paradigm of life but the prevalent material one. I found their ideas very interesting. just like you, they also said "if the same information would have been given by a westerner in any university u would have said is that so". They said that everything we see around is created by something. How could the world have been produced by a big bang. they gave me all sorts of interesting argument like that. And I was convinced. They said that perfect knowledge can be imparted only by someone who has it. And it has to travel in disciplic succession. With the limited capacity human mind, we can never decipher all the mysteried of nature. We can know them only when the one who created it (god) explains it to us. And to test its truthfulness, one has to follow it, there is no other way. I decided to follow it. I decided to be proud of the spiritual culture that India has for so many years and follow it. But later on, when I looked at it as an outsider, leaving aside my positive bias towards him, I realized that he did not really convince me about the correctness of his way of life. He convinced me of the uselessness/futility of the material I had before I came to him. All he said about spiritual life was that it is sublime, and I can understand it only once I am in it. I realized what a trap it was. The power of control over minds of people is very alluring, even more that that of money or political power. Thats what the guy was doing. Misleading young, impressionable minds to increase his and his cult's influence. thats what all these guyz do. They seem to be very logical, very nice, they talk of making you nice people, of making you god's people (Well, they have to offer something alluring, otherwise no one would follow their unnatural suppressive life style), but they are just trapping you.
We humans have fears, we are very afraid of the unknown. these guyz take advantage of it. Just think about it once. Nobody knows what the absolute truth is. Some people claim they have seen it, but the claim can not be tested. When you go to these people, first they give very convincing arguments about the futility of material life, then they train your mind to accept their philosophy. You see other people following their philosophy, they all seem to be following it so well, you think you are the only fallen one who is unable to follow the right thing. You feel wretched, and vow to follow your guru's teaching even more strongly. every time this happens, your gurus hold on your mind becomes stronger. When you get deep into it, you become friends with other guyz, who seemed to be following it so well, you find that they have their own problems. even they havent realized god, but they believe that the guru has, and following him, they also will. But the fact is, you never come across people have attained the truth, accept your guru and some of his closest people. Others only feel the ecstasy sometimes. Read about/experience hypnosis, and you will know what it is. I have experienced hypnosis, I know what it is.
I do not know how you will react to it, but thats the way I feel about these things. Its good to be connected to your roots. I am an Indian, sone of Mr so and so, a hindu by birth etc. But these are facts about me, which are not in my control. They can be used to track me physically, these do not define me. they are a part of me being, but not my identity. It is what I do that defines me, not the physical facts about me. When One starts confusing these things with his identity, one becomes vulnerable target people who like to control other's minds.

See, no body do really knows the truth about the absolute truth. One can not be logically sure about the right way of life. One can put faith in anything one wants, and follow it through out his life. What one can be sure about is this life one has - one has to decide himself what he wants to do. Going just by logic, not by any faith, nobody knows what will happen if me and you follow any religion or not. It doesn't even matter, i guess.
As far as western people adopting indian ideas is concerned, well Yoga is definitely a good thing, and it is bound be popular on the whole earth. as far their their following Sanatan dharma is concerned, well, they are as susceptible to falling it these spiritual traps as we are, they are also humans.

Some last notes: I do not like anybody preaching his lifestyle to me, or me preaching mine to others. But when I see such things as you comment written for public viewing, I feel compelled to present my side of it to people. People should know the tricks commonly used by religious sects/cults to trap them. So that they do not get trapped, instead they are able to do what they wanna do, with an open mind.

