the points given for developing managing skills are ok but if a manager would start acting like a coach then who will be the player?? there is a big difference between a manager and a coach or teacher.where a coach is just for sharing the ideas and tips for the good performence ,a manger is entrusted with the play a key role in performance . he is a big player and not supposed to teach any one. he just adjusts and handle the situations.
mr. abboral,i have gone thru ur suggestions. i find them all good. i agree that bookish knowlwdge alone is not enough for succeeding in management.i am interested in knowing about your formula.
habit start at morning 6 am 1. At 6 am ,get fress and start TAICHI a chineeas meditation .do some streching excercise and meditate for 5 mins 2.Read gita ,koran ,granthsahib,or some good spiritual scrips by some gurus according to one's belief 3.have bath and get ready with proper dresses according to days schedule 4. take heavy breakfast ,little launch,light dinner 5.start doing job with priority 6.once in a month ,just move out of your home and go to some village 70 to 80 miles away.better if you go by ordinary ST bus with rural people talking their dialouge .Never feel that you are a billioneer .just shed your ego .No body will watch you ,i am sure . 7. Start your daily days with a pledge that ,today ,I will not be angree to any body,will remain modest ,humble .After the days off before sleeping just thank god that Thank you god , today I have survived The above are some daily example which can have some catalist effect on your learning management skills . abboral@hotmail.com
RE:Managing skills
by super success on Dec 25, 2007 05:49 PM Permalink
ABBORAL I LIKE YOUR SUGGESTION NO MATTER WHOEVER CRITICISE ATLEAST YOU HAVE TAKEN PAIN TO WRITE FOR OTHERS WELFARE AND LIVING GOOD JOB KEEP IT UP YOUR WORK AND THINKING WILL ALWAYS BE APPRECIATED
by abboral boral on Dec 26, 2007 10:34 PM Permalink
I always participate in rediff forum but perhaps this topics is unique and debate by various participants is really eye catching and very lively .Not a single abusive words are written by any body and it is sad that very few are participating this one of the most entertaining topics ever seen in rediff forum .
by Ralph Mac on Dec 21, 2007 08:39 AM Permalink
I do agree with u Success in life is how u begin each day and much more in the evening is how you close your day every day is like a gift of allah and one should begin with a small Prayer like a devoted muslim saying his Fajr first morning prayer Though I am not a Muslim I believe that this is the most disciplined religion a combination of Koran and Gita with some vedas can Take u a long way
Dressing is my weakest area its only when I was in London I realised I have to make a Mark and spend some Quality Time planning my dress code
I also agree with u having a Heavy breakfast a light lunch , a light dinner does change your health and makes you more psoitive
Making a task list for a Consultant like me with priorities is the first thing like my GF says I know what I will do for the next six month and she doesnot know for the next six minutes and thats why we make a good pair
Well once in a month is not a possibility but atleast sometime you should go to a remote place and leave with poor people and see how Allah has been happy with you how blessed you are and also management is about basics its common sense then its about the tools that your education gives u
Well finally be a christian like me at the end of the day you say a small christian prayer to forgive all the wrongdoing of others towards u and then retrospect to forgive your wrongdoing this willgive u a peacful night This can be your Esha prayer
by abboral boral on Dec 21, 2007 09:42 PM Permalink
Dear Ralph, I am delighted to know your inerself matching my thought but somehow I differ your idea of identity of a person being christian,muslim ,hindu ,brahmin as you described yourself .My idea of identity is simply human being .You may astonised to know that whenever I express my identity to anybobody ,I describe myself as Indian at the begining and later describe myself as humanbeing and lastly say where I came from.This identity I maintained throughout my career as marketing in Large PSU where I worked for 36 years and posted almost every states and at present I am settled in Gujrat ,ahmedabad.perhaps this movement might have changed my idea as human being .I am honest to my word and this is not at all hipocracy as few people like Smriti may think about me
by t babu on Dec 30, 2007 10:18 PM Permalink
Dear Abboral, at the end of the day, I feel you could not control your own ego. The number of times you have referred to Smriti in this chain of mails show that one sentence of hers hurt you so much that you had to refer her...
