The future would prove that this was a right move.Yet another right one from the Congress Party.Though majority of its leaders are oppurtunists and dishonest, a handful in there like Singh and Antony, though they lack leadership qualities can be counted on when it cmes to the question of national interest. Now we should move full steam towards liberalisation but ensuring in the process that the rich doesnt get richer and the benefits percolates down to the millions of poorest of the poor.
RE:RE:Its a move in the right direction
by sam on Aug 01, 2008 07:49 PM Permalink
Its time for evaluation of performance of government but media is busy projecting as if new government is being sworn in.
Today we are being bombarded by only one news that is "MM Singh Wins Confidence Motion" and its being projected as if he has Won A War Against Pakistan. Media is showing people dancing in streets, I am cent percent sure those idiots wont even know how many WATTS they burn in there homes but they are dancing as if they have solved the mystry of power need of whole nation.
by bee suman on Aug 01, 2008 07:54 PM Permalink
Friend Appreciate him. At least he could successfully came out of the most evil clutch of the commie buggers.
by sam on Aug 01, 2008 07:49 PM Permalink
I was reading an article on McKinsey report on projected power need of India in next 10 yrs. As per report today India has a capacity of 144,565 MW and in next 10 yrs to sustain current growth rate we will need 315000 MW which shows a defecit of about 2,00000 MW. Now as per current buzz going on Indias current capacity of generation of Nucler Power is about 2.9% and by 2022 we want to stretch it to 7%. So we are looking to increase the capacity to roughly 20,000 WATT of nuclear fuel powered energy in aout 14yrs from now.
I fail to understand will 20,000 WATT have any value in light of figures shown by McKinsey? And why the hell whole nation is getting euphoric as if we are going to achieve something great? This issue is being blown out of proportion.
My sensibility says we are being fooled to keep us away from real issues we are facing today. The issue of nuclear agreement is being blown out of proportion to cover up the failures of current government, Issues of roads, rising petroleum prices, inflation, crashing civic infrastructure in cities, increasing crime, corruption list is never ending.
Media has totally forgotten the burning issues that were in news and which were relevant to us today 1. Issue of land allocation for Amarnath pilgrims, totally vanished. Its a great injustice done ot majority sentiments but our media is silent. 2. Issue of 17 yrs high inflation is getting no coverage. 3. Issue of rising petroleum prices. 4. Long due Pay Comission repo
RE:Its a move in the right direction
by Sam on Aug 01, 2008 08:11 PM Permalink
Hope Congress have all the answers to tackle terrorism effectively and inflation before they start campaigning for next elections.
by sam on Aug 01, 2008 07:48 PM Permalink
There is already concerns raised by Congress themselves, Congress has sold Indias strategic strength vis a vis Pakistan
by Tom Dick on Aug 01, 2008 08:13 PM Permalink
If nuke power can generate only 7% of the requirement, do you think, hydel and cole can generate much more by 2014? some people keep talking about wind and wave enegery generation which I wonder is commercially viable at the current technology we have.No matter what we do, we will have a deficit of power but generating something is better than nothing.
Can anyone in Indian politics be like a real visionary, by solving the root of most of our problems ? I mean our huge population. Till we have a real visionary who will implement very strict family planning norms, our problems will keep multiplying. Since 1947, our population has more than doubled, land reduced, rivers & lakes dead. So in a couple of decades from now, when the fruits of the N-deal will be ready, we will still face energy crise, bcos our population would have doubled again. And we will have to sign some other deal - maybe a food deal. Sorry guys, all this can only be temporary solutions. No PM has had the guts to take the real issue head on.
RE:Population - the real danger
by Vishy on Aug 01, 2008 07:31 PM Permalink
agree with u. Our politicians praise China for its groth story but forget that its because of their strict population control measures the country is a superpower today. India will overtake China in 2 decades, talk of India being at par or being a world leader, superpower is just a pep talk by politicians.
by imran patel on Aug 01, 2008 07:39 PM Permalink
The reason India and China are rising and have the potential to be super powers is their population.
by Himangshu Bose on Aug 01, 2008 07:50 PM Permalink
R Ramesh, I agree with what you've said. Besides, the Uniform Civil Code should apply to all Indian citizens and not merely to Hindus/Sikhs/Buddhists/Jains. Article 370 should be scrapped. Religion is very much a person's private matter and it should remain so. All Indian citizens should have the same rights & responsibilities.
