women devotees at sabrimala
by ajit nair on Jul 05, 2006 03:30 PM   Permalink | Hide replies

In my opinion, women have every right to enter temples. In the eyes of god, every living being is a devotee who sincerely prays to him. So, it is really shameful on the sabrimala authorities not to allow women to enter the temple. They have to rethink on this issue and frame new rules and procedures.

  RE:women devotees at sabrimala
by Ramanath Babu on Jul 05, 2006 07:12 PM   Permalink
Oh! How did you borne as a Nair? It is shameful to the entire community.

It may not be entirely your fault. Your parents should have taught you what Hindusim is all about, especially our traditions.

May God forgive you for your ignorance!

Babu

by Kiran G Parihar on Jul 08, 2006 05:57 AM   Permalink
Kudos Ajit,
Atleast one real Hindu on my side. & as for Ramnath Babu, I am still waiting for your replies of my previous question. & I know you will not be able to reply because you are "LAKIR KA FAKIR".
Since it was done by my forefathers, it has to be done now - is the kind of your thinking - stale and stagnant.
I rememebered a story for you kind of guys.
- Once there was a famous temple & people from all over the neighbouring village used to visit the temple for Bhajans in the evening. The priest of the temple had a cat who used to disturb him during the bhajans. So he started tying the cat to a tree just before the bhajans. When the cat was not in sight, he used to tell some one to look out for her & tie her. This thing continued for a long time. Then one day the priest died. A new priest came in and guess what people still tied the cat to the tree. Then one day the cat died. People bought another cat and used to tie around the tree.
So a new tradition formed. A CAT HAS TO BE TIED BEFORE BHAJANS.
Not all but many of our traditions are formed in this way. This tradition in later ages are exploited by people who has vested interests.
I hope you understand these things

by Ramanath Babu on Jul 08, 2006 04:39 PM   Permalink
Kiran,

I don't write on anything and everything. I think twice before putting my views.

If you are so sick of rituals and traditions, why do you want to go to temple at all? After all, temples are also built by men. You can worship God from your home also if you belive in HIm. Going to the temple and doing poojas all are rituals.

Observing traditions and rituals come later. First you decide whether you really believe in God or not. Secondly, thnik what you know about religion, whether it is Hindu religion, Christian or Islam or any other religion. If you look at the universe and assess yourself as to where you stand in this universe, you will come to know that you are nothing but just like a drop of water in the ocean or a peace of pebble.

EVen those who think that he is the wisest on this world will realise that he knew very little. But to make such a self assessment, you should first shed your ego.

Babu

by Kiran on Jul 09, 2006 02:43 AM   Permalink
Mr. Babu
Thanks for your advice. I agree with you but not wholly. As for wherein I stand in the Universe, I do not consider myself as a drop in ocean but the ocean itself. That's what my Hinduism teaches me "Tatva mashi, Soham, Aham Bhramsvi".
Mandir are built by man, but for me MANDIR means "MAN ANDAR" - a calm & peaceful mind & body wherin God dwells.
Temples are best indication how one should be from inside & outside. The problem & issue of contention here is you tend to look & brighten the outside walls of the temple(human body - male or female) & I look for inner cleaning (mind - wherein God actually dwells). Nevertheless, outside cleaning & purity is also important but we generally tend to neglect the inner one, for which the whole universe is created.
And regarding picnic at temple, I believe that we all are here in this world on a short picnic, wherein we have to realize ourselves and let God express himself through our bodies. So whats a big deal in Picnic in temple. Should not we enjoy good things in life???
And if something divine that sabrimala can do as a part in this whole drama, then why to bar a certain section of Womens.
I hope I am not caustic this time.

by Srivathsan. on Jul 05, 2006 07:58 PM   Permalink
Mr. Ajit,

Please know how to respect tradition and other's long-held beliefs. If you knew the kind of regulative principles that are to be upheld for Ayyappa darshan, you wouldn't have uttered these words. If you did not know, you would've said these as you would have had nothing to lose. It's the others whose sentiments are hurt. And as a modern and LIBERAL-MINDED human being, you will move on with your business.

Hinduism has tolerated enough to survive the onslaughts of so many attacks. Please think enough / more than once before saying anything. The comforter's head never aches; it's the bereaved's that does.

'Aren't women human beings?'