When millions of IT jobs can come to India due to outsoursing why cannot walmart start its business in India ... Are you really worried about Kirana Shops ?
RE:Crazy ..People
by praveen anumula on Apr 23, 2007 08:48 PM Permalink
Well, many people in USA are against outsourcing and Walmart. But anyhow, you have to think about how Wal-mart will benefit India in terms of business, employment, investment among many others.
RE:Crazy ..People
by mihir mody on Apr 23, 2007 11:57 PM Permalink
by having walmart we are not opening any new employment nor are we generating revenues for country. infact we will be importing from china which will hurt our local manufacturing..
I really dont understand whats the need for FDI in retail business in India. If Bharti wants to open chain of Malls, they should do it on their own with all the retail products manufactured in India. Reliance is doing that and people will support n enjoy such "By the Indian For the Indian" Malls. The concern of selling chinese products is absolutely true and India should ban products from china that are sold in the name of low cost products. I have been to Europian countries including UK where local people are opposing such Malls as their locally produced fresh Apple is not sold in these Malls but you will get cheap (but frozen) apples from other countries. If you go to IKEA, most of their goods are from china...and slowly your traditional local made products become a item in some musuem... Hence FDI or direct involvement of foreign companies should strictly be restricted and more concessions should be given to local/Indian copanies to open such big retail shops. But I bet this will never happen since voice of people is never heard in India. Its only the money under the table that works and that way Indian politicians are selling India (un?)knowingly. Even the so called Communist parties will oppose such initiatives until their mouth are filled with green notes.
Wal-Mart should not be allowed in India. I have been in US for two years and I have heard a lot about unfair trade practices of it. Also, recently there was a decision made where, Wal-Mart was asked to pay some million dollars for being indifferent to women. They were not paid their due wages according to their number of hours worked. Also, when they enter India, first thing they would be doing is paying much lower wages to Indian workers and most of all our nukkadwala kirana store will go out of work. We need to realize that that store is means of income for their families.
We should not just have Wal-Mart just because US has that. It would be better that our Indian entrepeuners come up with a business model in which small local stores can be absorbed into retail business and get their share of money.
RE:No Wal-Mart in India
by purvi patwa on Apr 23, 2007 07:53 PM Permalink
I really agree With you.I myself 100% believe same.please people support this.
Mall will benefit consumers in many ways,1.to shop at mall instead of going 10 places for different items 2.competitive prices 3.bulk shopping for auspicious occasions 4.all products available with more choices and varities,genuine products,lots of offers and promoted products ...i live in UAE so i know the advantages of shopping mall
RE:RE:Wal Mart
by kishi kushi on Apr 23, 2007 05:50 PM Permalink
Mr Ronny vaz, I sincerely appreciate that you know about shopping as you live UAE. But if you know about economics and small entrepreneurship, you would also have listed the dis advantages of organizations like wal-mart entering into India. In my view wal-mart can open their shops in India but in a very restricted manner, with out conflicting the interests of small entrepreneurs.
RE:Wal Mart
by viccy vora on Apr 23, 2007 05:37 PM Permalink
Ronny - ur UAE experience want be applicable everywhere. just compare the population of the countries. It want be easy for the people working with small scale retailers to find job with MNC's. The education standard has still not improved in India. Just imagine the no of people who r small retailers & people working with them, they all wud be rendered jobless.
I think Wal-Mart must be given a chance but the concerns of Small retailers must also be taken care of. But will Wal-Mart sell two cigarretes instead of an entire packet which the local shops sell? and Where will they be located? Cities rights? 70% of the populations till live in small towns and villages. Will they sell 2 egges or 100 gms of chana or give credits on the face value and pr a small vendor has with a buyer. And how many people in India will have the means to travel long distances to shop from Wal-Mart, just a few, the top end. It is important to see what percentage of population will be their customers? In Bombay where there are very few a very small superbazars like Apana Bazar, it is strange to see so few people buy things from them and the vendors standing outside selling fresh fruits and vegetables and eatbles sell more than the Apna bazar. Then we Indians have a major cultural inclinations for 'freshness' distinguished from not so fresh or 'basi'---will Wal mart be able to solve that problem. I think India is huge market and it would be wrong to predict that Wal-mart will kill all the jobs. Undoubtedly there would be few effects of the change but competition is always good and I can see Wal-mart surviving with Reliance with small retailers on the same turf without causing loss but rahter generating more jobs directly as well as indirectly. Hindustan Motors till this date has not come out either with a better model or efficient machine-why? no competition and safe market-all government cars are ambassadors. But their ineffciency have made them sick. Market operators will be required to innovate no doubt but innovation is the only remedy against competition and protection agsint competition will only create more inefficient HMs in India, more Tradeunions, more closures and more govts like that in West Bengal-slow and inefficient. Do we want that-No. So let Wal-mart come in.
RE:Not needed.
by Gautam Joshi on Apr 23, 2007 05:01 PM Permalink
Poor people and most middle class people cannot afford cars, so according to what u say, cars should not be sold?! building malls is not a decision which u make, its a decision made by the investor/builder of the mall.
