Total 370 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25   Older >   >>
6th PC
by JAYA PRAKASH on Feb 09, 2006 09:08 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

It is not that Govt jobs are being sold in streets. They do pass the toughest examinations and get to the job. The initial charm should continue throughout the service. I personally know a Defence officer, who got through the exam through the tough written, physical examination and the entire family was very proud on his selection. He was being offered 7k at the time when it was considered that getting 3-4k was a very decent salary for freshers. Now, after 10 years of service, the officer is still getting somewhere around 13k, where his batchmates, collegemates do earn more than 60k and well settled. How will he maintain his status in the circle. Throughout his academics, he stood first. Do u think that he had done a sin by joining Govt sector? Instead of doing injustice to the Govt sector guys, effective measures to be taken to abolish the vacant posts and systematics plans are required to be implemented for optimum utilisation of their resources. If we believe in equality, we should atleast try to think about that.

RE:6th PC
by Alok on Jul 22, 2006 12:29 AM  Permalink
Why dont we treat our soldiers from babus...no one has even slightest doubt that soldiers should be given best possible salaries....but why babus, engineers and IAS officers should get higher salaries in shadow of soldiers...whats their contribution and right to demand higher salaries

Re: Sixth pay commission will be a blow to Indian economy...
by Sanjay A on Feb 09, 2006 08:58 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

When will the so-called economic liberalizer PM Manmohan Singh realize that jobs and pay in the economy is determined by skills and demand for the same? When will the Congress government along with the CPI-M stop doling out higher salaries to incompetent government employees who come to work only to collect salaries? PM Singh, has a lot of problems to expand the defense budget and internal security budget, while he keeps raising the issue of terrorism abroad at the same time doing away with PoTA law in India. This same PM talks about further economic liberalization, then holds back PSU divestment. Now he talks about sixth pay commission, is he out of his mind? Or has he resolved to take India one step forward and then ten steps backward. I as an educated youth of India, who works for his pay rather hard, will not tolerate this gross injustice. If the PM wants a sixth pay commission, he has to first do at least five public force rationalization and then demand pay hikes for the remaining performing government employees. Otherwise I'm sure that educated youth like me in the country will make sure that Congress never again forms a government ever of any kind. Wake up PM!

RE:Re: Sixth pay commission will be a blow to Indian economy...
by Jeet Hormuz on Mar 07, 2006 02:14 AM  Permalink
Sanjay A,

Please do not tar all govt employees as corrupt and inefficient. The fact that the brave offciers and men of the Armed Forces continue to sacrifice their lives on a daily basis so that you can retain your right to live and work in a peaceful country is a miracle, given the meager salaries they are paid. If we do not encourage and reward them, we may see corruption and inefficiency invade even their domain, which would leave our country in a state like that of our neighbours. God Forbid

6th PC
by JAYA PRAKASH on Feb 09, 2006 08:55 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Expenses and living style of the society can't be different to Government Servants. They have to live in the same society, mingle with their classmates, batchmates, relatives and it is gross injustice if you expect that they should not maintain a living status. Conside this : A group D employee of Indian Government is offered a basic pay of Rs.2040/- on joining and he will get around Rs.6000/-. A Group C employee of Indian Government including Central Police Forces employees start the basic pay from 4000/- to 5500/- pm depending upon the joining viz., LDC, UDC, Sub-inspectors etc. On joining, they may get around 7-10k initially. This seems very fine for u guys, but see the increments they get. Varying from Rs.95 to Rs.250/- per year, they get the hike. A Govt servant who have put in 10 years of service may live with 2 children, and do u think that he could manage the expenses of education of their wards, house rents etc from the meagre amount from 7k to 13k. Forget that he would ever buy a house/flat for his wards but can he ever think of saving somethings for an emergency. U should be knowing that pension have also been stopped for new employees from 2005. Contdd..

RE:6th PC
by annupriya on Apr 08, 2006 11:07 PM  Permalink
i totally agree with mr. Jaya prakash. A central govt. employee today can't even manage to make a house on his own without taking a lone.When the indian economy is booming, when the employees of pvt.sector are getting so high payment, why is there so hue and cry when cent.govt. employees are demanding a raise in the payment?Why is there so disparity between the payment of both the sectors? You can't expect an employee to live on 5000-8000 per month and maintain his family when the inflation rate is so high.

