If nuclear generated electricity were so environment friendly and easy to generate, US and JAPs would have discarded Petroleum run vehicle and would have set hundreds of reactor for electricity. Their dependence on oil is much more than India. Buttttttttt they have not gone nuclear. Why US wants to sell technology which they themselves not using?
RE:Are US, France and Japan Foolish?
by rajiv jaiswal on Jul 12, 2008 09:24 PM Permalink
mr kautliya 70% of electricit yin france is generated by nuclear reactors, pls do some homework before commenting
RE:RE:Are US, France and Japan Foolish?
by Kautilya on Jul 12, 2008 09:34 PM Permalink
You are 100% right, but How many new reactors added in the last decade? None. WHY?
If nuclear reactor generated electricity were so friendly, electric run vehicles would have been in plenty not only in France but all over developed world? Why to look at oil for energy.
I hope you do homework and also read between the lines.
by rajiv jaiswal on Jul 12, 2008 09:40 PM Permalink
Mr Kautliya read this Sixteen countries depend on nuclear power for at least a quarter of their electricity. France and Lithuania get around three quarters of their power from nuclear energy, while Belgium, Bulgaria, Hungary, Slovakia, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, Slovenia and Ukraine get one third or more. Japan, Germany and Finland get more than a quarter of their power from nuclear energy, while the USA gets almost one fifth.
by RAJ on Jul 12, 2008 09:38 PM Permalink
France is working on reducing the dependency on Nucleat energy by closing 32 plants by 2012. France is aiming to reduce its dependency on nuclear energy less than 20% by 2012, though it has high level reserve on nuclear fuel
by neel sanghvi on Jul 12, 2008 10:20 PM Permalink
france is self dependant county and if india signs n-deal, it will make india dependant on others. that would have been worse. I wish india would have not let go great minds to outside countries and would have provided enough opportunities and proper competitive market. current problems of india will not be solved with n-deal but it will create one more problem for india. india has enough brain ane resoursed to be independant. what india needs is not to concentrate on reservation but to concentrate on proving market for r&d and give scientist enough resources and respect so they can create alternative energy which is cheaper and every indian can take pride on being indian.
by Gopal on Jul 13, 2008 12:33 AM Permalink
Google: 'Group up for £17bn Sellafield job' Look at the cost of decommissioning the nuclear plants. We should not 'tax' the future generation who has to find funds to decommission the plant which were used by a previous generation. So a 'provision' has to be earmarked every year in the -operation and maintenance- budget of the plants. The 'provision' can be added to a corpus fund created for the purpose. The decommissioning last for 17 years with a burden of 1.7 billion pounds per year. What a burden!!
BTN ...India should be watchful to see that the equipment removed from these sites do not land in India as a 'second-hand' plant which is legally possible in India. AGAIN: Look at the Dounreay plant. Operationalized in 1957. Production stopped in 2004. Started demolition in 2007. Expected to complete the decommissioning by 2032. The Scottish government has said the waste materials should be stored at the site where it was produced. Radio active waste has been sealed in containers designed to withstand the grinding motion of glaciers of a possible ice age 10000 years from now. Final 'end point' completion will take 300 years. What!! Hope India also have a programme similar to this considering the seriousness of the subject. I am not against nuclear power.
Some people are under impression that they are only wise,literate,tallented,clean and their interest is national interest, however their ideology is always on one side and they hate the other side. BJP & Communist are the best example of the same. Till the governemnt is in power it is its discrition to make deal or not. The leftist support from out side are not suppose to see the document as they are not in government. BJP people as if they are in opposition always want to oppose its own ideas which are carried forward by the UPA government. As if they want the credit of the same for them. BOth left and right are irrisponsible and their opposition to deal is baseless and only election stunt! They have no any right to play with the people of India.
RE:Left & Right Situation is Tight !!!
by Gopal on Jul 13, 2008 12:40 AM Permalink
The discussion now is limited to IAEA agreement. PLease do not forget the peril behind the Hyde act. It is shameful for India to follow a Law enacted by another country. Is it not surrendering our sovereignty?
by Joy Abraham on Jul 12, 2008 09:15 PM Permalink
A document that is to be on the internet cannot be shown to senior leaders? What harm would have happened?
