Total 96 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >
Just don't criticize, look at reasons... continued
by saurabh jain on Jun 03, 2008 07:06 PM  Permalink 

... for world class technologies, even within country training is not given in fear of attrition.
BOTTOM LINE is u require highly technical job, but u don't want to pay (if i am correct scientist are the least paid among all public sector units leave aside the software companies), u don't want to train and still u want to give products like (missiles, radars, aircrafts). Man if it was so easy out of hundreds of s/w firms at least few would have started this business.
if u fear attrition, take bonds but give good salaries and good traning if u are really looking for world class products and if our armed forces really want to fight a winning game.
And its not the case only with DRDO, even ISRO, HAL, BARC etc are suffering with this.it may be one or two scientist have poor performance not multiple organisations...right. Seriouly its high time that we take corrective action and kindly not on a negative trend .

DRDO WASTE OF TAXPAYERS MONEY
by Pranab M on Jun 03, 2008 07:04 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

1.NOT A SINGLE INNOVATION BY DRDO COULD BE USED BY MILITARY
2. GO TO ANY DRDO CAMPUS , THE IDIOTS HAVE PUT A NOTICE THE BENCHS ARE KEPT FOR DRDO PERSONNEL ONLY IF YOU ARE FOUND SITTING IN THOSE BENCH YOU WILL BE HANDED OVER TO POLICE AND YOU MAY BE PROSECUTED . SHAME ON DRDO , THE COMMON PUBLIC IS PAYING YOUR SALARY HOW CAN YOU PUT SUCH NOTICE
3.69% RESERVATION FOR SC,ST,OBCS, 10% RESERVATION FOR PHYSICALLY HANDICAPPED , 10% FOR MENTALLY HANDICAPPED , 10% FOR RELATIVES, 1% FOR GENERAL CATEGORY

RE:DRDO WASTE OF TAXPAYERS MONEY
by saurabh jain on Jun 03, 2008 07:17 PM  Permalink
U fool, how much u know of DRDO and the products of it used by armed forces. Ur narrow mentality is reflected by the way u are angry because u r not allowed to sit on the benches. Tomorrow u may ask to live in our quarters because u pay us...right. And as if u pay us salary for free, u recruit all of us just like this. Tomorrow u would like to use the RED LIGHT of an IAS secretary because u r paying salary to them.
First get ur knowledge correct on the benefits and responsiblities of public servants. People like u are better handled by other govt deptts where u pay to them and still u bribe them to get ur work done....at least DRDO ....U are allowed to use the roads of DRDO campus..tell me one defense establishment where u can do that. Its not ur fault, its human nature, u give something and we ask for more.....

RE:DRDO WASTE OF TAXPAYERS MONEY
by saurabh jain on Jun 03, 2008 07:52 PM  Permalink
For ur knowledge:
1. So far we (India) was not able to make a motorbyke of its own. Bajaj was the first to make that too in 2002-2003. Tata is the only indian company to make a car on its own that too in 2004-2005. At least DRDO and ISRO are making missiles, satellites which has put india in league of select top 5 countries that too by paying a salary to its scientists that is lowest among all public sectors and equivalents to BPO 12 th pass employees.
2. And my dear why don't u join DRDO. Actually u want to enjoy both private money as well as DRDO facilties (sitting on chairs :-))

great jobs ahead
by kiran chavan on Jun 03, 2008 06:59 PM  Permalink 

The job done so for is good by DRDO,its better they spend money on new technology ,get well used to it and then produce the best weapon or programme that world have never thought off.
We INDIANS are capable of doing that, its just matter of time . We have faith and respect for all are scientist and arm forces.
Give your Best shot, every INDIAN is with you.
JAI HIND

Just don't criticize, look at the reasons
by saurabh jain on Jun 03, 2008 06:54 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I am myself associated with DRDO and thought it apt to put the records straight. Some of u have pointed some factors for DRDO poor performance correctly but i would elaborate a bit further
1. DRDO wants the best brains for the kind of work it envisages(missiles, aircrafts, radars to name a few), and does hold appropriate level of entrance exams and interviews. As a result no doubt DRDO gets meritorious scientists having desire to work hard and learn.
2. These students after few years see the other sub-standard rankers earning much higher .(Even a 12th standard student gets equivalent salary from BPO). Many of them quit to keep pace with society. (After all highly technical work and less way is not a good equation...)
3. To stop attrition, instead of increasing the salary, some DRDO top bosses (usually above 50) devised a strategy not to give core work or training to young scientists so they don't get enough skilled to get a job outside. But this acts as a negative loop. The scientists who had expectation of good job profile, quit because of this.
3. High reservation and lot of Technical grade people add to destroying of a high technical atmosphere which is to be the backbone of DRDO.
4. Bosses above 45-50 have only promotions on their mind, caring least for professional development of young scientist and as accountablity is not stringent, they dream of retirement years.
4. Armed forces expect world class technology, but leave aside foreign studies to equip scientist fo

RE:Just don't criticize, look at the reasons
by Pranab M on Jun 03, 2008 07:04 PM  Permalink
1.NOT A SINGLE INNOVATION BY DRDO COULD BE USED BY MILITARY
2. GO TO ANY DRDO CAMPUS , THE IDIOTS HAVE PUT A NOTICE THE BENCHS ARE KEPT FOR DRDO PERSONNEL ONLY IF YOU ARE FOUND SITTING IN THOSE BENCH YOU WILL BE HANDED OVER TO POLICE AND YOU MAY BE PROSECUTED . SHAME ON DRDO , THE COMMON PUBLIC IS PAYING YOUR SALARY HOW CAN YOU PUT SUCH NOTICE
3.69% RESERVATION FOR SC,ST,OBCS, 10% RESERVATION FOR PHYSICALLY HANDICAPPED , 10% FOR MENTALLY HANDICAPPED , 10% FOR RELATIVES, 1% FOR GENERAL CATEGORY

RE:RE:Just don't criticize, look at the reasons
by Rahul on Jun 03, 2008 07:28 PM  Permalink
One of my friend is also in DRDO and Saurabh jain has rightly put the reason of substandards.The first point is most common.When u get good salary in market and a DRDO Engg getting half of it and no other perks then he/she will do it.I can understand very well.

RE:Just don't criticize, look at the reasons
by prabhat mohanty on Jun 03, 2008 08:12 PM  Permalink
-
That's hard truth !
After the hard work in lab, the scientist comes back home and general society to find very less talented people enjoying perks of life better. That surely creates confusion.

Can you really insulate a poor scientist-husband from the nagging of wife when her neighbours have better life?

No way.

So the confusion and disillusion.

We need to protect our scientists and give the desired status and wealth so that they devote their brain for research.

Success stories from DRDO
by Geetha Shenoy on Jun 03, 2008 06:44 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

It will be highly critical if every one comments DRDO is a waste. We have not accounted for the success stories from DRDO organisation.Yes R&D takes time and we should be ready to accept the failures also.
We make the best SONARS and RADARS for the Navy,The Gas turbine developed by is being tested in a naval warship, food research has given lot of positives. What MTR sells as ready to eat items are initially produce of DRDO lab.
We have our processors developed. The EW system best suited for our country is home grown. I dont talk about the destructive wepons like Tanks and missiles, we all know the facts of success.

RE:Success stories from DRDO
by Guest on Jun 03, 2008 07:15 PM  Permalink
Well Said

by Seshadri on Jun 03, 2008 06:48 PM  Permalink
It is not the fault of DRDO that such criticisms are heaped upon it... rather the ineffective and faulty mechanism of politics and governance since independence...

Patriotism is at its nadir now...

by Rahul on Jun 03, 2008 07:02 PM  Permalink
All the Govt organisations will be converted into NPA-Non performing Assets by the reserved ppl and they will play patte and enjoy the social security of Govt

Reservation should not be allowed in DRDO
by Arif Rashid on Jun 03, 2008 06:07 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The real reason behind a poor perfromance of DRDO is reservation policy. Talented persons are paired with those coming from reserved quota. This hampers the quality of reserch in the labs. Though reservation should be abolished from the country at all, if the government does not have the will power for this, atleast defence establishments like DRDO and ISRO should be spared.

RE:Reservation should not be allowed in DRDO
by Mulnivasi Indian on Jun 03, 2008 06:16 PM  Permalink
What is the % of Population of Brahmins in India? Only 15% of Brahmins are available in India. Rest of them 85% we people & the fact is Brahmins r rulling our country. What is the % population of Muslims in India? It is 25-30%. Now my question is Who should be in minority? Brahmins or Muslims?

Please go through "Sachchar Commissions Report" - 2007 - It says situation of Muslims in India is worst than SC's & ST's of India.

It says only 1.5% of Muslims are working in Indian Govt.

During the empowerment of Chatrapati Shivaji Maharaj, 35% of Muslims were working in the empowerment of Shivaji Maharaj.

During British empowerment, 30% of Muslims were working in the empowerment British. See the diference.

Now on Reservation: We have got the reservation to learn. But we have not yet got the reservation in Govt. jobs- Proof: Please go through "Mandal Commision's Report"-2001 Third Edition - It says 95% of Govt jobs of OBC's, 90% of Govt jobs of SC's, 85% of Govt jobs of ST's...& so on are gulped by Brahmins. I have a report I can show it to you. As per Survey of Outlook magazine-dated 15 Dec'06, 90% to 85% of Key posts in Private Organisations are govern by Brahmins. Please open your eyes & then you will find Everywhere Top jobs r govern by Mishra,Verma,Kulkarni,Joshi,Deshpande,Kelkar.......all Brahmins. The truth .....still we have not recieved the RESERVATION as per Law.

by Pranab M on Jun 03, 2008 07:07 PM  Permalink
OH YES DRDO NEED 100% RESERVATION, WE NEED TO MAKE RESERVED AGNI III, IV EVEN IF THOSE MISSILES MISS TARGET BY 500 KM IT SHOULD BE CONSIDERED AS SUCCESS

by Seshadri on Jun 03, 2008 06:39 PM  Permalink
Munivasi,

What is your concern here? Is it that the Brahmins, even though eligible, should not be given jobs, because they are Brahmins? or is it that Non-Brahmins should be granted jobs even thought they are nowhere near the eligibility criteria?

Matured thinking eh?

If there are Brahmins, inspite of lopsided reservations, it just proves their mettle... why do you crip about it? Rather you should praise them for rising up to the challenge...

Do not make India mentally crippled through reservations...

Further, why do you want a caste representation in jobs? Rather unsecular, isnt it?

by nilesh parekh on Jun 03, 2008 07:05 PM  Permalink
People like you keep begging for reservation ... and never achieve anything ... because for that it requires real talent which you will never develop in yourself!

I am not a Brahmin ... but I understand what merit means! Boss ... reservation should be only for those who cannot afford to buy a book or food for a day ... those people should be helped and given reservation ... rather than giving quotas for Muslims or any other caste!

I have no personal enmity with Muslims or any lower caste people ... I in fact wish that India should be a home for all type of people ... but they should not beg for anything they should have ability to develop themselves ... this is how India will rise!

Jai Hind!

by Rahul on Jun 03, 2008 06:38 PM  Permalink
Why brahmins are there or any other upper cast is there bcs we brahmins work hard in schools,colleges and even in competition to get into good jobs.There some ppl like u who languish thru out their lives under the Shadow of quota and enjoy the fruits even without working hard in your life.And finally get into premier institutes on the basis of ur cast and creeds but u dont have skills,ability to do any good.Even I bet u that u try 100% Quota still the upper cast ppl will be there on top and simple reason they work hard in their lives and there is no alternate to it.
I really praise that the person posted the topic is intelligent and open mind to understand the evils that is inflictyed on country and society in name of reservations.

by Sriram Rags on Jun 03, 2008 06:44 PM  Permalink
Please show the report. Very eager to see that.

by guk on Jun 03, 2008 06:44 PM  Permalink
There is an underlying assumption in many comments on reservation that people from backward and minority classes are unintelligent and inefficient. Hence hiring these people will make the government offices inefficient. This assumption is not true and is inherently racist.

RE:RE:Reservation should not be allowed in DRDO
by Sriram Rags on Jun 03, 2008 07:06 PM  Permalink
Very true. But the argument by anti-reservation activists is that if that is the case(those who come by reservation are intelligent and efficient) then why dont they compete without reservation.

The arugment by pro-reservation activists is is how do you measure intelligence and efficiency.

by Seshadri on Jun 03, 2008 06:51 PM  Permalink
It is not an assumption, but a fact, if it is not so, why reservations? Your statement would mean that the backward and minority classes can compete on equal footing with the so called forward classes!!! Assuming this premise to be so, reservation becomes obsolete!

It is no racism to call a spade a spade...

Again, I do not generalize, but the majority are so...

by guk on Jun 03, 2008 07:12 PM  Permalink
Mr. Sheshadri,
It is not correct to stamp all the backward communities unintelligent. Such a line of tinking is definitely racist. If so the present Chief justice of India Shri Balakrishnan and former president of India Shri Narayan, who availed of the benefit of reservation to reach the highest offices at some stage in their careers, would be unintelligent and inefficient.
I have seen many students from backward communities coming to study at IIT from the OBC, SC ST list. They are not able to compete with other students who underwent years of coaching at some of the premier coaching institutes. They are given an extra year coaching known as preparatory course. After this some of these students do compete on equal footing with others. In fact I have seen some very brilliant students coming from backward communities. They lag behind others only bacause they did not recieve quality education.
I support the idea that once a person avails of the benefit of reservation, their children should not be allowed reservation.

RE:RE:Reservation should not be allowed in DRDO
by Seshadri on Jun 03, 2008 07:17 PM  Permalink
I have said in my post that I do not generalize... It is never to be assumed that a backward class represents low intellect...

I am questioning the integrity of the Reservation...

Compromising on quality by propelling a unqualified candidate bypassing superior intellect is not justice...

BTW, Brahmins are not the only "forward classes" People need to open their eyes... Since ages, Brahmins are middle class people and in the current scenario, many are below poverty line...!!!

If quality education is the issue, then the govt. should take steps to provide free coaching facilities etc for the backward classes... never a direct reservation for education or a job...

by guk on Jun 03, 2008 07:29 PM  Permalink
Yes, I do agree that economically weaker sections from forward communities also should be given the benefit of reservation. To put forth this point of view you dont have to run down other communities.

by Seshadri on Jun 03, 2008 07:33 PM  Permalink
I think you are furthering a misguided inference....

I have not run down any communities, rather it is the policy of reservation that implies lower intellect of other communities...

by Seshadri on Jun 03, 2008 07:13 PM  Permalink
Sankaracharya is an acharya of the brahmins... why do you want to mix religion with this?

There are such religious heads in all hindu castes... naidus, chettiars etc... your comment reeks of ignorance...

Again, how the position of a temple priest being a brahmin affect the progress of the country? these are dissimilar comparisions...

DRDO
by Surender Sharma on Jun 03, 2008 05:55 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

2 days back, I was in the Delhi Secretariat to submit an RTI application with Deputy Secretary (PIO), PWD. The guy sitting at the chair was speaking in some alien language which later I came to know that he was tryig to speak in English. I have heard in my life, such a pathetic way of speaking english. This is happen when you have "quota" entry system in government jobs. The guy was barely able to speak but still he was sitting at Deputy Secretary job which demands person to be highly smart (not look wise). After some year, the same guy would be like Chief Secretary or Secretary or another big babu in government. I wonder what kind of job these guy do.

RE:DRDO
by guk on Jun 03, 2008 06:17 PM  Permalink
Why do you assume that the concerned officer is not fit for his job because he doesn't know English. He is supposed to know only Hindi.
I work in Germany. A majority of the people in Government offices do not speak English.

After 20 years, the DRDO will say:
by XianYe on Jun 03, 2008 04:39 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Science first, technology later.

After another 20 years, the DODO (yes, the now extinct bird) will say: philosophy first, science later.

After a further 20 years later, the DODO will say: let's be ape first, human later.

DRDO is a complete failure.

RE:After 20 years, the DRDO will say:
by Anuranjan Rao on Jun 03, 2008 05:36 PM  Permalink
Hindi Chini Bhai bhai

by piyushmody on Jun 03, 2008 05:49 PM  Permalink
Hey Chinese I am giving you 2000 Crore will you build Misiles for me bloody

by shankar mahadevan on Jun 03, 2008 05:52 PM  Permalink
A colossal waste of tax payers money!

by rna on Jun 03, 2008 05:48 PM  Permalink
What is DODO?

RE:RE:After 20 years, the DRDO will say:
by shankar mahadevan on Jun 03, 2008 05:53 PM  Permalink
A colossal waster of tax payers money!

by George Matthew on Jun 03, 2008 05:54 PM  Permalink
Now we know the tru identity of the DRDO critics-foriegners trying to put down india.

why drdo fail
by sanjeev on Jun 03, 2008 03:34 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

65% of DRDO scientist are reserved.

a big percentage got promotion through departmental compitition(STA to scientist).

A few retain because of couple cases, or nearness to home.

A big percentage is from life science's.

A big percentage are above 45. and have no result till date.

who are working in drdo.

calculate and suggest, we are far more superior.
we are giving result and with few

if we consider all then only few real scientist work for DRDO.
then i think our result is very good.

Total 96 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >