Total 112 messages Pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >
Title: Terror camps, Pak flags in Karnataka jungles
by John Thomas on Feb 02, 2008 08:41 PM  Permalink 

Title: Terror camps, Pak flags in Karnataka jungles

KALGHATGI (DHARWAD): Terrorist training camps may be closer to home than the distant mountains in Pakistan.
This chilling evidence came to light during the interrogation of three Islamist radicals arrested recently %u2014 Riyazuddin Nasir alias Mohammed Ghouse, Asadullah Abu Bakar and Mohammed Asif.

The investigators have unearthed a thick forest area bordering Dharwad and Uttara Kannada districts of Karnataka, which was used to train terrorists in the use of firearms. The three youths arrested by anti-terror police in Hubli and Davanagere a fortnight ago allegedly received weapons training in these woods which are surrounded by religious shrines.

Good Managing Skills
by subramaniyam peddiraju on Jan 20, 2008 07:56 PM  Permalink 

I appreciate the good article put by Rediff on Managerial Skills. The subject topic of Coaching Skills is very appropriate to a successful Manager. In my view a Manager is a team leader and until he does know their inner feelings and emotions he cannot be successful in managing them in the right way. So keenly listening, asking thier views, exchanging opinions with an open mind and moving forward with a common understanding will definitely lead to fruitive results. In my last 25 years of man management I have found that people are God's assets and they need to be nurtured from within to make them our assets.

good bye.

Managers
by biswa paul on Jan 13, 2008 03:27 PM  Permalink 

All said and done, each of us have a different experience with the Managers. Many a manager in course of his duties fail to see beyond his personal interest and interest of subordinates comes later. They cannot be called a Manager. In long run, no Manager can be successful unless he manages manpower (or subordinates)first. Failure in man management bring related failures in all aspect of the Management. Thus, one with ultirior intention exposed to his superiors making him difficult to rise up the ladder. What is expected of a Good manager is a Team player, a guide, a preacher and last but not the least is a freind to fellow subordinates in all seasons.

PERFORMANCE BEYOND POTENTIAL
by Kruger Brent on Jan 13, 2008 02:59 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Having worked with major Indian, multinational and fortune-500 companies, I have been developing the teams to deliver extraordinary results. My focus is on the underperforming (or deemed underperforming) mid-career executives and the new entrants. Focussing on their human side, campaigning for their achievements (however small it may be) and counselling them for the slips had been really rewarding. The sense of achievement to take the person from "below expectaion" to "exceptional" ratings is extremely satisfying. But it takes time and patience - both for the coach and the organization. If you are in such dilemma just shoot your mail to monsterofthegame at rediff mail. Cheers. No charge.

RE:PERFORMANCE BEYOND POTENTIAL
by Anil Suri on Jan 20, 2008 07:17 PM  Permalink
Mr Kruger,

Cant reach ya!
Mail me the same as well at
Iamfreewilly@rediffmail.com

RE:RE:PERFORMANCE BEYOND POTENTIAL
by ravi singh on Feb 02, 2008 08:33 PM  Permalink
and also at
ravissingh023@rediffmail.com

by on Jan 20, 2008 06:57 PM  Permalink
Plss Send me your Suggestion and Tips on Performance Beyond Potential at
omrkn@rediffmail.com

by abboral boral on Jan 14, 2008 08:54 PM  Permalink
unfortunately your mail ID is not working .I would love to know your formula .Please send the same my mail Id i already mentionedn this forum

we can't be good managers
by juan on Jan 13, 2008 02:45 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

unless we get universities like havard standard these substandard like IIMs n junk like FMS r ruining management degrees , they just get corporate attention as corporates r helpless too.

RE:we can't be good managers
by dkagac on Jan 13, 2008 03:13 PM  Permalink
To Juan
Stop negative thinking. your write up is like a sucidal attempet. You can accept your defeat, but we will not. We work hard to hardest to reach our target even if unable to suceeds in Ist attempet.

Lakhs / crores of indian suceeds even if they are not MBA from IIM etc. you understand

good managers
by Choudhary amit on Jan 13, 2008 11:35 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

it is very helpful for us to develop new strategic for new business

Usefull Manager
by abboral boral on Jan 13, 2008 11:22 AM  Permalink 

The subject matter of good managing skills is very simple .You know all human being in fact any animals are manager by birth .When a child is born she / he has to manage milk for his or her survibal .Similarly childhood to manhood to till death all human being manage his or her life to survibe .You follow an ant behavior .The ant will not divulge anything untill or unless its house or storage of foods collections are complte .It means DEdication to complte something in a very decilined manner .You will observe a worker Ant will never trespass to the other area belong to its superior boss ( quine or king ant ) and will not fight to any other ant samaj .It will relentlessly work for its particular job only .It means empowerment or classifications of jobs to your subbordinates or yourself as manager .Lastly integrity,honesty,modesty,humbleness and sense of belonging to a family of company/ family / plays a vital role for good managing skills.No body should argue on the above matters because the above matters cannot be replaced by any other methods.Never mixed your personal and professional life with anybody including your family . The above are small basic things to follow. There are end no of situations one should prepare to counter and it can be possible when follows the above basic things of inrichment of life .

A load of crap
by Harish Balasubramaniam on Jan 13, 2008 10:55 AM  Permalink 

As much theory that is available, it is upto an individual person on how he wants to manage his team. He can either be well balanced and treat his team well or the other side is he can be a complete moron and just shout and boss people without understanding what they are facing.

Manager India
by Govinda on Jan 13, 2008 09:47 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Manager of a section should have knowledge to guide, coach -- his team.
Here Manager does not know anything on the working of his section!
WHOLE MESS STARTS THERE.
All theory become baseless.
You seem to be thinking in dream and not actualy on ground reality. God bless you

RE:Manager India
by Akshay Jalal on Jan 13, 2008 10:07 AM  Permalink
Very Correctly said. I have a Manager who doestnt know anything about the work we do, but just forwards emails. He just tracks emails - in / out and forwarding the mails to someone in the team. And the unfortunate part is he is the Manager ;-) Its a surprise how such people get recruited as Managers!

by GN on Jan 13, 2008 10:45 AM  Permalink
the root cause of problem is having a unprofessional and incompetant manager.

When to distribute the work, he selects the best he have to give the toughest works. but when it comes to submit year reports to management regarding performance appraisal, he rate each and every member of his team equal.

The basic reason is the insecurity within themself, who dont want to allow the management to notice the talents and let him progress high.

poor chap dont understand the basic theory, if your subordinate gets promoted, it automatically push you too upwards.

RE:RE:Manager India
by Govindarajan Srinivasan on Jan 13, 2008 12:45 PM  Permalink
Rightly said. It is basically insecurity within themselves. If they find any subordinate having a bit common-sense, they will use the opportunity to kick him out. They wanted only idiots in the team. There is a management strategy - create rift amongst employees & survive. Indian Managers are good at it.

by dkagac on Jan 13, 2008 04:03 PM  Permalink
Mr Akshay Jalal

This depend only on connection with somebody known to top management. I faced it very severly by immediate boss. unfortunately almost every org has these type of ppl.

Total 112 messages Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >