Total 1510 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
supremacy
by Aris on Jul 07, 2007 11:30 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

My hypothesis that there is a correlation between the groups carrying the stated sentiments may appear far-fetched only because no study or survey has been done to check this. I have expressed my opinion, which comes from my experiences talking to and interacting with different people on these topics, that there is an underlying belief system which is common to all these groups- a sense of supremacy, fear of other kinds of people, and lack of tolerance towards opposing views. People who harbor these beliefs do not find it difficult to admire a person like Adolf Hitler- consciously or subconsciously. Compounded with the problem of lack of formal education of WWII crimes, it becomes even easier to admire him. While it is very natural for many in India to harbor anti-Muslim feelings, anti-reservation sentiments, and admiration for Hitler (which are seemingly innocuous and disparate), I find that such feelings are based on certain innate prejudices (those that I listed above) which when harbored for too long can become extremely dangerous- as seen from pre-Nazi or any pre-fascist movement. Those who harbor these sentiments are not necessarily evil- but without their conscious knowledge they are feeding into those elements that could be evil (in future). Not knowing the consequences of harboring, nurturing and promoting certain prejudices could (sometimes) lead to catastrophic consequences, as seen from history.
Most fascist movements started with a growing sense of nationalism,

RE:supremacy
by Aris on Jul 07, 2007 11:32 AM  Permalink
a sense of pride in what they or what their ancestors were, an effort to consolidate religion or culture, with sporadic skirmishes with other kind of people who do not conform, a need to prove one%u2019s patriotism by following certain agreed symbols, and later on fueled by the elite who define the whole movement through philosophical texts giving the needed legitimacy. There are signs of all these in the present India, and were there for quite some time now. What is new and therefore looks ominous is the convergence of other necessary ingredients to make this fascist movement a reality- a growing sense of supremacy amongst middle class and academia that is buoyed by booming economy; the urgent need to identify oneself closer to pristine religion because of rapid urbanization and globalization; the growing lack of tolerance towards opposing views; the all pervading instrument of media which airs its opinions to masses; reinterpreting history to suit the present needs of supremacy; redefining and reinventing ancient texts to position Vedic Sciences as an alternative to modern science, etc. At present, most of these sentiments look very confined to certain organizations like VHP, BJP, Bajrang Dal and its associated groups. Actually, most Hindus do not subscribe to the activities of VHP, BJP, Bajrang Dal, etc. They may not necessarily be aligning themselves with these groups either, but some of them are definitely sympathetic. By condoning their acts, or by staying silent on their ac

RE:RE:supremacy
be good for all of us. If it is indeed right, is it not better to take right precautions instead of brushing it aside?
All I am saying is- 'Hey! Wake up India! Don't harbor these sentiments and fuel them thinking it will be harmless. Such seemingly harmless sentiments in the past have led to great tragedies. If you do not curb them now, in another generation or so, we will have bloody war on this land unlike anything we have seen in our history!' What did we learn from Partition of India? I am not really sure. The only man who predicted how tragic the surgery would be, we shot him right away. Will people of India react to certain event as a monolithic rock? Yes, they can. The Indian masses can suddenly ignore all the apparent differences and amalgamate into distinct entity to take on another entity. Our history showcases many instances of such sudden joining of forces that resulted in blood baths. The forces that unite them will be the slowly brewing set of prejudices.
In a democracy, such prejudices and hatred cannot be curbed with force. Instead, it is the responsibility of the people itself to learn from history, teach kids of history and install mature institutions to ensure continuity of its people/nation/culture/religion/etc. Onus of learning and accommodating to set a precedent, unfortunately, always resides on the majority. Forcing and shoving certain ideals onto minorities will only ensure that they hate us forever. Glorification of the past while deliberately avo

RE:RE:RE:supremacy
I thought Hitler was necessary in this discussion because that%u2019s what Germans did- they harbored and condoned each of Nazi actions, and contributed to WWII and Holocaust by being silent. The seeds for tragedies were sown many years before, through harboring such seemingly innocuous sentiments by ordinary and normal people - starting from creating new philosophies, nurturing growing nationalism, curbing opposing views and thoughts, accusing certain people for all evils, etc. Who in post-WWI Germany would have predicted such a calamity would befall on whole world? Who in pre-Nazi Germany believed they would actually be running a concentration camp? There were signs everywhere but nobody chose to read them. Those who did were first ignored and then brushed aside and later on were shot dead or asked to leave.
I could have easily taken any other example- that of Stalin, that of Mussolini, that of Mao, that of Khmer Rouge, or of the recent genocide in Rwanda. Hitler, his Nazi regime, the Holocaust and WWII represent the best examples- they are gigantic in proportion and also most well-known.
I agree that a blogger has to be responsible. Having said that- should I refrain from writing my thoughts just because it will put us Indians in the negative light? Questioning one%u2019s prejudices helps. And while we are questioning ourselves against all yard-sticks, we need not be worried as to how others think of us. Questioning ourselves is only the first step towards building a mature state

Difference between Good & Bad
by Shanu on Jul 07, 2007 11:30 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

It is very sorry state for educated muslims to enter into such a shameful act. But there is always a difference between Good & Bad. Like a Good Muslim and Bad Muslim, Good Hindu & Bad Hindu. It is not necessary that all the Muslims educated and non-educated should be treated the same. There are Muslims who are ready to die for the country, who are dying for country, and this is not the way to treat your fellow men.

But Bad should be dealt harshly and punished severly so that it does not repeat and harm the humankind. I hope all the members who have posted their opinion will agree with me.

RE:Difference between Good & Bad
by Ravi kumar on Jul 07, 2007 12:00 PM  Permalink
u r absloutley right but why good muslims are not giveing hint to police.Eg (Samiullah, the secretary of the Jamia Hazrat, Tippu Masjid, said the brothers were barred from entering the mosque after they picked up a quarrel with the other members. Khafeel used to enter the mosque without wearing the traditional namaz cap and tried talking the members into joining the Tableeghi Jamaat) He would have been informed before. ravikumar From Mumbai.

Secularist
by Amit Ashtekar on Jul 07, 2007 11:30 AM  Permalink 

Let us see what Bandookwala, Batliwala, Mithiborwala, Nafisa Ali, Teesta Setalwads & other secular chapters like Mahesh Butt & Praful Bidwai have to say now. I know they will run the old audio cassette about the Parbhani & Malegaon blasts. Just yearning for someone like Narendra Modi who can whip up these so-called secularists with belts.

Good Excuse to cover up!!
by Manoj Mehta on Jul 07, 2007 11:29 AM  Permalink 

Gujrat & other riots has become a good excuse for these criminals to carry out their terror activities & media like fools are falling in their traps.

If riots & killings of Muslims are the root cause then why Sikhs & Kasmiri Pandits are not engaged in these terror activities despite suffering heavily previously in riots. In that sense all Hindus should be millitants now to take revenge of the Muslim rules for 200 years in 15th & 16th Century.

IT IS NOT U OR ME CHANGE IT IS QURAN WHICH WILL CHANGE THEM SOON
by SURYAPRAKASH TATA on Jul 07, 2007 11:28 AM  Permalink 

ISLAMIC FUNDAMENTALISM AND fanatics in it, no other religion cna change them but only QURAN will change them. today ALL the good taught by MOHAMMAD gone and now islam is its last days of existance. the attacks and all were the result of frustration. remember SHIRDI SAIBABA WHAT HE SAID on conversion long back in 1900"will you change your mother?" so once human kind understands that all paths leads to one goal and one god and ways were different then the problems were over. UNlike other faiths, unfortunately ISLAM DOES NOT ALLOW ITS PEOPLE TO KNOW ABOUT OTHER FAITHS AS THEY KNOW THAT NONE OF THE OTHER RELEGIONS REALLY PREACH BAD ABOUT ISLAM WHICH THEY WERE PROPOGATING. FOR EXAMPLE IF U GO THROUGH HINDU SCULPTURES, VEDAS, THERE NEITHER GOOD NOR BAD WAS MENTIONED ABOUT ISLAM. ONCE THAT FREEDOM WAS GIVEN TO PEOPLE IN ISLAM, WORLD PEACE WOULD BE ATTAINED.
"SABKA MALIK EK HI" SAIRAM

motivation
by pavan kumar talluri on Jul 07, 2007 11:27 AM  Permalink 

What motivated Aurangazeb kill his own brother, since his(aurangaeb) brother liberal to hinduism, against the kilings of hindus in the period of Aurangazeb..

RE:Need Another Hitler
by Jerry Kurian on Jul 07, 2007 11:34 AM  Permalink
And then let's all live as per the whims of this hitler... Wow what a solution...

An eye for an eye will make the whole world blind...

RE:Need Another Hitler
by farooq ali on Jul 07, 2007 11:29 AM  Permalink
SARDAR JI BARA BAJ GAYE KYA??? @ ON

time to think for a solution
by manoj Sharma on Jul 07, 2007 11:26 AM  Permalink 

anything happens, and there is a blame game.
there are hundreds of reasons to defend ourselfs for the mistakes we do. but actually we know about it but dont dare to accept it and improve it

everybody of us know where the problems lies?
why terrism is there in India?
why peace loving people of india are turning towards violence?

every terrist has a cause to defend whatever he is doing against humanity.

now in this case see if an educated person can be brainwashed, then think about the others who actually don/t know the facts.

i think rather than thinking about the problems now it is the time for solution.

brainwashed with gujarat
by Balamurali Srinivasan on Jul 07, 2007 11:24 AM  Permalink 

this is expected. what is the connection between gujarat and london.glasgow. another attempt to link things.

Hello All
now mush & co succeeded in bringing a indian in to his terror plots and thus deflect world attention and pressure from him and he is positioning himself as a leader (like as if there is no choice) for western people by storming mosque and this also will help to counter his opponent Pak. Chief Justice. see so long this radicals hold up in mosque for years and suddenly this guys wakes up..too hard to beleive.

Total 1510 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>