Why cant you people be polite writing comments
by ashok y on May 02, 2007 07:39 PM   Permalink | Hide replies

I read many people saying "pseudo secularists" I want to know what is secularism in you view... I am asking those only who wrote "Pseudo secularists" in their comments
Please dont give a definition

  RE:Why cant you people be polite writing comments
by jet on May 02, 2007 07:50 PM   Permalink
Secularism in my view is treating every religion equal. People who shout when some thing happens to minorities in India and keep quite when majority hindus suffer are pseudo seculars. People who are supporting criminal like Sohrabuddin because he is a muslim and ignoring the other guy(who is hindu) who was also killed with him are pseudo secularists. People who talk of Gujarat riots but ignore train burning or people who ignore massacre lakhs of innocent hindus in Kashmir but protest on streets when one muslim is killed are pseudo seculars. India is secular country that means every religion is equal but politicians who talk of reservation to muslims and christians based on religion are pseudo seculars. giving subsidy to huj but taking the money from temple hundis . 99% of temples are taken over by the govt and there are govt departments who run the temples and eat their earnings, but why no masque or church is not under govt. hindus has to pay money to visit Amarnath temple or manasarover but muslims getting subsidy is seudo secularism. when all religions are equal allocating minority education institutes and giving grants and allowing the managements to fill the seats with lakhs of admission fees is pseudo secularism.

by ashok y on May 02, 2007 07:57 PM   Permalink
Dear Jet,
One thing I should say....if you go to past many temples were taken in to Govt. custody after it was found that huge irregularities in spending funds collected by devoties. Fund irregularities are less when compared to our temples because they wont get so much funds flowing from daily devoties.... "Just imagine what can happen in this corrupt society when Govt withdraws its controle from tirupathi temple....??? Hudreds of crores of rupies

by Shantan Kumar on May 02, 2007 08:39 PM   Permalink
Dear Ashok,

Do you mean to say there are no irregularities in mosques and churches? Have we ever probed the source of funds to mosques and churches? Why is it ok for Christian fathers to go the Tsunami ravaged regions and ask people to convert to christianity to get some succor? Why is it ok for muslims to have their own law? Doesn't it sound absurd and stupid for the ulema to say that the daughter-in-law who was raped by her father-in-law should marry him instead of handing him over to the authorities? Tell me, in which country of the world do you see that the religious law is above the country's law? In our land it happens... muslims can practice polygamy without any censure from the law! And why can't our politicians stop it? Because they're pseudo-secular... that means they proclaim themselves as secular but do all communal things. They only try to appease one community, all with an eye on their votes. And these illiterate muslims don't understand their gameplan... because they just like to be pampered. That's actually true of most Indians, but atleast we see through the game-plans of the politicians and take corrective measures. Have the muslims ever thought why they're still languishing at the bottom of the development spectrum when their well-wishers are in govt? Do they not see that reservations to SCs & STs have not really helped them develop... so why do they want reservations now?

As regards the irregularities in temple funds... agreed it exists, but that doesn't mean the govt. can control the temples. If the constitution says that the govt has to be non-religious, how can the govt have a separate department to administer temples? This proves the hypocrisy of our "pseudo-secular" politicians. Guess you got the answer you were looking for!

by ashok y on May 02, 2007 08:46 PM   Permalink
Dear Shantan,
I am not saying that Govt should controle any place of worship..... My main motto is condemning this as mentioned in the original letter ... I wrote it in reply to "jet" about why Govt is doing so by involving in this matters ....... In my original message I mentioned that "Nation will become fully secular with public cooperation or dectatorship" and it is true.... think your self.... do we all really secular feeling... or following secular rules may be u r a hindu or muslim or chirstian??? Have you ever seen ur self as belonging to a sect or cast while dealing with other person at any point (forget about what others are thinking) ???? if yes you are also pseudo secular. If no... secularist India need great people like you to rebuild the nation

by ashok y on May 02, 2007 07:48 PM   Permalink
secularism means the Govt. should not have nothing to do with any relegion neither appeasement nor support in any means like funding relegious cermonies be it be a hindu or muslim or christian or running and controling place of worship. At the same time protecting its citizens from communal or caste based isolations(stress on this word). this will happen only with public cooperation or dectatorship

by ashok y on May 02, 2007 07:48 PM   Permalink
sorry it is "should have nothing to with" mistake

Ishrat's mom hopes for justice