I really do not agree with Mr. Gaekwad's message on endorsements. First thing is why endorsements should be taken up with cricket player.
BCCI have to get contracts with players who will be employed with them for a series or for a few cricket tornaments. I mean "Employed" in the real sense, any employement rule states in one of their conditions for enrolements as an employee you are not supposed be engaged in any other activities rather than what is been said and written in the rules of the company.
I hope this above rule is not mentioned in BCCI employement Rules and Conditions. Hence our cricket players have been running behind endorsements with lot of products and companies who may be engaged with D companies.
I strongly recommend the above rule to be implemented first and foremost, then you see the results of our players and how they perform under pressure.
As their is an easy money comming from behind for years who bothers even if the players who are under endorsements do not perform under pressure.
Secondly I request BCCI to make a trial run for a year or so, in oblishing these endorsements taken by these players and ask these players to just concentrate on what job they have been allotted to do so and display their talent in the field.
RE:Endorsements!!!
by raj s on Apr 13, 2007 12:25 PM Permalink
IF YOU ABOLISH ALL ENDORSEMENTS FOR A YEAR, WHO THE HELL DO YOU THINK WILL RUN CRICKET FOR A YEAR. STOP GIVE THESE FOOLISH AND IDOTIC COMMENTS
by srinivas sm on Apr 13, 2007 12:31 PM Permalink
Hi RAVICHANDRA BABU,
If we take your suggestion, then we will be surely full filling the dreams of loosing the Test & ODI series to bermuda too !!!!. Guys look our RAVICHANDRA BABU is so honest that if he is professional then he won't or do anything apart the work he has... Corporate GUYS.. if you have some openings then please look here we have a saadu maharaj who is a dedicated worker, who will work round the clock not looking for his future but looking for only company future.!!!!! NEW DEFINITION OF WORK BY RAVICHANDRA BABU: "WORK TO WORK NOT TO GROW, WORK TO COMPANY GROWTH, NOT FOR SELF & COMPANY GROWTH"............ Sir i honestly feel you should be our next president!!!!!!!!!!! & I PLEA BCCI CHIEF TO QUIT AND MAKE WAY TO THIS SAADU GREAT MAHARAJ RAVICHANDRA BABU
Are you a cricketer by nature? is my message pinching or hurting you?. Then I feel sorry for given my message to an idiot who do not read the informations properly.
by raj esh s on Apr 13, 2007 01:28 PM Permalink
so now you wont accept my generous offer for a job of sweeper at my house. hmmm. i guess you are not good for this too.
by raj s on Apr 13, 2007 12:35 PM Permalink
I agree with srinivas. Ravichandra Babu if you want to work and dont want any money for it, let me tell you that I am looking for a sweeper at home. let me know asap
Shameless cricketers.... Inspite of early exit from WC, they are bargaining for the endorsements instead of building a strong team...Cheap cricketers..
RE:team india need players who fight on ground but n o need player who play not for sponsers
by TDH on Apr 13, 2007 12:36 PM Permalink
Suman, are you reprinting(if so, please use the writers name) or did you write this (and if it is so, then you do indeed have beautiful command over language).
I agree with you, how can you make players perform better by cutting endorsements? HOW? am i the only one this doesn't make any sense to? yes, it might make people feel better, but how on earth will it help the players performance, if anything, it will only demoralise them further.
RE:team india need players who fight on ground but n o need player who play not for sponsers
by Balaji Krishnamurthy on Apr 13, 2007 03:07 PM Permalink
Good balanced post. So as you put it "Physician (Board) heal thyself". Everybody is venting their venom on the players. Who created the hype? Not the players. Amid all this hoopla, everyone forgot that this Indian team is ranked no. 6 in the world. Criticism is fair enough, but the viciousness of some posts(not just here) made me wonder. Are we a sane country? If this is the quality of people following cricket in India, I think cricket can do without these people.
by Freek Guy on Apr 13, 2007 11:23 AM Permalink
Suman Bhatt: You have good knowledge of English language. You need to learn cricket next. All the best!!!
