Total 22 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2
Mayawati ki ON PAPER WAAALI NATUNKI
by chappan tikali on May 20, 2007 12:25 AM  Permalink 

yah sab mayawati ki intial stage in ON PAPER waali natunki hai, mere ik friend kai papa IAS officer hai lucknow mai and unhone bataya tha ki last time jab mayawati CM bani thi tho usne sab IAS/IPS ko bola ki dekho i need 1 CRORE Rupees every year from each of you, so do whatever u can and make money , give me 1 crore and keep other with u r self......so yah sab NATUNKI HAI MAYAWATI KI ..............
in Short "MAYA KI MAYA , MAYA HI JAANE ;-)

good start
by krishna ganesan on May 20, 2007 12:22 AM  Permalink 

It may work or not... lets appreciate the start

Extremes never work
by Libran on May 19, 2007 10:57 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This news aitem is full of nuggets for thoughts.
1. From gluttony to starving is extreme step. It sows the dictatorial style. While I believe in the effciency of dictatorial style, it works only if you have a human touch.

2. Without regard to any other thing, I would say she has the great gift of gab and intellience. To speak extemporaneously to the highest level people for 4 and 1/2 hours really requires oratorial skills, guts, intelligence and confidence. Hats off to The Creator and to some extent to Maya
3. What she says is she does not want to protect any criminals. Only fools would belive this. How on earth her party MLAs are going to recoup the 5 crore they gave for tickets and 5 more they spent for elections? Think about those who contested paying 5 crores and lost. Will they keep quiet? They will try every means possible at least to get back their investment.
4. Finally, Bureaucrts may have to starve during meetings and pee in their pants in Maya's presence, but they can feast on corruption as they did earlier and act like lions in front of common people, provided they know what, how and how much to presnt to Madam on her birthday.

5. Finally, Maya's style seems similar to TN's Jaya's style and she will have the same fortune of in and out of power if she does not fine tune her style.
Any way UP people seem to be stuck with Hobsons choice. One hand Mulayam and on the Other Maya - again this is similar to TN - Jaya and Karuna
Arguably, politically most important states in the north and south repectively. It is unfortunate for India that the people of these states are not supporting slightly less meaner choices of Congress an BJP. -- This is what makes politics interesting. Since my child- hood, I have followed cricket and political arena very closely and I can easily surmise that cricket is very insipid compared to political arena

RE:Extremes never work
by Jai Ramachandran on May 19, 2007 11:37 PM  Permalink
Good analysis.
I am reminded of the saying that the "people of a country/state always get the government they deserve" Seems to be true.

by Satya ss on May 19, 2007 11:41 PM  Permalink
Whose side are you mister? If they had to spend 5cr for the election it is their problem..so people vote for them so they can recover their dues with profit..this aint no business, govt is afor the people and not to loot the people. If people have to spend their money to come to party ..sint there something seriously wrong with the system and it needs serious actions? Mayawati we are with you...These people have been taking their work so un--seiously, it's time to fact the music. Hope mayawati brings about the responsibiity and the accountability that these politicians should have had in the first place.

by Libran on May 20, 2007 12:15 AM  Permalink
Satya,
I am not on any one's side. I am trying to see (with the limitations of my capabilities to do so) both plus and minus points of a politician or a cricketer. When I appreciate May's style, it is pure appreciation without any iota of sarcasm. But I am not convinced of her motive as egalitarian. I see that she is very much a common politician that we see daily.

I wish what you said was true - that politics is not business. I am sure that you have noticed that most politicians consider it as the business that gives a great return and also the power and fame.
I also wish their spending money was handled as their 'Own' problem. But they try to get that money back in whatever means possible, otherwise they will be in dire straits after they are out of power. I have witnessed on my own when an old EX MLA came to me with his graduate daughter to for job - mind you this is a job that gives just a mminimum wage. I was shocked that an ex-MLA had to ask for such a menial job for his daughter. It was just because he was a honest person and just a one-time MLA. Obviiously neither the party workers who want favors nor the party which wants some one to curry favors to the leaders as well as pay huge sums of money to their leaders, wnat him again and he was not given a ticket!!

And about the IAS officers the story is not much different. A lecturer that I know had got good ranking in his written exams for IAS and was called for the interview. I was shocked to hear that one of the so wellrespected MPS of congress (which is a rarity) asked for 5 lakhs - she said this is the minimum that PSC people would expect and she will have use her influence to get the members to agree for such 'paltry' sum. this man being honest just left the hope of becoming an IAS officer and continues as a lecturer. So you can imagine how these officers should behave after putting so much efforts to get through the exams and then pay the heavy sums.

to paraphrase what Jai mentioned above, in democracy, it it "yatha Praja, thatha Raja"

PUBLIC PLACES
by Prasad John on May 19, 2007 09:41 PM  Permalink 

"No statue of anyone will be allowed to be installed anywhere in the state without express permission of the chief minister",

Total 22 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2