RE:RE:origin of Hindu relion
by surajit som on Apr 22, 2007 12:18 AM  Permalink
the comment is an eye opener.

people may remember the waco massacre in the usa. the guru,david koresh, could recite the Bible by heart. he had a huge following. ultimately there was a clash with the state. all of the followers died in a horrifying clash.it was found out later(?), among other facts, ,that the Bible-clutching Guru was regularly bedding his unsuspecting young female followers. then there was one in Guyana where literally thousands were forced to committ suicide. the list is endless. so much about the modern day gurus. many of them would put Hitler's Secret Service to shame when it comes to control people. at least hitler did it in the name of the State. many modern day gurus do it only for themselves.

by sridhar gorantla on Apr 22, 2007 02:17 AM  Permalink
DEAR SUDHANSHU, YOUR TRUST SEEMED TO HAVE BEEN MISUSED BY YOUR GURUJI OR SPIRITUAL GUIDE. I AM SORRY FOR THIS THAT YOU HAD TO ENCOUNTER A FALSE OR HALF KNOWLEDGED GURU OR MASTER. I CAN UNDERSTAND YOUR FRUSTRATION. I THINK, once you read the book "AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF A YOGI" by SWAMI PARAMAHAMSA YOGANANDA, YOU WILL FIND GOD and even experience ALL PERVADING DIVINITY. THIS WILL END ALL OF YOUR THIRST FOR THE SPIRITUAL KNOWLEDGE OR ENLIGHTMENT. Here is the free online version of the book:

http://www.crystalclarity.com/yogananda/index.html

I can stand-by of what I am saying here to you. I am not using any fake ID to post this posting. Out of my own spiritual experiences and out of my own life experiences, I am telling this to you. Please read the book. This is also available in most book stores and in major indian languages and also in world languages. Here is the acclaims that this book gathered from the western world, that is known for its way of adopting by way of testing and not just by faith.

http://www.srf-yogananda.org/special_ancmnts/ayanniversary/intro.html

LETS PRAY THAT THE ALL PERVADING DIVINITY OR GOD, BLESS YOU.

by stav on Apr 25, 2007 01:01 AM  Permalink
hey i read that book you are stating, it was wonderful all this yuga stuff made much more sense after reading Autobiography of a yogi. I find these enormously large conventional time scales which match up with the life of earth itself rather stupid. The time scale correction in Autobiography of a Yogi is the only sensible ans scientific time scale i think and it also matches up with evolution of known history. it seems this error in number also came up in Kali Yuga according to this book.Good you mention this, hope more people read it.

by sudhanshu shekhar singh on Apr 22, 2007 03:09 AM  Permalink
I will definitely read the book...but with a skeptic approach. I do not find any spiritual ideas appealing anymore. Anything that i think is not in harmony with my human nature, i disregard as crap. I no longer desire to become a great person, I am satisfied in being an ordinary one.

by sridhar gorantla on Apr 22, 2007 06:53 AM  Permalink
Dear Sudhanshu, thanks a lot. My sincere advice to you and to anyone is to experiment and test and only then accept something or someones words especially related to spirituality. Also, one more thing is to keep the mind calm all the times, no matter what happens. Disturbed mind doesnot even be able to solve the obvious of the worldly problems. Then, how can a disturbed mind be able to solve the problems like that of life and death, secrets of the subtler worlds, and that of the divinity e.t.c. The more ones mind is calmed down, the more that one will start understanding the true nature of self and also that of the all pervading nature of divinity. Infact, the entire religions and spiritual practices are aimed at this single most objective of calming down the mind.

Happy reading.
All pervading God bless all.

by rashmi sahu on Apr 22, 2007 08:28 AM  Permalink
Dear sudhansu , hai in india and in this world there are many people who fool you on the name of religion and spirituality.i agree with you, but this was always there but more in kaliyug, till the the time you really meet somebody trually spiritual and gyani.You can not measure every body by the same yard stick.we all are educated god has given the highest intellect to human beings but under the veil of maya and ignorance we all commit sins and spread false hood we all should stop sdpreading falsehood and promoting truth.To learn authentic things learn sanskrit and have pure heart and finally pray god to give you a spiritual benefactor.Every soul in the process of evolution has to realise god and you too will meet your guru i am sure.I have also experienced all these things in life but my faith in god was never diminished and will never how many people will come and deceive me or bad experience i know till the time you follow ethical standards and purity in life you are protected by God , he will protect u even u r asinner just you have to rely on him.Just refer this site www.vedmandir.come.Further you are well off try to get knowledge on net search for truth and truth will come to u.May god bless u in your endeavours.