by Suman Bhat on Apr 13, 2007 10:25 AM Permalink
u r sic and shamless individual need shock treatement]u r spineless read article befure u post some filthy msgs
by satarupa sen on Apr 13, 2007 11:08 AM Permalink
"The World Cup ... India reached the finals once 24 years ago ...." Get your facts right! The only team they lost to in that tournament was Australia (champion). 4 yrs later, our greatest achievement has been beating Bernmuda. That's the contribution of "visionary" Chappel to Indian cricket.
by RAJ KUMAR on Apr 13, 2007 12:13 PM Permalink
Hi Suman
These things goes on and on in Indian Cricket. It has been almostone month after the Bangladesh match. I have read so many blogs/reviews and comments. Not even a single person has raised his finger towards Mr. Sharad Pawar or his team of incompetent buerocrats who are running the "GREAT INDIAN CRICKET SHOW".flaws in selection of team/form of leading players and also the lack of proper communication between team managementand players and lack of faith of Captain in the credibility of players. There are so many questions and doubts which need to be answered by BCCI and Sharad Powar himself.What moral right he has to remain in office after this debacle ?? Few heads will roll and changes will take place but who will replace these incompetent ignorants beurocrats and politicians from the various sports portfolios which they are holding. Other day i was reading an article that Indian cricket is going the Hockey way. Look what is the state of INdian Hockey ever since that super cop KPS gill has taken over. We have gone so down that even teams like china are defeating us easily. Why only cricket look the state of every sports in India?? Untill unless we have better brains and competent people placed as heads of these sports fraternity i dont think we can achieve anything. I thnik the best option is we should ask all the big corporate houses to adopt these sports bodies and place their CEO,s as head of these bodies so that we can expect some progress. At least we will have smmart guys will innovative ideas doing something.People like KPS GIll/Sharad Powar/Suresh Kalmadi/Anil Khanna/Priyaranjan das munshi/Ajay Chautala/Vijay Kumar Malhotra etc. heading the various sports bodies with very little or nil knowledge of sports. What else you expect from them. Its high time we should ask for change everywhere in sports and only the people voice can bring this change.
by raj s on Apr 13, 2007 11:10 AM Permalink
Suman, do you really think some one will read such long posts. keep it short dude
by us on Apr 13, 2007 11:00 AM Permalink
bhai Dravid, you resign from the captaincy immediately and give it to Sachin. I donot want to loose you. bhai, your life is risky in Calcutta and Bangladesh.
In many cases you do not realize that you r perfect worthless. I know you better than anybody. we eat, played and slept together....
by deepa on Apr 13, 2007 11:17 AM Permalink
CRICKET OSCAR AWARDS ANNOUNCED: BEST ACTOR - SACHIN FOR SAYING THAT HE HAS GIVEN HEART & SOUL FOR INDIAN CRICKET FOR 17 YEARS. BEST ACTRESS - ANJALI SACHIN. FOR SHOPPING WITH SACHIN IN THE CARRIBEAN & ASKING HIM TO ENDORSE MORE FOR MONEY BEST VILLAIN - GREG CHAPPEL FOR LEAVING INDIAN CRICKET IN CHAOS. BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR - SEHWAG FOR SUPPORTING INDIA TO VICTORY OVER BERMUDA & GETTIG OUT AGST SL & B'DESH BEST COMEDIAN - DRAVID FOR SAYING THAT THEY PRACTISED HARD ALL THESE YEARS FOR WORLD CUP 2007. BEST FILM - IND-BANGLADESH FOR INDIA SHOWED HOW TO LOSE AGST MINNOWS. BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS - MANDIRA FOR SUPPORTING INDIA WHICH IS NOT FIT FOR PLAYING IN WC 2007. BEST PRODUCER - BCCI FOR ALLOWING INDIAN CRICKET TO BE A TAMASHA BEST DIRECTOR - DILIP VENGSARKAR FOR ALLOWING SACHIN,SOURAV,RAHUL,VIRU,BHAJJI,AGARKAR TO PLAY IN WC 2007. BEST MUSIC DIRECTOR - ICC FOR DANCING TO THE TUNES OF BCCI & ALLOWING INDIA 2 PLAY CRICKET BEST DRAMA - WOOLMER'S DEATH & MATCH FIXING THEORIES BEING UNFOLDED.
