Total 1581 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Older >   >>
guruvayoor temple
by subramanya srikant on Jun 06, 2007 11:21 AM  Permalink 

pl let the traditions be. when it is being followed from ages why disturb them, politicians do anything to be in the limelightand Mr. V.Ravi, is also one of them trying to win the vote bank of other religious sects by raking up this matter. India is known for these form of rules and traditions, pl do not try to change them for the sake of a few people in the name of equality.

Tanthri's claim to have studied the Shastras
by Anand Iyer on Jun 06, 2007 11:20 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dear Tanthri, U claim to have studied the Vedas. R u aware of Mimansa principles of Interpretation? These r compulsory for any student of Vedas. This statement of yours is regarded by Mimansists as Dosha(defect) being illogical and self-contradictory:
"The problem was with Ravikrishna, who is the son of a Christian mother and thus presumed to be a non-Hindu.

As per the prescribed rites of the temple, we are supposed to carry out a punyaham when we know that a non-Hindu has entered the temple,..."
The basis of the tanthri's knowledge of ravi krishna's faith is only his presumption nothing else. Presumption of a fact does not lead to knowledge of a fact.

RE:Tanthri's claim to have studied the Shastras
by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Jun 06, 2007 11:22 AM  Permalink

Question is: does a xtian believe in the Gita, Mimansa?

You are a xtian convert, who is rasing these questions to disrepute the Hindu temple and priest, but never answering my question.

by Anand Iyer on Jun 06, 2007 11:27 AM  Permalink
Have u read the Bible-Old and New testrament? They do not meet the tests of logic stipulated by Mimansa principles. U know nothing about hindu/christian scriptures.See www.skepticsannotatedbible.com

by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Jun 06, 2007 11:30 AM  Permalink

Yes I have read those. CHRISTIANITY IS A LOWER LEVEL OF TRUTH. COnvert to Hinduism, and enjoy its rich pholisophy.

by Navaneeth Ramani on Jun 06, 2007 11:32 AM  Permalink
You are right i have raised about 4 questions to Mr.Iyer, instead of responding to that, he has been silent........ He is not a bold person and perhapps he can start his career in politics as that should be the best place for him......... There is a good respect for iyer's among the society, its because of these seperate pessimistic iyer's there is no unity among their community and that gives birth to anti brahminism......... These iyers are worst than our politician...........

by Dheeraj Akula on Jun 06, 2007 11:28 AM  Permalink

Mr. Vayalar Ravi's wife is a Christian.

So, their son is a Christian, as a son inherits his mother's religion.

A non-Hindu entered a temple. So, the regular punyaham has been conducted. There ends the matter.

Now, what is the problem?

by venkat on Jun 06, 2007 11:36 AM  Permalink
Could be wrong if the Son has converted to Hinduism. Then it is fine. If he has not converted explicitly, what you say may be right.

by Dheeraj Akula on Jun 06, 2007 11:45 AM  Permalink

But, did he convert to Hinduism?

by MJ on Jun 06, 2007 11:35 AM  Permalink
Moron Iyer is back again with his holier than thou attitude because he has nread the names of some scriptures.

When I perform Ganesha Chaturthi in my home, I dont allow Muslims and Christians to the pooja hall. MY HOME, MY RULES.

Similarly, Guruvayoor is a private temple, so private rules...end of story.

by Francis Josephkumar on Jun 06, 2007 11:29 AM  Permalink
Well said. It is not right to have acted on some presumption. Jesus says "Don't pass judgement on your fellow people, otherwise, you would be judged".
Let us leave such matters to Almighty Himself.

RE:RE:Tanthri's claim to have studied the Shastras
by MJ on Jun 06, 2007 11:38 AM  Permalink
Francis Josephkumar really? Then why does a woman does not become a Pope?
And why do all those priests SEXUALLY abuse children?

Why was Mary Magdalene not mentioned in the bible even she was the best apostle among everyone?

Why the christian crusade?

Any answers?

So Francis whoseeverKumar, keep your preachings to yourself and read some history before blabbering something here.

by Francis Josephkumar on Jun 06, 2007 11:43 AM  Permalink
Dear Brother in Christ,
Polish your language and learn some netiquette.
Best Regards Good Bye
Joseph

Why doesn't Yesudas becomes Krishnadas and enter any Hindu temple he wants?
by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Jun 06, 2007 11:19 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Why doesn't Yesudas becomes Krishnadas and enter any Hindu temple he wants?

Let him undergo a Shuddhi. period.

Khel Khatam, paisa Hajam.

RE:Why doesn't Yesudas becomes Krishnadas and enter any Hindu temple he wants?
by Anand Iyer on Jun 06, 2007 11:23 AM  Permalink
Bhaskar. Please quote scriptural basis for "Shuddhi". Your insistence of "Shuddhi" has neither any scriptural basis nor any logical basis.

RE:Why doesn't Yesudas becomes Krishnadas and enter any Hindu temple he wants?
by SAM KIM on Jun 06, 2007 11:26 AM  Permalink

there is something called "ACHAARA NIRNAYA"

why temples,mosques,church
by raja on Jun 06, 2007 11:18 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

remove all people from templs,churches and mosques construct schools without religion dependence and ger rid of poverty

religion useless idiotic practice imposed by
barbarians practised by fools
those who believe god is a fool and those who say i am a god is a barbarian

RE:why temples,mosques,church
by raja on Jun 06, 2007 11:27 AM  Permalink
r u from theni

by venkat on Jun 06, 2007 11:37 AM  Permalink
For you all periyarists, this is true. This could explain something which you talk.

AN INTERESTING CONVERSATION.

An atheist professor of philosophy speaks to his class on the
problem science has with God, The Almighty.

He asks one of his new students to stand and .....

Prof: So you believe in God?
Student: Absolutely, sir.

Prof: Is God good?
Student: Sure.

Prof: Is God all-powerful?
Student: Yes.

Prof: My brother died of cancer even though he prayed to God to heal
him. Most of us would attempt to help others who are ill. But God
didn't.
How is this God good then? Hmm?

(Student is silent.)

Prof: You can't answer, can you? Let's start again! , young fellow. Is
God good?

Prof: Is Satan good?
Student: No.

Prof: Where does Satan come from?
Student: From...God...

Prof: That's right. Tell me son, is there evil in this world?

Prof: Evil is everywhere, isn't it? And God did make everything.
Correct?

Prof: So who created evil?

Student does not answer.

Prof: Is there sickness? Immorality? Hatred? Ugliness? All these
terrible things exist in the world, don't they?
Student: Yes, sir.

Prof: So, who created them?

Student has no answer.

Prof: Science says you have 5 senses you use to identify and observe
the world around you. Tell me, son...Have you ever seen God?
Student: No, sir.

Prof: Tell us if you have ever heard your God?
Student: No, sir.

Prof: Ha

by Jeya Kumar on Jun 06, 2007 11:45 AM  Permalink
Dear Raja,

I am not from Theni, I am from Nellai Zilla.

why religion
by raja on Jun 06, 2007 11:17 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

there is n need of religion we can catch all hindu priest,muslim clerics,christian pasteur,pope,osama, and send them to andaman jail then we can live peacefully

RE:why religion
by sreejit steve on Jun 06, 2007 11:20 AM  Permalink
by "we", are you refering to vampanthi jholawalaas like yours truly?...when dogs get rabid, we quaratine the dogs, not the humans...got it,dumbo?..now you know who must be incarcerated...

by MJ on Jun 06, 2007 11:24 AM  Permalink
No need to politicians (especially Communist party and Congress party)

Please send these a-holes who consider Sonia as a Goddess to Andaman and we can live more peacefully than ever.

by raja on Jun 06, 2007 11:26 AM  Permalink
we cannot forget what congress has done to sikhs,srilankan tamils--they are real criminals then vhp/rss

Tanthri-answer these questions
by Anand Iyer on Jun 06, 2007 11:16 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

One of the slokas is verse no.29 of Chapter No.9 where Lord says:
"I am equally present in all beings. None is hated by me and none is dear to me". So in Lord's eyes all r equal. How then can u discriminate?
My questions to the Tanthri:
1. Have u read Bhagvad Gita?
2. Are You aware of the qualities that Lord requires his devotees to cultivate(see chapters 12 and 16 of Gita)?
3.Is the Krishna of Guruvayoor the same Krishna who revelaed the Gita?

RE:Tanthri-answer these questions
by Dheeraj Akula on Jun 06, 2007 11:18 AM  Permalink

Really intelligent questions???

by veera on Jun 06, 2007 11:31 AM  Permalink
Dear Iyer,

Please request all Muslims & Christians to Read
Bhagavatgeeta. Tantri is righ in his place.

RE:RE:Tanthri-answer these questions
by veera on Jun 06, 2007 11:32 AM  Permalink
*right

RE:RE:Tanthri-answer these questions
by Prasanth Varma on Jun 06, 2007 11:33 AM  Permalink
This is a joke..pl understand Thantri answering these questions will ot solve the problems in Gvr. Thanthri is mearely a post created in the pase vested with certain authorities rg how and when the rituals shd be performed. Who shd enter/ not enter, the decision had been with the King. Thatz why still Gvr board has Zamorin King as a member still.. and it is not the Thanthri who has put a board saying that non-hindus are not allowed inside. This is for the Govt to bring in the reforms - but they dare not as once the flood gates open they will invite anger from the vote banks!! Do u know the famous thrissur pooram donations mainly come from christians and muslims? Thiruvambady temple elephant manager is Mr. Davis?? But they all realize their limitations in the present situation and they do not create undue tension - here as a responsible citizen and minister, Mr Ravi shd hv enquired before doing this act - personally I believe all believers shd be allowed to enter any religious place and offer prayers.
Even now many a temple in Kerala has the erstwhile rulers as trustees- Sabarimala has Pandalam raja/ Tripunithura & Pazhayannur has Raja of Cochin..as per the Devaswom manual cochin raja shd take decision in the mentioned temples rg all rituals, festivals etc. Thantri is merely an executive!!

by MJ on Jun 06, 2007 11:22 AM  Permalink
Mr.Iyer (true to your types who think they are holier than thou) before you say things against Tanthri because you have read a few verses consider this-

Gita also says "karmanye vaadhikaaraste...."
...the Thantri is only doing his job. He did not write the rules.

Thank you for your time Mr.Moron Iyer!

by Dheeraj Akula on Jun 06, 2007 11:21 AM  Permalink

Since the Lord said that he is present in all beings and since he is omnipresent, we need not visit a temple. Right?

When you want the Tanthri to read and follow Bhagawad Gita, I suggest you too do the same. Don't go to a temple. You worship the Lord sitting wherever you are. And, you advise Mr. Vayalar Ravi also to read Bhagawad Gita and avoid visiting a temple. He can do the feeding ceremony of his grandson amidst chanting of Bhagawad Gita. So simple!

What do you say?

Why someone from lower caste cannot become Thanthri
by tim timtom on Jun 06, 2007 11:09 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Why someone from lower caste cannot become Thanthri. Who made this rule?

RE:Why someone from lower caste cannot become Thanthri
by Venkatesh Sekhar on Jun 06, 2007 11:42 AM  Permalink
Anyone can become tantri. There is no bar!! Onnly thing is that, he / she should be well versed with Veda and other rituals, formalities etc.

If you apply for a job of peon in office you are asked whether you know to read and write english, know how to file paper? etc.,

Can anyone without any basic knowledge of nursing become a Nurse in an operation theater??

A person who is illiterate can become a teacher??

A person who does not know simple mathematics can he become a trader in a MNC company??

Like mentioned above basic qualification of knowledge of Veda and procedure for performing such ritual is very important and above all the person who wish to be such Priest should follow certain self disipline and self containment like eating habbits, (in my knowledge many of them dont eat even vegetables which are grown under the soil (like onion, garlic, potato, beetroot etc). They dont eat outside (even in other people house "parannam"). If a person can keep away from smoking, drinking, flirting, eating non-veg and practice Veda and ritual performing metods for 20 odd years can "EASILY" become Head Priest.

All the best

by sreejit steve on Jun 06, 2007 11:15 AM  Permalink
hey Xtian,tell me why is it that none of your pope's is ever a non-caucasian? no black pope?...not even an asian one...or a woman as a priest...
you may heard the saying--people living in glass houses...

by SAM KIM on Jun 06, 2007 11:14 AM  Permalink

For your kind information, in karnataka SC people are trained in rituals and are appointed by govt. for example if u want enlighten please visit famous Chamundeswari temple in MYSORE.

by veera on Jun 06, 2007 11:15 AM  Permalink
What is your Problem????????

