Hey Big News. one of the Directors have a rat running around in his house. What's the big news, you ask ? Man, it is an Indian rat. See another glorious Indian connection.
This is not the first time.Indians have contributed in all earlier space missions including the first moon landing of Apollo 11 when scientists from a little known place Kolhapur were very instrumental.They are Dr.Abhay Ashtekar and Dr Uday Bhate.
RE:RE:Second Gujarati
by Axxo on May 28, 2008 03:51 AM Permalink
You are right. Gujarati's are the only people who makes INDIA proud.
Some names Ashish has already mentioned - others include Mahatma Ghandhi, Dhirubhai Ambani, Mukesh Ambani, Sam Pitroda & Narendra Modi
North India is also great.
The most useless part of India is SouthIndia. This part is dirty & always licking others ass. They get the whole Bangalore developed by getting orders(mostly callcenter's) from the whole world & then supplying them with worst services. I am living in Toronto & whenever I call ICICI bank call center, most of the people don;t even know how to speak english.
But now people allover the world are aware of the fact & so they simply avoid going to SouthIndia
RE:Second Gujarati
by nitin tomar on May 28, 2008 11:37 AM Permalink
Hi Axxo, If you r proud of being north indian and hate South indians, then take all your north guys& gals off Bangalore.U r the people who have tarnished the Bangalore culture.This was indeed a peace loving area and is even today.You stay in toronto ,Canada u feel that you r great. Tell me in what way you are indian and helping India. These northies who have come here in bangalore,are least bothered about what others would think about them the crazy activities they do.because they are far away from parents,no one to control & guide. These girls often dress fashionably but yet exposing their tops, mid section & wear low waist jeans and sit on bikes almost exposing their buttocks.Is this the so called great north culture.
Axxo mind this south india is more peaceful,that's why more north indians are migrating to south india. You are one idiot staying in Canada would not understand what is South India. You said this south india is dirty & always lick others ass. CAN I ASK YOU WHY ARE YOU LICKING CANADIAN ASSES.
by vijay kumar on May 28, 2008 05:44 AM Permalink
Hahaha!What a Dick from Toronto.One Abdul Kalam is equal to all those Gujarati's u mentioned above. Perhaps if u get the statistics right Gujarat is probably the worst place to leave in India and no MNC will start there business in here. Southindians contribute to 70% of software development worldwide. Last but not the least if Mahatma Gandhi is alive he must have been ashamed for calling himself as a Gujarati. O English scholar before you talk about Mahatma Gandhi please get your spelling right...this reply is intended only for this scared goat from toronto...
by ashish raval on May 28, 2008 01:21 PM Permalink
Lol. Vijay kumar why dont you just type Gujarat in Wikipedia and find out how many MNC's are there in Gujarat. If you dont want to do it let me put it here. This is a chart of trend of gross state domestic product of Gujarat at market prices estimated by Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation with figures in millions of Indian Rupees.
Gujarat controls some of the largest businesses in India. Major Agricultural produce of the state include cotton, groundnuts, peanuts, dates, sugar cane, milk & milk products. Industrial products include cement, and petrol.
19% of India's Industrial Output 10% of its Mineral Production 20% of its exports 25% of its textile production 40% of India's pharmaceutical products 47% petrochemical production Largest Sea shore, 1670 km. The worlds largest ship breaking yard is in Gujarat near Bhavnagar at Alang. Reliance Petroleum Limited, one of the group companies of Reliance Industries Limited founded by Dhirubhai Ambani operates the oil refinery at Jamnagar which is the world's largest grass roots refineries. The company has also planned another SEZ(special economic zone), in Jamnagar.
Gujarat ranks first nationwide in gas-based thermal electricity generation with national market share of over 8% and second nationwide in nuclear electricity generation with national market share of over 1%.