Dear Mr Gaikwad, the issue of restricting product endorsements is defenitely not a non-sense move by the board.We have a proven record of players who had earned a lot from advertisements have underperformed as far as their game is concerned. One simple example is of a person who is getting a salary of say 10 lakhs perannum wins a lottery or say starts getting lakhs of rupees from some other source .In this case his focus will defenitely shift from his main job & his performance on his job will defenitely be affected due to this. Sachin Tendulkar, Virendra Sehwag,Saurav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid , Harbhajan Singh are classical examples of this. Logically nobody can deny this fact but it seem that the big players are behind people like Gaikwad who are openly advocating for the big players. This may probably for some personal favours (atleast it appears like that). Hope the BCCI stick to their decision & strongly implement & take stern action against the erring players (so called big players). No cricket player, howsoever big he may be cannot be bigger than the game of Cricket.
RE:Product Endorsement Issue.
by Praveen Kumar on Apr 13, 2007 10:29 AM Permalink
wy u ppl r not undrstandng, dey get endorsements only dey perorm... No one gonna book them if they dont perform... so inorder to get endorsements also they hav to perfrm....
RE:Product Endorsement Issue.
by Freek Guy on Apr 13, 2007 11:30 AM Permalink
There is where u go wrong Praveen. Some players are demigods - they get endorsements even if they dont perform. Simply Standing in the crease for 4-5 overs is enough to get their faces in 10 advertisements, leave centuries and big partnerships!!!
Instead of a stupid cap on endorsements, the BCCI should come up with a comprehensive strategy on who should be in the team (Players, coaches, other staff). After a disaster like WC'07, there should be a process to move ahead instead of a meeting with selected ex-captains (On what basis Ravi Shastri gets a call, and not Mr. Wadekar, for example).
RE:A comprehensive strategy
by deepa on Apr 13, 2007 10:56 AM Permalink
FIRST OF ALL, GAEKWAD, PLEASE TELL WHETHER THE PLAYERS WILL GET ENDORSEMENT ONLY BECOZ THEY ARE PLAYING CRICKET. SO, CRICKET BECOMES THE PRIMARY JOB. WHEN THEY ARE NOT DOING IT PROPERLY, WHY SHUD THEY ALLOWED TO ENDORSE. FIRST, MAKE INDIA TO WIN MATCHES, THEN U PLAYERS EVEN ACT IN FILMS. WE WONT OBJECT.
GAEKWAD, SO STOP NON-SENSE TALKS AND ASK YOUR PLAYERS TO CONCENTRATE ON CRICKET. LET BCCI STOP THESE GAEKWADS TO MAKE SILLY COMMENTS
RE:A comprehensive strategy
by Freek Guy on Apr 13, 2007 11:32 AM Permalink
Deepa, For that matter, even primary school students in India would be better than Indian team. Dont compare with minnows please
this guy is gone nuts...the day when the definition of a 'proven' allrounder becomes equal to Ravi Shastri it would be the end of the indian cricket...to top it we are referring to something called as one day internationals here
While he praises Lara for his "wise" decision he doesn't apply the same yardstick for Tendulkar. Tendulkar should retire and should have done it long time ago.
There are couple of platitudes that has been thrown around by ex-cricketers like Gaekwad, Kumble and BCCI folks, and even Sachin himself regarding Sachin's retirement. a) He has done a huge service to India for the past 17 years and he has given his life and soul for Indian Cricket - Service !, give me a break, Tendulkar should feel lucky that he got spotted and selected for the team in the first place, where countless are gone unnoticed because of the lack of connections or not being from a top-tier city. You can count just a few in the history of Indian Cricket, players coming from smaller towns or villages, or even cricketers that can't converse in English ( Well one exception, Kapil learned through Rapidex:))
2. A genius, much less a great player like Sachin knows when to retire. What if he doesn't know ? Don't we have selectors for exactly the same purpose - to pick the best team possible- and not non-performing ex-greats.
Its really a travesty that it has come to this. Sachin of yesteryears would be embarassed of Sachin of now.
