Total 45 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3   Older >
TOO MANY ISSUES AND SOLUTIONS ARE A FEW
by rajeev tiwari on May 12, 2008 08:58 PM  Permalink 

THERE ARE TOO MANY ISSUES FOR INDIA AND A FEW SOLUTIONS LET US SOLVE THEM ONE BY ONE IN A MANNER WHICH MAY BE APPRECIATED BY OUR FUTURE GENERATIONS

Come on, cough up the 44 crores, please.
by on May 12, 2008 08:52 PM  Permalink 

Now that President Pratibha Patil has approved
the Finance Bill 2008 on Saturday 10 May, 2008,
there should be no delay from "the munificent
finance minister" or any one else.

Come on, cough up the 'Rs 44 crore at the rate of
Rs 2 crore each to the 22 Sainik Schools for
immediate improvement of infrastructure
including classrooms, laboratories, libraries
and facilities for physical education'.

Thank you.

Sainik Schools - best feeder source for NDA
by sriharsha rao on May 12, 2008 08:24 PM  Permalink 

I studied in Sainik School, Korukonda in mid 90s and the atmosphere there was amazing. It was the dream of every student in our batch to join NDA. I remember the days when 10 to 12 students from every batch were selected to NDA. I hear from my school bulletin boards and other people that the students are not keen on joining sainik schools.

I am grateful to the author for making out a good case for the revival of Sainik schools and I hope that the central govt takes all these schools under their wing and promote them.

For all the talk about peace and prosperity,it is these 950,000 people who are safegaurding our lives expecting nothing but honor and respect in return.

Sainik school
by an on May 12, 2008 04:52 PM  Permalink 

When I was in class 4, I attempted to join Sainik school in class 6. I did not make it, but had great fun with many boys preparing for the exam and then going to Hazaribag in a group to take it.

Really enjoyed the experience. I had such a boyish enthusiasm to join sainik school.

Anyway I continued with the school I was in and in retrospect it was really good, as I learnt a lot.

Not only Sainik Schools
by Anoop R Nambiar on May 12, 2008 04:47 PM  Permalink 

Here we must also see other schools run by the government like Navodaya schools.
evrything was given for free in the begining and the students were good too,but did they live up to the idea ?
Still MHRD is spending crores on these schools.Are they worthwhile?
Some sort of accountability must be there.

Tokenism won't revive Sainik Schools
by James Bond on May 12, 2008 02:57 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

If Mukesh Ambani, Ratan Tata et al are lucky to be present and successful in India, why can't they help Sainik Schools and use their influence to advise government to give good salaries to armed personnel.

After all it is the guts of armed forces which stops the anti-nationals from entering in India.

james bond

RE:Tokenism won't revive Sainik Schools
by Prem Mohan on May 12, 2008 03:47 PM  Permalink
I think there is a misconception here. The Sainik Schools are managed by the SSS. I don't think they can be given over to private individuals. Also, these private individuals have paid their taxes to the Government. It is for the government to utilise these taxes sensibly. Do you see any evidence of this around you?

by on May 12, 2008 09:20 PM  Permalink

None.

Truth must be Told.

James Bond didn't read the whole piece down to
the pickle or the superb rough-and-ready recipe
(nor the "some mirth" ).

Come on M P Anil Kumar, Believe it or Not,
we do have a funny bone !

by Sam on May 13, 2008 10:18 AM  Permalink
Dear Mr. Bond,

Why do we expect our corporates to make up for the failures of our government (both central & state)? The primary role of business houses is to run business and not the country. For that, we have this humongous army of corrupt politicians and babus who have dubiuos capability but enjoy unearned privileges. Please take the government to task for its failure and do not expect the corporate world to take over the governence of the country. If that were to happen, do we need governments at all?

Reduce corruption and good people will come
by Sincere Citizen on May 12, 2008 02:50 PM  Permalink 

There are lots of good people who are honest and willing to go to army but get demotivated by corruption and lack of ethics.

For any army corruption is its biggest enemy as corruption can cause treason too.

If you want good people eliminate corruption from defence forces and deals , remember Bofors ? submarine deals ?

Cure the defence of corruption.

SAINIK SCHOOLS
by ajay brahme on May 12, 2008 02:42 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The principal aim of Sainik Schools is act as a feeder to Defence. Therefore the standard of the schools depend a lot upon the change of perspective towards Defence itself, over the years.

To uplift the standard of the schools I think two pronged strategy should be adopted. Sixth pay commission be revived to make the Defence more lucrative career. Secondly, the aim of the sainik schools be diversified. It should also focus upon producing students for other higher educational institutions like IITs etc. This need was felt way back in 1990s by our then Principal Cdr. S J Singh sir and we established a tradition of sending for instance three students from Vindhya House to IIT etc. This approach would further instil a sense of INTEREST in sainik schools and things should improve.

Regards,

Ajay Brahme/Sainik School Rewa
Advocate, Delhi

RE:SAINIK SCHOOLS
by on May 12, 2008 09:26 PM  Permalink

No !!!

" To ensure mainly bright 9-year-old boys from the indigent strata joined these schools"
indigent

adjective

Having little or no money or wealth: beggarly, destitute, down-and-out, impecunious, impoverished, necessitous, needy, penniless, penurious, poor, poverty-stricken. Informal broke, strapped. Idioms: hard up, on one's uppers.

noun

An impoverished person: beggar, down-and-out, down-and-outer, have-not, pauper.

This was a bright, smart and secure way to create
Future Officers from those who would have otherwise been Jawans.

RE:RE:SAINIK SCHOOLS
by Cutlet Gravy on May 12, 2008 09:42 PM  Permalink

Oh Golly !

Good Ole Arjun Singh will be very unhappy if he reads this
and realises another Congress "loyalist", the
then defence minister V K Krishna Menon, had 22 better and brighter ideas than Arjun Singh's tokenism for reservation quotas.

Sainik Schools - Improve Career Opportunities inDefence
by Balwant Sharma on May 12, 2008 01:53 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I was present in Kapurthala in summer of 1961, when Late KV Krishna Menon and then Punjab CM Pratap Singh Kairon inagurated first Saink School with lot of fun fare. I was a young boy of 9 years then. Defence Officers career was second to none, not even to IAS.

Today 47 years later I am in IT industry after taking premature retirement from Defence in disgust. Defence is no more a rewarding career either in terms of Money nor status it used to enjoy with respect to other Services. In other words, we have let down this important arm of the Union. Young students do not aspire to be in Defence and those within want to come out at first opportunity.

Sainik School malasie is another symptom, how we treat Defence. It is no vote catching machine. Therfore it is importnat to improve Sainik Schools but more importnat to make Defence as a career second to none and which every body will aspire to join.

It will be better to stop grants to institutions where students run away to forigen lands without contributing to own motherland, rather than squezee grants to Sainik School, whose officers will make utmost sacrifice for nation.

RE:Sainik Schools - Improve Career Opportunities inDefence
by on May 12, 2008 09:31 PM  Permalink

Caution, Balwant Sharma: you could get Dooced !!

Came across this word - Dooced - on

UrbanDictionaryDOTcom

dooced : Getting fired because of something that you wrote in your blog.

"Blogger Heather B. Armstrong coined the phrase in 2002, after she was fired from her Web design job
for writing about work and colleagues on her blog, DooceDOTcom"

Recently, Delta Air Lines flight attendant Ellen Simonetti was fired, she said, for what her supervisor
called a misuse of uniform.

Simonetti had posted on her personal blog, Queen of Sky (now called Diary of a Fired Flight Attendant),
pictures of herself, in her uniform, on an empty plane. Her blog also contained thinly veiled work stories.

You must Thank God for low internet usage and lower blog readership (by your bosses) on Rediff. !!

:~D

RE:Sainik Schools - Improve Career Opportunities inDefence
by Sincere Citizen on May 12, 2008 02:47 PM  Permalink
I met and talked with some people from defence background or dealing with the defence personnel and they all accused of massive corruption in defence area, if this is truth then it itself can cause decent people to opt out of army.

After all people going to army would have more honesty, integrity and love for nation all these qualities would be in complete opposition to corruption.

Some of the ex-defence record in politics as far as corruption goes is very bad too.

A stitch in time...
by Arvind Mathur on May 12, 2008 01:43 PM  Permalink 

It had been my experience, while serving with sainik school alumni in the Army, that these people are highly motivated and possess the right aptitude required by the defence forces.

While the recruiters lament lack of OLQ (Officer Like Qualities) in candidates in the selection boards, the fertile source of sainik schools is being neglected.

The govt. must take steps to curb the ills besetting these schools, as explained by the author in this article.

Total 45 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3   Older >