Majority of money by running schoolscollegescoaching centres is being made by greedy politicians and their cronies. This is the major reason that govt run schoolscolleges have stopped quality teaching since if quality education is given by govt run schoolscolleges, who will go to politicians schoolscollegescoaching centres. As per the old Indian traditions education, health care and dharam shala for tourists shoud be provided by the govt free of cost so that society could prosper and we will have less no. of thievesrobbers etc. but we have stopped following our old traditions and started aping Europe and see the result. We have costliest education, hospitals and hotels and the result is we have discontent all around and we are having terrorism, thieves and robbers all around and society has to spend lot of money to keep the law and order. If we had spend some money for free education, hospitals and dharam shala for tourists then we would be spending less money on law and order
STOP KILLING HINDUS IN INDIA ON THE NAME OF JEHAD, STOP CONVERTING HINDUS IN THE NAME OF JESUS, SAVE HINDUS IN INDIA, SAVE HINDUSIAM, SAVE YOUR SELF IN INDIA.........
RE:STOP KILLING HINDUS IN INDIA ON THE NAME OF JEHAD, STOP CONVERTING HINDUS IN THE NAME OF JESUS, SAVE HINDUS IN INDIA, SAVE HINDUSIAM, SAVE YOUR SELF IN INDIA
by varghese on Jul 03, 2008 04:56 PM Permalink
Be happy that Christians have spread education even to the poorest of the poor Indians in the remotest possible area where even the army dreads to go...lots of Indians know to speak english irrespective of their religion again thanks to the christians..almost all the MNCs employ them...again bringing prosperity to the Indians..and their homes..seeing their good work and their devotion to their God who is their source of their goodness..majority of these students who want to escape the burdens of the Karmic cycle..and the Varnas..decide to convert for an better life..this is their personal choice and infact we should appreciate this fact that its for their own benefit and the benefit of this nation..are not christians removing the back ward classes and low caste from this land...YES..this is the naked fact..ridding the backward classes from this soil will bring back prosperity to this land..this the conversions are doing..this job even fellow hindus cannot do..neither can the govt do...so best is to leave it to the Christians..they do this the best..an christian is an asset to this nation..so christianity is an blessing to this nation..there is nothing we can do save fold our hands and bless them who are doing this great de-meaning job..after all would u invite an low caste fellow hindu to ur dining table and eat along with him ..or would u wash an hindu low caste lepers diseased leg..think about this..
RE:STOP KILLING HINDUS IN INDIA ON THE NAME OF JEHAD, STOP CONVERTING HINDUS IN THE NAME OF JESUS, SAVE HINDUS IN INDIA, SAVE HINDUSIAM, SAVE YOUR SELF IN INDIA
by Kris iyer on Jul 04, 2008 11:42 AM Permalink
Varghese, Thanks for your patient note. Majority of Hindus accept that Christians and Christianity are part of life in India. But Hindus have reservations about all "Middle-East" religions. The relationship between those and Hinduism is like that between "Predator" and "Prey". Those religions constantly criticise Hinduism. Hindus will NOT care to comment on other religions. But they are having to defend themselves when the criticisms are unfair. 1) The constribution of Christian entities to education has been immense. But please separate them from those who merely wish to convert Hindus as a "business". 2) Many Christian NGOs get monies NOT for education but for conversion of as many Hindus as possible. One Canadian evangelist said, "I want to convert One Million Hindus this year"!! 3) Your mention of "Karmic" burden etcetera, is all from 19th century Missionary talk. No Hindu Guru accepts that. YES, many Hindus eat with other Hindus without knowing caste. As for washing feet of lepers, not ALL Christians would do that either. Only some. Many Hindus run Homes, where they do wash people of all castes. You are still living in the past. 4) Lives of converts do not become "better". Christians are divided by caste and superstition in the same way as Hindus. Recently, Christians in Tam.Nadu are converting back to Hinduism. Dalit Christians are coming back to Hinduism. Why? Because it is freer than Christianity. Catholics and Protestants have serious problems in India.
Foolish craze for English medium in schools from nursery is the cause of all educational problems. These schools hv become source of earning huge money. They r also destroying our own best phonetic scripts of the world, as well as our languages.
All state govt, court and other works should b in state languages. Even in offices, which do not deal with foreign countries, state languages should b used as far as possible.
RE:Foolish craze for English medium is the cause of all educational problems
by varghese on Jul 03, 2008 05:02 PM Permalink
lol...nice joke...
without english ur dead man...all MNCs employ even latrine cleaners who know english...so ur kids will not get even this job..kindly do not make ur kids suffer...for ur foolish ideas..english brings unity to this country..
Whenever there is a yo yo of inflation, the discussion shifts to the reasons for inflation. In my opinion one of the major contributors for today inflation is costly education. Higher education fees means higher pay needs-so higher salaries by companies-so more expenses to the company-so higher sales price of its goods & so rising inflation.
The first reaction to this would be… so what ? its simple business. Herein something is getting ignored. Most private institutions in this country are run by Politicians. The higher yield in fees doesn’t really end up in the good of the institution but for the personal undeclared needs of the politicians. There has to be some better mechanism to allot these private institutions.
Most of you will agree that 90 % of people manning these institutions as Trustees, Office Bearers etc, if made to write entrance exam for their own institution will not qualify.
But yes the fact remains that the govt schools are performing badly, because the teachers in these schools carry the comfort of non dismissal for performance and don’t both to deliver the worth they are paid for. I have seen something funny these years… for year long the teachers don’t do great for their schools by contributing to upgrading teaching. And when its summer time, they go and entice the students with offering them school uniforms and free travel etc for them to take admission in their govt school.
Some drastic attention is required. Otherwise whil
RE:The sad tale of present education
by ashutosh gupta on Jul 03, 2008 10:47 AM Permalink
well said, i would extend your statement a little bit more by saying that another cause of higher inflation is really expensive medical facilities. During 1980s era, the two basic things education and medication were comparetivily cheaper and honest services were provided. but alas those two things which are essential for the growth and development of the society are today the most expensive things at least for middle and poor class folks.
by ALOK DHOTEKAR on Jul 04, 2008 11:22 AM Permalink
Well the reason for escalation of cost of medical facilities too is due to rise in cost of medical education.... The students shell out a higher fee to take the medical degree and then squeeze the innocent patients to recover their investment
by ASHOK on Jul 03, 2008 10:39 AM Permalink
You are wrong , In India education is highly subsidised. 4 years IIT B Tech will at most cost 5 Lach Rs . (Tution Hostel Books Personal expense such as PC or Lap top) You send your kid to US, it will cost you 15 lach rs per year.
If your child is US citizen, even than it will cost Rs 6 lach per year. (Mind it IIT cost I am saying is per 4 year)
And if some one has 3 or 4 children ready for college education it is his/her problem. Not of GOI.
by Entomologist on Jul 03, 2008 12:06 PM Permalink
Ashok, why don't you compare the quality of life also?
You are a senseless fool.
Let us take US dollar and rupee value to compare the standards.
If USD is more than 40 times higher than INR, so is their quality of life and living standards.
By Indian standard, you need Rs.1.25 lakh per year for IIT B.tech.
By US standard, you need USD 15,000 per year. It is very much cheaper compared to Indian standard. Isn't it?
Don't try to convert USD to Indian Rupee and make a fool of yourself.
In India, most of the pvt edn institutions are in the hands of greedy politicians. So, we can't expect any regulations from govt. to regulate the fees and make it affordable to every one.
There are schools who demand donation in lakhs to get admission to LKG !
The question is who is going to protect the common Indians? GOK !
by ALOK DHOTEKAR on Jul 03, 2008 01:38 PM Permalink
Thats the point that you didnt understand... The benefit of IIT is taken by handful and after the subsidy that common Indian gives it goes to benefit the West not India...
So should the subsidy not be removed and kept at par with International levels... I am referring to education imparted in institutions managed by politicians... who although impart degrees... are not creating employbale lot...
The tragery remains that out 60 lakh graduates every year only 4 lakhs are employable directly...
The antithesis is that education that is subsidised does not serve the nation... and the other non subsidised serves the politician..
Be reminded eduction doesnt only mean education in IITs and IIMs... it is much beyond that
The point is that basic education should be imparted by committed individuals
by Rahul Sharma on Jul 03, 2008 11:07 AM Permalink
Rightly said Ashok. Kids nowdays take Education loan, which again is not in even 5% burden in comparison to US/UK college going student debt. College eduaction is highly subsidised, no doubt about it. As far as even School education is concern it depends where you want / afford to put ur kid. There are Govt School (Sarvodalayas/Novadayalas), Plus Kendriya Vidyalas and ArMy School plus we have this range of privaye school , its your affordability and call. I dont know about other states but in delhi , even regular college education (Delhi University) is damn cheap plus you get subsidised bus pass. Education has been a positive area (yes there may be 10000 flaws , but that an area of improvement). What ever we are today , w eare thanks to our education system.
Indians are good in Math and other things that will get them lot of material things...but are horribly weak in humanities..the most glaring deficit is a sense and perception of Indian history and culture. Its strange, India is actually breeding brown Englishmen, hardly Indian at all. Indians are probably the only nation that feels morally superior by dissing everything Indian.
RE:Indian Education is UnIndian
by varghese on Jul 03, 2008 05:11 PM Permalink
dressing up..eating..do they change the person inside..NO..
Indians are an divided lot..caste system runs here very deep.. the national pass time is how to loot this soil by reservations and quotas...if this is the way the country thinks..then sadly we are an confused lot.. the main passtime of this nation is swindle the land and take the loot to swiss banks..
all these the whiteman dint teach us..this is our culture and tradations..
Infact there is nothing but falsehood in this nation...the term Hindu..India..was itself coined by the British..even the land was made united by the British...even to this day roads,rails,education,are standing testimony to this fact..so english is infact uniting this great nation..if not we would have been an nation of nawabs,rajas and an hungry praja..
RE:Indian Education is UnIndian
by deepak on Jul 03, 2008 09:34 PM Permalink
The name Hindu doesnt change Hindus you idiot..even the term Christian is a made up name..so what? Indian is far more united than many many nations, and size for size India is far more united and has been united than Europe, or Christians or even Britain or France. So dont make stupid excuses to undermine Hindus & India. The caste system may not be the best thing that happened to India but bear in mind within a caste a people are very equal - and the caste system did prevent one of the greatest evil practised by Christians & Muslims.. Slavery...Hindus did not institutionalize slavery...so give credit where it is due...Hindus are the Best.
Krishnan Seshadri Gomatam has stumbled upon a unique way of promoting his Krishnan Seshadri Gomatam has stumbled upon a unique way of promoting his Tamil film M3V. His modus operandi? Well, the director, producer and script writer is generating curiosity about his film by forming groups in Orkut and Facebook -- the two most popular social networking sites on the Internet where he asks the members to come out with innovative answers to this question, 'What is M3V?
He has taken a step further by uploading the film's trailer on Youtube.
"The time hasn't come yet," the director says to his own question on what the movie is about.
For those of you not in the know, the filmmaker who assisted Mani Ratnam and P C Sreeram runs an ad company along with Santosh Sivan, [the company shot the award-winning commercials on Kerala for the state's tourism department]. He is also the director of the MTV Award-winning music video, Ho Gayi Hai Mohabbat.
However, the director relents and reveals a little bit more about the film. "M3V takes the region out of regional cinema. It is a Tamil movie for a pan-India audience," he says cryptically.
Text: Shobha Warrier
Also Read: The youth vs experience tussle. His modus operandi? Well, the director, producer and script writer is generating curiosity about his film by forming groups in Orkut and Facebook -- the two most popular social networking sites on the Internet where he asks the members to come out with innovative answers
History is replete with many illustrious personalities who got their education in govt scools & studied under abject poverty,but yet emerged great in their fields.When the govt run intitutions like NITs,IITS excel over private colleges which are supposed applied to top over all,why not the same applied to schools too?In fact,it is at the school level where the basic foundation for the edifice of all future studies is laid that the govt should exercise more care & concentration.There is no dearth of people willing to take up teaching as their carrier,but the problem lies with the govt which lacks will & never likes to part with the revenue on licensing.Private-public partnership in education is not good though it might have worked well in other ares.It is just experimenting on future of India.After all cure cannot be worse than the disease.In stead of improving the standard of public schools,govt should not indiscriminately go on licensing private schools for extraneous considerations-people will be losers on two fronts-they spend only to get substandard education from mediocre private schools run after by most of the lower & middle class.If spending is a constriant,let it,as in case of countries like,set apart a part of the tax money collected exclusively towards education.nothing could,after all,be more important to it than providng proper education to its future citizens.Priortisation backed by strong will to implement is need of hour for it.No compromise on education.
Re: Education in India,of late ,is reduced to a big business-II
by mallaiah anchoori on Sep 17, 2008 07:22 AM Permalink
Dear readers of my post! I am sorry that I could not go through my post immediately after writing it but happened to see it just now.The following mistakes crept in the post may be corrected to be read as:i)the word "applied"after the word in second line may pl be treated as deleted"the word"USA"may be added after the word"like"in the sixth sentence ii)the word"it"after the words"important to"in the penultimate sentence may be substituted by the word "government" The errors are regretted