Total 4667 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45   Older >   >>
Hour of Darkness
by abhinav tripathi on Apr 10, 2008 07:01 PM  Permalink 

Indira Jaising has written a completely misguiding article. All those lofty ideals expressed here in the article hide the gross injustice that has been handed over to the talent of the nation. This is an hour of darkness as some selfish people have succeeded in striking a fatal blow to our institutes of excellence for their vote banks and self-interests.
Let me pose one question and anyone reading this ponder over it honestly.
There is a class of 100 students who are the potential engineers and technological leaders of tomorrow. 50 of them have earned their place in these hallowed institutions after a relentless, mentally overwhelming period of preparation. They have earned it with their hard work and that reflects in their scores of entrance exams, their grasp of the subjects. Then there are another 50 (most of whom, I would say at least 45) who are way behind the mental level of the previous category and whose performance in the entrance exams is simply obnoxious (many of them have totals close to zero) and reflects their mental level (in the sense of higher studies, of course). Now, is it too difficult to guess what will happen to the environment of the class, the morale of the teachers who will have to deal with those 50 from the second category, the reputation of the institute in the industry and eventually the question of whether companies would stay in India after such degradation, which is definitely going to worsen given the conditions of our politics ?
If these peop

Reservations will not uplift Dalits but only degrade them .
by Tom Dick on Apr 10, 2008 07:00 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The verdict will create a society depending on hand outs from govt.in the form of reservation in education,jobs ration etc. It will never ever uplift them.It will create a bunch of lazy people who will be assured of education inpremier institutes and jobs in govt sectors. 60 years of reservation didn't help them to reach the main stream. Instead give them scholarships to attend the best institutes if they are meritorious.

RE:Reservations will not uplift Dalits but only degrade them .
by Sujeet Kumar on Apr 10, 2008 07:09 PM  Permalink
You are a hypocrite! You guys will support women's reservation because it is fashionable to do so. Be consistent in your arguements.

Reservation would bridge Inequality
by Sujeet Kumar on Apr 10, 2008 06:58 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I am from the General category but don't find any merits in the protests against reservations.
We can attain equality only if we treat unequals unequally.
I know reservation based upon economic status is ideal...but u see this is not implementable....we don't have data of incomes of every individual....even National Sample Survey doesn't provide individual incomes data....This will open the doors for manipulation and underreporting of incomes leading to extensive corruption.
Thus, thuogh reservation based upon economic status is ideal, it has its own limitations...which are rather more serious than those with caste-based reservation.

Thus, in absence of correct income levels, caste(though not ideal) can serve as a good measure of economic well being, on which reservations can be based. This is the next best think possible as we are well aware that SC/ST and OBC's have been ecnomically backward historically. I am not talking of a high-flying SC/CT or OBC but of a common person.

RE:Reservation would bridge Inequality
by imran patel on Apr 10, 2008 07:02 PM  Permalink
Any reservation is BAD. Be it based on Caste, economics or religion.

We are ALL individuals and must be treated equally and must be given EQUAL opportunity. That does NOT translate into RESERVATION.

RESERVATION means depriving someone else and handing positions to others who are less qualified and hence less deserving.

People who propose RESERVATIONS are the BIGGEST RACIST/DISCRIMINATORS.

My ideas will scare people.

They are so much used to "FREE" stuff.

We run away from INDIVIDUAL responsibility and want government to give us everything for FREE.

FREE education.
FREE Medicine.
Subsidy on OIL.
Subsidy on GAS.
Subsidy on Rice.
Subsidy on Sugar.
Subsidy on Wheat.

Where does this money come from ???
The government is NOT making any money.

Nothing is FREE.
It comes from our pockets.

People who are so angry with reservations have ridiculed my ideas.

Hopefully now they understand. This is the nature of the beast (Government).

We need minimum government involvement, low taxes, minimum services provided by government.

The government is soo inefficient. Ever seen a municipal water tanker ? That what a government is. Plagued by corruption & favouritism.

Wake up INDIA !!!

RE:RE:Reservation would bridge Inequality
by Sujeet Kumar on Apr 10, 2008 07:09 PM  Permalink
@Imran
You are a hypocrite! You guys will support women's reservation because it is fashionable to do so. Be consistent in your arguements.

by Sujeet Kumar on Apr 10, 2008 07:07 PM  Permalink
You are a hypocrite! You guys will support women's reservation because it is fashionable to do so.

by TS on Apr 10, 2008 07:22 PM  Permalink
Very true. Almost all the private medical colleges, which were in the forefront of anti-quota rallies are actually offering seats for a sum ranging between 20-100 lacs for various courses.

by nilesh babu on Apr 10, 2008 07:00 PM  Permalink
well said. I am from General category too and i support the judgment.

by agp on Apr 10, 2008 07:03 PM  Permalink
but reservations should be upto level of education only not while applying for jobs

by imran patel on Apr 10, 2008 07:05 PM  Permalink
NO RESERVATIONS.

PERIOD !!!

by imran patel on Apr 10, 2008 07:04 PM  Permalink
You are out of your mind.

by srinivas on Apr 10, 2008 07:04 PM  Permalink
nice one... i appreciate ur right thinking... my FCs blindly bark at BC & Scs without knowing their acesters' treatment towards SCs & BCs

by Manishkumar Jayswal on Apr 10, 2008 07:14 PM  Permalink
my friend, manipulation is present in each and every sector of our beloved country. Don't you know that just by paying some K bucks you can get acertificate, and that too very legal.

by mmspm on Apr 10, 2008 07:02 PM  Permalink
@ sujeet kumar

below post is for you

Disgrace
by on Apr 10, 2008 06:54 PM | Hide replies

Arjun Singh should be hanged. It is disgrace that instead of making India competitive with rest of the world we are deteriorating the education standards. Why don't govt. spend money in making primary education better for the poor and the needy. So, that they can compete with other privileged class. Very disappointed with SC judgement.

by mmspm on Apr 10, 2008 07:05 PM  Permalink
govt. should stop corruption atleast in the matter for education sector, and improve middle and primary school education system and infrastructures in Govt. school.

Govt. should make unequal to equal in the society by improving the standards of our children of govt. school (no comments abt private school children, bcoz they dont need this. economically they r good enough.)

not the other way as treating unequal as unequal.

reservation for backward classes
by riten dash on Apr 10, 2008 06:57 PM  Permalink 

when younger and abroad i used to resent why overseas indians are treated as backward?now with this supreme verdict it is clear that backwardness and need for reservation is in our bone-marrow and foreigners could feel it.now, my apprehension is that our children and grand children will compete to acheive backwardness and/or get circumcised to become minority.

mistake by higher castes
by srinivas on Apr 10, 2008 06:55 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

ts all because of higher caste's miskate to treat BC & SCs like untouchables. Now politicians are using the same cause for votebank politics.

somehow, higher castes are paying price for their acts

RE:mistake by higher castes
by kohir reddy on Apr 10, 2008 07:06 PM  Permalink
where do u think (so called) Higher Castes are treating BC & SC like that.
and i dont find any reason why a OBC should have a reservation...
If a Person has the worth to achive or study then he can do it without any reservation.

cancel all present reservations
by mmspm on Apr 10, 2008 06:54 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

govt. should cancel all present reservations and keep 30% reservation in all sectors (except few like defence) on the basis of their economy (not on the basis of community or caste).

Such reservation facility has to advantage only poor fellows who cannot afford respective sector in money matter.

RE:cancel all present reservations
by Sujeet Kumar on Apr 10, 2008 06:55 PM  Permalink
Please don't mislead people.

I am from the General category but don't find any merits in the protests against reservations.
We can attain equality only if we treat unequals unequally.
I know reservation based upon economic status is ideal...but u see this is not implementable....we don't have data of incomes of every individual....even National Sample Survey doesn't provide individual incomes data....This will open the doors for manipulation and underreporting of incomes leading to extensive corruption.
Thus, thuogh reservation based upon economic status is ideal, it has its own limitations...which are rather more serious than those with caste-based reservation.

Thus, in absence of correct income levels, caste(though not ideal) can serve as a good measure of economic well being, on which reservations can be based. This is the next best think possible as we are well aware that SC/ST and OBC's have been ecnomically backward historically. I am not talking of a high-flying SC/CT or OBC but of a common person.

by mmspm on Apr 10, 2008 06:59 PM  Permalink
so then where shall general category people should go ? who really not able to afford respective sectors in money matter ?

PS: I belong to OBC 3B, before we belongs to general category only but devva gowda made us OBC

by balu on Apr 10, 2008 06:58 PM  Permalink
Caste based reservation is justified in SC/STs. Not in OBCs, as the 'C' in OBC rightly represents 'classes' and not 'castes'. The wide disparity in OBCs does not merit a caste based reservation.

Disgrace
by on Apr 10, 2008 06:54 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Arjun Singh should be hanged. It is disgrace that instead of making India competitive with rest of the world we are deteriorating the education standards. Why don't govt. spend money in making primary education better for the poor and the needy. So, that they can compete with other privileged class. Very disappointed with SC judgement.

RE:Disgrace
by shritesh bharat avlani on Apr 10, 2008 06:57 PM  Permalink
Good post

RE:Disgrace
by mmspm on Apr 10, 2008 06:56 PM  Permalink
u hit the nail on right spot. Govt. schools condition and infrastructures has to be improved

Is it fair?
by balu on Apr 10, 2008 06:54 PM  Permalink 

How on the earth the grandsons of likes of Karunanidhi / Lallu Prasad deserves reservation ? And not the sons / grandsons of temple priests? (I am sure, people know the ways to negate creamy layer concept in OBCs)

Form open community aliances ...
by t on Apr 10, 2008 06:53 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

support each other only if you want to survive in this hostile country...

RE:Form open community aliances ...
by nilesh babu on Apr 10, 2008 06:54 PM  Permalink
write a new manusmriti.

RE:Form open community aliances ...
by t on Apr 10, 2008 07:02 PM  Permalink
Yes. If needed I will but this time, I will not even mention any other caste only my own caste because that's all matters now on ...

Reservation
by akhil kumar on Apr 10, 2008 06:51 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

My APEEAL To ALL STUDENTS "COMPLETE BYCOTE OF CONGRESS PARTY"

RE:Reservation
by M R on Apr 10, 2008 06:52 PM  Permalink
more people like u should be there.

Total 4667 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45   Older >   >>