forget internal politics, and gujurat going ahead! we need farmers to be given attention, but sadly everywhere we only see people not bothered about the state development. educated class isnt bothered any longer. everyone is too busy with thier lives and then blame politicians for everything. greater particiation in public debates, creating awareness amongst people, increasing education levels amongst poor is very very importnant
RE:ugently need agro reforms
by R on Jun 08, 2007 10:31 AM Permalink
hmm, that should have been awareness levels. whatever, you get the point ? why bicker over grammar or some inconsistency ?
by raja on Jun 08, 2007 10:35 AM Permalink
what awareness u are going to give-- simpley shouting will be of no use to them in villages only mother will work father will be a drunkard(not all)--family will be running on mothers income-- unless govt provides free education,free meals,free books,pass nothing will change learn from tamilnadu where now poor are educated(i mean jobs oriented) compare to other state in india
by srinivasan mv on Jun 08, 2007 02:33 PM Permalink
Mr. Raja, did u see the telugu movie Jamadagni. The helmet story was reported in Tamil Nadu recently.
RE:Throw out Sharad pawar
by R on Jun 08, 2007 10:32 AM Permalink
yeah cricket's in a mess, and i doubt with people like pawar in power, and senior crickters too busy protecting thier turf, not too much will happen. our self appointed shubh chintaks like dalmiya or kalmadi or priya ranjan das munshi or kpsgill will continue to head game bodies and will not rest until its truly buried.
RE:Throw out Sharad pawar
by srinivasan mv on Jun 08, 2007 02:34 PM Permalink
Pawar has spoiled all the fields he has headed. Defense Ministry, Agricultural Ministry and now Cricket.
those newspaper started before 1950s were the papers who washed british and after independence this traitors are getting concession from govt ---------media is governed by feudals u cannot expect from them --they will put news and allocate two pages what are the illicit happening in night clubs but these feudals dont put this type of news
There are five points which must be addressed to improve the agriculture in India 1. fragmenting land has resulted in land volume so small that it is impossible to sustain a proper life status of a small family at todays standards, even if the productivity or price doubles from existing rate, so more people should be moved away from agriculture to other areas (e.g in kerala, even with high value spice and horticulture crops, the agriculture is not good because of very small holdings) 2. Non judicious nutritional management has resulted in reducing fertlity of soil, so to even think of improving productivity without addressing this issue is foolish, so integrated nutrient management has to be emphaised or else in few years from now, we may actually see a reduction in yield, (the sugarcane areas are an example for this and in some areas existing factories have closed due to low productivity of sugarcane) 3. It is a glaring fact, that the areas in which farmers are commiting suicide have seen the benefit of green revolution before, e.g Cotton growing tract of vidharba, Punjab, Cotton tract of AP, Spice bowl in Wayanad and Iduukki district in Kerala, this is because of increase in spending due to better life style and decreasing productivity due to non judicious nutirtional and irrigation and pest control methods and poor renumeration from exisitng crop. Actually areas where the yields and price is much worse, like tribal tracts of Orissa etc. people do not commit suicide so a
Dear Editors of HT, TOI, IndianExpress and The Hindu, I got the mail below from a friend of mine and following the unwritten code of conduct, I am forwarding it to my friends but all efforts of people who have been forwarding this mail would go waste if this mail doesn't reach YOU...... Something to think about..!!
Shame on Indian Media??? Really what a shame...
By the time u guys read this news, the body of Major Manish Pitambare, who was shot dead at Anantnag, would have been cremated with full military honors.
