Total 117 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
Mamata Banerjee is a curse
by Subhranshu Das on Feb 08, 2007 02:19 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Indrani being a bengali how can you write such an article which is so very misguiding to the entire nation.
Do you really think that so called people's person Mamata Banerjee gives a damn to the grievances of the peasants; she just wants a political mileage and nothing else. She has never been logical and has always been disruptive. When each and every state is vying for the investment pie to come their way then these stupid so called junata lovers are seeing evil nexus between the WB government and the Tatas. Now come on we have wasted enough time because of these whimsical politicians, its time that we all lend support to Buddhadev and make WB a progressive state, at least our next generation will then not have to travel outside the state in search of a better career opportunity.

RE:Mamata Banerjee is a curse
by bobby on Feb 08, 2007 02:36 PM  Permalink
Right subhranshu das, u r very right that we should lend support to westbengal laughing buddha( as now he is being called).Give me ur residence address (if u have own home/land) i will make it sell to an mnc if its in good area of location so that they can make it office or use it for their staff residence.Saying is easy.

by PUSHPAK CHATTERJEE on Feb 08, 2007 02:26 PM  Permalink
two things dear Subhranshu.The story is not of Mamata or her feelings towards the state,the whole story of Singur is for a group of people who does not want to sell their land in the hands of Ratan Tata.If thats the crime then the whole freedom fighting saga not only in India but all over the world is a crime.

RE:RE:Mamata Banerjee is a curse
by Kal Sam on Feb 08, 2007 03:17 PM  Permalink
Mr Pushpak,
When you say a group of people, please quantify the number and how much land they own. If it is less than 5-10%, would you feel comfortable? Would you like your son/brother going to other states and work there or like your son/brother to stay with your family and work in your own state? Would you not like , if a proper rehabilitation is being provided , we can discuss with these people to get the land and support industry? Do you support if those group of people sell lands to other people other than ratan tata? Why are you so against ratan Tata? Do you not aspire to be a enterpreneur one day ? If yes, when you want to create a factory that can directly/indirectly help many people, and some people oppose you simply you are a big name, then will that be right logic.

by RAHUL OZA on Feb 08, 2007 02:48 PM  Permalink
Mr. Das probably do not have time to analyze the whole issue or may be lacking the depth of understanding/intellectuality or even he may be short on memories like so called Kolkata based establishment sponsored color blind (who only see good with red flag, else all are curse for them). I have following question to Mr. Das and other enlightened progressive industry loving Bengalis opposing the singur agitation:
1. Being a Bengali does not mean you have to write in the favour of left in Bengal. We are living in a democracy and not in North Korea. Do you agree?
2. Don't you think Left parties want a political mileage by doing land acquisition in Singur and other places, without tender etc in the name of employment generation. If they are selfless then why they took so long to decide on industrialization?
3. Why they agitated once upon a time against computerization in bank (hope you remember those posters)?
4. Why they are opposing the privatization of Airports, after all that will generate more employment and improve infrastructure for much needed industrialization?
5. Why they are opposing the other land acquirement in other states while they are doing the same in their own state?
6. West Bengal being an India's 2nd most industrialized state in 1973 to being the 17th now, who ruled the states during these period - Don't you think Left presided over the sliding of Bengal in the darkness?
You decide and find the answer of these questions. I am sure once you find the answer; you will curse yourself for making such a irresponsible remarks like "Mamata Banerjee is a curse".

by Arup Palit on Feb 08, 2007 03:09 PM  Permalink
Good message. But one question "Does we live in a DEMOCRATIC STATE ? Is it called Democracy ?

by Subhranshu Das on Feb 08, 2007 03:53 PM  Permalink
Dear Rahul, I fully appreciate your comments and for the most part I agree with the same as well however just to give you a small back ground, I live in Mamata Banerjee's constituency and have also seen many of these so called junata daradi activist very closely, so please be convinced that they are not their to help either you or me. Also please be convinced that I am not a pro-left person but a pro-development person. I keep travelling a lot across the country and when I face questions like why should we go to WB when we do not know whether our workers will be available tomorrow or not thanks mostly to Mamata Banerjee you really have nothing else but to hide your face in shame. Do you have any idea how much compensation been offered to the people loosing their lands and compare these figures to the displaced farmers in the other states and then come back to the talking table. Mamata Banerjee has been MLA,MP, Union Minister and what not and yet there is nothing she can boast of doing any good for the state and its people. I saw your reference of the 1973 dark periods, taking no offence do you really think it should be tit-for-tat, since the left has done this then now these anti-people leaders should also now follow in the same line and shut off any development of the state and again take us 15 years backward from the other developed region of the country.