If anyone reads american articles will know how harmful is walmart. it is a killer of the poor and drain on economy of the country whereever it opens. In US it does not give proper wages by employing only temporary workers n forcing them to work long hours. if it can have such bad record on employees front in country like US just imagine the havoc it will cause in india. further it forces the suppliers to lower the prices to heavy extent thereby increasing its profits. we must oppose such multi-nationals tooth n nail
RE:walmart nedds to b stopped
by Gautam Joshi on Apr 23, 2007 05:16 PM Permalink
this is what globalization is all about...be competitive or be defeated.we all know how indian govt. organizations and other indian companies under govt. safe controls have been working since independence!Hindustan Motors, Bajaj, Govt. banks, etc have workers which are pathetic in customer service!its customers who have to say "mybaab" to these people to get them to work...and when they work its no where near efficient...they work as if the company belongs to their father! also innovation and R&D work...who wants to? nobody.let the same model go on for years and years...what can the public/customer do? nothing!are there any other options...the answer was NO for a long time! but no anymore...today the customer has the choice to choose for a better and a value product/service...companies which are innovative and customer centred WIN!!! whats wrong with THAT?
We Indians are happy when we get offshored IT jobs from US and UK, but we are afraid when we get offshored fruits or vegetables at cheaper rates? either we close our boundries and live as a selfsustained country if at all thats possible or rise and take the challenge to be more efficient and customer focused.
RE:RE:walmart nedds to b stopped
by kishi kushi on Apr 23, 2007 06:05 PM Permalink
Gautam, India has immensely benefited from IT out sourcing. But many have a mis conception that it%u2019s because of cheap labour. Though its one of the factors the major factor was our large pool of talented young engineers. Wal- mart entering into India is not similar to IT out sourcing.
No body would deny cheap vegetables or commodities. But what is cheap? How much is cheap? Price of any commodity depends on the labour cost profit material cost (land, power, seeds, fertilizers what ever is applicable). Big companies like Wal mart can negotiate for cheaper prices at the cost of exploiting farmers or small traders. They insist on keeping their brand name on every product they sell. So end of the day you get some thing cheap at the expenses of some one loosing their bread. Would you prefer that?
We should have open trade by protecting our own interests and people. Do you know how the so called developed countries protect their own interests?
RE:walmart nedds to b stopped
by viccy vora on Apr 23, 2007 06:23 PM Permalink
Gautam - offshored fruits & vegetables at cheaper rates. forget the retailer every farmer in India wud be commiting suicides.
Mr. Wade Rathke is very correct. We should not allow Wal-Mart to make an entry into India. We already have enough entreprenuers to take of this sector. If thec Government is really interested in FDI let the funds flow in but not the commodities and policies of Wal-Mart. Let India not put its own small giants a death trap to its own p
people like this, are educated illitrate who dont know basics of economics. They just want to create their leadership at any cost, these should not be allowed to bark. If they are ready, then i am also ready to do my work and make my country managed and organised like US, UK.
RE:educated illitrate
by on Apr 23, 2007 04:24 PM Permalink
i totally agree with u... such ppl r good for nothin and they jus think of there own benifit rather than the benifit of the customer...
RE:RE:educated illitrate
by DANNIEL JANGOPPA on Mar 17, 2008 08:49 PM Permalink
ARE YOU ANUBHAV SAINI OF HIMALAYA E-COM ? If yes then you are a international cheater and a fraude. you have cheated more than 400 crores from public. Delhi Police is now searching you. It will be better for you to surrender and refund the public money immediately.
by on Feb 15, 2008 10:23 AM Permalink
TU KEYA WOHI ANUBHAV SAINI HAI JO LOGO KI CRORO RUPAPAIYA KHA GIA. TU KEYA HIMALAYA-E.COM KA ANUBHAV SAINI HAI ? BATA JADI.
RE:RE:educated illitrate
by N BURMAN on Mar 14, 2008 06:56 PM Permalink
ANUBHAV SAINI MUST BE PUNISHED. HE IS A CHEATER.HE CHEATED MORE THAN THREE LACS PEOPLE WITH TUNE OF 400 CRORES RUPEES. DELHI POLICE IS SEARCHING HIM.HE IS NOW ABSOCNDING.ANY BODY WHO KNOWS ABOUT ANUBHAV SAINY WILL BE SUITABLY REWARDED.
CALL ME : IF YOU HAVE INFORMATON ABOUT ANUBHAV SAINY .....9811074633
by Ameya Bhakay on Apr 23, 2007 04:37 PM Permalink
Bingo... with you on this :-) And anyway, Reliance group is coming up with 'Reliance Retail'. So anyway these baniya's are going to have a tough time to stand up against their competition
Wal mart should enter India.Compitition will not only benifit the consumer but also the local traders will have to pull up thire socks in terms of quality of goods supplied for thrie survival.
We have protected bussinesman for 57 yrs they have minted enough money due to lack of compitition.
We have reservations in job, in universities now we dont want reservations in bussiness also
90%of wealth in India is controled by 10% of population all because of non competive enviorment.
Indias can be as good as anybody in world when pushed to the wall
We Indians who are found lacking in work place but when go out of sheltered enviorment of home country they do very well abroad.
Goahead with Wallmart Indians can teach them a lesson or two in retailing.
RE:Walmart
by jijo baby on Apr 23, 2007 04:34 PM Permalink
listen i think you know nothing about retail industry...WALLMART would be a disaster to our already poor farmers...you should first understand WallMart busniess model...
RE:Walmart
by mihir mody on Apr 24, 2007 12:05 AM Permalink
I think you need to rework on your statistics and do some more re-thinking... you know what is wal-mart and what are they doing.. Its just ONE COMPANY not individual owners... you love ratios then think twice.... Wal-Mart share can alone control GDP of the country and their revenues equals to some of the country... Its Huge......forget non-competition....we will have no competition against wal-mart