Over 20% of the S&P CNX 500 conglomerates have corporate offices in Gujarat.
by ashish raval on May 28, 2008 09:14 PM Permalink
Ok shri vijay kumar, i have already mentioned where the gujarat stands in terms of your so called state you belong to. Ok now let me break your myths about software development 1) India as a whole (not just south india) is less than 5% of total software development worldwide, now you have to study in pakistani madrasa to come up with 70% software development figure worldwide. For all your so called software developers have not produced a single Linux operating system for India. Outsourcing(telephone talk) constitutes 50% of those of your "software development worldwide concept". Last time i checked the NASSCOM website, the total software export of India is about $40 billion which is just a bit higher than revenue generated by Gujarat's Reliance industries at $35billion and this will double by 2012 topping the whole software market of India. No wonder you find more southIndian's in Gujarat than Gujarati's in South India. Do a reality check and visit various cities in Gujarat and count the number of south indians in Gujarat. For all you Bull crap for it was Sardar Patel that combined India as you know otherwise your so called south indian Nizam was selling hyderabad and mysore to pakistan.
by andrew jeyathilagar on May 28, 2008 07:25 AM Permalink
Hi Vijay , That was an excellent reply.And i dont know when these crooked mind buddies going to change their minds.If he says North India is the best why did the hell this North Indian living in Toronto now.Everything is in your brains and not the place you live i diot.You dont know even this basic thing.Have a broadminded view on everything.Think & write.Good reply Vijay.
by jignesh bond on May 28, 2008 02:07 AM Permalink
He is in the mission because of his intelligence and his engineering acumen. Not because he is Gujarati. What's up with guys of your type this specially evident with tamilians. One guy works hard, he is smart when he achieves fame everyone from his state want to tag along and claim share in the pie just because they are from that region. Em khem chale ashish bhai, apdo baddhu Indian che. Evi reethe Bedh bhav nathi karvanoo. Jai Hind, Jai Garvi Gujarat, God Bless America. God bless all except terrorists.
by ashish raval on May 28, 2008 03:38 AM Permalink
Well well well ... now every Indian kid in the block anywhere in the world knows the things that you wrote. Now i dont see anything wrong in emphasizing that these two people were having Gujarati roots. Where does it conflict with their national identity, if you read i have written they are Indians with Gujarati roots which means that i have put them as Indians before mentioning their place of origin. Hum sub Indian hain to fir "Hindi" bhasha ka prayog kijiye taki sub log padh sake Gujarati main kyun likh rahain hai ?
by knowme Iamhuman on May 28, 2008 08:01 AM Permalink
posting an identity to be gujrati rather than indian is itself a very big conflict..and i am quite sure what ever reasoning we will try to stuff in your baised head, u will sing the same saga ....
Mars bio-life evidence as compared with Earth based evidence is typically a matter of degrees as well as species of life. The Earth based bio-life evidence is often subject to human intervention treating it as a consumable resource as well as some rough environmental change elements, all affecting its visual appearance from above. On the other hand, Mars bio-life forestation evidence is most often visually very massive and dense filling all sunlight space and completely covering the underlying geology hiding it from view. This suggests old stable growth and more favorable treatment by any intelligent life and/or environmental factors.
I fail to understand what the Indian link is and where it is. Did India build a part of this? Did an Indian University come out with theories of what is on Mars? What exactly is the Indian link here?
RE:What/where is the Indian link here?
by The Lone Wolf on May 28, 2008 12:20 AM Permalink
Well Said.. :) Rediff can print anything in the name of news. Ask that guy if he even considers himself indian. I am sure he will blabber in a shitty american accent that he is american and not indian.
On a different note... Since global warming is causing all the polar ice to melt here on earth, why not go and melt the ice using the same technique :)))
by Golden on May 27, 2008 10:21 PM Permalink
an indian servant was sweeping the floor or NASA main control room....
Rediff please mention this and make us proud that THERE IS AN INDIAN LINK IN NASA EXPLORATION....
by JKP on May 28, 2008 10:53 AM Permalink
hahaha! What a satirical response Golden! Exact! An Indian link is what excatly Meow said. These Indian linkers would be first to queue up before the US foriegn office to forego Indian passport to acquire one of US.
Rather than looking USA with awe, we should first set our own house order. We should elect a govt which invests hugely in R&D and which establishes meritocracy in all spheres. Then ppl like Prasun Desai, will automatically come back. Any comments?
Do not talk like communists. Shall we pause all our research/achievements/activities etc until we get all corruption cleared, until we elect a good govt. at the center??
You are dreaming of an Utopia like the communists.
RE:Our Priority
by Rash Group on May 27, 2008 06:09 PM Permalink
I am not telling to stop all our research. I am only talking abt cleaning our political system which is hindering our development.
I agree that our political and social traditions have to be changed. But that is a different story.
I have seen many highly educated people believing in superstitions. Many west-educated guys taking dowry (10 lacs and more, mainly Andhra, Kerala ppl) in their marriage, many top-level bureaucrats taking bribes and agreeing to others misdeeds and so on.
