Which way would be the better?
by Pradipta Halder on Mar 09, 2008 02:05 PM   Permalink | Hide replies

Hi, I need your advice. I am a 29 old guy living near Kolkata. I am working in a private co. and my monthly salary is 50k. I have a savings of 5 lac. Now I want to buy an appartment near my place. The price for a 900 sq ft appartment is 7 lac. I am confused how should I pay for the price. I can pay 7 lac in cash now but I don't want to empty my savings fully. Will it be wise to take a loan from a bank and pay monthly instalments? Or, half of that amount I pay from my savings and rest from a bank loan? Please advice me about the better option. How much is the rate of interest for housing loans and what could be the minimum monthly instalment I need to pay?

  RE:Which way would be the better?
by Shashi Ranjan on Mar 21, 2008 06:08 PM   Permalink
It's a trap....don't go for any loans. True that you will get rebate in tax, but ur intereset rate will be very high...

by ausi ka baap on Mar 09, 2008 02:48 PM   Permalink
may b, taking a bank loan wud b a better idea esp when repayment of bank loan and interest thereon wud get u deduction from ur total income for i.t. purpose!

by Pradipta Halder on Mar 09, 2008 05:28 PM   Permalink
Hi Thanks! Do you have any idea which bank I should approach?

by JAYAPRAKASH SAHOO on Mar 18, 2008 12:16 PM   Permalink
Make sure If you are going for Hosuing Loan tax Rebate . You may not claim for HRA Exemption. Find out which one is more. I am sure you HRA will be more considering only 7 lakhs you are going for loan

by sujoy sharma on Mar 09, 2008 09:44 PM   Permalink
go to LIC HOUSING FINANCE.You will not regret it

by arp on Mar 18, 2008 11:52 AM   Permalink
LIC housing is good co offer home loans without hidden expenses.

by amit mittal on Mar 10, 2008 12:56 PM   Permalink
Go for SBI ... its has got few good options . you can also check ICICI...

by Subhash Ram on Mar 16, 2008 07:04 PM   Permalink
Hello Pradipta,
I think u sud opt for getting a bank loan for buying the apratment. U may be paying an interst abt 11%. U will get a lot benifit in income tax deduction or this which eventually reduce ur burden. U can put ur savings in good bank fixed deposite & other instruments (like mutual fund, equity etc.) as per ur convenience. A bank fd will earn u around 9%. So, difference interest between ur loan & fd will be around 2% which will be cover up with ur income tax benifit.
For getting loan, u can discuss with all leading financial institution - ICICI bank, HDFC, HDFC bank, LICHF, SBI etc. & choose from the best one for u.

http://specials.rediff.com/money/2008/feb/19sld1.htm