The media is not justified in projecting the proposed pay hikes by 6th Pay Commission as "grand" or "bonanza". Just like many such stories, the media doesnot bother to analyse this subject and goes ahead & shoots its mouth off..
Let me put a few things into prespective :
1. This wage revision comes 10 year after the previous one implemented from 1996/1997, which had hiked by 30% or so. 2. Thus the annualised hike for 1997-2006 works out to 3% only. 3. Coupled with an annual increment of 2-4%, this hike worked out to proabably 5-7% pa for 10 years upto 2006. 4. Does it compare this with the pvt sector average of 10-15% pa during the last 10 years ? 5. The SPC proposal is for fixing the wages for the next 10 years. So 40% being reported translates to approx 4% pa upto 2016. 6. Coupled with annual increments of 2-4% (if not changed by SPC), this works out to 6-8% per year upto 2016 !! So where's the bonanza !!?? And how comes media terms it as "GRAND"? 7. Even when the profits of IT Sector are hit by strong rupee, news reports say that the wage hike for their employees will be around 10% pa. 8. Going by that standards, profit making PSUs should be haring more with their employees.. 9. Pvt sector employees enjoy many other benefits like ESOPs, liberal loans, incentives, bonuses, etc., which are denied to most PSU staff. 10. While the debate on "responsibility v/s pay hike" is most welcome, please appreciate that PSUs have turned profitable by virture of har
RE:Wrong portrayal by media !!
by vikas k gupta on Mar 24, 2008 02:52 PM Permalink
buddy, sadly rediff didnt hv the guts to absorb everything written "by virtue of hard work of its employees" was left iccomplete.. u seem to be in pre-1991 reforms mode !! wake up man, there are a very few sectors where PSU hv any kind of monopoly left..
How about asking our Armymen posted in the front if he is happy with his salary ?
by Crickety Keeda on Mar 24, 2008 04:00 PM Permalink
Why do you cry for the hikes of IT people? With hike of 10%, their work increases by 20-30%. Its not like the PSUs where pay hikes/ no hike simply doesn't increase the work load. People always keep eye on the salaries of IT people but they never ever think about the work load they have. If you have the guts of working 12-15 hours daily, why dont you join this sector. But the thing is you dont want to work even 5 hrs a day. We all know the condition of govt offices, people dont work at all there. You guys just know one thing, how to abuse IT people for whatever they do. First learn the ability to work for long and under pressure, then only come and compare. And please, dont split all this shit here. Idiot.
who says india is a poor / developing country. such hefty loan waivers and pay hikes - india is big shot.... what is the end result - how much has india progressed / developed ? political stunt. the govenment employees themselves fix the percentage of pay increase and they themsemves pass the increament..
put this to the general public to pass it and then see the results / outcome ...
people will support even 1 100% pay rise provided it comes attached with some strong anti corruption measures, some tranparency and some dedicated work ethic...pay rise for the sake of pay rise has no meaning except that it will add or reduce inflation as a statistic and accomplish nothing else..!!
RE:Sixth pay Commission
by hinduhindus on Mar 24, 2008 02:38 PM Permalink
This is the political stunt of Congress. All four yeasr it has slept is now doing all these things. Tax cut, cormer loans and now the employee salary. Why the media is mum now? When NDA has helped formenrs this is the media made hue cry is quite because all these Left and Congress mouth piecies( NDTV, The Hindu news paper and deccan Herald news paper) gets lots of currput money from Congress. One should spitt on these medai first for biased coverage
RE:Political stunt of Congress
by B J on Mar 24, 2008 02:41 PM Permalink
So you are against the hike?? Let the Goverment decide the timing of the hike. What your NDA done to the nation is some Martyrs in kargil...
RE:Political stunt of Congress
by Aravind k on Mar 24, 2008 03:02 PM Permalink
What your UPA did is remove all the boards put along the roads. Thats the devolopment theme of UPA!
The media is not justified in projecting the proposed pay hikes by 6th Pay Commission as "grand" or "bonanza". Just like many such stories, the media doesnot bother to analyse and goes ahead & shoots its mouth off..
