Gujjar- Go-Cow, Char-Herd/Feed. This community, is typically a feudal North Indian community like Jats, Yadavs etc. This community has historically had large landholdings, all through the ages. They had cows numbering 100s per family, with the richer ones having lakhs!! That they didnot build upon this illgotten wealth, which they procured when they attacked India is a fact. But this is not because they did not want the burden of knowledge. Till the time they could get by, they did not want to tax their brain. Then came communities, more powerful than them into India. First the Huns, (Who are the Punjabi Jutts), Pathan invaders, the English. Now, they are overwhelmed in the lands that these communities once ruled. The Punjabis dominate the economic landscape of Delhi, Haryana & UP. The army, which was earlier their refuge is dominated by Rajputs and Sikhs, Gurkhas. But this community is still, by no means poor! They still own & drive the largest number of buses, which run over people, Policemen who take bribes along with another Haryanvi community, Jats, and the people.......they dont love them. A large number of crimes & violent incidents involve this community. (They claim Gujarat is named after them). I am a Gujarati, but I can assure you one thing, I have nothing in common with "Gujjars".
One thing is assured though, this community will definitely be hurt badly incase they riot further due to the ill-will they have in all communities of North India.
RE:Gujjar Arson
by on Jun 05, 2007 01:01 AM Permalink
I am waiting when we have a nation of Scheduled Castes and tribes. %u201CWhen every one gets reservation then it is no more a reservation.%u201D One politician fuels a sparks to trouble another and who are the scapegoats? Naïve (Now I hate to call Indians naïve) Indians!!!! Only stupid people can remain naïve even after 60 years of independence. Shame!!! A common Indian is equally to be blamed as some selfish politicians. Some one can cheat you once but if this becomes a trend, then you are stupid.
" The only way to solve Hindu Muslim problem is Hindu Unity. The day Hindus become United, Hindu-Muslim leace will be achieved" - Sarat Chandra Chatterjee.
This preeminent Indian Novelist spoke thus in 1920s.
I think its even more important today to fragment Hindu society from castes and fighting in the open.
RE:'' The only way to solve Hindu Muslim problem is Hindu Unity. The day Hindus become United, Hindu-Muslim leace will be achieved'' - Sarat Chandra Chatterjee
by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Jun 03, 2007 10:53 AM Permalink
Like Gujarat, if Hindu of Uttar Pradesh were united and (say) brought BJP back with a thumping majority, most of the uncertainties of today would have been solved.
Its well known, by their sheer anti-BJPism, muslims to a large degree are formeting uncertainty in UP and thus in India.
One prominent Muslim leader from UP actually said this while discussing Sachar report in parliament: we will be happy if there is uncertainty in India.
These are the real revolutionary leaders who have worked hard to bring social justice in India. They should be rightly facilitated for their service to the nation. Gujjar agitation showed that people are awakened and want justice. Like down south, north should also come out of the clutches (already loosing the grip) of anti social minded self claimed meritorious backless but notorious people. It is very important that all the dalits and BCs should get come to the power to spread the fruits of independence. These great visionaries tirelessly worked for this cause. Now happily most of the states are ruled by the oppressed class people. Though the anti social elements tried to capture the power dividing the people in the name of religion, the attempt has been successfully foiled by these great leaders. Because, they have to depend on these original inhabitance of India to sit in power at the center. For example, BJP simply do not remember now a days Ram temple movement! And Common civil law, they do not even talk about it. Nobody knows what are their policies now a days except enjoying air-conditioned life. Vajpayee now a days, goes to Kullu-manali for drinking and enjoying something! Adavanis goes to attened RSS meetings wearing funny trousers..ha..ha..ha..You can hear just snoring(not roaring) sound from the den of Thackreys in Mumbai. All these things happened just because of these great leaders. These sorts of agitations are not unexpected but welcome change, though ant
RE:Award Bharat Ratna to Periyar, Karuna Nidhi, V.P.Singh and Arjun Singh
by Loan Shark on Jun 03, 2007 09:23 AM Permalink
why did BJP, an upper class brahmin-baniya party, make election promise to Gujjars to move them from OBC to ST? how is BJP diff from VP singh and Arjun Singh
by Surya Kiran on Jun 03, 2007 05:00 PM Permalink
We have seen in UP election how people embraced ( and Embarrassed as well) BJP. Now it is the turn of Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh & May be Goa.
by Loan Shark on Jun 03, 2007 10:02 AM Permalink
plz stop using uppercase ... it seems like you are agitated and shouting
BJP did make a promise to Gujjars .. you don't have the facts, or just can't accept anything against BJP.
people did move from BJP to congress in the last lok sabha election ... you need to weake up now ... vajpayee is no longer the PM
RE:RE:RE:Award Bharat Ratna to Periyar, Karuna Nidhi, V.P.Singh and Arjun Singh
by Loan Shark on Jun 03, 2007 10:52 AM Permalink
I am WHAT because you are NUTS
by Loan Shark on Jun 03, 2007 10:13 AM Permalink
so, why hasn't vasundhra raje spoken that no promises to grant ST status to Gujjars were made during the assembly elections?
by Loan Shark on Jun 03, 2007 10:20 AM Permalink
you said "because, it will cost her vote of gujjars. "
so, vasundhara raje is playing vote politics ... very typical of BJP ... why can't they come out clean and say ... screw you gujjars, we will not give you any reservation status ... you be like everyone else ... the country has suffered because of reservation and you aren't getting anymore freebies.
why can't your hero BJP claim to be party to uphold upper caste interests - its vote bank. why the double standard?
RE:RE:Award Bharat Ratna to Periyar, Karuna Nidhi, V.P.Singh and Arjun Singh
by Loan Shark on Jun 03, 2007 10:17 AM Permalink
again, plz stop using upper case ... unless you are really agitated.
Deals are part of the political process ... are you really naive or just pretending to be
by Loan Shark on Jun 03, 2007 10:09 AM Permalink
fair enough!! so, you do conceed that congress won more seats than BJP in the last lok sabha elections. I didn't say or imply anything different.
by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Jun 03, 2007 10:11 AM Permalink
>>fair enough!! so, you do conceed that congress won more seats than BJP in the last lok sabha elections. I didn't say or imply anything different.
Yes, Cong WON 7 MORE SEATS THAN BJP. AND VOTE PERCENTAGE WISE, DIFFERENCE WAS 0.15% (IN NUMERICAL TERMS, IT WAS LESS THAN 45 LAKH ON A VOTER BASE OF 500 MILLION)!
BUT AT WHAT COST?
BY MAKING DEAL WITH MAOISTS IN ANDHRA.
BY MAKING DEAL WITH ISLAMISTS IN ANDHRA!
BY RESURRECTING ULFA IN ASSAM.
WHY COUNTRY WILL CONTINUE TO PAY FOR CONGRESS'S POWER HUNGER?
Now, Kolis, Vagharis, Paradhis want ST status back
D V Maheshwari
Bhuj, June 2: Looking to make their way back into the list of Scheduled Tribes this election year, community leaders of three communities from Kutch %u2014 Koli, Vaghari and Paradhi, traditionally considered Congress votebanks, alongwith the new Congress district party president, Shankar Sachade, have asked AICC chief Sonia Gandhi to raise the issue with the State Government.
The leaders met Gandhi during her recent visit to the State and were assured of immediate action, said Sachade. The leaders also submitted a detailed memorandum to Gandhi and urged her to direct the State Government to recommend their case to the Centre.
%u201CThe Kolis, Vagharis and Paradhis are local tribes. On the basis of a survey, the Central government had included them in the first list of Scheduled Castes and Tribes, which was issued in 1951. However, the BJP-led NDA Government delisted them in 2003. The BJP Government in State issued a notification in this regard after passing a resolution on September 5, 2003. The communities were not even given a hearing. What%u2019s more, they found out about their non-ST status through newspa
by Surya Kiran on Jun 03, 2007 05:04 PM Permalink
When V.P. Singh implemented Mandal Commission report, your same Banyia Party was parpt of that Government and didn't distancned from the Goverenment due to power greed. On the other hand, withdrew supoort on Ram Mandir thinking that it will be more beneficial for party.
by Loan Shark on Jun 03, 2007 10:07 AM Permalink
you said "Its congress who played caste politics "
congress was always a party of the lower caste .. just as BJP is a party of the upper caste. Congress seeks lower caste votes and so makes promises to them. It is well within their standards - they consider lower caste as their vote banks.
BJP, on the other hand, practices double standards. They are an upper caste brahmin-baniya party and try to play games by wooing muslims (as attempted by advani in pakistan) and lower caste.
Why can't BJP keep its upper caste image and be content with upper caste votes? why do they risk losing their assured votes and run after lower castes who consider BJP as oppressors.
RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:Award Bharat Ratna to Periyar, Karuna Nidhi, V.P.Singh and Arjun Singh
by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Jun 03, 2007 10:29 AM Permalink
you don't know BJP then ... BJP is an upper caste party ... having a few muslims and a few lower caste candidates is a deception to put up a secular mask on an obviously communal face, but they are an upper caste party
WHO IS COMMUNAL? WHO IMPLEMENTS SHARIA? HAAJ SUBSIDY? NOW MUSLIM RSERVATION KNOWING FULLY WELL IT WILL BE THROWN OUT BY THE COURT?
ASK ANYBODY FROM EUROPE/USA, THEY WILL LAUGH AT YOU.
FACT OF THE MATTER IS: CONGRESS AND PSUEDOS ARE MOST COMMUNAL AND CASTEIST PARTY.
MUSLIMS, AS USUAL FOLLISHLY BEING USED AS VOTEBANK LITTLE REALISING BLIND OPPOSITION TO BJP BY THEM IS NOT IN THEIR GOOD.
I GAVE EXAMPLES OF OBC/SCHEDULED TRIBES. WHY DON;T YOU DISPUTE THOSE FACTS, INSTEAD OF PROPAGANDA OF BJP AS HIGH CASTE PARTY?
by Loan Shark on Jun 03, 2007 10:49 AM Permalink
BJP's Narendra Modi's govt. massacred muslims in gujrat ... that is the biggest example of BJP being communal. How can you forget one of the biggest tragedies of human rights??
by Surya Kiran on Jun 03, 2007 05:31 PM Permalink
By BBC it is 2000 muslisms but you hahve to beleive the figure given by Fanatic's Government
by Surya Kiran on Jun 03, 2007 05:29 PM Permalink
Bhaskar you idiot give the indpendent stats, again the figure was given by the Hitler Government who done all this. They are shameless people misguided the public by giving false figures. Why don't beleive figure given by BBC and telling the people false figure given by MODI Government.
by Surya Kiran on Jun 03, 2007 05:30 PM Permalink
By BBC it is 2000 muslisms but you hahve to beleive the figure given by Fanatic's Government
RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:Award Bharat Ratna to Periyar, Karuna Nidhi, V.P.Singh and Arjun Singh
by Surya Kiran on Jun 03, 2007 05:37 PM Permalink
Bhaskar read new clip and decide who has the face mask including you:
May 26, 2007 00:17 IST Stung by reverses in recent UP polls, the BJP on Friday announced a slew of measures to woo minorities, particularly Muslims, in rural areas in a big way. The party has set up a national working committee for the minorities. For the first time, a national convention of minorities will be organised in September this year, BJP leader Shahnawaz Hussain told reporters here. "It has been felt the correct image of BJP is not disseminated among the masses. People still think this is not the party of Muslims. We want to clear this misunderstanding," Hussain, who is party's minorities wing president, said. Unveiling the campaign plan, he said under
RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:Award Bharat Ratna to Periyar, Karuna Nidhi, V.P.Singh and Arjun Singh
by Surya Kiran on Jun 03, 2007 05:05 PM Permalink
They only belieivie in extremisms
RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:Award Bharat Ratna to Periyar, Karuna Nidhi, V.P.Singh and Arjun Singh
by Loan Shark on Jun 03, 2007 10:25 AM Permalink
you don't know BJP then ... BJP is an upper caste party ... having a few muslims and a few lower caste candidates is a deception to put up a secular mask on an obviously communal face, but they are an upper caste party
by Surya Kiran on Jun 03, 2007 05:38 PM Permalink
May 26, 2007 00:17 IST Stung by reverses in recent UP polls, the BJP on Friday announced a slew of measures to woo minorities, particularly Muslims, in rural areas in a big way. The party has set up a national working committee for the minorities. For the first time, a national convention of minorities will be organised in September this year, BJP leader Shahnawaz Hussain told reporters here. "It has been felt the correct image of BJP is not disseminated among the masses. People still think this is not the party of Muslims. We want to clear this misunderstanding," Hussain, who is party's minorities wing president, said. Unveiling the campaign plan, he said under
by Surya Kiran on Jun 03, 2007 05:18 PM Permalink
Out of two, one has already left the party and deliberatly and shamefully you didn't mentioned the name of Bajpaiji, Advawani, Sushma Swaraj, Rajnath Singh.