Your comments would have been wonderful but for those references...
As somebody told me once on ego "I go, You go..Then why Ego"...
by abboral boral on Dec 31, 2007 09:49 AM Permalink
Yes I am not a god or teacher or management guru .I am a humanbeing .I do mistake ,I do good things in life ,but I never used any words which coming out from gutter .Madam Smrithi used that language "fultu ka funda mat the ".Pl verify.and if judge my formula then only u will understand why I had said against that word .The meaning can be understood by those persons only whomw I had sent this EGO formula ,I have not lost the Ego rather I wanted to bring back her to a Adult Ego by hitting back with my word only .
RE:RE:Managing skills
by SURESH KUMAR B. on Dec 21, 2007 12:32 PM Permalink
Dear Abboral, Sanjay & Mathew,
Greetings!
I'm Suresh. I have gone through and noted the contents. The points and the way of life given by Mr.Abboral Boral are very beautiful, and that by Mr.Mathew are also very good.
I am a Hindu by birth. I have studied in a Christian Community School. After that, we have lived in an area of Punjabis where I could get to see the Punjabi or Sikh culture. Then, again in my professional career, I have recently left a Secretarial job in an NGO, where I could again get more knowledge of the Christian Culture and the way of leading a life which gives support and strength to young blood and youth.
Actually, we have replied in this column which I am very much interested in as I like/am fascinated by the managing career or the MBA course, in general. I would like to know more about the managing skills or the way of life & work which Mr.Abboral has suggested above, in general.
I will be happy to receive a reply regarding your thoughts for the subject or anything you would like to share with me or in the web.
RE:RE:RE:Managing skills
by abboral boral on Dec 21, 2007 09:57 PM Permalink
Ego is the main enemy against learning Managing skills .Once I attended one of the management seminar conducted by my previous employer in Chennai where lot of experts from IIMs ,some big companies expressed their thoughts .But I could not find anybody sharing their thoughts from his heart rather they used mostly bookish knowledge about Ego .Everybody said about Ego and their various uses in communication and negotiation skills .I only countered by saying that Ego can be measured mathmatically and one can do that perfectly ,he or she can achieve lot of management skills by simply measuring one's Ego .I had given one formula also about measuring EGO ,perhaps you will nowhere find this topics in any management books .Please do write me and I will send the formula to anybody by mail only
RE:RE:RE:RE:Managing skills
by on Dec 30, 2007 08:49 PM Permalink
Thanks for initiating good knowledge sharing toughts. I believe good manager is one who knows how to manage him/herself best and in optimized way.
Please send me your Ego calculating formulae to my id: nand90092004@yahoo.co.in
by pooja chauhan on Dec 28, 2007 05:03 PM Permalink
Ego..... Hmmmmmmm Want to know how to management skill overcome ego. I am intersested in knowing your manta. Mail me at pchauhan@metlife.com
by shivaji sakhalkar on Jan 02, 2008 04:39 PM Permalink
Sir, Please let me know the formula. I shall be very much thankfull to you. My e-mail : shivaji_sakhalkar@rediffmail.com
by on Dec 27, 2007 12:43 PM Permalink
Hi...I have gone through this article...it sounds interesting...can you send that formula to this id: sathi_cse88@yahoo.co.in
RE:RE:RE:RE:Managing skills
by vikki Malhotra on Dec 26, 2007 12:13 PM Permalink
Hi..it sounds very interesting and innovative Idea on Ego. Pls mail me your Formula at.... vikaspchawda@gmail.com Regards,
by optima consultanats on Dec 25, 2007 05:50 PM Permalink
Dear Abboral I'd like to know that formula. I know that qualitaive factors can be converted into quantitavive factors by Fuzzy logic. I'm eager to the formula, pease send me. regards -veeraiah veeraiah61@yahoo.com
by Smriti Nihal on Dec 19, 2007 03:02 PM Permalink
is your message for billoners only....? and how does it help a billioner by travelling in ST bus... faltu ka fanda math de...