RE:Our Priority
by Lucky B on May 27, 2008 06:12 PM Permalink
An individual called Prof Kalam can rise against all odds and corruption then why not you and me and others?
These so called adventures to space has more politics than science in it. It is of no use to the human beings living in earth and battling out global warming, ozone layer depletion, diminishing natural resources, etc. Remember, during the cold-war times, USA & USSR indulged in rat race on who is sending more ppl to moon. To sum it up, this is not only science but also politics.
RE:Science or Politics
by deepak on May 27, 2008 05:59 PM Permalink
You are wrong Rash Group....the Space program of NASA revolutionized telecommunications, air & marine navigation...its the spin offs of Space research that created numerous materials, developed satellites, space labs and countless other things. Of course this is also to assert one's ability and power. So what exactly you want? a bunch of priests in the world??
by Rajendra Rao on May 27, 2008 05:38 PM Permalink
By your reckoning- we all should not have progressed beyond stone-age. Space exploration has lot of technical benefits- if you ever get a chance, read up on it. It is natural for human-kind to explore. The more we explore the universe, better off we will be. If we ever find life on other planets, that will be great- that will finally put to an end the idiot descendents of Abraham (Muslims andXtains) claim that we all came from Adam and Eve, andpopulated the planet by incest and inbreeding.
by Rash Group on May 27, 2008 05:50 PM Permalink
No amount of advancement in science will ever drive away superstitions irrespective of hindu, muslim or christian. The Mars is more far away to the sun than the earth (for that matter, all the planets) that life cannot sustain for long. If they are able to explore beyond milkyway galaxy, then probably there might be a planet which can sustain life.
RE:RE:Science or Politics
by Rash Group on May 27, 2008 05:43 PM Permalink
What u say is true. But what is the point in spending this much money on all these things beyond a time. Its time to get more facts about earth so that we can prepare a plan to tune ourself for better adaptability in earth.
when US and USSR was building satellites, many were telling the same thing, what is the need of sending satellites to the sky. but now see, from our mobile phone to television, from weather prediction to exploring earth surfaces (including Google Earth) everything depends on satellites. so, do not see foul in exploration. even if not directly, it will benefit us indirectly. (for example: maybe in that process, some new technologies will come up, even if we dont find anything on Mars.)
by Rash Group on May 27, 2008 05:41 PM Permalink
Before calling names, just think, what research they have made about our planet. Is there way of predicting earthquake occurrence? There r lot of things which is mysterious abt earth. Let them spend money on these things. Exploring universe will be only of academic interest. No good will ever come out of it for common man.
by Rajendra Rao on May 27, 2008 05:50 PM Permalink
Without USA space exploration interests, we would not be communicating now- which is possible because of satllites, cell phones, and digital and micro-wave technology, an off-shoot of space exploration. The fact is- NASA satellites first provided more info on our planet, and we are now better able to forcast severe weather patterns, saving lives. Don't forget - USA leads in research in every sphere, inluding geaological sciences and life sciences. For exa,ple, where would we be without the Polio vaccines invented by Dr. Salk?
All research is good.The bad thing is- humans breeding like rabbits and most of them (90%) are idiots- especially in Muslim countries. What has Islamic republics ever contribute to the science?
by Rash Group on May 27, 2008 05:53 PM Permalink
Muslim countries were not able to contribute in any sphere bcos of their medieval mind-set. Setting it aside, we are talking about USA. When they have lot of money on their backs, let them to more research on earth.
Dont worry, many people are doing research on that too. But you are not aware. Because our media do not highlight those news items. Media only publish eye-catching news.
Even in NASA, there is a whole department researching on earthquake: Check here:
RE:RE:Science or Politics
by Rajendra Rao on May 27, 2008 05:58 PM Permalink
USA is doing a lot of research on Earth- from deep sea exploration off the coast of Baja California to smallest details on our genes. Gene therapy and DNA vaccine research is actively undergoing clinical trails, including stem- cell therapy. On the planet, plenty of research is going on, including how best to prdict Earth quakes.
The best thing about USA- people like to explore what interests them- and some like to explore the universe, some on life on our own planet. Not everyone is forced into engineering or Medicine here in USA, which seems to be peculiar Indian mind-set.
in india, youths are forced to take up either a BTech degree or a Doctor (medicine) degree by their parents. And that becomes the ending of the youth's career. Most of them then settle down, will marry, will have kids, will think about earning. Research will never be possible (many different reasons).