Gandhi's appeasment politics towards Islamism and its end result Pakistan is well known.
His understanding of Hinduism was faulty. Gandhi's interpretation of Gita remains an exercise in futile duplicity.
Gandhi had a dictatorial mindset. He ensured that Subash Bose could not continue as Congress President despite his electoral victory by boycotting him and made Bose resign his presidency.
To cap it all, Gandhi's totalitarian stance overruling Congress Pradesh Committee Majority Members recommendation on Sardar Patel and coronating jawaharlal nehru was something whose deleterious effects and impact we are living even today.
Apologists have cited lot of reasons for this mistake, highlighting Nehru's younger age, Nehru's not accepting second position etc. as reasons for gandhi's wrong decision.
In a situation similar to India's Lincoln preferred a civil war to keep the union. Gandhi backed off against the Islamists.
Thanks to Lincoln US remained united and became a super power. Thanks to Gandhi and Nehru, India became a begging bowl case and got kicked by Mao and his PLA.
Despite brainwashing carried out by gandhiwallahs, history will not judge him kindly for his deleterious long term impact on Indian polity.
RE:Gandhi was a Big Failure
by Manjula A on Oct 11, 2007 03:09 PM Permalink
Please do not blame everything on Gandhi. Towards the end, Gandhi had lost control over the happenings. He was sidelined. A majority of his suggestions on how to run India were ridiculed as impossible and trashed. Barring one Article on untouchability, not a single word of his has been included in our Constitution. He was not included in the important meetings and committees even in a ceremonial way. This country, having refused to listen to a single word of his has no right to degrade him like this.
by saikrishna kondaraju on Oct 02, 2007 08:13 PM Permalink
Without Gandhiji's freedom struggle, we would be carrying a begging bowl too(begging from the British). Gandhiji always preached religious harmony. There are bad elements everywhere - in muslims or hindus or christians. More than anyone else, we, the people and the polticians we elect are to blame for the corruption and poverty that is prevalent in our country today. Politicians rule like feudal lords these days and the skewed economic development has widened the gap between the rich and the poor. While India is self-sufficient in food grains, our damn politicians still havent figured out a way to ensure that no one goes to bed hungry. Politicians as well as people have become more greedy and selfish. It is heartening to hear that there are atleast a few people who are known for their honesty and integrity and are trying to do something for our nation. Gandhiji Amar rahe !!!
by Drive A McLaren on Oct 02, 2007 08:10 PM Permalink
Its shocking to read your assesment of Mahatma Gandhi, a name you mention on any street of America and people would know who he was. He commands respect across the globe across generations. The man who did the impossible. And here in India, years after he was assassinated by his own his legacy is torn to bits. I dont want to get on your case but I despise people like you who wont miss an opportunity to ruin the image of the man we potentially owe our freedom to. Yes its true he went soft on Jinnah to avoid bloodshed but look at the positive side of that decision, we dont have to deal with North Waziristan type fanatics here. We have internal issues like caste system, religious polorisations but its a huge house we have, a billion of us, and its a mighty tough job keeping the house in order.
by Shivkumar Singh on Oct 03, 2007 07:14 AM Permalink
North Waziristan is an effect of Islamism which Gandhi helped seed - 1922 onwards.
Khudai Kitmadgars and his secular movement were betrayed by gandhi and nehru. While Religious polarisation was present in India thanks to the history of islamism here, its subsequent increase in 20th century can be directly attributed to islamist Pakistan movement and congress inability to face it head on. This is where a leader like Lincoln scored. Many times gandhi's non violence masked the cowardice of congress against islamism and helped it grow in.
My original points remain valid. Global propoganda and your despising will not change the truth.
by Mookiah Iyengar on Oct 02, 2007 10:45 PM Permalink
Enough of Gandhi propaganda. He was a cheat and you guys are cheating in his name even after 60 years. He always cared about his name and pleasing the upper caste people. He never even understood the evils of Hindu caste system. The upper caste guys killed him after they got what they wanted, namely the power. It was a mafia struggle. One crook killing the other. No wonder India is one of the most corrupt nation in the world. From rickshaw guy to top level smart scientists are all crooks. You give them nuclear technology and the fuel to make electricity for the poor and the mass, they will clandestinely use it for making bomb. Even now , they talk about their rights to make bomb and not about energy needs. The guy who is interested in making missiles is a great scientist.What a joke? Wake up India. These guys will be cheating you in the name of Gandhi for ever. It is time they spend your tax money for good education for all, good health care, good infrastructure and good agricultural production. There are lot of countries in the world which do not have bombs and missiles provide better quality life for their citizens. Don't let these guys spend your money for special interests. Stop the Gandhi propaganda and stop the nonsense of " sare jaha se accha" because you are not.
by Manjula A on Oct 11, 2007 03:02 PM Permalink
He had criticised the caste system and condemned untouchability quite strongly. May be, in his quest for Independence first and rest later, he neglected the cleasing of the vices from the Hindu religion to some extent. But that should not be a reason to criticise him like this.