Total 19 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2
IndianIT and other pros
by Dinesh on Nov 30, 2005 11:31 AM  Permalink 

Hi

I would agree with the comment, though many may disagree. Just chek the shoddy quality of engineering marvels done in the country and all will agree.

We cant make a road which will not have bumps. We cannot make a bridge which will not collapse at the slightest shove. All the software we use - in the Government or in the 'centers of excellence' are imported ....... every single licence paid (or unpaid) - and we pride ourselves for the millions of IT professionals milling around in our backyard.

With all the 'talent' at hand, it is a wonder that we have not been at the forefront of innovation in hardware or software or infrastructure.

Lets face facts guys - we have millions who are good at passing exams but not understanding what knowledge is being passed out.

regards
Dinesh

Reboot the system
by venkatesh on Nov 30, 2005 11:31 AM  Permalink 

The article touches a very basic point. When countries like Israel and Ireland have produced products, we have concentrated only on services. This simply points that the problem lies basically not only in our education system but also in the economic environment. Developing a successful product is not made overnight. It not only requires imagination and creativity (which we have already), but huge financial resources and backup (which we dont have). By jumping into services, companies have easy money, which they dont have by entering into R & D.

Absolutely correct
by Kaushik on Nov 30, 2005 11:20 AM  Permalink 

could not agree more. I have been been in the industry for 4 years. I work in an MNC in bangalore and the quality of people around me leaves a lot to be desired. I guess Mundie's remark should remind us to leave aside our bloated ego and understand where we really stand globally. Indians are so used to false appreciation that this bit of truth would really hurt some, if they care to admit it.

What ails Indian Software Engineer
by basudeb on Nov 30, 2005 10:30 AM  Permalink 

The discussion article misses the main issues raised:

'India did not have enough software companies nor are enough companies developing India-specific applications.' The reason, Mundie argued, was the poor quality of the country's software engineers.
'There are so few Indian software companies developing local software. That is a negative reinforcement, because there is no local software and no new applications.'

No amount of education can correct the situation. India, let us accept, has become a country of support and maintenance services. Innovations are feared, frowned upon and trampled as unwarranted. Which of the very large Software companies have been able to develop even a single software product that is internationally renowned and used in India?

Unless we have the courage as a nation to innovated, create and compete, no amount of policy changes, increasing or decreasing Engineering Colleges, is going to raise the level of Indian Software.

Practical Engineering
by Amit M on Nov 30, 2005 10:22 AM  Permalink 

As an Engineering grad myself, I find that what I do at work is quite far removed from what I learnt at college. Also, the overwhelming majority of my batch seem to be working in areas that were unrelated to the subjects taught during the course. It would be beneficial if - 1.Students were given a year of general engineering before they even opted for specialized branches and 2.Old and useless subjects were eliminated from the curriculum. The pressure of lakhs of students applying for courses may not make this entirely possible, but we need to start somewhere.

true very true
by AKSHAI R KURHEKAR on Nov 30, 2005 09:26 AM  Permalink 

i think these big companies like microsoft should drop the percentage cutoff criteria and have recruitment solely based on aptitude tests which will test the practical knowledge of engineers you cant expect the toppers of any class to be good at practicals its natural and obvious that they are the toppers because they r good at theory and if they are good at theory it means somewhere they neglected their pracs

wake up guys 60% and above are only loosers and bookworms keep a good iq test as sole criteria for selections

Indian Software Industry/Enginners
by Ganesh on Nov 29, 2005 10:19 PM  Permalink 

Indian Software industry is the highest creator of \\\"Casual Jobs\\\" in India. Why Casual jobs? It is so because you graduate in some discipline-you don\\\'t get a job there-you come to IT. Secondly you can not even get into a third grade general college in your place. Then you come to Bangalore and do BE in electronics. Thirdly you did not know what to do and could not do anything meaningful except some degree with math. Suddenly you know that IT is big and you enroll in MCA. Fourthly , in any industry, it takes 10 + years to become an entry level manager. In IT you work in a company for 5 years and you are a manager. The result is you don\\\'t know management and you don\\\'t know technology. Fifth, the indian software engineer is not capable. So he wants to become manager because when you become a manager you don\\\'t have to work-\\\"GETTING THINGS DONE BY OTHERS\\\"- the definition of management you find in some worn book at a cobweb infested self in some government college library in india.
Sixth, IT has given the indian software engineer what he did not even dream of when he was a young guy. This untimely and unexpected prosperity has made him more concerened with the firsts in the life-first ca

Emphasis on sciences and not on software
by SSIyer on Nov 29, 2005 10:15 PM  Permalink 

What is needed today is revamp of the entire curriculum and a shift from the imperial education system to a system that suits India's needs.

Bachelor programs in Math, Physics and chemistry should be a 4 year course and the curriculum should go through a complete change.

Emphasis should be given for fuel cell / Electric vehicle technology and weather sciences. Goverment should encourage IITs and IISc to develop technolgy for commercialization of Low cost amorphous silicon production.

This would automatically generate jobs in manufacturing sector and IT. This would enable IT industry to focus on specialized software products.

Reboot the system
by labrea on Nov 29, 2005 09:44 PM  Permalink 

For over half a century, the netas had a strangle-hold on everything, doling out patronage to their small coterie of "paying friends". Practical applications has been and continues to be an alien notion, theory and rote learning being the norm. Thus with no incentive for any major improvements, the resultant low standards are now coming back to haunt everyone, especially India Inc.

Total 19 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2