Total 321 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Older >   >>
Why is it that important?
by shiva on Jun 24, 2008 02:48 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

MMS should see the alternatives than be so obsessive. He can leave on other grounds but certainly not on a deal that is patently not in our interests. Even if we sign on the dotted line, the deal is not going to solve our energy problems. At most it can provide 20% of our requirements and the plants will take over ten years to run. Obviously MMS is not advised properly about the whole issue.

Uranium is following oil and what will be the cost down the road? The capital cost is huge while uranium is cheaper at the moment. But, with 1000 plants proposed by PM Brown, uranium will prove elusive.

The whole world is thirsting for renewables like solar, wind etc. Germany is at the cutting edge of solar energy research and many auto makers especially Japan are in the forefront in improving fuel efficiency. A break-through will come much before the nuclear plants can run.

We should collaborate with others on the harmless renewables than compromise our security & dignity on a lop-sided deal, unless MMS can open-up what is so great about the deal he is so obsessed about (has he signed it?). Bush is already past and the future President will have his own agenda where we can think afresh & negotiate.

We should just stop flogging the dead horse and look at the greater opportunities that lie ahead. Let us join others on a non-controversial, fossil free, future based on renewables.

MMS should spend his time on other less contoversial but more important issues.

RE:Why is it that important?
by Halum on Jun 24, 2008 02:51 PM  Permalink
exactly..the alternative energy sources is the best option...MMS should think of setting up more research laboratories to solve that issue..instead of becoming a chamcha of US

by shiva on Jun 24, 2008 03:14 PM  Permalink
Halum,
Problems make our life exciting. Solving them give us a high. This generation has to grapple with a feeding frenzy on resources as new boys are growing up with enormous appetite. China has no qualms with consuming like uncle sam, though we are moderate in our expectations.

Renewable energy is the name of the game. We should cut the umbilical cord from fossil fuels. We have to grow up. One way is solving the problem when oil shoots up. Gazpom president Miller is predicting $250 oil. That will make solar cheap. Let us just take his word for it and once solar energy is commercialised, that will solve the problem. Remote villages can be grid free and even feed the excess to the grid! It is harmless and ever renewable. Israel has a plant that tilts towards the sun so that maximum production is possible.

In the automobile field, fuel efficiency is the order of the day. Within two years almost all who matter are putting up hybrids, plug-ins. Even a Japanese company is tying up with the majors on running on water, even sea-water. When you go dry, fill up with one liter of water and go another 60kms. Maybe we can use our own if some privacy can be assured! So drink water and run the car!

With such possibilities it is plain suicide to sign on a deal that is alcatraz, guantanamo combined. We are bartering away our future to be second class forever, while others will just thumb their nosses at our stupidity. Let us even starve than become such no-hoppers.

by Hemant Kumar on Jun 24, 2008 02:57 PM  Permalink
You put it rather well and seem informed on the subject. An additional point against the deal is the environmentally hazardous effects of nuclear fuel esp in case of accidents and in the face of terrorists who reside in our ranks. Our nuclear plants would be sitting ducks for a terrorist attack and given the lackadaisical attitude of indian poeople towards security of any kind, the deal with its 100 plants could be a recipe for unmitigated disaster.

INFLATION IS BIGGER ISSUE
by arun tailor on Jun 24, 2008 02:47 PM  Permalink 

Most of the public is not in oppose to deal.
But what they want is to concentrate for inflation problem first.
while country is in economic emergency, they are shouting for N-deal.
Solve the bigger issue first which have imidiate effects on the public.
Whatever the deal will give will come in decades, but whatever inflation is giving is already on the head of public.
They should concentrate on Inflation first. Econiomist MMS is hiding his failure on ecnomic front, and using this N deal issue for his safe passege.

Manmohan Singh
by RANGARAJAN on Jun 24, 2008 02:45 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dear Prime Minister,

I am an ordinary citizen on India writing to you.

I am aware of your dielema regarding whether to sit in the chair as prime Minister as per the regular instructions issued by Soniaji,Raghulji,Raghul's son,Raghul's grand son etc along with Laluji,Pawarji,Karunanithiji,Paswanji,subjee etc or with the remaining self respect that you are having (hope so) get out from the post and get employed elsewhere.You know well that our politicians will loot the GOD even if HE wants to save our country.So,even GOD has to come with minimum valubles so that he will escape from the looting by our politicians.

Also,whether you accept or not,you are one of the most inefficient Prime Minister of India along with Deva Gowda,Gujral,Chandrasekar,Charan Singh and kindly push out our Finance Minister Mr.Chidambaram at Mariana Trench in Pacific Ocean when you take him along with you to join in a job elseshere.

RE:Manmohan Singh
by thomas raj on Jun 24, 2008 03:04 PM  Permalink
There must be something wrong with your senses...consult a good psychiatrist...or just dont think of anything....HANG URSELF..OUR NATION WILL BE HAPPY....u r a crazy S....O....a...B

by sam thomas on Jun 24, 2008 02:55 PM  Permalink
That shows the undertsnding of the country you have.It seems you belong to a bunch of individuals who want to only progress but not others .By the way which news paper you read?.He is the man who chnaged the way people in india think.Opened everything as far as possible for competition .Sad part is you are equating him with Dev Gowda .Shame on you .you are a highly pessimistic Govt babu it seems who only wants mullah without paying any price.For your information India and china are the only economies in the world which has 9% GROWTH .nOW tell me what you will say...?

by Vikas Bhatt on Jun 24, 2008 03:18 PM  Permalink
MMS only allowed globalization, but industries still remained under Govt license raj even then. He allowed MNCs from abroad to compete here and gave them huge tax breaks, but kept local industries shackled in multiple permit and tax systems and allowed them to stagnate and close down or be taken away by the bigger sharks from abroad. As a result the likes of Thums Up and other soft drink companies for example could not face the money might of the Cokes and had to sell out not having space to move. It was only when NDA came that larger privatization was allowed to break free from Govt shackles and develop and policies meant to help Indian industries and services to compete abroad and at home and to grow to current levels were developed. It was NDA policies that took us today where we are. Congress reaped the fruits of NDA's labour. MMS opened economic liberalization path but his policies in 1990s reverse helped outsiders more than our manufacturing locals in industries. As a result imports grew and exports suffered heavily leading to an 11.11% inflation even then. Get your facts right. You are sitting on internet defending MMS and abusing BJP because BJP policies helped you get a fat paying job in the services sector.

by Bob Seth on Jun 24, 2008 03:02 PM  Permalink
deve gowda was a better PM then MMS, look at the mess ,MMS has created for the average man high inflation, high cost of housing , no job security as economy has started slowing down ,MMS got the advanatge of what BJP did in his first 4 years.

by ravindra avsare on Jun 24, 2008 03:08 PM  Permalink
Well written opinion. Nothing has been left for MMS now to show the public.

by santosh bhattacharyya on Jun 24, 2008 03:21 PM  Permalink
we the pepole of the Nation will support you,N.deal should go ahed without any hesitation.the young generation will curse otherwise,if you visit CPM rule state like West Benagl you will find only misuse of oil because of non avialabity of electricity,all the generators are creating noise polution.pepole are suffering a lot,pl sir we hope left will give their consent and support,now nation cannot afford election,BJP should come forward for the support of the deal also other political party should support the deal considering the electricity position and side by side fuel cost of the world,we feel everypolitical party should come and support the deal without further delay.

Congress is doing this for the cut it will get out of the hundreds of billions of dollars worth of investments in the nuclear sector .
by softouch on Jun 24, 2008 02:44 PM  Permalink 

Congress is doing this for the cut it will get out of the hundreds of billions of dollars worth of investments in the nuclear sector. The problem is that this investment will be spread over the next 10-15 years, when the congress will be out of power.

Or is the congress delivering on the first installment received?

Nuke deal & powers be....
by krishna iyer on Jun 24, 2008 02:44 PM  Permalink 

Neither the congress nor the left are man enough to face the electorate now...Bjp/Reg parties can only gain.....The UPA was unabke to do any good in any walk of life but for continuing the globalisation drive at the cost of middle class in India...Either now or later UPA will lose...the public will not forget the weak terrorism handling poorer finanacial management ,reservation conflicts ect...

Confused
by PKN on Jun 24, 2008 02:42 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

One line "a section of Muslims may turn against the Congress if it was seen to be going in for strategic partnership with the US" is quite misleading and worrisome. It is worrisome since even Karat is supposed to have warned Mulayam Singh Yadav that his party agreeing to support the Nuclear deal would have impact on its Muslim vote bank!

The nuclear deal has nothing to do with Muslims. It has to be assessed based on its pros and cons. There is nothing to suggest that Muslims in India has something against USA. Even Saudi Arabia the birth place of Islam has a very close relationship Bush’s USA.

Yes there would be extreme fundamentalists who would suggest that USA is inimical to Pan Islamic aspirations and hence must be rejected. But to understand how ridiculous this is ask Karat if he would accept the cancellation of the Iran pipe line project based on the fact that Bajrang Dal or the VHP don’t like it?

Let us remain secular at least when it comes to issues of great national interest.

The odds of the common Muslims of India appreciating that is quite high.

RE:Confused
by All Right on Jun 24, 2008 02:51 PM  Permalink

PKN:

Your concerns are unfounded..... I mean why do you want us to remain "Secular" at least when it comes to issues of great national interest?

By towing the Muslim vote bank's line (whether right or wrong) no body is becoming communal. Guess why? Coz the definition of Communal in this country is "Are you giving even an inch to a Hindu?"... If you are giving a mile to the "secular" religions, it's okay.. :-)

Don't you see all jokers coming together AFTER the elections (which they have fought each other like dogs in) with one single objective of keeping BJP away from power? Why? Coz that's their definition of keeping secularity running.. The current jig and dance between Congress, xyz, abc, and Left is nothing but a manifestation of that mentality...

So once again, when in India, revise your definitions of secularism, and you shall be all right

RE:Confused
by PKN on Jun 24, 2008 03:22 PM  Permalink
All Right, you have got it wrong!

But what you got right is the fact that in 60 years we have decided that secularism means minority appeasement. Secularism means that Taslima cannot write what the Mullahs don’t like but Hussain can paint what the Hindus don’t like. Secularism means you can give subsidy for Hajj Pilgrims but you cannot give forest land for Amarnath Pilgrims to halt.

But for me secularism means when the state can decide on the Nuclear deal without having to worry about an angry Mullah somewhere in UP because America pulled down a Taliban outfit in Afghanistan.

I am in India still my definition doesn't change for secularism. The crap that people like Karat, Arjun Singh, Karunanthi, Lallu Yadav and Mulayam is peddling is "minority appeasement”.

Hope you now know what I meant by taking a "secular" decision on the Nuclear Deal. I meant secularism as defined by the Webster’s English Dictionary and not by dogmatic India politicians scrounging for minority votes!

No clue why ..
by B Blogger on Jun 24, 2008 02:42 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I seriously have no clue why the author of this article Neerja and other enlightned politicians think that the Nuclear deal is anti muslim. Why? Even if they do think it is anti muslim ...so what? No every decision pleases every citizen of India. Go for it Mr.PM. The majority support you.

Bush Arrested by Gujarat Police
by Thiyagrajaan on Jun 24, 2008 02:36 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Narendra Modi and his police men had arrested American Prime Minister Grorge W Bush at white house under POTA Act. This comes in light after Bush accepted to ink a deal that says India has to honour Hyde act and the U.S Government will accept POTA as a universal law.Police filed chargesheet against the accused on grounds of creating communal hatred, indulging in anti people activities, conspiring the killing of Irqa premiere Saddam Hussain and others.

RE:Bush Arrested by Gujarat Police
by All Right on Jun 24, 2008 02:38 PM  Permalink

Good. Hope you have sent in your entry for the Bookers prize this year....

Hurry or you'll miss the deadline and a chance to become the best fiction writer of the year

by arun tailor on Jun 24, 2008 02:41 PM  Permalink
He is president, not PM.

by All Right on Jun 24, 2008 02:43 PM  Permalink
:-) In fiction everything is allowed including the name twist.... Grorge... instead of George... :-)

by arun tailor on Jun 24, 2008 02:45 PM  Permalink
ha ha ha, sorry yar

by nitin goswami on Jun 24, 2008 02:59 PM  Permalink
Narendra Modi was also arrested by British for arresting Bush. Also later America also banned Modi from coming to America and many other European Countries. That is the reason Modi never goes to J & K, our state, and also Pakistan or America or European Countries or China. Yes, It saves India so much money.

by Thiyagrajaan on Jun 24, 2008 03:25 PM  Permalink
narendra Modi may be instrumental behind killing a few hundred people in his homeland but this son of the b**ch has killed thousands of Iraqis, hundreds of europeans, hundreds of Americans, tens of Indians just for the sake of promoting his weapon company. He should be banned to breathe in this planet.

IT WILL BE A NATIONAL SHAME IF NUCLEAR DEAL IS PUT TO REST
by Pradip on Jun 24, 2008 02:29 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Right from the beginning, the deal has been through rough winds, thanks to clueless and brainless anti-american rhetorics and political acrobatics. Some section like the Left opposed it due to political consideration as contrary to popular belief about their proximity to China, mainly, to appease minority community which becomes clearly evident when they sent advisory notes to SP and cautioned the latter about erosion of their minority base. Though BJP took Indo-US relations to new heights but they opposed the bill owing to larger political interest. The regional parties are restricted to limited vision and more interested about their stakes and booties than viewing the deal from a national perspective. Many people from both India and US worked day in and day out to make this deal mutually acceptable. All these diplomatic exercises will prove to be futile if the deal is put to sleep. We will shoot at our feet if we miss this opprtunity which comes seldom at a historical scale. This deal will put us in the orbit of big powers, the same left used to ridicule Mrs Gandhi whenever she talked about High Tech, be it space, computer science, or nuclear technology. This is an enigma to me how CPIM being a Marxist Party is averse to high-tech, how they will achieve emancipation of labour. CPIM is utterly confused and contrived which limits their sphere of influence only in few pockets. Nation invested in Congress Paryt and it is their onus to uphold national interest. JAI HIND.