by sudhanshu shekhar singh on Apr 22, 2007 11:26 AM  Permalink
Well..the fact is, I never really believed in god. Just look around you. There are all kinds of people out there in world. Some believe in god, some do not. Some are very good, some are not that good Nobody has a perfect life. some are attached to mundane/material desires, some to spiritual - but all have desires. When the desires are unfulfilled, everybody feels bad. Some just can never come out of it. Some learn to leave the past behind and proceed with life expecting a better future.

I do not really know what is tight and what is wrong. Nobody knows that. everybody's right and wrong depend on his conditioning. What I know is that I am not interested in any sort divine things. I believe, that divinity is the greatest illusion of all. I am happy in being an ordinary human. I do not want to follow any religion or spiritual ideology. They are confusing. If all the religions preach the same thing, then why are there so many religions. Not only many religions, so many sects within each religion. All of them think they are right, and in public, say that every other one is also right. then why dont they just dissolve these differences and make it all one thing. If they believe that all the the means to same end, why do they try to preach their thing to people and convert them? In theory, each religion is great. why in practice does they get so much distorted?

I guess this page will not up for long, so reply to me at sudhanshu.shekhar.singh @ gmail.com

by sridhar gorantla on Apr 22, 2007 12:55 PM  Permalink
Dear sudhanshu, the problems that we face in this world due to multiple religions clashing is purely because of half knowledged people trying to lead others. Its like a blind trying to lead other blind ones. This will only lead to even more chaos. In indian vedic traditions, there are clear directions on evaluating the spiritual enlightment of a person. These evaluations are done purely based on the experiences one attains in his/her spiritual endaveors and nothing else. Once a person experiences the divinity, everything will be clear. This will remove all the confusion that ne otherwise sees in the world. Read the book. I think, you will start seeing things clearly.

by rajesh bsr on Apr 23, 2007 04:11 PM  Permalink
good one mr. singh.very good observation or realization I must say.the particular sentence which you'v said was one of the greatest fact one has to realise.
"The power of control over minds of people is very alluring, even more that that of money or political power."
it's purely a selfish deed. It's very important that unknowigly they should realise that they are giving birth to fundamentalist,revolutanaries missionarie & so on... In the end only hate prevails. real love is disappeared amoung humans.

by deleep s on Apr 25, 2007 02:40 AM  Permalink
Mr Singh...Very well written, but I must mention this, you were a victim here who trusted your guru...
It's a perfect time to mention this saying by buddha "You don't need to a guru to be know about self-realization. A so called guru/saint is all human and his views/opinions could also be wrong. Self realization is something which must be attained by your own self, not by seeking a guru".
Once you've reach a stage you will be able to realise the person who knows most. Then you will be able to follow him.

Please remember, to attain spiritual bliss you need to find answers to your questions of your own. A guru is one who just shows the path.

Buddha, vivekanandha, ramakrishna, adi shankara, ramana etc...became great people cos they sought the answers of their own. Learnt them from nature. The human mind has all the answers. We just need to self-introspect ourselves...

Hope it helps

RE:RE:origin of Hindu relion
by sudhanshu shekhar singh on Apr 25, 2007 12:47 PM  Permalink
Sure it does. after my misadventure with spirituality, I decided to put effort in understanding myself, by myself. I guess once one starts understanding himself, he can put everything into the right perspective. Before trying to comprehend god/absolute truth, one needs o comprehend himself. Introspection is the only way to do that. One might read infinite scriptures, might follow infinite rituals, might listen infinite satsang, but unless thats useless unless one understands himself.

Total 119 messages Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >