Yes, Nimitz is a security concern...jihadi attack on a nuclear powered warship can result in a radiation attack in Chennai. This is a real, horrible danger in the short term...and, in the long term, there is an even more horrible danger...today, the US is the most dangerous country in the world..letting them in is going to enable them to know our territory much better, and this will increase their stranglehold on India in future...anytime in the future, if the US is displeased by India, it will declare a war on India and kill millions of civilians...and knowledge gained during trips like these will make it easier for them to carry out their dangerous operations in India, anytime they wish...KEEP THE DEVIL OUT...But, Sonia, being a Westerner, is more inclined to the US and so is prepared to mortgage India to any Western nation, including the US, the most powerful and the most dangerous of them all...
The Commies who rant about closer realtaions with the US arer the same scumbags who supported China when they invaed India in 62 and are still Mao's mouthpiece and cheerleaders - Karat, Basu, Yechury et al, traitors, the lot of em. Ever since indeendence, the US had nded its hands of frienship, which was snobbed by that pompous arrogant cretin Nehru. Think of everything good India has, from her Space program, her Atomic program, her IITs - they all were started with help of Uncle Sam. Not to mention, that while the Indian Comunists were welcoming Mao's invading red hordes, it was Uncle Sam who sent them packing. So to all those two-faced hypocritical US-baiters - they should all go jump into the sewer where they belong.
I'm no blind fan of the US, but if they want a strategic friendship with Bharat (for purely their interests' alone, of course), thn we should grasp this offer (for purely our interests' alone, of course). Point is, iternational realpolitik is all about pursuit of interests. We need the US today, but the reverse is equally true. The Yanks need us too. So kindly stop all this US-bashing. Raman's analysis is well researched - as usual - but unnecessarily panders to Muslim sensivities. Sure, the Mohammedans are going to be upset, but who cares? Are we supposed to base our existence on what Islam dictates? In fact, the USS Nimitz should dock at Kochi. I'd love to see the red faces of Karat, Yechury and th other copmmunist cockroaches, totally submerged in the shit of American sailors! Tht would be something to celebrate about on Aug 15 this year. Jaganniwas Iyer
RE:The Nimitz visit
by Aditya Viswanathan on Jun 30, 2007 12:57 PM Permalink
Mr.Iyer...appreciate what you have mentioned above about indo US ties. History has it that US has been a very selfish country always...(proof is the non commitment to Blair in the G8 summit which is such a close ally)...so i think we should only develop a symbiotic relationshipt with US as said above...and i agree with your comments
RE:The Nimitz visit
by indiman on Jun 30, 2007 08:00 PM Permalink
"Symbiotic" I like that word. You are right aditya, our relationship with the US should be a symbiotic one and not one of servitude. I think we have been in servitude long enough. The US needs us as much as we need them. Chinese pretty much put us in this position by propping up pakistan time and again. but that doesnt mean we have to blindly run into american hands because that will lead to slavery and nothing else. We have to chart our own path and future.
The Nimitz is not visiting India because the Hindus are all gung-ho. Similarly, its visit should not be opposed because the Muslims dont want it. It is absurd that Mr Raman should be doling out such Gandhian nonsense. At this rate Indian cant do anything that some Muslims dont like. The Nimitz is visiting India because it is in India's interest. Period.
RE:Nimitz
by Ramprakash Naidu on Jun 30, 2007 06:25 PM Permalink
Hi Sri, why u want to bring Gandhi into this discussion. You better read Gandhi's books before commenting on his ideas. It has become fashionable to denigrate Gandhi.
by sri on Jun 30, 2007 09:24 PM Permalink
Mr Naidu, Gandhi has his place but not the kind of place that is being sought for him with excessive adulation and by making him a demigod which he was not. As you may have noticed fewer and fewer Indians are attracted to Gandhi compared to 20 years ago. The reasons for that are that Gandhi was not very rational (and yes I have read him!) and his policies towards Hindu-Muslim unity or the place of non-violence enfeebled the country and defied all logic and norms of human behaviour. But otherwise I have no problem with Gandhi and do not wish to hurt you or anyone else that might regard him highly. All I want is that he should not be given a higher place in Indian life than he deserves. There were far greater people in India who took and will take India much much farther than Gandhi ever could have. His role in India's freedom struggle is also highly exaggerated. Clement Attlee and Churchill have gone on record saying that if Gandhi was all they had to deal with, they would have been in India another 300 years.
by Ramanathan Muthuganapathy on Jun 30, 2007 09:42 PM Permalink
I too agree.. Gandhi was highly irrational and to an extent arrogant and was completely anti-hindu during his later days. I guess more and more have started understanding about Gandhi and not blindly following him. People have now become intelligent enough.
by on Jul 01, 2007 12:01 AM Permalink
I too entirely agree with sri. Gandhi was instrumental in offering Hindus to Muslim fanatics for massacre, just to be known as the leader of both Hindus and Muslims. He deserves his place, but he doesn't deserve the excessive adulation. The excessive adulation is actually the design of the Congress party, which is slowly wearing out, since 'tutoring' the Indians from their childhood is weakened by the current availability of uncensored info in the internet..now, people can know better, if they want to...and a lot of them by now know that Gandhi has his place, but the Mahatma is really not so much of a Mahatma..
the author's fears abt "impact of the visit on the feelings of the Muslim community all over the world, including India"...honestly..who gives a rats a$$??
Within 60 years of independence we are are willing to give away our freedom to the Americans and become their slaves. The proof is that a high ranking Indian bureaucrat is praising the Americans when it is fact that Americans aggravated the Kashmir problem and even today the Pakistani terrorists operating in India are supported by Americans. The number of bureaucrats sons studying in the US is the proof of collusion between bureaucrats and the Americans. Indian bureaucrat will sell India to the Americans.
RE:Visit of Nimitz
by sri on Jun 29, 2007 09:37 PM Permalink
Rubbish. We are not giving anything away to the Americans. We are building relationships for the future. True, the US supports Pak but only an uninformed fool will deny that there is a sea change in US-India relations which are actually overshadowing Pak's own. The CHina factor will once again threaten India in the near future and we need the US and others for that. Like the US on PAk, India too does not give everything the US wants from it nor do both countries see eye-to-eye on everything. That's normal! What real analysts and diplomats look for are compromises. So we should stop whining about what the US did not give India and focus on the present and the future.
by Ravindra Rao on Jun 30, 2007 06:43 PM Permalink
The Americans have contempt for Indians, An American diplayed his contempt by stating " You can change an Indian bureacrat's mind with a crate of scotch whiskey or a blonde". When Kim Davy the handler/trainer of Peter Bleach (the guy who airdropped weapons & ammunition in Purilia, West Bengal) escaped from a high security area like Mumbai airport a CIA agent commented "If you want to make an Indian Police officer put his signature on any paper give his son or son-in-law a Green card." So the question is not of bureacrats' sons studying in the US but how they compromise national interest to get to the US university. The Indian government is going to spend 42000 crores of the tax payers money to buy military aircraft and the Nimitz is coming here maybe for some "Gunboat Diplomacy" to assure the polticians & bureaucrats of the " Assured Kickbacks". They want to sell their aircraft at 300 crores a piece when train travellers in Mumbai cannot get a 20 crore train from the Government of India. So the nimitz is a message to our political rogues forget your taxpayers make our American weapon manufacturers rich.
by Ravindra Srinivas Rao on Jul 06, 2007 07:20 PM Permalink
The kickback/commission in defence deals is not 10% but a whopping 30%. In the Bofors Gun deal "The son of a gun" got some 300 crores, all into Swiss Bank accounts. Our hard earned money is being used to make Americans rich. Mumbai citizens will be paying 88400 crores in Income Tax alone this year. Good news for the Americans since we Mumbai guys are to slog it out to make them rich who in turn will make our political rogues rich. We Indians are "Cotton Slaves", "Cyber Slaves", "BPO Slaves" and pay taxes to get into various forms of slavery.
by on Jul 01, 2007 12:12 AM Permalink
Sonia is selling India to the Americans...to get about 4200 crores (10% commission assumed, through somebody like Quottrocchi), she will buy aircraft from Americans.....She is going to sign the nuclear deal with the US, permanently crippling India's security efforts in the face of American aggressions in future...GOD SAVE INDIA FROM SONIA.
by ashwin kamath on Jun 30, 2007 12:05 AM Permalink
Maan, Are you stupid or what??I am in the US ..all my friends are and none of them are from bureaucratic families... People live in US for opportunities and moreover because there are lot of stupid people like you in India..Broaden your horizons a bit.. India needs the US and without US think what will happen(IT companies, bi lateral trade etc)
by indiman on Jun 30, 2007 12:28 AM Permalink
Just because you guys live in the US doesent mean India has to engage in slave trade in US. Most importantly it is Indians who have to live throught he stupidity of the govenment here, not you people in the States. Mr. Sri Why do we need the US to help us with China. India will and have to take care of itself visavis China, The US is not going to help us and I dont think we should expect any help from them. I think living in the US has totally expanded the slave mentality of you guys. In the US you people are treated as tertiary citizens. And you guys want people in India to be as slaves as well. Tell me from the bottom of you heart if you are treated as equal with any White American Citizen. I have lived there eight years, I have been on F1 and H1b so I know how it is there. So dont try to bullshit me on this. The Us is trying to shape its future and thats the only thing it will care about. So stop posting pro US comments when you are not living in India.
India can handle China alone? I wonder what happened in 1962. Its the US which offered help in 1962. Taming the dragon is not easy, and yes, the dragon needs to be tamed. Its gaze has already fallen on Arunachal Pradesh, in case you didn't notice. I agree India should ultimately be strong enough to be able to handle the dragon alone, but why refuse help in the meanwhile?
Btw, I am staying in the US for the past 5 years. I am a non-citizen and am treated very well here. It looks like you had some bad personal experiences and that seems to be biasing you against the US.
by ashwin kamath on Jun 30, 2007 02:53 AM Permalink
You are right on US shaping its future...So should India shouldnt it??If US is lending a hand why not take it?? As regards US experience...I have lived in 4 countries apart from India ...I can say my US experience in the best.... As regards racism...I cant see how different it is in India...try being a lower caste in UP...What the hell is that???Then we have reservations....Atleast here talent is respected... With a 9% GDP growth against a 12.5 GDP(China on a higher base) we cannot match them...
by Anurag Shrivastava on Jun 29, 2007 11:27 PM Permalink
Your foolish observations are based on your own imagination. Studying in US is not such a big deal these days to offer as a"proof of collusion". Further - to accuse US of supporting jehadi terror in Kashmir is a little far fetched. Dealing with Pakistan is a challenge for anyone and US is trying its best to leverage its support in Pakistan to fight terror. You must understand 90% of the Pakistani population supports terrorism as it equates it with freedom fighters - and whatever little has been achieved in containing Pakistan is quite creditable.
My Wife is a Petty Officer aboard the Cvn 68. Physco ass Jihads got another thing coming if they get anywhere close to that ship. The Nimitz is taking every oppurtunity to control outlying areas and secure the ship. They mine as well stay home and blow themselves up.