Total 39 messages Pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >
Airports or Godowns?
by Venkat Ramanan on Nov 07, 2005 02:21 PM  Permalink 

Govind has hit the bulls eye when he speaks about the infrastructure (the most commonly abused word in Indian media) and service(s) (next most commonly abused word!!). Time and again we see many such articles by frustrated travellers who use the airport. In fact, it is mostly the educated elite who use the airport (at least in our country) who have voices and who can write to such columns. Who is to rescue a poor Indian who travels in an unreserved compartment in Indian Railways? Railways almost have the whole structure to be changed or improved. At least, when it comes to airlines, we have options. Out treatment in skies may compromise for the shoddy treatment at the land (Though I wish it gets far better than what it is now). The point I am trying to make is, A lot needs to be fundamentally changed when it comes to public services in our country. All we speak of is a few thousand foreigners' (in)convenience in our airports. I agree that we need to present our airports better than what they are now. First, let us elect responsible human beings and then ask them to deliver us good products and services. with brainless nicks, our words go to deaf ears. Let us elect Humans!!!

Where is AAI defence?
by Srikanth on Oct 24, 2005 08:12 PM  Permalink 

Wonder....Wonder....
Everytime there is a debate of whether to privatise an Industry there are protests, strikes holding the entire nation on ransom.
How come when a simple question like "Why are the toilets not kept clean?" does not get a reply from those who shout the loudest against privatisation? If you approach an Airport Personnel and complain then he/she will point you to some deplicated compliant book, which must have recorded the same problem a hundered times and nothing has ever been done bout it. The personnel just blame one another and there is never any action taken.
Don't they understand that the requirement of privatisation has risen only due to their ineptness, had they been doing their job properly then we would not have to go throgh all this debates.
thanx,
Srikanth

Railways
by Anant on Oct 20, 2005 03:06 PM  Permalink 

You say:
And when an aircraft careens off the runaway and slips into loose soil, surely one of the commonest minor accidents involving aircraft all over the world, our folks struggled for four days to remove it, enlisting, in the process, the only other folks whose service standards they can perhaps compete with, the Indian Railways.

Well, its rather funny to read, but let me remind you sir, that our Railways are operationally one of the complex excercises undertaken by any country anywhere. That they serve the millions in the countryside, is kudos enough of them. Being critical is perhaps right, but not right enough.

airport article..
by ruchi on Oct 20, 2005 11:25 AM  Permalink 

great article. For someone, who lands regularly at Mumbai airport and does the trek from intl to dom airport and vice versa..i think it is a matter of national shame that we do not have an inter terminal monorail. It is disgusting.

BTW, the new domestic terminal in Mumbai..sucks! It is nowhere near world class. How many "aerobridges" are there? Try going there during airtraffic rush hour- morning 8-10:30 and afternoon 3-5:30. There is a traffic jam of busses trying to take you to the aircraft from the terminal. also, there is a constant "cacophony" of announcements on the PA, airline employees walking all over the waiting area and shouting "passengers to xxxx". It is one big zoo!

Also, can someone please proofread these articles. Upgradation is not an English word. Sorry. We in India just invented this word. Just like "temping" for temporary staffing.

I agree
by Arun Kotte on Oct 20, 2005 07:56 AM  Permalink 

I agree with Mr. Govindraj`s points on how AAI maintain Mumbai airport. I live in USA and travel to Hyderabad regularly and when I pick a route I will definitely try to avoid Mumbai. The first time when I landed in Mumbai from USA, I was approached by baggage handlers at Mumbai asking for 80$, when I refused and showed my arrogance to ward them off, I was bullied after I cleared the customs. Is this the kind of treatment you would like to see after traveling for 20 hours.

Its definitely time for AAI to go and hand over the management to some private player as it is done in Hyderabad, The results of which we are seeing when we look at the progress that we see in the construction of the new Hyderabad airport. Looking at the new website itself shows why private players are better over AAI.

Incensed
by Aravind Nair on Oct 20, 2005 06:05 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

What a joke this quote is: "Many of their demands are based on facts -- Mumbai and Delhi airports together handle over 70 per cent of passenger traffic and contribute over 80 per cent of revenue and (indirectly) subsidise 124 other airports."

Facts, my foot! It is not Mumbai and Delhi that "subsidise" other airports. It is the hundreds of thousands of Gulf workers from places like Kerala who have to pay through their noses for 4 hour flights what other countries' citizens pay for 12 to 16 hour flights. And why the heck should Mumbai and Delhi be the only airports getting flights? Has anybody heard of Cochin International Airport, whcih, despite the Mumbai-centric policies of AAI, has been running as a profitable company? Is anybody aware that the same Mumbai lobby played a significant part in the delay of Trivandrum airport development for the past three decades?

What is the annual passenger handling capacity of Mumbai and Delhi? Has anybody thought why such a large country as India gets less than 4 million tourists a year, while China gets more than 30 million, and even Singapore - one-third the size of Mumbai - gets 8 million tourists through Changi airport alone?

RE:Incensed
by Philip Thomas on Oct 24, 2005 10:29 AM  Permalink
The reference to the shenanigans of the Mumbai airport mafia in delaying the development of Trivandrum airport and the persistent neglect of the success of Cochin airport story are very well highlighted. The rampant distortions in the country's sad aviation scene of which Mumbai and Delhi are only symptomatic are crying out for correction. All those who have responded to this excellent article by Govidraj Ethiraj should publicise the problems with airports everywhere in India.

Airport mess
by Anand on Oct 20, 2005 05:17 AM  Permalink 

While the article encapsulates perfectly the state of affairs at our formost airport, I think it applies more or less to every public utility in our country. The people working in such services have to realse that they are getting paid for doing a job and that they better do. Even if all these people did just their own minimal jobs, forget outstanding, services would improve tremendously.

On target...
by Prasanth on Oct 20, 2005 02:24 AM  Permalink 

The point you made about the inter-terminal shuttle is very correct. I had the misfortune of landing up in that place last weekend. Had to wait for about an hour in the queue (or what can be called a queue) to board a shuttle bus. The loaders all have uniforms with the words "Thanks.. No Tips" but they do have the audacity to openly ask for "baksheesh" upon unloading the baggage.
When will this change?

On a wing.. wothout a hope
by labrea on Oct 20, 2005 01:47 AM  Permalink 

What do Indian netas and babus know about cleanliness and "service" - a dungheap is the ideal gathering spot for them - they can squat down amidst tons of filth and devour their meals with relsih, without batting an eyelash or wrinkling thier nostrils. Their idea of service is to yell at someone to bring them some chai in a filthy unfired clay vessel. Qaulity? Fineness? Cleanliness? Competence? Work Ethics? HA! And you all want to compare yourselves to the Chinese who have built the best, most modern facilities, specially airports. Given the useless babus and do-nothing netas, Pigs will fly before India can achieve such kind of qaulity infrastructure.

Well said
by Asheesh on Oct 20, 2005 01:41 AM  Permalink 

You could not have put the point across more clearly. Airports in India like any other Public service Roads, Footpaths, fly overs etc. are built/run or managed with no concern for publick convenience. What is amazing is the total in efficiency and corruption that rules our airports. Every body from the porters to taxi drivers to the custom officials (they are treated as known crooks anyways) are bent upon harassing the passanger. You arrive in Chennai on an international flight at 1:00 AM and guess how many immigration officials are there to greet you in non a/ c hall 2!!! Privatisation is the way to go. Not just for Mumbai and Delhi, some body ought to do something about Bangalore - PLEASE BUILD THE DAMN AIRPORT (they have planning for past 8 years now) - Current one is probably as good as ISBT terminals in Delhi

Total 39 messages Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >