Total 54 messages Pages | 1 | 2 | 3   Older >
DRDO contribution
by Sameer Khan on Oct 13, 2009 06:14 PM  Permalink 

why only after iisc/tifr/csir labs. science and technology has only 4.5 billion dollars from the budget but for the development of arms and ammunitions 35 billion dollar goes. so why not look at the accountability of ordance factories? at least iisc/tifr/csir have brought the indian education standard as par as international standard. what have ordance factories done?

drdo a front runner
by bhaskararaju k on Mar 22, 2007 05:48 PM  Permalink 

does any one knows that how much money was spent so far in systems? In european countries where the R&D started centuries ago the amount spent over centuries is just uncomparable with the short term r&d and comparitively low budgets, particularly for non missile projects.
the powers given to drdo scientists is much less than the powers of a bank junior officer to buy a small item which is needed for r&d. the facilities given to a scientist is on par with a bank clerk or airlines messengers but not comparable with a bank manager even today.
what more can you expect from a normal low paid, highly qualified scientist than the products given so far inspite of all these hurdles? drdo produced enough and stored much knowledge for future.
even today many qualified scientists are with drdo only because of patriotism but not for money.
they can simply fly abroad or to any private /corp sctor with lucrative salaries and facilities
pl donot demoralise scientists
br kanumuri

Foreign tie - ups for DRDO
by Pat Thakur on Mar 15, 2007 06:28 PM  Permalink 

And then what, get ourselves screwed? Defence is one of the most basic discreet matters of a nation alongwith Finance & Foreign Affairs. If you design National Defence Modules by siting together with Foreign Intellectuals, well it would be Disastrous, outright Fatal.
Instead we can do one thing; we can send Delegations of Existing Indian Experts (!?) to developed countries for study (REPEAT STUDY & NOT SIGHT SEEING.) Let these Experts be from the Defence Field only & not Chamchas/ Relatives/ Friends of Ministers or Leaders as is the case always with Indian Affairs in every field. Albeit, this has been the main reason for the downfall of DRDO.

RE:How Islamic inventors changed the world
by Logical Mind on Mar 15, 2007 03:15 PM  Permalink

hahahaa

what crap ?

RE:RE:How Islamic inventors changed the world
by dream on Mar 15, 2007 04:25 PM  Permalink
To tu Arab jana bai.

Civilisation unparalled in the history of the world!!!
by Abdul Azeez on Mar 15, 2007 02:15 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Many modern surgical instruments are of exactly the same design as those devised in the 10th century by a Muslim surgeon called al-Zahrawi.

His scalpels, bone saws, forceps, fine scissors for eye surgery and many of the 200 instruments he devised are recognisable to a modern surgeon.

It was he who discovered that catgut used for internal stitches dissolves away naturally (a discovery he made when his monkey ate his lute strings) and that it can be also used to make medicine capsules. In the 13th century, another Muslim medic named Ibn Nafis described the circulation of the blood, 300 years before William Harvey discovered it.

Muslims doctors also invented anaesthetics of opium and alcohol mixes and developed hollow needles to suck cataracts from eyes in a technique still used today.

RE:Civilisation unparalled in the history of the world!!!
by Logical Mind on Mar 15, 2007 03:17 PM  Permalink

hahaaha

what crap ?

$$$________ Did you make a single Paisa till today ??_______$$$
by dream on Mar 15, 2007 01:39 PM  Permalink 

I ask DRDO stright one question all these years if you did so called reasearch and for that reasearch what you developed and what you sell outside the country ?? did u make any money for govt ?... if you cannot make money on what you invent ... I say you are waste better all of you vacate those big big buildings why should people put money on you.

RE:$$_____________ DRDo DUMB________________$$
by H S on Mar 15, 2007 02:37 PM  Permalink
u have choosen dream to represent u, but i think how a fool u r and it is strange that what a good name u have choosen. DRDO is a dream of India. whatever it is creating or testing is result of its own hardwork not due to techniques adopted from abrod and tested by its lable. you are a fool if u don't have knowledge. PAK is doing just as if u can do COPY & PASTE. and for ur information BRAHMOS is the only of its kind in world and it is a super sonic missile.
if there is one who should be blamed is those IIT'an and other engineer who get education here and go abroad to work, not in INDIA. it is our duty to work here for better future of company.
open ur mind DREAM and grow UP .......

RE:RE:$$_____________ DRDo DUMB________________$$
by dream on Mar 15, 2007 04:23 PM  Permalink
oye.. tu chupkar.. nahi tho tera kardum mey balley balley... :)

Arey bai e DRDO valey Sivakasi kyu jatarey ?
Vudar Deepawali keliye Rockets thayyar karney keliye vacancies hey.

Yes I also work for DRDO for 97 yrs, still working, I know the facts, It is very good.
by hello on Mar 15, 2007 09:58 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Yes I also work for DRDO for 97 yrs, still
working, I know the facts, It is very good!!!
I am not joking, like some guys who are telling that they worked for 7 years in DRDO & telling
bad about DRDO. They didn't have proper
experience!!! They don't know how an explosive
functions. Sending a Deepavali rocket any damn
can do. But send the same deepavali rocket w/
your intentions in 2000 KM or 3000 KM apart,
you know the complexities!!!

RE:Yes I also work for DRDO for 97 yrs, still working, I know the facts, It is very good.
by on Mar 15, 2007 10:14 AM  Permalink
Sorry friend, worked in DRDO and produced real stuff and others got Prime Minister medal for that work. That is DRDO. Even a proper opening of a parachute took 15 years and even now it does not work well, need outside help. Control system design requires other country support.

RE:RE:Yes I also work for DRDO for 97 yrs, still working, I know the facts, It is very good.
by hello on Mar 15, 2007 10:18 AM  Permalink
That's what the message is about.
Getting outside help for these.
I didn't put that part. I want to get from you.
Some useful engine was available in US junk
market too. We didn't use any of those to
get quick result, that is also a problem!!!

DRDO Facts
by Keshava on Mar 15, 2007 09:51 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Facts:
1. DRDO's yearly budget is 2000 crore INR and profit generated from its produts this year is nearly 2500 crore through various manufacturing indistries.
Sad part of this is, the manufacturing industires shows profits in their accounts & no royalty is paid to product developers.

2. Total indian budget on Defence is nearly 90,000 crore INR & i think this year finance minister increased 18% on defence budget.
3. Present Govt. is alocated 8000 crores for its reservation policy.
4. As i know, around 12 to 15 years of experience in DRDO with good track record of work, then person is eligible for getting his telephone bill reimbursment & its pay is aproximatly 4 Lakhs per annum and where as same person if works in private company in same field, i think his pay is more than 15 Lakhs per annum. More over if u or u r family members have any medical problem, the u r entitiled take treatement only from govt approved hospitals. If go to the any govt approved private hospitals, then u r entitiled for get treatement in general word.
From last decade, the DRDO has lost many good scientists & hence lots of projects got set back or crippled. Doing R&D in a govt. framework is very very difficult with a current salary structure & current globlizied world.

Biggest problem with DRDO is, instead of focusing on core military domain, they are entered in all doamins.

RE:DRDO Facts
by on Mar 15, 2007 10:09 AM  Permalink
Profit:
THere is no profit, it is only a loss. It does not include the salary of these 40,000 employees!
Solutions
1. Get some young IITian or IAS to manage the project
2. Selection of youngsters sould include communication and teamwork skills
3. Change the system to give value to teamwork than individual effort. Change the assessment system to reflect the reality.
4. Bring real engineering management organization structure to DRDO such as program manager, product manager, marketing, project lead, team lead.
5. Train youngsters with project management skills
6. External agency should track the project progress.

Total 54 messages Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3   Older >