by Surya Kiran on Jun 03, 2007 05:38 PM Permalink
by Surya Kiran on Jun 03, 2007 05:09 PM Permalink
Good Idea, next time I will quotoe from the Google sites scratching the BJP skin and you have to beleive because you beleive Google and recommended.
by Surya Kiran on Jun 03, 2007 05:07 PM Permalink
How callous are you-? On so many threads you were abusing Teasta and to prove your point you are using her name. Thaali ka Baingan-?
by RSSmental on Jun 03, 2007 08:46 AM Permalink
Continued... These sorts of agitations are not unexpected but welcome change, though anti social elements will cry as country has gone to down. Seeing all these things Private industries, a few in Judiciary are in jitters that what will happen to them in future!! Even loud mouthed anti reservationists started loosing the faith in Youth for equality and judiciary that they can do just nothing protect theie vested interests. Agitation from Yadavs, Jats are already in the pipe line. So it is an eye opener for those who want to become obstacles on the way of social justice, otherwise it is difficult to prevent the loss of innocent lives including anti-reservationists.
I WELCOME HIS APPEAL.But wonder if it was with Sonia's PERMISSION. Mr PM with due respect y ou have been most defunct primeminister India had in its history. These fires are creation of your government Resevation policy. I will not be surprised if there is interreligon roits demanding Sachar comittee recommendations. Sonia and left has undone all good at social integration by Mahatam Gandhi. PM IS AN ECONOMIT and he knows the importance of investment in education and health and in encouraging growth.He knows he has faield miserably but want to shift attention like a willy politiacin on inclusive growth and affermative action without scientific basis. Mr PM Inclusive growth is not POSSIBLE WITHOUT GROWTH AND Affermative action without scientific basis on basis of caste or religion will be divisive and disastrous
RE:PM APPEAL
by Loan Shark on Jun 03, 2007 09:28 AM Permalink
you are absolutely wrong .... this is entirely a creation of BJP and congress stands to gain from this. Sometimes I think that BJP, a party of the educated and the learned has zero political skills. Advani screws up in Pakistan when he praises Jinnah. Then, they oppose privatisation while being guilty of doing the same when they were in office. They raked the office-of-profit issue only to have Sonia resign and return to parliament with a higher victory margin. In Rajasthan they promised ST status to Gujjars knowing well that this promise does not fit well with their upper caste image.
BJP lacks political accumen and inner discipline. Their leaders act stupidly and without thought and make themselves a laughing stock.
congress's situation is so disastrous today, it donot have guts to send rahul gandhi, its future leader, to Goa, Punjab, Uttarakhand for election campaign.
because, rahul will not be bale to deliver.
bjp will stand out because ITS THE ONLY CADRE BASED PARTY IN INDIA (OTHER ONE IS CPIM).
CONMGRESS THUS GETS WIPED OUT BECAUSE ITS NOT A CADRE BASED PARTY.
RE:PM APPEAL
by Loan Shark on Jun 03, 2007 09:56 AM Permalink
LOL ... advani did screw up in pakistan ... didn't he have to resign from his party chief's position (or something, I can't quite remember).
2. Like it or not, Sonia runs the Congress party and she leads it like Indira Gandhi did - better than Rajiv Gandhi
3. Congress has CM in Haryana, HP, AP, Arunachal, J&K, Delhi, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya ... how many CMs does BJP have?
4. HP, Delhi and J&K are not in north - right?? maybe going to a madarsa wasn't a good idea afterall ... LOL @ bhaskar chatto.....
1. ADVANI SAID THE SAME THING TWICE BEFORE IN INDIA. ONCE WHEN HE WAS DY PRIME MINISTER. AGAIN, ON A PODIUM HE SHARED WITH MM SINGH (pm) ON CONDOLENCE MEETING OF RAMAKRISHNA MISSION HEAD.
2. SONIA EQUIVALENT OF INDIRA OR EVEN RAJIV?:)-
CONGRESS LOST SEATS STEADILY UNDER SONIA. IT REACHED JUST 115 SEATS UNDER SONIA'S LEADERSHIP.
3. I SAID, CONGRESS RULED "MAJOR STATE". aRUNACHAL, DELHI, HP ARE NOT TREATED AS A MAJOR STATE. IN MAHARASHTRA, ITS FULLY DEPENDENT ON PAWAR WHO ALMOST MADE A DEAL WITH BJP. AFTERALL, WE SAW WHAT HAPPENED IN LAST MUMBAI ELECTION!
4. CONGRESS WILL LOOSE HP IN NEXT ELECTION. ITS A FOREGONE COLNCLUSION.
Arjun Singh & V P Singh are celebrating the caste wars in India and expecting it to spread in all states. They heartily think that the of DIWALI and HOLI are very near in future when they will be able to observe the fire of reservation and holi of bloodshed across whole of the country.
In three years the UPA has triggered two undesirable shifts. First, in reopening the reservations issue to consolidate its minority vote, the Government has unleashed aspirations which can only be met through savage social disruption. The Gujjar disturbances in Rajasthan may be a portent of things to come. Second, by unleashing a wave of profligate and non-productive welfare schemes, the Government has diverted resources away from infrastructure - the building blocks of the future. At the same time, it has put economic populism back on the agenda. It now seems certain that a future coalition will manufacture yet more welfare schemes that will end up imposing an unacceptable burden on the productive sectors of the economy. The explosive blend of adventurism and instability could well nullify all the gains India has made in the past 15 years.
In fact there must be no reservation of any kind. The people who are scanned out to be deprived must be given free food, free cloths, free books, school-college fee exempted and such facilities but the competition of any kind must be fair, entrances, appointments must be fair and without any reservations, then only the society can improve. The expenditure on such free facilities must be made out of the money which is being spent on these thug and rogue politicians. The facilities of these politicians must be curtailed. Gandhiji had envisaged the reservation for only 10 years after independence but Congress for want of votes continued it and now has pushed our country in turmoils.
Gujjars are ST only in HP. In J&K, Gujjars are muslims. And Muslims from valley resent them being ST and think its an act by Indian State to divide Muslims.
Gujjars were denied ST by successive Cong Govts based on criteria set. Why will they be made ST now?
the whole OBC reservation should be reworked. Its not working. And make no mistek, now growing mumber of groups will resort to violence.
RE:Gujjar
by DilipSoni on Jun 03, 2007 12:55 AM Permalink
There should be reservation based upon the geographical and caste and religion based.Everybody should get equal opp in all areas.
RE:RE:Gujjar
by Sameer Bhagwat on Jun 03, 2007 08:31 AM Permalink
You mean there should be a reservation only for the people of Hindu religion , when religion should not be the criteria then why caste based reservations becuase CASTE is the only speciality of Hinduism...you freaking hypocrite you wanna use Hinduism upon others in a secular state.