by Alick Mendonca on Dec 31, 2007 10:14 PM Permalink
Smriti, Yeh to MK Ghandhi ka ka follower lagta hai but only for Balloners not billioniares, let them follow he will become the next Ghandhi or something of that sort Fukat ka funda , the managers funda is "when i need your opinion I wimm give it to You" Samje Kya
by abboral boral on Jan 05, 2008 11:21 AM Permalink
Mohan Das karamchand Gandhi has writen a fabulous autobiogrphy .Only Rs 20/- per copy .Any perverted mind ,negative thinking ,user of guttery words people get tremendous benifitted .One should read that book and changed his or her mind forever .
by Sanjay Barnwal on Dec 19, 2007 04:58 PM Permalink
The problem with people like you is always seeing negatives in any message. Why don't you see lots of good things which he has written? I appreciate what he has written.
by abboral boral on Dec 20, 2007 09:55 PM Permalink
Exactly, I thing Smriti Nihal has never seen rural India and people which constitute 75% of our population.She could not understand the meaning of my massage or actualy she does not know the better word or good things in life .May be she is suffering from clogness of city life .That is the reason she may be thinking always about negetive of life .I dont know about her whether she is billioneer or middle/lower middle class but definately she is not a rural folk So I advise her to go to some village and see what is rural India .My Sanjay has written correctly about her .Thanks sanjay
by ankur tripathi on Dec 22, 2007 11:37 AM Permalink
not exactly! infact you people are doing exactly what the article prohibits.. never make personal coments.. maybe smriti is wrong about something , but that does not give you people a licence to attacke her lineage and what not.. atleast be decent..such,i'm sorry to say, boorinsh behaviour isn't the kind of preparation you want to become good managers.. aboral learn to handle criticism..
by abboral boral on Dec 22, 2007 12:05 PM Permalink
I always like criticism if that has got some meaning with a decent word but She used the word coming out from gutter "faltu ka fanda math de...".Now u judge who has used personal attacking.I only tried to advise her to use decent word .This will help you also to improve as a manager .Any how I found this debate is very lively amongst any topics I have encoutered so far in rediff forum.Actually I have throuwn the topics of my thought whether it is accepeted or not but I find mostly have accepted baring few like you and Smriti .Once again I thank to all who have participated this lively debate about the subject "Managing Skills" perhaps you won't get in any B school
by ravishankar krishnan on Dec 27, 2007 01:25 PM Permalink
point taken.however precisely doing something out of the routine is important to get a fresh perspective.all billionaires like azim premji, narayana murthy , sam walton and even ambanis travel to rural areas by ordinary route to get a fresh perspective.
by TUSHAR MOHANTY on Dec 28, 2007 07:17 PM Permalink
From Dr.T.K. Mohanty, I an very much impressed on the advise of Mr. Abboral Boral to become a good manager. I will add one point about habbit. Every day when we gets up we do delay it by 5 or 10 minute sleeping again after the alarm or by habbit to getup at some fixed time. Those follow strict time in this without delay also do every thing in their life in right time.They are also very good manager.