RE:Manmohan vs Harkishen.
by Rajesh Shetty on Aug 01, 2008 07:00 PM Permalink
Surjeet - the traitor who supported China in 1962 invasion. Long live the traitor.
by Arup Chakraborty on Aug 01, 2008 07:28 PM Permalink
The person who hit two bullets in his body raising tricolour and spent 10 yrs in jail for freedom of india. Calling him traitor is what our young generation has valued our fighters for the nation. It shows the education u get from ur society. Sorry man people like is the reason for India is facing lots of crisis now days. First try to achieve such height where everyone can salute u then u pass comment like this.
by Debasis Basu on Aug 01, 2008 07:18 PM Permalink
Sorry to disagree; What has been Surjit's political prowess - how many elections did he win or left front seats did he get from his state - can you pls answer. Pls dont ever compare a nincompoop like Surjit wwith Manmohan Singh who has a track record to show. The way I look at it 1 gone 2 to go - Jyoti Basu and Prakash Karat
by Jagadis Bose on Aug 01, 2008 07:28 PM Permalink
Harkishan Singh Surjeet was shot (twice) by the British police and spent many years in Rritish prisons during the independence struggle.
Manmohan Singh had this to say as he wagged his tail while receiving a "honorary" degree in Oxford.
"... India's experience with Britain had its beneficial consequences too. Our notions of the rule of law, of a Constitutional government, of a free press, of a professional civil service, of modern universities and research laboratories have all been fashioned in the crucible where an age old civilisation met the dominant Empire of the day.
These are all elements which we still value and cherish. Our judiciary, our legal system, our bureaucracy and our police are all great institutions, derived from British-Indian administration and they have served the country well..."
I leave it for the readers to judge where their respective hearts lay.
RE:RE:What is Chinese party of india(CPI) doing these days?
by popat laal on Aug 01, 2008 06:37 PM Permalink
yeah.. i miss the chance of exposing their stupid arguments in these discussion forums.. rediff.. please post some recent hapenings about left party
RE:What is Chinese party of india(CPI) doing these days?
by eyeOpener on Aug 01, 2008 06:37 PM Permalink
ha ha . why is karat shouting infront of the camera these days. thinking that parliament session is everywhere anywhere.
It is in favor of india if it goes through from NSG also.we would be able aquire nuke material from any country.if it require to nuke test we can do but it may face to some challenges for that.so we have to take risk definetly. US once had tried by imposing sanctions but we neautrilise those sanctions. So no matter once if same situation come again. rite now we need technology and material so we can develope thorium reactors. This agreement is mile stone to emerging as a SUPER POWER.
RE:It's gud agreement for india
by Jagadis Bose on Aug 01, 2008 06:49 PM Permalink
Yes, a superpower indeed 600 million of whose citizens have to defecate in the open (WHO report -- 2008).
With this shameful nuclear deal which sells out our independence, might be soon enough a new phrase would be added to the political lingo -- that of the "mango republic" analogous to the "banana republic" of the yesteryears.
by sunil ananda on Aug 01, 2008 07:08 PM Permalink
yes .Shit in the open bcause there is darkness to hide them due to paucity of power.With nuke power let there be light and no more shitting in the darkness.
by c k on Aug 01, 2008 08:10 PM Permalink
Dear why H s Surjit joined the party which was against Bharat Choro movement.A party which serve british interest.It is a customery to have one member volunteer of all communities.S K Surjit is part of that custom to reap the fruits.You will hardly find any Sikh supporting CPM and any existance of CPM in Punjab.
I look at the Nuclear deal as a small stepping stone to acquire access to high end technology. This is an absolutely essential for making India 's presence in the world map. I have high regards for our esteemed PM Manmohan Singh who has real vision for the country. Remember no free lunches. Even this deal may have some strings attached. Are we cowards? We need to take risk to gain something, may be substantially in the long run. Only time will tell.
RE:Nuclear Deal
by Hell Boy on Aug 01, 2008 06:33 PM Permalink
Exactly, if we as in India would have not opened ourselves in the 90's then, I dont think India would have seen this kind of progress, again the credit goes to our PM who had introduced the reforms which also faced a lot of opposition. In true sense he is a visionary the credit could have been shared with BJP, but they ruined it in the final moments by opposing it even though they knew that it was in National interest BJP stabbed it self by opposing the deal if only they would have supported it they would have emerged more stronger.
by Nostra Damus on Aug 01, 2008 07:42 PM Permalink
No the credit goes to Narasimha Rao, who as PM opened India to the world and supported Manmohan Singh when he was being attacked by his own partymen.
by prabhat mohanty on Aug 01, 2008 08:29 PM Permalink
- Definitely the credit goes to Mr Rao for providing solid political back up to Mr Singh.
But to Mr Singh's credit, he came out with out of box solutions and we are enjoying the benefit today.
Similarly today, a small credit can be attributed to Sonia Gandhi for providing solid political back up to the PM.
Its an historic moment for all Indians who must celebrate this achievement. Every Indian is proud the decision taken by Dr. Manmohan Singh, our beloved Prime MInister, without caring his position, as we all knew that left withdraw support, hence we must, future generations, appreciate this decision. It is very essential for us to become the World power in the years to come.
RE:Its a Historic Moment for all Indians.
by Akbar on Aug 01, 2008 05:55 PM Permalink
Apka shukriya, aapne jo yahan par vazeereazam ke muttalik taqreer ki wo hamen pasand nahi aaye, Aap kuch nihayat jaroori muddon ko bhool rahe hain. Jab hamare siphsalar jo bharosa aawam se jeetna chate hain use un chand rupyon ki khaatir tod diya ab is desh ko kuch hindustani milkar poore hindustaan ki taqdeer likhne rahe hain aur wo bhi kisi soorat main jaayaz nahi thara sakte, ham muslim ko we log apna banate hain aur apna maksad poora hote hi saath chhod jaate hain to farmayen ki hindustan ki aabadi ke saath aap apne vaade ko poora nahi kar sakte to phir in tamam nautanki ka ya maksad, kya is se sirf apni jeben bharna hai? aap ke hindustani hone ke naate is nazariye se bhi dekhen aur har un pahluon par gaur farmayen ki aapke liye kya jaayaz hai aur kya nahi.
RE:Its a Historic Moment for all Indians.
by Omkar Dubey on Aug 01, 2008 06:14 PM Permalink
Mr. Akbar, Your reply looked like Sonia Gandhi reading Hindi in English written language. Anyway you must wake up from casteism & look at broader aspect of nationalism.
Thanks to PM Manmohan Singh for his endeavour for the deal to pass through various authorities. Only time will tell how much common people will be benefited from this deal in long run. Now PM must focus attention on more pressing problems. Inflation, corruption and Criminilasation of politicians have become way of Indian life.Does the PM has courage to attack these as doggedly as he did for nuclear deal? If he can even tackle 10% of these problems, congress will be reelected by the aam aadmi.
RE:Nuclear deal
by Punepro on Aug 01, 2008 05:41 PM Permalink
Yes. Agree with you. Most of us get directly affected by the world around us and that needs to improve. Cities are congested, local administrations in most towns and cities are either corrupt or are deaf to citizens' woes, land mafia is active in most places, roads are bad, water is a problem etc. MMS should focus on the basics for the Indians and yes, I would want to elect Congress again if they can address these problems.
RE:RE:Nuclear deal
by parashar natansh on Aug 01, 2008 05:37 PM Permalink
I am happy as'n Indian to be part of the deal.. what ever the best for India, who ever done this is good for Indian's.