Let me put a few things into prespective :
1. This wage revision comes 10 year after the previous one implemented from 1996/1997, which had hiked by 30% or so.
2. Thus the annualised hike for 1997-2006 works out to 3% only.
3. Coupled with an annual increment of 2-4%, this hike worked out to proabably 5-7% pa for 10 years upto 2006.
4. Does it compare this with the pvt sector average of 10-15% pa during the last 10 years ?
5. The SPC proposal is for fixing the wages for the next 10 years. So 40% being reported translates to approx 4% pa upto 2016.
6. Coupled with annual increments of 2-4% (if not changed by SPC), this works out to 6-8% per year upto 2016 !! So where's the bonanza !!?? And how comes media terms it as "GRAND"?
7. Even when the profits of IT Sector are hit by strong rupee, news reports say that the wage hike for their employees will be around 10% pa.
8. Going by that standards, profit making PSUs should be sharing more with their employees..
9. Pvt sector employees enjoy many other benefits like ESOPs, liberal loans, incentives, bonuses, etc., which are denied to most PSU employees.
10. While the debate on "responsibility v/s pay hike" is most welcome, please appreciate that PSUs have turned profitable by virt
by Sunderam Aiyer on Mar 24, 2008 02:40 PM Permalink
You have put the whole matter in a nutshell!! Way to go! Let these private job people suck on this for a while.
by Viz Narayan on Mar 24, 2008 03:07 PM Permalink
Hey Aiyer,.It is you guys who suck your Bosses and politicians..We rely on our efficiency and performance to get more.
by sunil pradhan on Mar 24, 2008 02:44 PM Permalink
pvt. employees dont suck u know they can live anywhere with capabilites but u die e'day .
I have retired with pensionable servicefrom the defence in the month of aug 07 after putting 16.5 years. At the time of retiorement my basic was 4745./ How much arrears and pension benifit can i expect?
RE:Pay commmission Implemantation
by Sunderam Aiyer on Mar 24, 2008 02:41 PM Permalink
You bright people from the private sector...let us hear your comments on the above!!! (if any legitimate ones that is)
RE:Pay commmission Implemantation
by sunil pradhan on Mar 24, 2008 02:46 PM Permalink
ur not worth to get a single penny as pension. only after reviewing ur performance during ur services u may get whatever the proportion
INSPITE OF GETTING GOOD SALARIES , I BET THESE GOOD FOR NOTHING LAZY CORRUPT GOVERMENT SERVANTS WILL WORK EFFECIENTLY AND STOP HARRASING HONEST TAX PAYERS. A SEPARTE MINISTRY CALLED MINISTRY OF ANTI-GRAFT SHOULD BE SET UP AND OFCOURSE NOT TO BE HEADED BY LALOO , ARJUN SINGH ELSE THEY WILL IMPLEMENT QUOATA IN THESE AREAS ALSO.
RE:NOW I HOPE CORRUPTION WILL STOP
by satyarthi on Mar 24, 2008 02:48 PM Permalink
Impossible. It has nothing to do with pay packets. High up the officer, more corrupt he is. They are simply abusing the system. Reduction in size (of the governemnt) is only answer. But reverse is happening. In 1997 there were 38 lakh central govt employees, now in 2007 around 45 lakh are goining to get benefit.
I am also working in a Central Govt. office. This hike is unwanted, which will affect the un-employees and common men hardly. Even after giving hiked salary how can we ensure that there will no bribe in depts.? How can we expect speedy settlement of public grievances? How many Govt.staff are efficient or self sufficient in doing their respective jobs? How many are punctual in office timings and working for 8 hours? So, the hike should be on the basis of performance, qualifications, output etc. Or our nation will be ruined. So think about it. (Who will think, thinkers are also Govt. staff).
