In a nation we cannot have any loose guns. If your not happey with the state you choose an alternate govt with your representatives. But holding the state to ransom is not acceptable. And when the govt does want development then their so called leaders stop it fearing their diluting hold and keeping the fire burning against the system. Naxals need to be finished once and for all. No armed struggle is allowed against the nation.
RE:Naxal are terrorist
by Indian Sadhu on Jan 04, 2008 01:44 PM Permalink
Then how would you rate a country like the US? All Americans are terrorists because citizens do not need a gun permit to carry firearms for self defence?
I do not support or plead for Naxalites or Naxalism. But watch the society around you. The Governmnet snatches the little land the farmers have to eke out their living to add to the money bags of a few who fund the politicians of all kind (including so-called communists-it is a shame to call them so). Officials hardly bother about common man-have you heard the comment of the Police Chief of Mumbai regarding the molastation of the two unfortunate girls (I wonder what he would have said if one of the girl happen to be his daughter). Criminals can do anything and get away with it if connected properly-how many hit and run/rape cases reulted in acquitals. Terrerists can plant bombs at any place, at any time with impunity and kill as many innocent people as psossible knwoing fully well nothing will happen to them. The common simple man has only one chance-to vate once in five years. But then, the choice before him is to select between the devil and the deep sea. How many politicians really worry about the common man? Political leaders are able to get crores of rupees to buy posh bungalows at Delhi from their well-wishers who do not have even one meal a day. When the society stinks sky-high, pray,what alternative any sensible person has?
Hum logo dono taraf se bolte hai, koi kehta hai naxalites thik nahi aur koi kehta hai naxalites achche hai...isi jhagde mein kabhi koi decision nahi aata aur problem wahi ki wahi reh jaati hai..
kisi ko kuch karna nahi hai..sabko timepass karna hai government ke naam par...sabko paise se matlab hai..rich people rich hote jayenge , garib log garib hote jayenge aur middle class tax bharta rahega...
I have seen Naxalism during its infancy and formative stage during 1967-71 very closely. Most of the original Naxalites during those days were really very serious about well being of the people. However many more has joined them as opportunists.
Naxalism is also one form of communism. There are good and bad sides of communism just like capitalism. But communism aims for equality of all human beings, but due to excessive selfish nature of some people it has also its drawbacks as experienced in former USSR or even in present China. Moreover capitalists will not allow it to succeed.
RE:Naxalism
by Ram Sharma on Jan 04, 2008 11:02 AM Permalink
I forgot to add that many of the original Naxalites were very intelligent and highly educated persons.
by Ram Sharma on Jan 04, 2008 11:00 AM Permalink
China has one language now, though they also had many languages and scripts. It achieved full literacy, very good infrastructure and world level defence under communism. They have also forced one child norm, otherwise many more crores of people would have been born on this earth. After getting all these basic improvement, now they have allowed capitalism in industry. Bcoz as I told u before, people all over world r generally selfish, in communism this tendency coupled with absence of any private property does not promote competition. On the other hand in capitalism greed is promoted and cometition is not always fair.
China is now also having one party (communist) rule and there r reports (I was in China in Nov) that many of the present new rich people r relatives of communist party members. So the main problem remains selfishness and greed.
by Fun Lover on Jan 04, 2008 11:16 AM Permalink
Dude, China is economically NOT communist. It is capitalist. They call their party as communist but that is of not much consequence when their economic model is far from communism.
by Ram Sharma on Jan 04, 2008 11:37 AM Permalink
why r u angry and confused? i never wrote that its economy is of communistic, though it still has many govt controlled companies (i visited many private factories and a very big govt factory). i have written that it has allowed capitalism in industry. but still there is no democracy there with many political parties. china is still ruled by the communist party. the economy is a mixed one with private and govt companies, it is neither fully capitalistic nor fully communistic.
by Fun Lover on Jan 04, 2008 11:41 AM Permalink
I am neither angry nor confused. Instead, I can charge you with being obstinate. A capitalistic economic model is alien to communism. For that matter, in any dictatorship you will find power concentrated under one party or one ruler. But communism is supposed to be more than merely a dictatorial form of government. On the other hand, capitalism is purely economic.
by Ram Sharma on Jan 04, 2008 12:08 PM Permalink
u r right capitalistic economic model is alien to communism. but deng ziao ping changed all that. he allowed capitalism in industry, while retaining communism as the form of government. as i told u china has a mixed economy. but it has given full freedom to private industry to grow, without any socialistic controls, in some designated areas in the country.
this is a new type of governance experimented by china.
Strong arm tactics and five bullets for one bullets is the only answer. These rebels are thugs of the variety that have cause genocides in Cambodia ( Polpot ) , China and Russia. The trouble is that these are being handled by states which have perhaps the most incompetent cops in the entire country. Special army commandos need to trained to kill and capture the rebels . Anyone suggesting a softer approach should be considered anti-national.
Mr Gurumurthy, you have formed your opinion after having visited a couple of Naxalite affected areas. I was born in a Naxalite area (Naxalism was born here, Kongad in Kerala), my education took place in another (a place near Bokaro, Jharkhand). I have interacted with Naxalites as well as ex-Naxalites. Lot of the people who become Naxalites are in for the money. They are extortionists. They collect taxes from everybody in the area. My father too was the recipient of an extortion demand in exchange of which they would not kill me. There's no sense of alienation etc, because the people becoming Naxalites are the useless fellows who are too lazy to pick up jobs & of a violent nature to be able to stay in jobs. They want money the easy way. They terrorize the rest of adivasis to support them. If goverment of India is strong, these people would be normal. Ever heard of Naxalites in any city of the country? Mr Gurumurthy, please dont romanticize them. No injustice has been done to them. Let me tell you about how adivasis live. They have a plot of land, Coal India buys it from them for mining etc at market prices. After this they would be given an alternate plot elsewhere & one person in the family would be given a job in Coal India. Now, Coal India like any other goverment organization is slow to utilize the land, guess what, the same family has not accupied it again & now wants the same benefits again, else they would start an agitation. Then people like you would start arguing
RE:This a useless article & completely biased
by Bhaumik on Jan 04, 2008 10:16 AM Permalink
Your experience count for nothing, because you have seen what you wanted to see. Many are in for money, but the majority are the dispossessed deprived dirt-poor neglected people of our glorious Bharatvarsha!
By the way Naxalism was not norn in Kongad, Kerala (even figuratively speaking.
by Gyana Mishra on Jan 04, 2008 10:40 AM Permalink
Yes, you are right, people are ther becasue Most of the people are extremely poor.Nothing to eat, no one listen their concern. They didnot find out a mean to raise their voice which other could heard w/o this tactics. What they have done is fairly right.
by Ram Sharma on Jan 04, 2008 10:44 AM Permalink
Naxalism was born in Naxalbari in WB around 1966. Many of its original leaders were from CPM. Charu Majumdar, Kanu Sanyal were the original Naxalite leaders. Later it spread to other parts of the country.
TRANSLATION OF '' KALAI'' IN ENGLISH IS THE ''WRIST'' AND NOT ''WAIST''. THE REAL REASON FOR NAXLAITES TO GROW IS THAT TRIBALS ARE NEGLECTED AND NOBODY IS BOTHERED ABOUT THEM. WITH ADVENT OF GLOBALISATION THESE PEOPLE ARE GETTING MORE AND MORE SIDELINED AND THAT NEEDS TO BE STOPPED. THE ONLY SOLUTION LIES IN ALL INCLUSIVE PROGRESS OF TRIBALS. ON THE OTHER SIDE OUR POLICE FORCE(GOVENMENT AGENCIES) WORKING IN TRIBAL AREAS TO BE SENSITISED ACCORDINGLY AND WELFARE OF TRIBALS TO BE UPPERMOST IN THE MINDS OF GOVERNMENT OFFICERS.
Guruswamy seems to have developed a sneaking admiration for the Naxals simply because he spoke to them. Well, he's not right for the following reasons: 1) Communism is a dead ideology. There is no support left for any of this Marxian-Maoist-thuggishness in any part of the world. 20 There is no denying that the Indian state has not been a benign partner, often preying upon the country's people, but Naxal guns are not going to solve this problem. 3) In today's highly interconnected world, it is naive to believe that a few thouand armed Red gangs can "rewrite history," while the rest of the world sits quietly. Won't happen. 4) "Armed might cannot solve this problem" was line parroted by our 'liberals' when insurgency in Punjab was at its peak. It took the iron resolve of just two men, Narasimha Rao and KPS Gill to solve the problem. The same thing will happen to Kashmir's terrorists. The Naxal Reds can keep up their blood-soaked illusions for some more years, but that will be about it. Jaganniwas Iyer
RE:You're wrong
by PURUSHOTTAM KULKARNI on Jan 04, 2008 10:05 AM Permalink
COMMUINISM IS NOT DEAD IDEALOGY BUT IS A NOBLE IDEALOGY. ONLY PROBLEM WITH COMMUNISM IS IT'S IMPLEMETATION AND IT'S USURUPTION BY THE GOVERNERS.YOU MAY READ GEORGE ORWELL'S ANIMAL FARM AND YOU WILL GET YOUR ANSWERS. WHAT WE NEED TO DO IS TO FOLLOW MAHATMA GANDHI'S IDELOGY OF SIMPLE LIVING AND HIGH THINKING AND NOT GET ENTANGLED IN WEST'S MATERIALISTIC APPROACH. MORE WE RUN AFTER MONEY AND WILL NOT CARE FOR OUE BROTHERS MORE WE WILL BE IN TROUBLE AND THIS MAY EVEN LEAD TO SOMETHING SIMILAR TO ''FRENCH REVOLUTION'' -P.D.KULKARNI
RE:You're wrong
by DL Varahan on Jan 04, 2008 04:27 PM Permalink
Socialism is a noble ideology, communism is however the devil's own blood soaked idealogy.
Communism is another excuse for armed thugs to take over a nation and plunder and kill in the name of the state.
Only violence can end violence. If naxal kills one policeman, the police must kill 5 naxals/PWG. But of course, the police must be armed and trained suffienctly to carry out the encounter operation.