Competition was closer and the playing field more level in the regions section of fDi%u2019s contest, with the Indian state of Tamil Nadu edging ahead of Australia%u2019s New South Wales to claim the title Asian Region of the Future 2005/06. Tamil Nadu took first place in the all-important category of best FDI potential.
As investors such as Ford, Hyundai, Nokia and, most recently, BMW have discovered to their delight, Tamil Nadu has managed to avoid or mitigate problems that dog other locations in India, such as infrastructure and energy failings. Through pro-active and business friendly government policies, the state has harmonious industrial relations, a matured business culture and abundant skilled manpower.
Things should only get better: several new fly-overs and by-passes are under construction that will ease traffic congestion in heaving Chennai, and an %u2018IT Expressway%u2019 project will widen the main access road to that city%u2019s thriving software cluster. This hints at Tamil Nadu%u2019s real secret weapon: Chennai%u2019s IT corridor employs nearly 50,000 people, and this number is set to increase to as much as 90,000 when some of the major IT companies investing there get their operations up and running.
RE:ASIAN REGION OF THE FUTURE:
by Seenu Subbu on Feb 13, 2007 09:37 PM Permalink
Sure. More FDI to Tamil Nadu, please. Stop all those unwashed masses coming to Bangalore. Oh, and all those industries, all those jobs, and all those people! Where do they get water to wash their rears? Sheeesh, they need MORE Cauvery!!
RE:RE:ASIAN REGION OF THE FUTURE:
by chakrapani kalluri on Feb 13, 2007 10:55 PM Permalink
seenu, (i wouldn't dare to address you dear!) thanks for being stupid..... are u meaning to really say.. please give water to TN( anyway who cares what u say!!!)? Or are u being just naive in being unable to put up a good argument. so u realize that probably the peolple of TN require the water for lots of purposes ( including washing their rears!!) and also subconsciously accept this fact. But with your immense folly blindfolding your judgment all you end up is putting forth your dirty ideas and deep frustrations like umpteen other 'great' bangaloreans. If a tamil is proud of his culture let him be, so whats are your problem. are you not proud of your culture? if so why all this? if you can't say something sensible atleast shut up and let others wonder if you are stupid rather than prove them right right away.
RE:RE:RE:ASIAN REGION OF THE FUTURE:
by clan on Feb 20, 2007 12:23 PM Permalink
u are the only one who is brainy in this forum....all other are stupid......
u uncultured idiot.....dirty tamilian......u fu**** Ba***** come here begging for jobs and u talk all possible words about kannadigas......u bloody chu*****.
by ccc on Feb 14, 2007 11:06 AM Permalink
Its good to see more jelousness on Tamils. That means we are growing.
In this forum, I have placed tons of messages which up helds Tamil culture, language and capability.
The only answer I got from Kannadigas is jealousness, If you please realy think your great, please give some valid point as what I gave rather than abusing Tamils.
RE:RE:RE:RE:ASIAN REGION OF THE FUTURE:
by The Lion on Feb 18, 2007 12:37 PM Permalink
Yes! Yes! Yes! You see the restlessness and jealousness because of their incapability. And what to the most apes can do, it should be understood.
...evem utter like sindi, gujarathi, bhojpuri etc where from kannada and their lands where given by this apeas. Feverishhhhhhhhhhhh! When fact opened up in front.
by Kalai Selvan on Feb 14, 2007 07:05 AM Permalink
Great Tamilians will never beg for anything.They are on TOP of the world. It is the kanadigas who are begging for everything all the time ,water included.
by tk on Feb 13, 2007 03:08 PM Permalink
Tamils are not begging for water, Cauvery is a basic right to Tamils. Thats why it is accepted by Cauvery tribunal and we got a favourable verdict towards us.
From your words, I can see the jelosness of you against Tamils. In that why I'm happy.....
by Kalai Selvan on Feb 14, 2007 07:08 AM Permalink
U r not even able 2 compete locally ,even as labourers. Nobody wants to employ you even in your own state!
RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:ASIAN REGION OF THE FUTURE:
by Mahesh Sampat on Feb 17, 2007 09:50 PM Permalink
Hey Mr Clan.Are U a clan or a Clown? If u don't have anything sensible 2 say keep u're BENGALURU mouth shut! Don't waste space rubbishing others. U don't even have the guts to reveal u're real name & have 2 hide behind CLAN.That says it all!
RE:RE:RE:RE:ASIAN REGION OF THE FUTURE:
by clan on Feb 20, 2007 12:20 PM Permalink
yes i do agree with u that v are not getting construction work bcos when u tamilians are there to do it why should v bother to do that work......
just through money on u dirty tamilians and u will come like dogs to do any kind of jobs.
RE:RE:ASIAN REGION OF THE FUTURE:
by thiyagarajan ramachandran on Apr 15, 2008 02:09 PM Permalink
hai dogs, ur state employers had not effecient fellowships to do any single job with you. so they decide us(tamils) to come and do that job. u shut urself and kindly try to learn from us how to work.
RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:ASIAN REGION OF THE FUTURE:
by Kalai Selvan on Feb 14, 2007 07:13 AM Permalink
Hey Amar kumar.. Tell me which state you are from and I will bring all the dirt about you and your leaders out.
by tk on Feb 14, 2007 12:32 PM Permalink
Amar Kumar, the word 'Kumar' itself a pure ancient Tamil word, meaning is 'youth fellow', The tamil good Murugans another name is Kumar.
In Kannada also has the same meaning, it went to kannda from Tamil.
So please change your name as it is in stinking Tamil(according to you).
Any "water sharing" solution to the Cauvery dispute among the southern peninsula states will always appear unfair to one or more states involved. Politicians are playing to their constituents and stirring up emotions by projecting the tribunal award as a victory for one and as an injustice to the others. Instead, the focus should have been on "water management" to bridge the availability and demand.
During the SW and NE monsoon months, is there no discharge of excess water into the Bay of Bengal? In the 17 years that the Cauvery Water Dispute Tribunal has been deliberating on this issue, many small reservoirs could have been built in Karnataka and Tamil Nadu to store this excess discharge and improve availability.
Why are water requirements being projected for 2-3 yields per year of water intensive crops like paddy and sugarcane? Agriculture experts could have been consulted on crop selection and crop patterns to optimize water needs for cultivation, while preserving farmer incomes.
The irony is that the further downstream you go along the Cauvery, the greater is the demand being placed on the river which has led to this untenable situation today. Take the case of the average farmer in Kodagu district where the Cauvery originates. There is no irrigation scheme for farmers here, and they rely directly on the monsoon rains. They have learned to be happy by raising just 1 crop/year. But as you go further downstream to other districts in Karnataka state, farmers are not happy with growing even 2 crops/year and want more water for irrigation. Next, there is the case of Bangalore. The city's unbridled growth in the last decade has placed a severe strain on all infrastructure, not just water resources. Tanks and lakes have been drained and converted to sites for property development. This has badly affected aquifer recharge and ground water levels in the area. And finally, when you go further downstream to the districts in Tamil Nadu, farmers want water to grow 3 crops/year! Why are these unreasonable demands being placed on the Cauvery?
There must be an integrated water management plan for the sustainable existence of all people living in the Cauvery basin area. Unfortunately there is no political vision, pragmatism, or statesmanship in India today to make this happen.
1. Indias Highest Civilian Award Bharat Ratna Recipients: Tamils are the highest morethan 35 than anybody else. 2. Very First 2 Recipients of Bharat Ratna are Tamils C.Rajagopalachari and Dr. Sir. C.V. Raman. 3. Green Revolution: This initiated and executed by 2 Tamils C.Chidambaram(Former Agri Minister), Dr. M.S.Swamynathan (Agri Scientists) 4. Nuclear Research: 1998 Nuclear test is initiated and executed by 2 great tamil scientists Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam(DRDO) and P.Chidambaram(DAE) 5. Presidents: Till now 3 presidents are from TN 6. President of Sigapore is a Tamil: SR Nathan. 7. Tamil is national language of Srilanka, Singapore and Malyasia 8. France & Canada are considering to make Tamil as their one of their official languages. 9. In Internet: Largets number of webpages available in Tamil only next to English. 10. BBC: BBC broadcast news in 40 languages,in which there are only 3 indian languages those are Tamil, Bengali and Hindi. 11.China's offcial govt radio broadcasts Tamil programs 2 hrs daily. 12.Tamil in Universities: Worlds renowned universities like, California, Yale, Haward, London, Brookln, Pennslyvenniya universities has Tamil Department in it.
Last but not least...
13.www.Google.com: which offers 5 indian languages (Hindi, Bengali, Telugu, Marathi and Tamil), there is no Kannada here though the Google office is there in Bangalore.
First try to include Kannada in Google then talk about your superiority....
13 points are just sample, If I list all, then sky is the limit.....
RE:Proud Tamils...
by truehonourmight on Feb 13, 2007 03:07 PM Permalink
First try to give jobs to Tamilians in TamilNadu.I have met so many tamilians who say they don't want to work in TamilNadu.This shows the sorry state of Tamilnadu.
RE:RE:Proud Tamils...
by tk on Feb 13, 2007 03:11 PM Permalink
In TamilNadu we gave job to not only Tamilians but also, Telugu, Kannadiga, Mallus and Northies and others.
Few of my Kannadiga friends also saying Karnataka sucks in infrastructure.
RE:RE:RE:Proud Tamils...
by tk on Feb 14, 2007 11:53 AM Permalink
According to your comment...
English is most dominated language in the internet, so all English people are illitrate, dummbos, uneducated and they are still in stone age IS IT?????
Amar Kumar, ur great in showing your inablility as ability... Keep up posting this kind of messages, so that the nuetral persons reading these messages will understand you and kanndigas better.
by Girish on Feb 14, 2007 06:07 PM Permalink
Gnl Cariappa and Thimmiah are Coorgis, whose language is closer to Tamil than Kannada. Raja Ramanna and Kasturi Rangan are Iynegars who speak tamil at home. The largest IT head honcho (Ramadorai) is Tamilian. Speaking of which, Infy CEO Nilekani is a Konkani. Wipro chief Premji possibly can't say more than beda, beku in Kannada. Many IT CEO's and senior honchos in Bangalore are Tamilian/ Northie. Most IISc scientists / profs are migrants from other parts of India. Kannadigas are a small minority even among the IISc students. Many other Kanndaiga celebrities you did not mention are also of varied stock: Tulu speaking (Aishwarya rai, Prakash Raj), Marathi speaking (Bhimsen Joshi and many other musicians), Tamil speaking (Masti, AK Ramanujan and many literateurs), Telegu speaking (M. Visvesvarayya), and so on.
If your definition of Kannadiga includes all those living in Karnataka at any time, then that's really great, and I truely appreciate it. But I doubt if many of them, especially the successful lot in Today's booming Bangalore, can speak Kannada.
Tamilians are one of the most globalized community, you find them in most every country living peacefully in their adopted homes. Them not learning the local language is an incorrect statement from an ill-informed person.
