An outsider comes and does such a nice work, when will our historian and politician comes together and make a truly India. How long we will fight against each other? Francois has done his job now we Indian should learn something from him and call themselves and Indian not a Muslim or Hindu or Christian
RE:Image of our history and culture
by Farrukh Nizami on Feb 16, 2007 02:05 PM Permalink
But irony is that even before calling ourselves hindu, muslim or christian we take pride in calling ourselves Gujarati, Marathi, Tamil, Bihari etc. Unless we come out of the regionalism and communalism we cant fulfill the dream of One India.
Excellent effort. One should know history of thier own country and past, and we definitly learn from it. We have so many chapters in history which may not be to our liking, let this be one more, but truth shall prevail and give us insight. British ruled us, brutualised us, we study that dayin and out, are we hating them? SO what's the fear? Kudos for the effort
RE:Totally Disagree
by chinnu raju on Feb 16, 2007 01:55 PM Permalink
Come OOON..please accept the reality.. just 10000 people came with ghori... the number cant exponentially increase without forced conversion..
by Anindyaprasad Sensharma on Feb 16, 2007 02:08 PM Permalink
If Aurangzeb happened to be true to his religion then Mr. Modi is also true to his religion as per your argument. Before making comments one should study first. Bengal was under Muslim rulers like Sultans and Nawabs for nearly 400 years or even more. Ruthless and forcible conversion took place indiscriminately.
by Radhakrishnan V on Feb 16, 2007 02:05 PM Permalink
Jamey: Parts of Kerala (Malabar) was under Tipu rule till he lost to British. But, this fact does nt back the 90% theory
by jaydeep dalwadi on Feb 16, 2007 01:55 PM Permalink
For the authenticity go to Arab countries and ask for equal rights for yourself. You will come to know when they distinguish between you and them. What do you mean by "atleast aurangzeb was true to his religion". If this is then even the worst murderer on this earth is. Where it is written that destroy others temples and build your worship places on them? Mind you truth is truth even if you put it in coffin and bury it....it will find its way out......No body can stop it. And those like you will be lost finding your own self when you discover that you are actually baseless.
History is always based on fact, not fiction. The diabolical misinterpretation of Indian History at the hands of pseudosecular historians is the prime reason that we have emerged as the most historically ignorant race on the planet, in spite of being a part of a 5000 yrs old vibrant civilization. By the inane arguments put forward by some brainwashed Hindus; history should be debarred as a subject. Why teach the horrific history of Nazi Germany? Why teach the hypocrisy of British imperialism? Why teach genocide and racism? Why teach children tales of caste based discrimination; which were infinitesimally lesser than the barbarity of the Islam rule. Precisely, history has to be taught, the way it was, so that the Islamic self righteousness can be smashed to smithereens. Only then, can we expect reconciliation at all levels of society irrespective of religious barriers.
RE:Totally Disagree 90%
by Saurav Basu on Feb 16, 2007 01:50 PM Permalink
You mean to say that the true face of Islam is as despicable as was the barbarian in Aurangzeb. Go through the work of the great Islamic scholar; Al Beruni's Indica [written in the 11th century]; as he mentions India's strong aversion to Islam is evident from these lines Everything in India the reverse of what it is in Islam, " and if ever a custom of theirs esembles one of ours, it has certainly just the opposite meaning.
He continues; Mahmud utterly ruined the prosperity of the country, and performed there wonderful exploits, by which the Hindus became like atoms of dust scattered in all directions, and like a tale of old in the mouth of the people. Their scattered remains cherish, of course, the most inveterate aversion towards all Muslims.
by Anil Gopinathan Nair on Feb 16, 2007 01:53 PM Permalink
kerala's muslim concentration is in the northern malabar area, which can be attributed to the tipu sultans forced conversion and the mopilla rebellion which massacred and converted lakhs of muslims .
by prashant sharma on Feb 16, 2007 01:50 PM Permalink
you mean to say that since aurangzeb was true to his religion he was justifled in razing temples to ground and burning sikh guru teg bahadur to death? This emans you accept that this is the true ISLAM? Secondly please read your history again. You are anything but a history student. Read how Indonesia was converted to ISLAM and you will not be able to sleep at night. As far as Bengal is concerned, it has had a long list of Islamic Rulers and just for your information just wait for a few more years, there will hardly be any Hindus left in Assam and all neighbouring districts to BANGLADESH.
It IS a fact that not only aurangzeb, but almost ALL of the muslim rulers in different times in India were indulged in atrocities/partialities of varying magnitude against Hindus... With an exception of Tipu Sultan of Mysore. Even Akbar perpetrated cruelties on Rajputs of Rajasthan.. A fact GROSSLY condoned by today's Akbar admirers... BUT gone is GONE !! Todays Muslim population is not very well placed in the globalised world & lets all work towards comprehensive upliftment of all groups, Spread Tolerance,Mutual Respect& UNITY- Equality among aourselves otherwise the diaparity in status of different ehtnic groups may result in Civil War in our homeland 50 years down the line. After all, we all are Hindustanis!! how can the Nation progress if its own people are engaged in petty strifes?
RE:Let the History be Clear...& Future be Shining..!!
by Anil Gopinathan Nair on Feb 16, 2007 01:55 PM Permalink
tipu sultan was an exception in mysore in tamilnadu and kerala where he invaded , he destroyed lot of temples. In malabar area of kerala as well as tamilnadu , you can see the remnants of temples destroyed by tipu
I appreciate your efforts in bringing forward the facts to understand. After looking squarely at our history- the good and the bad,the evil and the pure, how are the facts presented by you are going to help our nation to move forward.
Sir, I really appreciate your efforts. Whether it is for good or for bad let the truth prevail. We need to learn how to handle with the truth not with false. I knew one of my history lecturer was praising Auranzeb as most tolerant and followed islamic principles as it is. He was mentioning that Aurangazeb was very genorous and donating good amouts from his exchequer to the poor etc blah blah... covering what he is to the core. Whatever it may your efforts to unearth the truth is highly appreciable.
This article is indeed thought provoking.Everybody has his own views and own facts to depict.As the part of the current generation,whom should I beleive.But indeed this article is a good example of the forgotten part of our history which may be turned into false facts for the next generation.Good one.
RE:RE:Thought provoking article
by Ashok on Feb 16, 2007 02:28 PM Permalink
A Punjabi and Sikh is now our prime minister, that must make you contented. Seriously, I am happy to be ruled by any Indian as long as they rule justly. By the way, I am a south_hell Indian, who has a particularly HIGH opinion of sikhs
by tanveer p on Feb 16, 2007 02:17 PM Permalink
Man wat r u talking about? People can do only what they are good at. It is true that sikhs play a significant role in our army..south indians play a huge role in the scientific establishment gujratis are excellent traders.etc. although these boundries are getting blurred and all indians are working in TCS the point is you can be patriotic in a lot of ways not just joining the army. The point of the article was to reconcile with history stop lying to ourselves and move on and look to a bright future You are just doing the opposite my friend.
by Jarnail singh on Feb 16, 2007 02:16 PM Permalink
thanks batra. happy to know that people still remind guru sahib. but do you know when is guru jis shaheedi divas. may you have forgotten too. do you know still their is no national holiday for gurujis shaheedi. no hindu sangathan remind him on that day. even then thanks
RE:RE:RE:Thought provoking article
by ded de on Feb 16, 2007 02:41 PM Permalink
if we have indeed forgotten it is not our fault. it is that of clever politicians who have engineered our education system ,then they engineered this tragic golden temple episode and delhi riots all with one thing in mind to divide our own people and weaken hindus and sikhs. in my cbse history i had learnt so little about sacrifices of sikhs . only came to know all about these after access to internet.think of all those indians who still has no way of knowing the truth. i think spreading these truth will be greatest service to the great gurus. jo bole so nihal, sath sri akal.
RE:Thought provoking article
by Jarnail singh on Feb 16, 2007 02:02 PM Permalink
Mr. Godbole it may be thought provoking for you but as sikh we know what aurangzeb did. when aurangzeb started converting kashmiri pandits then pandit kirpa ram went to guru tegbahadur sahib at anandpur sahib punjab. at that time guru decided that only if a big spritual personality sacrifice himself then only it can be stopped. guru ji thought it is a crime against humanity. at that time guru gobind singh his son at age of 9 says father who can be more spritual than you. guru tegbahadur himself went towards delhi to sacrifices himself. gurudwara sis ganj at chandni chowk remind us the sacrifice. Bhai gurudas wrote at that time "tilak janeoo rakha prabh taaka kino bado kaloo mein saaka. dharam het iti jin kari sees diya par si na uchri" and "guru tegbahadur hind ki chadar". near sees ganj gurudwar bhai mati das chowk remind us how aurangzeb tried to convert guru. when he refused how his beloved bhai mati das, bhai sati das and bhai dayala ji were brutally killed. aurangzeb not stopped here. he killed guru gobind singhs two son baba jorawar singh 7 year old and baba fateh singh too five year old too. "inhein diwaaron mein chinvaya gaya." fatehgarh sahib in punjab remind us this everyday. even after all that guru gobind singh wrote a jafarnama to aurangzeb and told him that whatever you did because you do not believe in muhammed sahib. if you would have been asali muslim then you would have not went to that low. but today as sikh we feel bad when our hindu brothers have totally forgotten the supreme sacrifice of guru tegbahadur sahib. so called hindu organisation never remind them on shaheedi divas. it may be because guru ji has sacrificed himself for human values and their are a few human being in world in real term.
by chinnu raju on Feb 16, 2007 02:21 PM Permalink
you informed several things unknown to many... BUT I DIAGREE that hindus have forgotten sacrifices of sikh gurus... not only teg bahadur ji but many of gurus made gr8 sacrifices we all are aware. Kudos to SHIVAJI who released all muslim women with all dignity after declaring them sisters whenever he captured places of sultans of deccan
by devdatt godbole on Feb 16, 2007 02:44 PM Permalink
Mr.Jarnail Singh,I have never and will never forget the supreme sacrifices made by our Sikh brothers.I have never supported Aurangzeb.I am sorry If my wordings have hurt you.I am from Maharashtra and from the Land of Shivaji Maharaj,hence we share the same feelings.My view was only in the angle of forgotten history and what the current generation is unaware of.It is upto the individual to view that matter as per his/her angle.My only view is History is the subject through which we can learn whats good and bad and make our next generation feel secure and free.
by praveen kumar on Feb 16, 2007 02:33 PM Permalink
we hindu's have never forgotten the supreme sacrifies done by the sikh community ... let us stay united to fight against the cancer which has destroyed india in the past and still contininuing in the present
by anand yni on Feb 16, 2007 04:51 PM Permalink
Perhaps that is one reason for there being no forcible conversion amongst Sikhs. In facts they were originally Hindus who started sporting beard and hair and possessing the five Ks. It is true that till recently the first son of many a Hindu family became a Sikh voluntarily. I do not know if the practice is prevalent even now.
by Anand Joshi on Feb 16, 2007 02:09 PM Permalink
I assure you,we haven't forgotten and will never forget sacrifices made bt Sikhs in order to protect India from foreign invaders.