Do you know under article 103 of the agreement India has agreed to authorise IAEA to recommend to Secirity Council for military action against India for ANY non-compliance by India. Is this childish matter? Very serious mistakes have been committed by Cong in terms of National Security.
by All Right on Jul 12, 2008 09:21 PM Permalink
Joy. I know as a committed commie, you are within your right to oppose the agreement. But do you have the right to circulate disinformation. I reproduce Article 103 below, so that members of the forum can judge for themselves.
103. If the Board determines in accordance with Article XII.C of the Statute of the Agency that there has been any non-compliance by India with this Agreement, the Board shall call upon India to remedy such non-compliance forthwith, and shall make such reports as it deems appropriate. In the event of failure by India to take full remedial action within a reasonable time, the Board may take any other measures provided for in Article XII.C of the Statute. The Agency shall promptly notify India in the event of any determination by the Board pursuant in this regard.
by KALA BHAINS on Jul 12, 2008 09:48 PM Permalink
Members of the Forum should thank MR. ALL RIGHT for educating us free of cost. In his next write up he will tell us what is ARTICLE XII.C of the STATUTE. He would also tell us what is "ANY OTHER MEASURES". He seems to be pretty sure that the "other measure" would not be Military action, though USA's record tells us something else. And Mr. Joy, why you are a "COMMITTED COMMIE" ? Do you know you have no right to be a commie, but you may be a respectable demon like Mr. Bush. Everything a commie says or does is not approved by International Human Rights Commission or members of this Forum. You see, the Left Leaders did not know the nitty-gritty of the Deal, because they did not understand the real meanings of the deal like the learned Mr. All Right could understand. So think over, whether you will become follower of Mr. All Right or not.
RE:RE:Left & Right Situation is Tight !!!
by All Right on Jul 12, 2008 09:28 PM Permalink
And by the way, Joy, I think India should have some integrity not to divert assistance under the deal for making bombs.
The deal provides us the right to make bombs using our technology and fuel or provided by supplier countries like Russia who do mind such assistance to be so diverted.
The US on the other hand while seeking to support our civilian program do not want such leakages. We cannot force the US to change this policy. But we can take advantage of it without causing harm to our own security needs. This all what the deal is about
RE:RE:RE:Left & Right Situation is Tight !!!
by Joy Abraham on Jul 12, 2008 09:33 PM Permalink
"ANY" does not mean we should use this material to make bombs. For example Even minor mismatch of quantities of nuclear material can be interpreted as "non-compliance" .
by prabhat mohanty on Jul 12, 2008 09:45 PM Permalink
- Even when a company raise "capital" in the market, it uses the capital for the exact purpose it raised for. The companies are not allowed to divert funds.
And here we are talking about nuclear materials!
Why do you think that we should "divert" the nuclear materials for "civilian purpose" to "military purpose"?
by Joy Abraham on Jul 12, 2008 09:26 PM Permalink
Exactly. The text says "shall make such reports as it deems appropriate". IAEA reports to Security Council. It is under this clause that they can recommend for military action against India for ANY non-compliance with ANY conditions of this agreement.
by pranav mehta on Jul 12, 2008 09:23 PM Permalink
And do you think anyone will dare to attack India if we are non-compliance with the agreement?
by pranav mehta on Jul 12, 2008 09:23 PM Permalink
And do you think anyone will dare to attack India if we are non-compliance with the agreement?
by All Right on Jul 12, 2008 09:33 PM Permalink
Right you are Pranav. They even daren't attack Iraq. What they did was to impose economic sanctions till Iraq was so weak. They then put an overwhelming international coalition, out-quality and outnumbering the Iraqi force.
India is nuclear. India has missiles. Even Iran who are near nuclear bomb capabilities but have missiles is sufficient to create a deterrent to Israel to attacking it.
If they even put economic sanctions against us, that too is enough to put world economy into a tail spin downwards.
by Joy Abraham on Jul 12, 2008 09:43 PM Permalink
Saddam Hussain was best friend of USA. He fought a war for a decade with Iran for the sake of USA. Finally what happened? US caought him and was hanged"Live telecast on TV".
The Afghans fought a war with USSR soldiers for many years with US support. Finally US bombed the same Afghans.
Now India is best friend of USA. If relations go sour later what will happen to India?
by Hate Who divides on Jul 12, 2008 09:54 PM Permalink
Point yaar ............ but nehruvian breed never learn from their mistake nor from others one ............ make whole nation suffer
by Hate Who divides on Jul 12, 2008 09:32 PM Permalink
this is not anyone ....this is US........you are talking of attacking .......Pakistan have all the way proved that anyone can attack us ........... now after this deal in near future they will be go beyond India's hand in terms of Nuclear Arms ................so this time to ads some more powerful cracker of type Tsar Bomb in our arsenal to deter both Pak and China if possible US too ........not to tie hand with these deal coz after this deal if we test with our domestic fuel and facilities out of IAEA scanner ,,,,they will stop fuel supply immediately ........that will make loss loss condition coz we build reactor without fuel......think first
by Joy Abraham on Jul 12, 2008 09:30 PM Permalink
Who is now planning to attack Iran? When Iraq attack was planned the Arabs were saying. Iraq is not Afghanistan. When Iran attack is planned the muslims are saying "Iran is not Iraq, US will learn a lesson." Now I hear people here saying "India is not Iran"....The list goes on my friend. The US aim is to remain as world leader forever. The moment they see India overtaking them, they will attack us like they are attacking Afghanistan, Iraq and Iran. That is necessary to maintain christian domination of the world.
by RAVINDRA BHOSALE on Jul 12, 2008 09:43 PM Permalink
Sr.leaders were not so wise to wait until the document is published or put on net. They were criticising on hypothetical basis.If they would have been waiting for 2 days, the great drama in Delhi would not have happened.
by KALA BHAINS on Jul 12, 2008 09:57 PM Permalink
THe text was released by the Govt after it was available in other American sites of Internet. Some Newspapers have printed photographs of those sites. It means that the details of the deal were available to the general Americans but not to the Indian Leaders (other than the Ministers). The funny reply was that the text could not be disclosed to the Left Leaders as they were not part of the Govt. I do not know whether Mr. Pawar or Mr. Laloo Yadav knew the details, but they still supported the Deal because they want to continue as Ministers.
by Gopal on Jul 13, 2008 01:14 AM Permalink
Have you read Hyde act? Salient points -Hyde act 1. No freedom to handle spend fuel. 2. No guarantee for alternate fuel supply 3. India is not a technology developer but a recepient. 4. India to side with US in NPT 5. India to participate with US National Security Administration for NPT. 6. Reporting of US President on the efforts of India in containing IRAN. 7. India denied space related dual use technology 8. India denied strategic planning of nuclear programms. 9. Stopped India in the production of fissile materials. 10.No joint move for universal nuclear disarmament. 11.All future agreeents are to be in consistent with this act. Hyde act is the enabling act for the 123 agreement.
RE:Congrats
by RAVINDRA BHOSALE on Jul 12, 2008 09:09 PM Permalink
This would not have been possible for Atalji with SAMTA, MAMTA, JAILALITA, BABU AND AKALIES.
DEAR ALL THIS DEAL IF IT DOES NOT GO THROUGH WE ALL WILL REGRET TILL THE END OF OUR LIVES. I DO NOT THINK OUR LEADERS ARE SO FOOLISH TO STRIKE A LAME DEAL. IF THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN NOW IT WILL NEVER EVER UNTIL WE ARE GONE.
RE:NUCLEAR DEAL GOOD FOR INDIA - NOW OR NEVER
by Gopal on Jul 13, 2008 01:10 AM Permalink
Have you read Hyde act? Here is the salient points Salient points -Hyde act 1. No freedom to handle spend fuel. 2. No guarantee for alternate fuel supply 3. India is not a technology developer but a recepient. 4. India to side with US in NPT 5. India to participate with US National Security Administration for NPT. 6. Reporting of US President on the efforts of India in containing IRAN. 7. India denied space related dual use technology 8. India denied strategic planning of nuclear programms. 9. Stopped India in the production of fissile materials. 10.No joint move for universal nuclear disarmament. 11.All future agreeents are to be in consistent with this act.
Hyde act is the enabling act for the 123 agreement. Leaders declare that all these are wrong but failed to arrange a debate in Parliament. LEFT and BJP failed in the parliament to expose the omissions
Is it not surrendering our freedom and sovereignty?