No Future in Biotechnology!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
by prashant fulpagare on Jun 08, 2007 09:17 PM   Permalink | Hide replies

Hi !!!
I am student of Biotechnology from Pune. I am totally ageree with the writer. I came to know form a student of Pune university not to pursue career in Biotechnology as there are no jobs for Biotechnology students. I want you all readers to know that whole batch of BSc Biotechnology students of VIDYA PRATHISTHAN SCHOOL OF BIOTECHNOLOGY Baramati IS REJECTED BY RELIANCE COMPANY. And there are no hopes for other students. All the colleges of Biotechnology are running on almost no Infrastructure and ineligible teachers with no knoweledge. All the colleges of Biotechnology are flooding with the students every year in north & south universities. We all are being cheated by the Stupid universities. I really think one can`t get complete knoeledge in BSc biotechnology and hence we can not apply our knoweldge in real working world. I request all the students to join the field of BIotechnology if you are interested in research & can accept to earn 10,000per month at the age of 28-30. All of the students are leaving this field and joining MBA because it is the only option that we can opt for. And I feel there is no future for Biotechnology students for next 15 years with some exceptions. And for getting good jobs all of us can not afford to go to U.S, U.k & australia. I am really thankful to Rashmi Bansal for all the reality and myth about mesmerizing field of biotechnology. I request you to Please let all the students read this message. And I thik rather than just writing we sh

  RE:No Future in Biotechnology!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
by chinmaya on Jul 01, 2007 11:59 AM   Permalink
Hey Prashant I am also a student of Btech biotech frm Pune's DY patil... Our college students of 3rd year have been placed in well reputated companies. But one thing is for sure and i completely agree to u on that point. the point is that if one is completely intrested in biotechnology and doing a lot of research and earning 10000 to 15000 pm then only he/she shuld join biotech. Biotech is a research field.

Yes it is also true that everyone cannot go to US, UK or Australia but India also have some compnaies... To name a few companies like Mahyco seeds, Monsanto Seeds, Ranbaxy, Biozeen, Biocon to name a few... They accept biotech students...

by Jisha Janardhanan on Jul 06, 2007 09:17 AM   Permalink
Chinmaya... You are doing Btech in biotech, so please keep your comments confined to Btech / BE biotech. I agree that there is scope for this in India and abroad, at the same time there is a waste of a course called bsc/msc biotech. You will confuse the readers with your comments. So please mention specifically about btech in your comments.

RE:RE:RE:No Future in Biotechnology!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
by chinmaya on Jul 01, 2007 12:16 PM   Permalink
http://in.rediff.com/money/2007/jun/18biotec.htm

refer to this article for ur doubt abt the industry...

RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:No Future in Biotechnology!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
by Jisha Janardhanan on Jul 06, 2007 09:18 AM   Permalink
Articles are only the latest way to advertise. Please look into the jobs column, do a research on the companies who are offering these jobs.

Dont forget that Biotech requires and investment in crores, and is not for any tom, dick & harry to start a business with.

by LeYaM on Jul 07, 2007 11:45 AM   Permalink
Are you kidding ?

Who said biotech require investment in crores ?..dont get swayed away by big MNCs R&D expenses. India has a unique cost advantage and a miraculous biodiversity (a subject just taught for the sake of it without knowing the actual utility). I was surprised to see scientists working in different parts of the country who have come from countries like France, Denmark, Russia etc where they dont have rich biodiversity like India. They wont come in frontpage of TOI or Hindu. They wont goto companies like biocon or avestagen. They work silently in their domain space and make cool useful products. Thus they get registered in India and get approval from foriegn authorities (coz registering in India is cheap). Then they go back to their country and continue their work.

By utilizing this unique advantage we can cut down the capital required to start a biotech venture. Certainly am not kidding. the minimal investment required to start a biotech venture will be less than a lakh. For this you can easily approach business incubators or banks who are ready to shell out money with a reasonable ROI.

So think BIG, but start small.

First please start out into this field and then give affirmative statements. Coz am hearing this for yearsss that investment in biotech is in crores, which is an understatement for MNCs and overstatement for startups.

Biotech boom: Where're the jobs?