RE:RE:RE:Managing skills
by abboral boral on Dec 29, 2007 06:36 PM Permalink
I use here when things get tough ,tough is get going .This proverbial word is one of the best for a manager to overcome any obstacle .A simple example--- You have to go to Delhi with in one day from a place say ahmedabad for a urgent deal which may fetch your company 100 cr order.But you no reservations in trains ,flight,your company car is out of order ,your own car is out of order ,your egoistic nature or no habit does not allow your mind to go by ordinery ST bus or second class ordinery compartment to travel a very very tough journey .So things are getting tough .In this moment you have to be very tough in mind and body so that you go by bus and train to delhi and fix the deal .Be modest and humble and you need not express your your storey to your company head or collegue with a huge drama .Just tell that you have gone by bus or train if at all other people ask you to narrate the storey otherwise keep quite and forget your horrifying storey .Remember never espect any thanks or reward from anybody .Its is your win and you should thank god only because you have saved the company to gain only to save yourself and your job
by GURVINDER KOHLI on Dec 31, 2007 10:49 AM Permalink
Dear Mr Abboral, Yours ideas are excellent but I see only one problem...sequential Priority is what you have missed...like reading holy books before taking bath is not a practice prescribed. Secondly, before going to bed everyday, always sit back and think..did I do justice to my day today..this self analysis always helps. Secondly plan the next day in the night itself...and when you wake up in the morning review it..it helps to plan better and gets a better grip on personal and professional life. There is another point missed...where is the family time??? A family is the biggest motivator for everyone to achieve big things..so please take out time to have a collective dinner at least once a day with full family and take them always into confidence before taking any major decisions. At times, it gives oneself a different perspective to the issue. I have personally seen that there is no better person than one's wife to get a second opinion. Also there is always good practice to have a personal mentor in life, who is not afraid to tell you truth about how he/she feels about you. This helps you personally and professionally to strive to get excellence. I think I have just elaborated couple of points that have already been covered by you in nutshell. Look forward to more such thought stimulant inputs from you. By the way I am M.Tech and MBA, a professional trainer and a personal mentor to about 40 such people in their professional line.
by abboral boral on Dec 31, 2007 03:17 PM Permalink
wonderfull .I too appreciate your thought .Since you are a trainer ,you teach your people according to your belieive only .The main point is you must be deciplined to teach other .I am not a teacher or management guru .What I have written based on my experience only .what i have conceived i have written .You do it your way or my way it depends .How ever I like your views .
all management teaching teach us the system of hypnotic system of greed, befooling people and making people conditioned by repeating the same act again and again,,,showing other people dreams,,goes and goes and simple with competition become more tiring and tedious and big tension for achieving higher targets,, whole people have come nature, they should study the nature, love nature and be a good humanbeing full of compassion, love ,secrifice and helping other,, there is not shortage of food, shelter,,the problems is socalled teaching of big school monopolising the system and making people to pay and work hard just for nothing,,the biggest jewel is mind,, be enlightened,, and be above from,, evil,addiction which have biggest hypnotic effects
The article is very useful an illustrated with good examples. The managers shud practice 'coaching' as a management tool to develop second lines (mentorship). Thanx to rediff. Dr Veeraprasad, Chief of Hospital Administration,Care Hospitals, Hyderabad Email: drveeraprasad@rediffmail.com
RE:Coaching as a management tool
by mr josh on Dec 18, 2007 09:37 AM Permalink
humanmind is very big drawbacks, knowing they comit fruad, still they think they are right,,,like drinking, smoking,, sex, just becoming the slave of widely dreams,,mojority of people are working hard and middle man of seller of big dreams and controling the mind,, are imprisoning their mind,, little knowledge is danzerous think,, not dependant over anyone,, see the world with your eyes,,feel the beauty of nature,,,the best thing in life can not tought may be felt,,
RE:Coaching as a management tool
by abboral boral on Dec 26, 2007 10:55 PM Permalink
Mind is a fastest thing in this universe .You can reach any corner of the universe in a fraction of seconds .There are infinite no of universe ,stars ,planets,asteroids,mateorides.Just think we are the only living animals in this infinite numbers .Our mind has infinite number of strength to think and make impossible to possible .Just think you want to reach black hole of Big ban ,you can reach easily with the speed of mind .This can be achieved by meditation only .So try to expose the potential of your mind by doing meditation .For this no guru is required .Just sit in a proper sitting position ,close your eyes and move your mind from your sitting position to anywhere in the world, universe ,big ban ,black hole whereevwer you like . Do it for 5 min daily and see the difference in your life after 1 month
I think coaching differs from managing. Management mostly involves taking the right decision at the right time, rather than teaching the people. Coaching can be considered as a subset of Management, but coaching totally is not management. # Free Share Tutors, guideline, strategies, analysis , risk management - "share market plus . com "