Perils of he 6th Pay Commission
by S.Ramaswamy on Feb 09, 2006 08:30 PM  Permalink 

As has been pointd out, the efect of the 5h Pay Commission was so devastating that some states could not pay the salaries.Increase salaries.Then increase taxes to meet such increased salary burden.Gear your self up for another round of acrimonious debate between states and the centre about the devolution of the central revenue.Keep on increasing the states' share and reach a stage where the centre will become financially so weak that the states will start dictating .Wait for the day of disintegraion of the nation.Scary scenario.But perfectly probable
If the Govt does not have either the will or the strength to implement the full recommendations of the Pay Commissions it will be wiser not to have Pay Commissions
The Govt employees are the most pampered lot.
There is a strong case for downsizing the strength of the Govt employees to some extent reduce the impact of the likely pay increase .The imbalance pointed out is also true It also has to be addressed.If the employees are unwilling to earn the increased emoluments through improved efficiency and taking up extra load there can not be a case for increase in salary
S.Ramaswamy

6th Pay commisiion
by Anurakshat on Feb 09, 2006 08:18 PM  Permalink 

A cursory look at the statistics will reveal that corruption and laziness are as alive and kicking in the pvt sector as in the govt. As for them being efficient, its just the regular dose of kicking that keeps the pvt parties going- inherently they are as bad as any one else. Please remember that Pay Comms affect sincere govt employees like soldiers and jawans of our armed forces. Does anyone feel that they do not deserve a better deal? Speak up or shut up!!

Sixth Pay Commission
by Dev Bhattacharya on Feb 09, 2006 08:10 PM  Permalink 

While the concerns of a major chunk of the exchequer's being diminished as a result of the sixth pay commission are understood, does'nt reluctance to set up / implement it tantamount to the States and the Centre exploiting its employees? As it is, Central and state Govt employees are bound by regulations to serve a certain minimum period (which in most cases, takes up more than half of one's lifetime). There are no options to quit if one is dissatisfied with the working conditions or pay package. This itself puts one at a great disadvantage with respect to peers in the corporate world.

If the Centre and the States are keen on getting, and more importantly, retaining quality manpower they must be willing to make conditions at least attractive, if not lucrative. This is particularly true for the Armed Forces, who have over the years served as the nation's 'insurance policy', so that the country could economically progress the way we have so far.

I'm sure the PM fully realises this and hope that his promise does not remain just that.

Thanks, and I'd be glad to take on any views to the contrary.

Pay commission required only after reducing 35% employees
by Vijay on Feb 09, 2006 07:27 PM  Permalink 

I been in service for 11 years, i never like to count among them so i quit. there is around 10 times difference in the basic salary of top and bottom levels. Govt should reduce the staff about 35% as per the 5th pay commission recommendation before constituting the 6th pay commission. General public should not allow to pay their tax to non performing and corrupt govt employees.

Sixt Pay, response to Sunil
by Prakash on Feb 09, 2006 07:14 PM  Permalink 

Mr. Sunil,

Mind you language and business. There are more than 3 million govt employees and ALL are not corrupt and lazy. If they do not work no govt servives. It is an insult to the large number govt employees. Come and work in govt sector and you will understand.

Every stupid fellow talks about govt employees just b'coz of the errors of a small section.

Uncalled for decisions
by rakesh raina on Feb 09, 2006 07:08 PM  Permalink 

Pay revisions are mindless decisions. This is a system that government has kept to feed it's parasitic workforce.This is over and above what they it gets under the table. There is certainly no satisfaction for them. They only want more money and no work. The brunt ofcourse has to be borne by common man, the unemployed people and those who work hard to move the economy. The only reason that government wants to partake off more prashad is because private sector employees are working more hard, which has resulted in overall growth of economy. And our politicians lose no time in announcing their voter pleasing and self-fulfilling decisions - chalo pay commission again.
Instead of widening the spread of employment ,clearing the govt.defficiencies, slashing useles workforce, the Prime Minister has announced pay commission , wah !
Atleast, he should heed to what twelfth Finance Commission has to say - stop pay commissions.
Nation should thank Arun Shourie the real thinker for airing his views against these silly commissions.
Not surprisingly, same type of confusing solution has been delivered by the PM on illegal demolitions drive by MCD.Mr. PM pl. pay heed to other thinkers at least.

Sixth Pay Commission!
by Prakash on Feb 09, 2006 07:08 PM  Permalink 

Most rediculous arguement I ever read. If economy is doing good what is the problem in taking care of economy of the govt employees. Please compare the salaries in private sector. Down sizing and proper implementation of other recommendations are govt job. In todays situation no talent is attracted toward to govt sector just b'coz of such low unimaginable salaries.

May I ask you how much you earn?

Total 370 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25   Older >   >>