RE:RE:RE:RE:Proud Tamils...
by Anand K N on Feb 16, 2007 11:37 PM Permalink
girish Going by your logic, we are all africans since we all originated from Africa, right?!
by Anand K N on Feb 14, 2007 10:47 PM Permalink
Girish, Who said Konkanis, Coorgis and Iyengars are not Kannadigas? There are so many Iyengars in K'taka who speak mostly Kannada and the Tamil spoken is iyengari tamil which no tamilian can understand becoz it has 97% kannada, 2% tamil and 1% iyengari language. The iyengars have been in K'taka from 1053 AD much before the lingustic states were formed. Samething goes for Sir MV. He is a Mulkanadu brahmin. Mulakanadu telugu dialect is different from the telugu spoken in AP and has mostly Kannada words in it. These communities have been here for 100s of years. People in the border with M'rashtra speak both lang, hence Bhimsen Joshi speaks both. Looks like you have not interacted with these communities and have no understanding of the cultural fabric of K'taka.
Will you accept the fact that MGR is not a tamil, he is a malayali from colombo; jayalalitha is a mysore iyengar; vaiko is telugu kamma;rajini is a marati from bangalore; khushboo is a northie;the list can go on.
by Sundar on Feb 13, 2007 09:28 PM Permalink
Dear Amar,
I am not sure if you know about what Kamaraj and M G R had done in Tamil Nadu.
How Urs period is the golden period in Karnataka, Kamaraj's rule was the golden period in Tamil Nadu. Both were great thinkers beyong silly thoughts and they prescribed equality of the rich and poor to get education. Let us praise each other and say how good WE ARE. If I were the CM of the state on either side, I would have sat down and gone down to the drawing board to have an excellent irrigation system where the water spreads out to multiple areas and have the cultivation based on drip system which shall give more land with the current supply of water.. Hope you will also appreciate it.
by Kalai Selvan on Feb 14, 2007 07:32 AM Permalink
The FIRST Citizen of India Dr Abdul kalam is a Tamilian & that says it all! Every thing world wide is in Tamil& translated 2 Tamil because it not only has a world wide audience but it is also the greatest & most ancient of all languages.Even Singapore has Tamil as one of its official languages.There is no country in the world where tamil is not spoken!Get that into u're head first & stop cribbing.In the USA there is not even one state which does not have a Tamil sangam. And BTW Amar Kumar, was not a Tamilian, Veerappan screwing your Ar.e all these years & u wimps could only suck up 2 him & beg us to help! It required a Tamilian chief minister 2 help u guys out & eliminate him or he would have been raping u guys at will even now!!
by Kalai Selvan on Feb 14, 2007 07:17 AM Permalink
We have given enough jobs not only to Tamils but to kannadigas also that is why there are so many udipi hotels in Tamilnadu!
by clan on Feb 20, 2007 12:33 PM Permalink
bloody u guys dont know to cook anything apart from DOSAS.........so many udupi hotels are in tamilnadu so that tourists should not die in hunger.
RE:Proud Tamils...
by ravikiran on Feb 13, 2007 03:22 PM Permalink
Dear Mr.TK, I acknowledge your facts abt ur gr8 land and gr8 personalities. Let me also give u piece of input that "GOOGLE" is a search engine and is a gr8 help for duds like ur fellow tamil citizens for helping you to know about the other world apart from TN and it is offered in regional languages for people like who wud have problems reading it in english.From ur own example google's office in bangalore offering this in all other regional languages indicates our cosmopolitan culture.
by tk on Feb 13, 2007 03:41 PM Permalink
Don't talk like entire Google is a Kannadiga's property. The fact why Kannada is not included in Google is, there is no much Kannadigas working in google. Thats it.
Kannadigas population in google is lessthan 1%, whereas morethan 25% of Tamilians working there.
And one morething, though google offered 5 languages to search, the results sites will be in all languages.
by tk on Feb 13, 2007 03:43 PM Permalink
Ravikiran, your simply great in "Showing your inability as ability" I appriciate you....
by clan on Feb 20, 2007 12:34 PM Permalink
v are there to appriciate Mr.Ravikiran........v dont need u.....dirty slum fellow
RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:Proud Tamils...
by Kalai Selvan on Feb 14, 2007 07:39 AM Permalink
Who elected Great leaders like Deve Gowda & Co, who are taking your state back to the stone- ages! Ans: Imbecile wimps from karnataka like Amar Kumar! U R a frustrated lot!
RE:RE:RE:Cricket Battle
by Bala Sahane on Feb 13, 2007 02:19 PM Permalink
Dravid is MAharashtrain Brahman. His father belong to Tanjavur once Maratha Pricely State ( Descendent of Shivaji ruled Tanjavur.
RE:RE:Cricket Battle
by truehonourmight on Feb 13, 2007 02:51 PM Permalink
Rahul Dravid is a Tamilian!!!.What a Joke.Tamils stop wishful thinking.Go through below link,Rahul was born in Indore. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rahul_Dravid
RE:RE:RE:RE:Cricket Battle
by truehonourmight on Feb 13, 2007 02:59 PM Permalink
I not claiming that he is kannadiga,but he is Not Tamilian also.He married a Marathi girl in Maharastrian tradition Not in Tamil Tradition.
RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:Cricket Battle
by tk on Feb 13, 2007 03:04 PM Permalink
If one married a Marathi girl, then will he become Marathi? and all his past history will go?
If a Hindu marry a Christian, then will he become Christian by birth?
Just because he married a Marathi, don;t say he is a marathi.
RE:Culture Battle
by tk on Feb 13, 2007 12:27 PM Permalink
1. Indias Highest Civilian Award Bharat Ratna Recipients: Tamils are the highest morethan 35 than anybody else. 2. Very First 2 Recipients of Bharat Ratna are Tamils C.Rajagopalachari and Dr. Sir. C.V. Raman. 3. Green Revolution: This initiated and executed by 2 Tamils C.Chidambaram(Former Agri Minister), Dr. M.S.Swamynathan (Agri Scientists) 4. Nuclear Research: 1998 Nuclear test is initiated and executed by 2 great tamil scientists Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam(DRDO) and P.Chidambaram(DAE) 5. Presidents: Till now 3 presidents are from TN 6. President of Sigapore is a Tamil: SR Nathan. 7. Tamil is national language of Srilanka, Singapore and Malyasia 8. France & Canada are considering to make Tamil as their one of their official languages. 9. In Internet: Largets number of webpages available in Tamil only next to English. 10. BBC: BBC broadcast news in 40 languages,in which there are only 3 indian languages those are Tamil, Bengali and Hindi. 11.China's offcial govt radio broadcasts Tamil programs 2 hrs daily. 12.Tamil in Universities: Worlds renowned universities like, California, Yale, Haward, London, Brookln, Pennslyvenniya universities has Tamil Department in it.
Last but not least...
13.www.Google.com: which offers 5 indian languages (Hindi, Bengali, Telugu, Marathi and Tamil), there is no Kannada here though the Google office is there in Bangalore.
First try to include Kannada in Google then talk about your superiority....
13 points are just sample, If I list all, then sky is the limit.....
RE:RE:Culture Battle
by truehonourmight on Feb 13, 2007 03:09 PM Permalink
First try to give jobs to Tamilians in TamilNadu.I have met so many tamilians who say they don't want to work in TamilNadu.This shows the sorry state of Tamilnadu.
RE:RE:RE:Culture Battle
by tk on Feb 13, 2007 03:13 PM Permalink
In TamilNadu we gave and giving jobs to not only Tamilians but also, Telugu, Kannadiga, Mallus and Northies and others.
Few of my Kannadiga friends also saying Karnataka sucks in infrastructure.
RE:Culture Battle
by karthick gfgf on Feb 14, 2007 07:34 AM Permalink
Oh Great. thats why you people tried to thrash Girish Karnad and went to rampage his house? Very respectful people :-)
RE:Whos
by tk on Feb 13, 2007 11:37 AM Permalink
1. IT Industry is there in all part of South India and Pune, Noida, Mumbai, 2. Aero Space, Science, Technology, Reseach is there in every part of India. like BABA, Kalpakkam, etc. 3. Automobile & Manufacturing Industries: Chennai is Detroit of India. 4. Textiles: TN is exporting textiles all over the world and making India to compete with China. TN is globally competing.