This is now or never for WB and all should join hands to see that we again take the journey towards becoming the cynosure of the rest of the country if not the world and can proudly say that we belong to the industrial-bengal and not the bandh-prone-bengal.

Bengal Bandh
by Murali Amara on Feb 08, 2007 02:18 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

It was very foolish business decision of the Tata group to opt for Bengal whn there are many other states which are very willing to give thm a red carpet welcome. Whn it comes to industrial investment, Bengal is the worst place...worse than Bihar. In Bihar, u have goons as the problem, who could be controlled if their masters (read politicians)have the will. In Bengal, the problem is the politicians themselves.

Bengal, at the moment, is clueless as to wht path to opt for... extrelemy leftist path or pro development path. Whtever path they opt, one thing is certain, the state is set to be doomed. Whn every positive minded Indian is talking abt development, liberalisation and making India one of the economic superpowers of the world, Bengal is doing everything possible to negate all the good efforts of the Indian industrilaists. No matter which party is in the power, the bandhs are the only means of protest there.

In my view, Tatas should not have opted for a politically fragile state like Bengal. Its a hell for industrialists. Even if they manage to open up their car making unit in Singur, who would guarantee the smooth functioning of the unit??? Bengal is known for its BANDHS. Its a place where only mazdoor union leaders can prosper and not the industrialists.

RE:Bengal Bandh
by Raja Basu on Feb 08, 2007 02:53 PM  Permalink
Mr. Murali Amara, it seems u r completely ignorant of current affairs. Otherwise would have known about the huge industrialization endeavor being carried out by the present West Bengal government, and the bright results that we r already getting. Just follow TV channels like CNBC TV 18, and read magazines like BUSINESS WORLD and BUSINESS TODAY. And will cme to know about the developments we have already made. For ur kind information, both WIPRO and INFOSYS have set up offices in WB, and Calcutta has already been marked out by experts as one the next IT destinations.

And ur audacity is such, that u have called WB to be worse than even Bihar.

U have said that TATAs should have invested somewhere else. Do u think that TATAs r stupids? Didn%u2019t they study the industrial scenario in WB before planning to invest here? That they decided to invest here is the proof itself that situation in WB is changing.

Yes, some stupid and blunt headed persons like u still perceive WB in a bad light. But nobody bothers about idiots like u think.

RE:RE:Bengal Bandh
by abby Das on Mar 12, 2007 05:07 PM  Permalink
Mr Basu,

It seems you are quite aware about the changing situation in WB.You have talked about Wipro and Infosys.Have you ever found out how many Bengalis worl there compared to the number of bengalis working in IT sector in Bangalore and Hyderabad?The number would come no where.

The main reason why tatas have come here to invest is the "secret Trade" done with the Govt and thats what making the other industries also interested to come here.For the last 30 years this leftist Govt opposed computers and English(NOW they are running after IT where these two are essentials) and have got cut money from the root of the society.Now they need it in huge percentage and have no other alternatives other than to do "Secret Trade".To bring in industries,no one has ever needed or shall need to lie to such extents.It is our badluck that there are few people who have been brainwashed by a part of the media and they are unwiling to see the reality.When police fires and kills common people at Katoa,our CM forgets to say "Do it now".When families die at the tea gardens our CM is too busy to have cofee with the industrialists.(He doesn't even know to what happened in the tea garden).It is a shame that we have a person who is double faced working as our CM.

by Murali Amara on Feb 08, 2007 10:43 PM  Permalink
brother basu pls mind ur words.. i can be nastier. i just expressed my views. u dont have to get hyper while criticising me.

development is takin place everywhr. even in Bihar. just tht i believe WB isnt the best place to do business considering tht bandhs are a norm thr rather than a last resort for the trade unions. and who can ignore the great mamata didi.

have a good day/night... n i hope u will read other posts n agree/disagree with others n not just start using language tht is uncalled for.

RE:Bengal Bandh
by Qamar Javed on Feb 08, 2007 02:20 PM  Permalink
does anyone know what is the price paid to farmers compared to market rate?

by Murali Amara on Feb 08, 2007 02:25 PM  Permalink
i wish tht was the issue here!!! who cares for the farmers??? certainly not the politicians... all this brouhaha is just to derail TATA's project.

'We want the nation by Singur's side'
by Porus Tavadia on Feb 08, 2007 02:18 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

isnt this the traditional way to demolish progress in west bengal. little surprise that while the rest of india marches ahead at 9.2% GDP growth, west bengal will be left behind.

all because vested interest dont want to see progress in that state.

i have not got any information, since the media have not highlighted this point. however, i am willing to bet my last rupee - that the farmland on which the tata plant is being made was well on the way to being barren on account of poor farming practises. i am also willing to bet that most of the farmers who sold the land to west bengal and tatas were already deeply in debt as the farming was not providing them the required income.

i ask - what has the so-called activists done to alleviate the plight of the farmers prior to this. and so, what right have they got to take the "high-stand".

i am sure that there is a very decent package for the farmers of singur, from the tatas to rehabilitate & redploy them through proper training programs in the planned factory.

so guys, stop looking at what the media and the activists are feeding you and try to think on your own steam for a while.

RE:'We want the nation by Singur's side'
by PUSHPAK CHATTERJEE on Feb 08, 2007 02:31 PM  Permalink
U lost your bet man.The farmland is barren!its one of the productive rice growing land in the country,with 2-3 rotation of crops every season.would you like to come down to Singur to have a hands on idea?

Have to Think
by ujjwal on Feb 08, 2007 02:12 PM  Permalink 

No...

Mamta tells to Govt do it but in not furtile land.

In w.B there is huge infertile land.Why not invest in those land?

why industry in good soil which are bank,food everything for many poor fermers and related some others.

Why the deal is not open by CM of W.B.

Why he hide all to the people as well as his Left front others members(like R.S.P,CPI...)

Think for fermers before growing industry in fertile land??

Do not misguide people
by ayan bhattacharjee on Feb 08, 2007 02:08 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

We r all with Tata and W.B. Govt. People like u can't stop industrilisation of W.B. Can u name any single land owner in Singur whose land is aquired for the Tata motors and not willing to give land.
It is Mamta who has only one M.P. in Lokshaba is fighting for existence in politics is making things worse. Try to be logical before u say anything.

RE:Do not misguide people
by zunil p John on Feb 08, 2007 02:19 PM  Permalink
If there is no protest why order 144 in all these months?
Why they prevent Medha patkar? Is she a big threat?
Why they prevent media people? Are they also attck police?
Why they prevent writers and other people from reaching Singur?
So the thing is "something is rotten".
My question is simple... Why CPM is opposing allocation of land to Industry in Andhra, Maharashtra and other states.
CPM is the biggest oppertunist.

by Qamar Javed on Feb 08, 2007 02:36 PM  Permalink
u r wrong my friend, the issue is not industrialisation or something. no farmers protested when reliance acquired land. why? simple because they were given the right price of their land. same is not with bengal. how would u feel if u have a land , only land worth lakhs of rupees and have to sold for thousand under pressure?

by on Feb 08, 2007 02:29 PM  Permalink
sorry, bhatta u r not lokking at the actual problem u r talking like a cpm cadre, it is not Mamata who is protesting farmland acquition, the poor farmers are protesting againist it. do not set aside the problem ofland acquition that way, why the farmland? why not fallow land? why only cpm is supporting it? not RSP not CPI not FB though they r part of the govt. if govt takes your land on which u r residing and gives money and u r said to reside in a rental house for the rest of your life u will agree?

Song of Singur
by Parminder Singh on Feb 08, 2007 02:05 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

West bengal need investment in industries more than other states as it has lost in the race during last 25 years or so. The project of TATA small car scale can change the face of its economy as well as faith of industry to invest in the state. nowhere in India it is possible to get 1000 acres of land without any objections. But the thing is that the land owners should be properly compensated in real terms keeping in view the future interests of landowners also. Mamta Banerjee has her own axe to grind in the Singur movement. Her political life has got elixir that she needed the most.

RE:Song of Singur
by Hebbar R on Feb 08, 2007 02:15 PM  Permalink
Hello,

The idea expressed is right not just for WB but infact for the whole of India. But with this project there are two flaws as is seen from the reports :-
1) There was no need for parting with fertile land for an Industrial project.
2) A State Govt should not intervene in aqusation of land for a private project.

Singrur
by rohan patil on Feb 08, 2007 02:04 PM  Permalink 

East India Company in India was established in West Bengal. Since then till date many other states have progressed and WB has been lacking back.

Again recently with the Tatas putting their car plant, they are being resisted by the locals. With this behaviour Industrial development of the state shall remain the same. Even states like Bihar shall go ahead of WB.

Politics F#@$@
by on Feb 08, 2007 02:03 PM  Permalink 

As we are paying attention to politics, and keep on watching the dramas whatever they are doing, they will do the same forever. They won%u2019t let the nation to grow.

singur
by Jayesh Bhowmik on Feb 08, 2007 02:00 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

It seems only that the main task of the opposition is to oppose any moves by the govt. the chief minister had invited the opposition leader for talks but it seems she is not interested. bengal needs industrialisation rapidly and if violence continues investors will look into other states and its bengal that will loose and not the communists.

RE:singur
by Hebbar R on Feb 08, 2007 02:18 PM  Permalink
Mr. Bhowmik,
For the Communist parties in WB, the shoe is on the other foot. What ever you have said of the opposition at WB is also being done by the Communist Parties in the Centre.

let go TATA ...
by Anupam on Feb 08, 2007 01:54 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

West Bengal does not deserve investments if this is the attitude. There are several other progressive states in the country that will understand the advantages of industrialisation !

RE:let go TATA ...
by morpheus thyrux on Feb 08, 2007 02:04 PM  Permalink
I truly agree with what you say. Bengal is caught is the warp of time and it will be! The Bengali people are laid back and just sing, watch cricket and football, do "adda" and talk of their culture and literature, while doing nothing productive. I am happy that the ruling party is getting back in the same coing to what they have been protesting against - industrialisation! Let them also understand how it is to be on the other side!

RE:RE:let go TATA ...
by kajal chatterjee on Feb 08, 2007 02:23 PM  Permalink
We are not against Industrialization and we have full support for Budhha but not for people who are creating chaos at Singur and people like Morpheus who dare to make lewd comments about Bengalis. Your comments only reveal your culture.

RE:RE:RE:let go TATA ...
by Srijeet Chaudhuri on Feb 08, 2007 03:01 PM  Permalink
Kajal.....U have a better and concise way of expressing my thoughts about MORPHEUS!!People like Morpheus are only good for making MORONIC comments and proving nothing except his own foolishness. I feel sorry for the parents who gave birth to a MISBEHAVED MORON like Morpheus.

by Srijeet Chaudhuri on Feb 08, 2007 02:20 PM  Permalink
Sounds like a thousand MORONS expired and then a fool like MORPHEUS THYRUX was born.I do not know whether you really hail from any part of India or not, your comments on Bengali people show nothing but your stupidity and ignorance.There are thousands of people who watch cricket & soccer (rather soccer is watched by the whole globe), enjoy music, take part in intellectual discussions and YES they explore their own culture. If that seems to be laid back to a racist(may be ethnocentric), I would say THAT YOU ARE THE MOST USELESS & LAZY person on earth. All you do is bark and howl over the internet at a time when whole India is busy with work. This shows what a BIG LAZY MORON is alive on the rediff website who does nothing except posting messages.Let the Govt. & inhabitants of Bengal handle the situation, AND ALL YOU NEED TO DO is just SHUT UP!! IS THAT CLEAR??? If not please keep quiet and don't meddle in affairs to which you are of no use...........

by on Feb 08, 2007 02:06 PM  Permalink
TATA should pay market price to farmers. Since TATA's interest has increase the price of land itself at Singur, TATA should pay the new market price.

TATA bought Corus for twice the price than its market capitalization last year and paid about 4 bn $ more than their first offer.

Why cannot TATA pay about 50-100 crore more for land to the farmers?

Let there be free market forces, and CPI-M state government be neutral mediator to protect rights of both parties rather than enforcement of land acquisition.

Farmers should have a choice to sell their land to the highest bidder, or not sell their land at all if they so wish.

The framework at Singur is incorrect and against the rights of the farmers there.

by Jayesh Bhowmik on Feb 08, 2007 02:13 PM  Permalink
Tatas cannot meet 7000 farmers whose land has been taken. Then middleman comes in and they take away the major share. Here the Govt played a good role to pay back the farmers by Bank Cheques and more over keep the ownership of the land by leasing out to Tata only for industrialisation purpose.

by abhijeet singh on Feb 08, 2007 02:00 PM  Permalink
industrialization no where mean eating up the cultivable land, its an issue about TATA's demand and Buddha's supply. let them get some other land elsewhere. why that piece of land only. because TATAS see long term goals there

by Jayesh Bhowmik on Feb 08, 2007 02:09 PM  Permalink
Where more than 70% of our land is in villages some fertile land will go for agriculture.More over acquiring 60000 acres of land for indusries means only 0.2% of wasting fertile land.Bengal is still numero 1 in many areas of agriculture in our country.Those land owners whose land has been acquired had been paid more than 8 lac rupees per acre and there is no question of depriving the farmers.

RE:RE:RE:let go TATA ...
by on Feb 08, 2007 02:38 PM  Permalink
good, just by paying 8 lacs rupees do you think govt has taken care of them. 80% people will spent the money within 5 years, what will hapeen for their children's future. rate of interst will reduces over times, rate of interest in bak deposit was 12% 10 years ago, now it is 8%, but prices have gone up three times. do you think they will survive in long term with just 8 lacks rupees. yours is a bogus logic. why dont u give your house to the govt and live in rental appt.

by Jitendra Srivastav on Feb 08, 2007 02:06 PM  Permalink
You are right. It's only Bengalis and their political thoughts who pushed West Bengal at least 30 years back in terms of development like Bihar where Mr. Yadav and party has pushed back Bihar at least by 50 years.

Jeetu

Total 117 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5