RE:Gaekwad toeing the ghati line on Sachya
by Subramanian Vaitheeswaran on Apr 13, 2007 09:07 AM Permalink
Hey man...just because you dont do well one day in your office...will you retire or resign and say that you will not work again....silly comments from you...Don't ever interfere with Sachin's affairs...he knows better than you...and thats why he is representing India...and you keep blabbering and criticising
RE:RE:RE:Gaekwad toeing the ghati line on Sachya
by ravindra eknath bingoo on Apr 13, 2007 11:03 AM Permalink
sachin was never a good decision maker,that\'s reason he failed as captain inspite having good team,he is good worker and good leader,so I think he is not the right person to take decision on retirement(even if it is relating him)and he should respect the feeling of crores of indian people and call it a day with respect, before been shown the door.
by glamdring on Apr 13, 2007 09:33 AM Permalink
Vaithee or Subbu, strong words and bad comparison, so what do you want better, a perennial out-of-form Tendulkar or an Indian victory ?
by Afred Abraham on Apr 13, 2007 10:15 AM Permalink
Hey glam..., teams makes up from 11 players. Why only Sachin being targetted? The loss is not just because of one him only. Dont put all your against one such who is the best of all. An Indian if you then proving right some other's barb "Indians dont know how to treat their heros".
by Gurmit Singh on Apr 13, 2007 10:12 AM Permalink
People talk of Realisation.I dont think Indian senoirs have got any realisation as realisation only comes to foreigners like it comes to Sonia Gandhi,Hansie Cronje etc not to Indians.Indians lost realising way back i think last man to do that is Lal Bhadur Shastri or in recent times Kapil dev when he cried on TV.
by Afred Abraham on Apr 13, 2007 10:19 AM Permalink
You an Indian, do you realise what you saying.. either u r from INC, better or from media.. just stop following about those you dont know about. Kapil is indeed a legend but crying has nothing to do with realisation.
by Kavitha Chandramohan on Apr 13, 2007 09:20 AM Permalink
Hold on... I agree that Sachin is an exceptional player. "He was", I must say, than "he is"!!! I doubt if he can play a game (1 atleast) of that calibre that he used to play during those days. What good do you think does keeping a senior player in the team. It is nothing but sheer experience that helps in certain situations. And if Sachin can not showcase his experience, why should we carry this burden on our head. Chuck him out as the rule is equally applicable to each and every player in the team. Sachin is no "god", as what has been portrayed by the media. The team India will play even without Sachin being a part of it. This is not to be a game of politics, but a game of skills. Those who don't play on the grounds and only on papers or backstage, should simply be dragged ou tof the team. They don't deserve any mercy at all!!!
by RAKESH PATEL on Apr 13, 2007 08:27 AM Permalink
I believe all senior players are shameless. They don't have self realization. They just keep playing for the money they earn through their ads. They knows once they quit no one will come to them. This is all about money. This is all about getting more and more each year and compete to earn more then others.
You people are fools, Indian cricketers belong to a new class of indian society, like others namely, politicians, Industrialists, Intellectuals, etc.. If you like watching our heros playing cricket, then just watch it, otherwise do not watch cricket. Do not cry foul. Take it granted, you have no choice at all. We are like this only. Lara is a bloddy fool, he apologized to his people. Why shoud he do that. Lara should learn form Indian idols. It is just a game, everything is possible. West Indies got a false confidence after touring(beating) thrid class teams like Pak and India. That was the mistake they did. Now they are simply deflated. Now you must have got some understanding how a team like India beating Pak now a days. Cool, I know that you people had a day dream of matching Australians..lol...Now try to match Srilankans...O.K...And one more thing, All same bunch except Harbhajan are going to Bangladesh tour. See you there...bye...bye....Cricketers want your support(to earn form Ads) ...please keep on supporting and vist bangladesh with interesting paintings on your face, ass..etc.
RE:Cricketers need your support in bad times
by us on Apr 13, 2007 11:01 AM Permalink
bhai Dravid, you resign from the captaincy immediately and give it to Sachin. I donot want to loose you. bhai, your life is risky in Calcutta and Bangladesh.
In many cases you do not realize that you r perfect worthless. I know you better than anybody. we eat, played and slept together....