On Tuesday, this news swept across all the news channels 'Sanjay Dutt relieved by court'. 'Sirf Munna not a bhai' '13 saal ka vanvaas khatam' 'although found guilty for possession of armory, Sanjay can breath sigh of relief as all the TADA charges against him are withdrawn' Then many personalities like Salman Khan said 'He is a good person. We knew he will come out clean'. Mr Big B said "Dutt's family and our family have relations for years he's a good kid. He is like elder brother to Abhishek". His sister Priya Dutt said "we can sleep well tonight. It's a great relief"
In other news, Parliament was mad at Indian team for performing bad; Greg Chappell said something; Shah Rukh Khan replaces Amitabh in KBC and other such stuff. But most of the emphasis was given on Sanjay Dutt's "phoenix like" comeback from the ashes of terrorist charges. Surfing through the channels, one news on BBC startled me. It rea
RE:shame on media
by Saurav on Jun 08, 2007 10:11 AM Permalink
Yes madam u r correct but its the fanatics of our country to blame more than media...people giving imp to person like AB etc cry after suffering due to such superstars
by raja on Jun 08, 2007 10:21 AM Permalink
rediff if u have some sense i think u will put the news i dont know why the media dogs are supporting amitabh and aamir as clearly shows tehy cannot be farmer
by hari prasanna on Jun 08, 2007 10:12 AM Permalink
these things happens only in india, kick out bloody political system and bring the president rule. as india is a republican country all are independent and if they have political and money power they can do all types of crime and they are going to use the loop holes of our IPC, then escape. None of our politicians are concerned about our farmers only in papers and meetings farmers are backbone of India. Everyday farmers are dying because of their financial problems. center is not responding for them, agricultural minister is spending his time in selection of foreign cricket coach. Jai hind
RE:RE:shame on media
by raja on Jun 08, 2007 10:18 AM Permalink
media are feudals peopel my question is the media which started before 1950 and which exist today are traitors (who washed the britishers) but now also these get concessions ----what can u expect from the buiseness peopele --these people will allocate two pages for showing illicit happenings in night clubs but they wont show this
by Surya Kiran on Jun 08, 2007 10:26 AM Permalink
Everybody wants media should be run to his/her likening. Some People are also critical of CNN, BBC, CNBC, Netscape, FOX, ABC etc. etc.
by raja on Jun 08, 2007 10:31 AM Permalink
what men cnn,bbc,cnbc will support usa hindu,indianexpress will support feudal class communist paper will support poor my question is the traitors who washed british ---what media india is running--half pages full of cinema ---they are feudalistic people if u cant put military news (u will put only cinema) then during republic or independence day dont put jaihind in ur newspaper just for the sake of circulation of paper
by Surya Kiran on Jun 08, 2007 10:46 AM Permalink
Thats what I am saying, You want media to your likening but the owners want the otherway i.e. business. Go to U.K and see Daily Mail, Telegraph, Times or Guardian, and a number of other dailies. They hahve all what you have mentioned, may be more than that. Better you establish your own mdedia house and do the social service.
RE:RE:RE:shame on media
by raja on Jun 08, 2007 11:04 AM Permalink
media should stop their fake patriotism as one case shilpa faced racial discrimination but this feudals does not acre abt racial discrimination of sc/st by feudals
by R on Jun 08, 2007 10:35 AM Permalink
its the tabloids style running of news channels/ newspapers these days that is ruining everything.
I wish to express my deep concern about my farmer brothers. During the last one and half decade the condition of small farmers has become worse and farmers are commit suicide in large numbers. Governments and political parties are not doing enough to help them .The small farmers have become divided weak class that are exploited by the powerful. The Strong and powerful are getting stronger and the others are struggling to meet the basic necessities. I see the Governments are run by the agriculture ministers who support rich and powerful liquor lobbies and see wine as agriculture product and to be sold in open market with out license. The governments are in control of those whose slogan is "MERA SAPNA, SAB KA MAAL APNA". The Governments are helping middle men who own "FARM FRESH MARKETS" in making the extra money as they are profitable. The real farmers are suffering losses and commit suicides. The Government agencies and policies are doing lip services and are not turning into actions to help the poor small farmers .The Governments have no action plan. They involve in just number games in budgets.
RE:agriculture and small farmers
by R on Jun 08, 2007 10:37 AM Permalink
i think "farm fresh" markets are better - because guys like reliance will buy directly from farmers for a better cut than smaller cheats . if anything bad happens by reliance, you can always drag them to court - or media sting operations can force corporations. there needs to be 50:50 approach. have both parties, not ONLY middlemen as we have it now. competition is good.
RE:agriculture and small farmers
by VB on Jun 08, 2007 10:23 AM Permalink
The farmers' community is largly ignored in our country and everybody else takes advantage of their land. SEZ is a big trap to grab their land and make them homeless. There is no policy to protect farmers. K B singh I request PM to come forward to protect them.
our government is not wasting time with cricket... Cricket is a good business and entertainment in India. I dont know in what way it affects agriculture? both are independent in all aspects. why do they compare cricket with agriculture? Entertainment and Food both are independent. If we dont get the enjoyment with cricket we should focus on other games, instead relating with agriculture is foolish!!!
RE:stupid to compare
by vln reddy on Jun 08, 2007 10:31 AM Permalink
Dear friend, Of course cricket and agriculture are independant but it is fact that people could live without cricket but not without food.you don't know how much effort have to be put to reach food to ur mouth.Please don't compare any game or any thing to agriculture as it is essential for human livelyhood.Don't neglect agriculture.
RE:RE:stupid to compare
by anaam sharma on Jun 08, 2007 10:33 AM Permalink
dear our agriculture minister is by chance also heading Indian Crickety board or vece versa, its a deep meaning. Wake up
by jeffy george on Jun 08, 2007 10:04 AM Permalink
you are thinking stupid things, it is not a comparison. think, our ministers are not bothered about agriculture that 70% people of india dependent on. you may be an it felllow and city grown. open your eyes think and see the country. our agriculture minister spends more time in mumbai, bangalore and chennai just for cricket. he should move from state to state and find alternative for the farm problems. banks provide loans for companies with out any gaurentee, but for farmers no loans, cheap agriculture loand are required. there are people who takes loans in name of farmers. it is the responsibility of the bank to check the authenticty of documnets before giving loans.
you plaese think of the overall development of this country..
what dr. swaminathan told are naked truths. if some one really works on that then real development of this country happens
RE:RE:RE:stupid to compare
by k prasad on Jun 08, 2007 10:22 AM Permalink
iam not disagreeing with u. You are correct. Any minister has the right to watch any sports any where in the world. But if he/she is not doing his job smartly then he should be removed. It is not important for us to know where he shits or what he drinks! Our banks should definitely support farmers who are God to us.
RE:RE:RE:stupid to compare
by R on Jun 08, 2007 10:40 AM Permalink
"our agriculture minister spends more time in mumbai, bangalore and chennai just for cricket."
100% true. he's in newspapers everyday for cricket. but he's hardly made any annoucement, probably because the money to be made there is already allocated and done with - its middle of the term. so, he will have hid promises to deliver sometime next year. mark my words... "kisan udyog", and "kisan banks" "kisan loans" and kisan jams....
by Prasanna Kumar on Jun 08, 2007 12:15 PM Permalink
Prasad you should understand that Our Agricultural minister is also the chairman of BCCI, he is wasting his time for finding a coach, cricket tournaments etc... in that if he spend 20% time with Agricultur ministry then our growth should have reached target. I am also a cricket fan but for me our farmars problems are more important than the bloody cricket. Sarad Pawar should select any one either cricket or Agriculture other wise one country like Sudan will over take India in agriculture and Burmuda team will beat India in cricket
Sharad pawar is unfit to become BCCI cheaf, he is an politician, in future cricket players also will follow him.
by shanker sugunan on Jun 08, 2007 10:03 AM Permalink
Dear Friend, It is not a comparison.The amount of time, effort and publicity which we give in selecting a cricket coach for our country is huge.But there is very little effort and money is spend on doing any kind of revival for the agriculture sector, which was once the backbone of Indian Economy.Dont put you comments without understanding what is actually meant in the news.How can u say that entertainment and food are independent?If u dont get enjoyement with cricket, u will focus on other games, but if u stop getting food what will u do?
by k prasad on Jun 08, 2007 10:16 AM Permalink
Everyone knows food is more important than entertainment. But for that matter sachin or saurav cannot become farmers.BCCI has nothing to do with Food.They work for cricket and people who are interested in cricket look in to the news. If agriculture land is occupied for cricket stadium then it is wrong and this headlines has a meaning. But nothing like that happens. both are independent field. Another sector of the government should focus on developing agriculture and should not compare with sport sector/millitary sector.
Only in Gujarat, agriculture is grwing at 8%. As can be seen in the statement, Modi is the best administrator and the best CM in this country. Dont blame Narendra bhai for communalism as he just reflects the sentiments of 5 crore Gujaratis.
RE:RE:Narendra Bhai thamey great cho!
by hari prasanna on Jun 08, 2007 09:57 AM Permalink
I too agree UPA is a cancer for India, and they are just thinking of vote bank. most of all govt are interested only in making money. If this ignorance for agriculture continues then one day we have to eat currencies, computers, electronic goods and polluted soil, even for drinking you wont get a glass of clean natural water. Jai hind