RE:6th pay commission and hike in salary to central govt. staff
by siva kesavan on Mar 24, 2008 02:41 PM Permalink
Hi Jonny,
Your argument also applies to the private sector employees. Corruption and lack of commitment is abundant in the private sector too and it has to do with individual values and nothing to do with the sector. I have seen many corrupt officials, when working for a large corporate (on the largest in India) and at the same time i have also come across fantastic persons (who are very helpful and kind) in the govt. offices. So don't try to stereotype public servants. I quit my job in the private sector just because of bureacracy and lack of commitment at the top level, which failed to recognize performance.
by Viz Narayan on Mar 24, 2008 02:52 PM Permalink
Any problem with private sector is their own business. It is not public money which goes to waste and you dont have any bloody business poking your nose into it.
by satyarthi on Mar 24, 2008 02:34 PM Permalink
It's great that you have been raising very important issues confronting the country. Everywhere in government offices, there is corruption and wastage. The policy makers have no answer to it. Even social scientists in India have been failing the country on this front.
The Indian Govt. employees are grossly underpaid, still many of them work round the clock and answerable to many things, for example the Police,Defence personnel and even custom & central excise employees work day night and even are denied holidays that the other efficient people like us enjoy. Government must Hike their pay almost the double of what they are getting, only then we can expect them to perform much better and even the corrupts will also start working if they are able to meet their needs, so just do not demean them rather think that why do we lack commitment from them and why the private company employees are happy working with full commitment - friend its only the fat pay package and work environment that makes them work hard, therefore we should give the Government employees their due and not question the hike.
RE:GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES ARE UNDER PAID
by Sunderam Aiyer on Mar 24, 2008 02:34 PM Permalink
Well said. The first sensitive post in a long time. All this time people with just something to say without applying their minds are writing rubbish. They do not understand that this disparity of salary between the private sector and the public sector is the cause of this bribe and corruption, given the cost of living and inflation factor.
by Viz Narayan on Mar 24, 2008 02:54 PM Permalink
What about the crores you money grabbing leeches make from public as bribery and scrap off from govt. provided funds even charity and tsunami funds.
by satyarthi on Mar 24, 2008 02:39 PM Permalink
"The Indian Govt. employees are grossly underpaid .....Police,Defence personnel and even custom & central excise employees". Go and survey the best locations in any city or township, you'll get the true picture. All of the above are owning flats and/or bunglows in posh locations.
by Anil Sharma on Mar 24, 2008 02:37 PM Permalink
Agreed, above all they are more accountable keeping in view of the RTI, Act, Consumer Protection Act, Public grievance cell etc.They deserve much better than the pay commission might have recommended.
by nandita naresh on Mar 24, 2008 02:33 PM Permalink
i really agree to this, not only that the people who are posted in the borders and are working in miltary ,lose there lifes. there no compensation for life but make them atleast satisfied at the end of the day,that they are not lossing it in vain.
by alok sinha on Mar 24, 2008 02:43 PM Permalink
Thanks Nandita, we the common men should know the realities behind the pains of the government staff and their families, A senior officers salary is much lesser than the salary of a management pass out who pays FIVE LACS to the Mgmt.Institute and then gets TEN LACS as pay package, and if we correct ourselves then probably few corrupt people too in the govt. may correct themselves, after all they all come from the same society and not from some allien world.
by Jojo on Mar 24, 2008 02:34 PM Permalink
alok - do you have the slightest idea of the figure that these people as emntioned by you, police, excise, customs, government employess collect as bribes.... hosh ud jayen ge... just consider the work output !!
RE:RE:GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES ARE UNDER PAID
by alok sinha on Mar 24, 2008 02:55 PM Permalink
Dear Jojo, who pays them the bride - its people like you and me, as we do not follow the procedure and always want the shortcuts - The biggest bribing parties are the PRIVATE COMPANIES, for getting favourable reports,carrying illegal jobs and for not following the standard norms and to save taxes and even to collect their payments for any sale to the govt they offer bribe for speedy payments and even common man tells the traffic cop to take 50 bucks and let him go. Friend there are hardly any SAINTS who would not accept the bribe if it comes without asking. But we only blame govt.staff.