How Christians opted out of temple..
by on Jun 06, 2007 11:09 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I am from Cochin and I heard that all christians were allowed to enter in temple in the past. This practice ceased once they assembled for "Udayamperur Sunnahadose" (This place is 12 km fm Cochin)- a high level christian meeting centuries ago, and declared themselves as non-believers in the rituals followed (I will not use Hindu rituals as I believe Hinduism is a way of life and not a religion) in the state of Cochin. Even in Kerala all children born are without religion unless they are inducted into one - and one question remains, how can a member of Christian/ Muslim religion follw idol worship? then they cease to be a christian or muslim!!

RE:How Christians opted out of temple..
by SAM KIM on Jun 06, 2007 11:10 AM  Permalink

this is good one and timely post.

RE:RE:How Christians opted out of temple..
by tim timtom on Jun 06, 2007 11:11 AM  Permalink
Hallo Friend, do you really know what is idol workshop?

RE:How Christians opted out of temple..
by SAM KIM on Jun 06, 2007 11:19 AM  Permalink

hahahaha good that u gave a lttle peace of mind to TIM TOM.

RE:RE:How Christians opted out of temple..
by venkat on Jun 06, 2007 11:23 AM  Permalink
Please explain what your question means to convey. Are you ridiculing idol worship or Do you want to know what it is?

hinduism
by sethu on Jun 06, 2007 11:08 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hinduism is a violent ,intolerent religion meant for only brahmins..it does not teach anything good..only hate of other religions and lower casts...in another 100 years it will become a relgion wich will develop terrorist like islam..

RE:hinduism
by Prathap p on Jun 06, 2007 11:25 AM  Permalink
you do not understand anything about hinduism. Otherwise this much of conversion taken place by coersion and money , the hindus tolerated. If hindus are terririst feeling then see the temples converted to mosques in many places. Hindusism is a great religion fools like you will never understand

by SAM KIM on Jun 06, 2007 11:12 AM  Permalink

hahaha u r right.
u r the example. u have already become a hindu terrorist, who will kill hindus

by sreejit steve on Jun 06, 2007 11:17 AM  Permalink
hey nostradamus...you know you wont be alive after a 100 years, so you can blurt out any s**t you want...its true,some people are literate without being educated....i have met someone who matches that description...

by SAM KIM on Jun 06, 2007 11:24 AM  Permalink

Sir,
everybody cant be highly educated like u, i have not comented on u then y the hell r u bad mouthing.
If u r high IQ fellow go to that forum and coment. it is none of ur business to stop me comenting to the fellow reader. got it? if u start again bad mouthing iw ill also start ok?

by SSCD on Jun 06, 2007 11:30 AM  Permalink
Hinduism is a way of life not a way to worship. It has left that choice, of ways to worship, to individuals.

If it had to create terrorists, it'd have done so long long back. Count the genocides in the history of world and tell me how many of them were conducted by Hindus!

by venkat on Jun 06, 2007 11:25 AM  Permalink
Have you read all the scriptures of Hinduism and came to this conlusion? People thinking negatively will always see the negative things which is 0.1% compared to 99.9% positive things in all aspects of life.

by Bindu neelakandan on Jun 06, 2007 12:09 PM  Permalink
Somebody must have given you wrong ideas. Kindly let me know as to which are the religion that teaches u brotherhood, please enlighten me. If hinduism is violent no other religion would have flourished in India and u would not have spoken freely. If hindus are violent today, there are other reasons which I dont like to discuss. If hinduism has thought to hate other religions the Indian society would not have been secular. Since hinduism belives in and preaches the motto 'live and let live' ,the reason why all of us are living as Indians peacefully. Remember no religion preaches hatredness. Do U find peace in the west? oh that is why they are bent upon eliminating other religions by conversion/war. Then tell me who preaches violence? hatreadness? intolerance.
Well, u need through enligntnment about hinduism, Okay.

Comic Commies-beware!!
by sreejit steve on Jun 06, 2007 11:07 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

To all the left liberal wierdos...dont you dare fiddle with the matters of faith...you have your cuba and vietnam to do that...we will be happy to arrange for your immigration to these places...then you and achu mama can both smoke cannabis and whine about "class struggle"!

RE:Comic Commies-beware!!
by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Jun 06, 2007 11:13 AM  Permalink

These are NOT 'liberals' as you write. They never dare ask ridiculous, oppressive customs in Xtianity/Islam.

These are bunch of Xtian coverts and missionaries.

Muslims are NOT in this farce/

Total 1581 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Older >   >>