Not correct by core
by Ravi Roy on May 18, 2007 01:03 PM   Permalink | Hide replies

First and foremost let me tell that author looks so immaturish when he talks about the carrier and salaries. No company, mind it no company pays salaries in range of 10,000 to a PhD. In noway a fresh PhD get's lesser than Rs 20,000, in any subject from science, leave apart Biotech.
Exploitation is there. Some companies pay lesser than a call centre employee. But when you go to aborad and global market you are paid very handsome money with PhD getting $40,000 PA minimum with extra perks like complete medical, dental, social security, free internet, phones and laptops and loans for household with minimum 30% increment per annum.

The Why India is suffering in Biotech market?
Together with incoming multinational companies , our own companies have understood the fact that India has cheapest labour cost. They have to pay salary 6 times or more lesser than globally prevelent salary. They promote breeding of high number of graduates knowingly so that their requirement at cheaper cost si met always. They never focus over quality because most of the companies here are in curation and simple clinical jobs, for which one needs a book of standerd protocols like one which stays in any laboratory. No focus over R&D. Jobs are outsourced and BPO support has to be given. And our children graduate just to work as low paid BPO worker in such industries which give long interviews. Hardly you would find the sense of market and industry in those graduates, hardly any sense to become enterprenuer and start and change the industry environment and hit the money dominated markets. Blindly all follow the same path including the employee as well as their employer.
These companies have generated th number of jobs but not the quality of jobs. those doing postdocs or PhD abroad want to come back but their problem is that when they come here they get lesser salary as well as stay underemployed with poor job quality prevelant everywhere. Indian research institutions are doing much much better jobs than any company in this country today. biotechies are just associated with pharma companies while this is just a limited appraoch. Why don't they go aggressive over food sector and agriculture, where import export has higher chance?
Why not any company here rises which works in the field of biomedical sciences like artificial eyes research, or heart which has very high amrket demand and involves all kinds of interdesciplinary inputs.
But they can't do this. Our students go to US UK and do subsidiary jobs there too while they are forced to end up like labour underpaaid in Indian market. Teach the graduates to take up the challenege and challeneging researches and open companies instead of becoming underpaid labour if companies are suckers.boom is always there if you ahve head.

  RE:Not correct by core
by sabarish ramachandran on May 18, 2007 01:21 PM   Permalink
Area Roy baba get into the practical terms and look for the possible ways, any job will fetch more money in abroad than india, biotech is not a white collar job, and research is not something comes out instantaneously, research means squeeze u r knowldge,and R&D of a company will select only those with much much experience, Biotech belongs to a life science group that means lot of investment is needed for reserch in terms od buying chemicals, instruments etc ets, its not like IT just buy a computer and sit in home and work with the same machine every time....understood

  RE:RE:Not correct by core
by Ravi Roy on May 18, 2007 01:40 PM   Permalink
Aeyyo Sabarsih ye kya bolta hai ji..typical slave attitude of thinking. you define the templete of those crying underpaid guys here rama re.
So keep on sitting in bangalooru nariyal based life science factories.
It needs idea. lab setups of research institutions are enough to take care of infrastructure chemical experiment support Appa. This is not south Indian thali that you need to do everything yourself. It requires mind. If you say DRL, or Biocon, or Astra Zenica have no thsoe resources, then I can udnerstand your logical status.
And a new enterprenuer does not need to put funds but needs tie ups and channelization.
you spoke nothing sensible to make me things understood. Come out of labour mentality ramachandran appa. First go and read the stories of enterprenuers even including Kiran majumdar of A Pandey, who started things from hutment. You willg iven job of procuring cement chemical etc. don't worry.

by Ravi Roy on May 18, 2007 01:54 PM   Permalink
From south India, people graduate like Bhend Bakri in Biotech, with any private college openign the course.
these students have no depth. While same time in north Indian universities and other places, students have deeper knowledge and experience..still companies come in south and do recruitment of those Bhend bakadi, who die and crave for any job offer of 8000 rupees. These bhend bakdi and their producers in private coleges of south india has another share in the poor show of Biotech, who lack quality terribly, making all these life science to do BPO job and related recruitment, while msot of the north Indian students leave India or join companies outside or here at higher position and salaries. This is why those companies workign in northern side of India are better employer than those in south where everything is high in amount except quality and salary.
This must not be taken as regional statement but as a fact.

RE:RE:Not correct by core
by raghu rajagopal on May 20, 2007 04:13 PM   Permalink
Hello it seems you had drifted from core of the topic. Being a PhD student in Biotechnology I would like to say that it is not the matter of fact whether graduates are from which part of India and i would like to state that from what i had observed from other north indian grads as you say they are no better than south and their English communications skill is not to the extent of south grads.
This is also not to taken as a regional statement.

by dharmananand ravirajan on Jun 19, 2007 07:06 PM   Permalink
gud reply pals....

Biotech boom: Where're the jobs?