RE:IT WILL BE A NATIONAL SHAME IF NUCLEAR DEAL IS PUT TO REST
by arun tailor on Jun 24, 2008 02:37 PM  Permalink
Most of the public is not in oppose to deal.
But what they want is to concentrate for inflation problem first.
while country is in economic emergency, they are shouting for N-deal.
Solve the bigger issue first which have imidiate effects on the public.
Whatever the deal will give will come in decades, but whatever inflation is giving is already on the head of public.
They should concentrate on Inflation first. Econiomist MMS is hiding his failure on ecnomic front, and using this N deal issue for his safe passege.

by mahabodhi on Jun 25, 2008 09:43 AM  Permalink
@arun tailor what most of the public !Most Indians 95% do not even know thw NDeal -Hyde Act or 123! What they only bother about is their survival with dignity!What they want is Decent jobs - a decent roof over their head - a decent transport sysytem and decent education for their childern !What in fact the so called enlightened 5% who with their so called knowledge of NDeaL should DO IS TO TALK ABOUT eMPLOYEMENT BE MADE FUNDAMENATL RIGHT BY MAKING AMENDMENT IN cONSTITUION WITH ONE CHILD FAMILY PLANNING CLAUSE ! And if any body wants to know about NDeal then ask ur Rickshawa wallah ,house maid ,panwal , labourers working on many SEZ sites -(Theyr working on daily wages for a petty contractor -where as big companies hv the main contract and hv given the subcontract to some of their relatives who hv further given to some petty contractor and who further given to petty contrct to small contractor -! Where r corrupt Labour Inspectors -why they do not check whether these labourers r getting any provident fund or Gratuity -(or eeven r on Rolls -!These labour inspectors -who do talk about NDeal -r corrupt and making money by going to site and taking their hafta !

by All Right on Jun 24, 2008 02:36 PM  Permalink

Simple. Be transparent and open to discussion.

BJP has clearly said they are opposed to the deal in the present format. Period. They themselves initiated it, so obviously they are not ideologically opposed to it.

Its incumbent upon Congress to understand what those issues are, take BJP into confidence and garner their support. But they choose to do exactly the opposite.

Makes one wonder whether they themselves are serious about signing the deal, or just want to use that as a ruse to a) sweep the actual burning issues like inflation under the carpet, and b) hope for a sympathy wave when elections are called.

by Pradip on Jun 24, 2008 02:51 PM  Permalink
Absolutely. If Congress could have taken leader of the opposition Mr LK Advani into confidence, their job would have been much easier, so the common sense leads us to believe, however, to bring the two major political formulations on the table is difficult because both do not ENJOY THE RELATIONSHIP THAT SHOULD EXIST BETWEEN TWO MAJOR POLITICAL PARTIES. Obviously, congress being the ruling party is endowed with this responsibility. WHAT BOTHERS ME IS INDIA'S CREDIBILITY AND NEGOTIABILITY AT THE INTERNATIONAL ARENA WILL BE AT STAKE AT A CRUCIAL JUNCTURE WHEN INDIA IS EMERGING OUT AS A KEY GLOBAL PLAYER. The economics of globalization needs some time to trickle down, MMS himself is a man of development economics who suggets liberalization with human face will not leave no stone unturned to keep up the momentum of growth engine. BUT CONGRESS SHOULD BE LESS PARTISAN IN DEALING WITH OPPOSITION.

by sam thomas on Jun 24, 2008 02:40 PM  Permalink
BJP only wants to take political advantage of the situation and when they come to power they themselves will sign the deal in the present format..They were looking for an issue and they got it to fool the middle class.Poorer section in villages will anyway dont understand it...so make hay while the sun shines .....

by All Right on Jun 24, 2008 02:45 PM  Permalink

Fair enough... But then it's Congress fault for not exposing them by calling their bluff, ain't it?...

Why is Congress trying to flog a dead horse by repeatedly going to the Left for the past one year (or more, now)?..

Gives credence to the possibility that it is because Congress themselves don't want to sign the deal and are looking forward to benefits a) and b) I highlighted above.

Need not Worry!
by P Unnikrishnan on Jun 24, 2008 02:29 PM  Permalink 

PM or Congress or Lalu need not worry, because communists will not withdraw their support to Govt till the actual election time is near, as their main concern is to keep BJP out of power in their own interest, not in nation's interest. So they will compromise with anything.

Total 321 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Older >   >>