Total 127 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Too busy
by sri on Jan 04, 2008 04:08 AM  Permalink 

There is no doubt that the Naxals must be firmly dealt with. It is also true that if we want to repel the threat permanently, the people who feel disenfranchised in the naxal areas must be won. But the govt is too busy looking after itself to do any real good to anyone. It wants caste votes, religion-based (muslim) votes, and it wants to take the least risky and most populist actions. So, it has no time to take long-term steps that will truly check the naxal problem. It has to study the problems the people are having with the police, and other govt representatives and it has to return some of the money it gets from mining local resources etc and increase prosperity and jobs. Another way would be to have militarized zones - do we want that???

Naxalism is meaningless
by Julius on Jan 04, 2008 03:51 AM  Permalink 

If everyone starts hating administration for one or the other reason, then, there is no end to this vicious cycle. If Naxals come to power, there will Naxal-Version2 hating all police force employed by governing Naxals and the cycle will repeat. Whining, Winging and killing people has not resolved anything since 10,000 years. Phoolan Devi tried it and see where she is now! You kill somebody today and the kins of the dead will kill you some other day.

Forget about Aboriginals, Aryans, New-comers and all that. If you cannot accept all citizens of this country as equal, you can never build a constructive society!

Learn to live, let-live, and grow within the framework provided. Violent retaliations will take you back to being further backward and outcast!

naxalists are heroes, you are villains
by nitn on Jan 04, 2008 02:45 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

it can clearly be seen in these forums that most of the upper castes(with access to computer and english) are blind in their hatred for naxals, most of which are lower castes..
and then they are calling this piece as biased.

well you all are biased because all you want to listen is naxal bashing. majority of naxals indeed are tribals and lower caste..and are fighting for dignity that is/was taken away by the upper caste that controls the media and economic urban centers.
also, it is a sad fact that naxal movement got corrupted (like everything else in this country) when small time leaders from CPI etc used it as a tool to access the ladder of success.
but that doesnt change the fact of the legitimacy of such a movement. why are always lower strata of society always suffering by being displaced by dam or forest cutting or SEZ or plain bullying by govt agents?
so that the structure of society may remain intact and you guys can enjoy the fruits in city dwelling.
my last words.. when naxalism will boom, and it will (inspite of opposition of both congress and BJP etc)... you guys are going to be outnumbered by 3:1 . imagine the possibilities

RE:naxalists are heroes, you are villains
by sri vellur on Jan 04, 2008 03:46 AM  Permalink
looks like you are one of those dravidian movement guys, or a christist as only they bring caste into everything. nobody is biased against any tribals you hate-monger. naxals clearly are a threat to india's sovereignty, development and growth and like the jihadis have no rationale for their behavior. your arguments about upper class having access to english and computers shows your backward thinking. tribals are backward due to nehruvian, socialist, commie, pseudo sickular politics and to see any caste in that like guruswamy shows your cave divide-and-rule mentality.

by nitn on Jan 04, 2008 04:01 AM  Permalink
well, these are just the excuses you make, albeit subconciously, to justify your stance.
and it is about caste, though caste may not be an issue with you now, but you cannot wash away with sins of your forefathers. blaming everything in nehru is a easy game you play. when nehru was in power, all the upper caste lobby including your parents probably were with him. now , blame all on congress.
caste is an issue because it is because of caste system that you are where you are now, your past 20 generations and more well well off, indulged in intellectual activity and enjoyed status, of course the effect rubs off on progeny.. while the tribals were displaced, they work in city as mazdoors, or raped in their villages.
and calling anyone who questions your authority as christian or commie or muslim.. this is all the intellectual honesty you guys have left..
because i am neither of these, and so is most of the indian population

RE:RE:naxalists are heroes, you are villains
by Samosachat on Jan 04, 2008 04:18 AM  Permalink
What are you suggesting Nitin? All the Brahmins and upper caste should be killed. That is what is happening now.

by nitn on Jan 04, 2008 04:47 AM  Permalink
well, i am a brahmin myslef (by birth,otherwise atheist), so that is the last thing i want. what i want is that upper castes/class (choose) should empathize more with the struggle of people like naxalites, or north easters..instead of just calling everyone terrorist and threat to nation and stop being full of themselves and shed the holier than thou attitude that they carry along. and lastly, be humble of the fact that they do indeed enjoy fruits of exploitation that their forefathers sowed over many a millenia. this attitude should lead to a better ear to reservation demand, or sharing resources and wealth with others, respecting the house maid-aaya etc.

by Calspadeaspade on Jan 05, 2008 02:59 AM  Permalink
Nitin, I do empathise with the down trodden but they dont come only in one package of low caste. I do beleive in reservation. It has helped to some extent. But what is happening these days are almost everybody except Brahmins have put themselves as OBC and claiming benifits while lot of them are lot wealthier and powerful. Why should a OBC minister who has all the power and wealth still call his 2nd generation as OBC and get all the undue benifits while it can go to more desrving people. What do you think we should do with Naxalites? they are so adament and if they lay down their weapons then something can be done. Of course Indian politicians are so corrupt. It is a great problem agree.

RE:RE:naxalists are heroes, you are villains
by sri vellur on Jan 04, 2008 04:55 AM  Permalink
nitn you are a complete idiot, more an empty tin. one cannot become a brahmin by birth just like one cannot become a lawyer by birth. A brahmin is one who in the days of the yore is one who is immersed in the pursuit of brahman (or godliness) and hence was called a brahmin - one who is dedicated to the pursuit of Brahman. By that definition no one is a true brahmin today. It was a profession or a pursuit or a way of spiritual life which is now corrupted as casteism. It is a supreme irony that you call yourself a brahmin by birth but atheist by nature. What supreme contradiction!! An atheist is like a walking corpse and that is what you are. There is some logic in what you say about casteism but is furthered by people like you who in the name of destroying inequality see caste in everything. You are one messed up individual

by Sachin Chander on Jan 04, 2008 07:14 AM  Permalink
Sri Vellur,

If you really believe castes is not attached to birth in modern/medieval India, then you must have really been living in caves since may be last 5-6,000 years. Welcome to the twinthieth century sadhu baba. Is that niose I hear coming out of your empty brain or just you eating your own words?

by Samosachat on Jan 04, 2008 04:15 AM  Permalink
This is like a wolf and lamb story. The wolf accused the lamb that is drinking from lower level of the river that it was messing with the water. The lamb replied I did not do it because I am standing at lower height to which the wolf replied "well , if you did not do it . your father did it". That seems to be Nitn's logic. Keep barking. One day you will be tired of it your self.

by greatbush on Jan 04, 2008 03:26 AM  Permalink
HAHAHAHAQHA

so do once SOVIET UNION with 3:1 nuclear wepons outnumbered everyone else........but communism or socilism is failed ideology---------naxals gone vanish as HAPPENED TO USSSR---LOL

What author does not say
by venkat on Jan 04, 2008 02:42 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The author has left out various other factors:
1. Many tribals/villagers live in fear of the naxalites.
2. As someone mentioned, many of these Naxalites are goondas as well. And they force locals to fund them.
3. Many receive support elsewhere.. there may be foreign funders out to subvert the nation -- ISI, commies, Christian missionaries.

4. What do the naxalites ultimately plan to achieve. Why can't they fight through the ballot box instead of using bullets.

RE:What author does not say
by greatbush on Jan 04, 2008 03:24 AM  Permalink
COMMUNISM---BLIND COMMUNISM---THATS ALL NAXAL WANT TO ACHIVE

RE:What author does not say
by abcd abcd on Jan 04, 2008 04:00 AM  Permalink
For most people born poor in India, there is no hope. What battle are you suggestig to fight with the ballot box? Every little thing in life that we take for granted like getting ration cards to drivers' licenses are a struggle. Have you ever tried to register an FIR in a police chowki in India? There is nothing wrong when one says that one man's fredom fighter is another's terrorist. It is only a matter of time before the have-nots come back at the haves with a vengence. It matters little whether they are backed by ISI, Churches or China.

True and real
by on Jan 04, 2008 02:22 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I lived in a Naxal controlled area. Right from the beginning of their movement, they always had access to advanced weaponry, better surveillance and enemy tracking abilities. The actual benificiaries are those who supply those weapons and provoke them towards their targets (example Chandra Babu Naidu in Andhra Pradesh, who was close to solving the problem through negotiations). The areas affected by Naxalites are the most ancient and carry a lot of traditions and practices developed through observation and carried on through generations. After the secrets are stolen these leaders are put in the cross fire between the police and the Naxalites. Those who are benefiting from this are not Indians but the people who want to steal those scriptures and techniques and present them in a foreign form and sell back to the world's richest at exorbitant prices. Naxalites always extorted the good, rich and generous people in their areas which make them to leave these areas. Now what is left are the villages and towns controlled by them and only people who can live there are the ones who do not speak against them and play to the tunes of the top management of the Mining companies and the lumber traders. Slowly, all these areas are being tricked into becoming states of India and that would make their task easy. The problem is, the more Indian government spends for the CRPF the more these Naxal leaders have to depend on their patrons for arms and let them steal all they can. Any bullets fires

RE:True and real
by on Jan 04, 2008 02:28 AM  Permalink
Any bullets fired will only kill either a police or an innocent naxal volunteer who thinks that he is defending his fellow tribals.

Corrupt politicians are read head-aches.
by RamRam on Jan 04, 2008 02:12 AM  Permalink 

I am not aware of the ground realities. However, killing by Naxals cannot be justified. Having said that, India will prosper if each and every section of the society propers. The corrupt politicians and the heavy-headed officials are the major road block for India. Exploitation has to be stopped. Everyone should be respected and treated fairly.

not very objective - written by some one with Naxal leanings
by sri vellur on Jan 04, 2008 01:56 AM  Permalink 

While it is definitely true that there are vast sections of our society that live in abject poverty and are oppressed by corrupt political forces, land mafia, etc that does not justify naxal violence. Who is Guruswamy trying to con? Most of the naxal recruits are actually goons, criminals and rogues who use the cover of "fighting for social justice" to run extortion rackets and generally love all the good things that money and terror can buy. These guys are definitely not fighting for any noble cause. And many of them have links with terror outfits.So Mr. Guruswamy, please dispel with the romantic notions of the nobel rebel BS. True the anti national Congress govt has done its level best to promote the naxal cause. But most of the article is to be read like watching a yash chopra movie - leaving sensibilities and reality at the gate.

Outdated
by Fun Lover on Jan 04, 2008 01:29 AM  Permalink 

The author seems to be living in the 70s and 80s. His article is no longer relevant to the 21st century, at least as far as Andhra Pradesh is concerned. During the 80s, the Maoists, then called as People's war Group used to have popular support in the remote villages of Andhra Pradesh. But then these guys took advantage of the people and unleashed a reign of terror. Innocent villagers were persecuted after being accused as "police informers". Meanwhile, the police themselves became more intelligent and started showing more respect to human rights in order to win over the people. The tide slowly turned against the Maoists who are now on the retreat in AP mainly because of lack of popular support.

Kya Bakwas
by True Indian on Jan 04, 2008 12:33 AM  Permalink 

Sardard article hai yeh. Talk sense. If you support Naxals, then you should also support Jehadis, LTTE. Killing innocent people for the excuse that they have been exploited in the hands of govt. and majority is not justified. Lot of things can happen without violence. We got our freedom without killing innocent civilians, be them be british.
Jehadis and Naxals are 'hichdes' who just shoot on unarmed people and spoil the name of their religion and their god

Total 127 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>