Last but not least.
ASIAN REGION OF THE FUTURE: is Tamil Nadu According to Foreign Direct Investment Magazine.
RE:RE:RE:RE:Whos
by mallikarjun hallur on Feb 13, 2007 04:12 PM Permalink
your Dayanidhi maran & other ministers form tamilnad are working as a agent of Tamilnadu not like union ministers
RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:Whos
by tk on Feb 13, 2007 04:31 PM Permalink
Atleast they are working towards TN we proud of that and thats why we sent them to Delhi as Central Ministers to server TN,
But your so called great Deve Gowda, went to Delhi as PM and simply slept.
Even you kannadigas also join the Central minister race and get the good portfolio and work for Karnataka.
Ohhh God, I'm sorry, for kannadiagas its very difficult to select a CM itslef for 5 years, how can you think about more ministers in central government.
RE:RE:Whos
by The Lion on Feb 13, 2007 12:06 PM Permalink
60% goods export from South India is from TN. For conventional industries you need a lot to have a base there. But for IT & BPO it will work anywhere. You can support, you can program be from a patna or kanyakumari. And why B'lore is chosen bze of it ideal location in India, espcially in South India, not bze of being in the great land of KTA. India is same everywhere.
RE:whos smart?
by tk on Feb 13, 2007 12:44 PM Permalink
1. IT Industry is there in all part of South India and Pune, Noida, Mumbai, 2. Aero Space, Science, Technology, Reseach is there in every part of India. like BABA, Kalpakkam, etc. 3. Automobile & Manufacturing Industries: Chennai is Detroit of India. 4. Textiles: TN is exporting textiles all over the world and making India to compete with China. TN is globally competing.
Last but not least.
ASIAN REGION OF THE FUTURE: is Tamil Nadu According to Foreign Direct Investment Magazine.
RE:RE:RE:RE:whos smart?
by vasantha kumari on Feb 17, 2007 10:25 AM Permalink
Dear, u r right, u said tamilians are illiterate and beggars good (shame on hindu brotherhood0 i hope u understand the meaning of the bracket words, from now on u should not wear banian and lungi because i dont think u r aware the one u r wearing r those made by the beggars, if not those labourers u could never seen developed bangalore what u r seeing bangalore today touch ur heart and think what i said is right or not, never think so cheap of others let them do any work, if u people were hardworking why would other come to do, you work has a labouer, or in a field for one day u will know the value of sweat and hot sun, most of us work in ac and inside so we not know value of hard work. some 5 years on dharwad people started entering otherwise nothing to boast of most of the workers or tamilians and andhra people otherwise withour them u r zero. If u r little free take a paper and pen and do a small survey in ur area , do not go in hot sun for u will become dark find out who is looting money, who has made double storey buildings, who is financing money, who lives on interest, in the name of language who has made money some top leaders of some organizations i have seen in my eyes going and collecting haftas from roadside sellers, masons, 1991 riots many have looted tamilians property the bas cm bangarappa a cobbler caste bas from AP chooed the innocent kannadigas to loot , rape and kill the innocent people their hard earned money (beggar money) being looted in front of their eyes and forcebly taking property that was the beginning of seed sown by some powerful hooligansb otherwise kannada people are very good natured, even now i have most of my friends kannadigas not like low class they are vey cultured, educated, honest and loving without them or without me life is impossibe, we r gownders and they r gowdas that is the difference we r happy never caste religion has come in between us, so
pls i request u all to stop promting all false things first be an true indian,then a true hindu, that is enou.gh
when ge go abroad we say we r Indians. Within india we fight wah!
Let us stop this here and pls do not encourage politicians to take advantage finally we people are the fools.
Jain Karnataka mathe neenu rakshane madu thaye ellaranu.