First and immediate suggestion to both Tamil and Kannada citizens - Please understand that we are from a common origin and we possess very similar culture and ethos. Hence we should never abuse each other based on our resources strength or knowledge strength. All are equal citizens of this wonderful nation.
Practical and permanent solution to the Cauvery dispute - Both the States of TN and Karnataka have increased their cultivated land to lakhs of acres over the past years through several irrigation development schemes. Any further increase to this cultivated land must be stopped immediately as we have already achieved self-sufficiency in foodgrains production. For this purpose, the Central Govt should immediately appoint a new constitutional body called the Cauvery River Authority. This will totally manage the Cauvery river as a National Resource (like Indian Railways) which will belong to the country and not to any individual State. The respective 4 southern States will / should have no individual right or control over the waters and they cannot do any act arbitrarily.
This Cauvery River Authority will assess the water requirement of all the 4 States each month and each year and will provide water effectively to Karnataka farmers for its presently cultivated lands only. The balance of water will flow down to the lower riparian States of Tamilnadu and others. The Authority would also provide the water to these 3 States as per their minimum requirement and also based on the groundwater level in the delta region. The Authority will also take effective steps to introduce latest scientific techniques (like drip irrigation etc) to ensure that water is not wasted by any farmer in any of these States.
More importantly, each farmer or each State will pay a nominal cost for each TMC of water they receive from this Authority. (no precious resources should come free of cost !). This amount will go towards maintenance of dams, canals, anaicuts etc which have been built or to be built in future for proper maintenance of the River.
Look at the foreign countries as to how they cleanly maintain the rivers as their National heritage and look at how we Indians have cared for holy rivers like Ganga and Cauvery ? Can we take any pride in such shabby way of maintaining them ?
Cauvery is the lifeline and is also emotionally attached to both the States.........wonderful descriptions of the river are found in ancient Tamil epics (like Silappadhikaram) where Cauvery is depicted as one river which Never Fails even if the monsoon fails. ( Vaan Poippinum Than Poiyaa Cauvery).
Let the living Tamils, Kannadigas, Keralites and others understand that we only live for a few decades (of years) and we are going to pass away. But Cauvery lives eternally to be seen, enjoyed and utilised by our future generations. So let us put a full stop to this dispute/ debate and find a permanent and peaceful solution under the Cauvery River Authority of Central Govt which is to be formed as suggested by me.
Long live Mother Cauvery ! Long live the Pride of the Classical Language Tamil and Kannada. Long live the Nation-State mother India.
RE:Permanent Solution to Cauvery Dispute - My Final suggestion
by chakrapani kalluri on Feb 09, 2007 03:17 AM Permalink
dear vidhyadhar, some of your suggestions are really good . I hope they will be taken into consideration. The establishment of a Cauvery Authority seems to be a long term solution for this issue.
RE:Permanent Solution to Cauvery Dispute - My Final suggestion
by thejaswi mg on Feb 09, 2007 02:58 PM Permalink
Great Vidhyadhar.We kannadigas truely well come this.
PLEASE POST YOUR SUGGESTIONS ON THE SOLUTION TO THE CAUVERY WATER DISPUTE.
THS SUGGESTIONS SHOULD BE LOGICAL, IMPARTIAL AND SUPPORTED BY FACTS .PLEASE REFRAIN FROM ANY PERSONAL REMARKS ON ANY PERSON/COMMUNITY/AUTHORITY.
WE WILL COMPILE AND TAKE ALL YOUR SUGGESTIONS TO THE PRESIDENT AND ALSO APPEAL TO THE SC FOR REVIEW.
NOT ONLY THAT, THE TEN BEST SUGGESTIONS AS SELECTED BY OUR JURY WILL RECEIVE A CASH PRIZE OF Rs. 20,000 EACH.THE BEST SOLUTION GETS A PRIZE OF ADDITIONAL Rs. 50000.
THE LAST DAY FOR YOUR ENTRY IS 6:00 PM ist TODAY (FEB%u2019 08 %u20182007)
PLEASE POST YOU SUGGESTION AS A REPLY TO THIS MESSAGE WITH YOUR NAME & E-MAIL ID.
****AS AN OPTION YOU MAY ALSO INCLUDE YOUR OTHER CONTACT DETAILS (NOT COMPULSORY)****
RE:CASH PRIZE OF Rs. 20000 EACH FOR TOP 10 SUGGESTIONS ON CAUVERY DISPUTE
by Vidhyadhar rao on Feb 08, 2007 01:10 PM Permalink
I have given my Suggestion as above. I would be happy if something is done to solve this problem.
RE:RE:CASH PRIZE OF Rs. 20000 EACH FOR TOP 10 SUGGESTIONS ON CAUVERY DISPUTE
by Raja on Feb 08, 2007 03:50 PM Permalink
Will my suggestion be accepted. specify a time for kulukal and announce the reward to the selected person.
Wishing all competitors to suggest a opinion for the cash reward.
On behalf of all patriotic Indians, I appeal to Rediff to BAN this abusive and personalised debate between 2 emotional communities (kannadigas and tamils). This is unhealthy that each community is attacking the origins and culture of others, in the name of Cauvery. Request all the viewers to join me in "Stop the Debate " campaign.
RE:STOP THE DEBATE CAMPAIGN
by savitha ramasamy on Feb 08, 2007 02:03 PM Permalink
Thank you,Mr.Vidhyadhar.It is really paniful to see such messages between 2 indian groups after 60yrs of independence. Hereby,I also humbly request the editor to please delete all those messages that keeps adding fuel when read.....Please.....
RE:STOP THE DEBATE CAMPAIGN
by Srevats Subromanaim on Feb 08, 2007 11:29 AM Permalink
Well said Mr Vidhyadhar. You just read my mind. It is truly dishearening to see so many literate people letting vent to such hatred. There is no longer any sane discussion about Cauvery in this forum and I would like to reiterate the request to Rediff to step up and show some responsibility by stopping this discussion forum immediately. Srevats
RE:RE:STOP THE DEBATE CAMPAIGN
by Vidhyadhar rao on Feb 08, 2007 01:17 PM Permalink
Thank you Srevats for support. Also read my article on Permanent solution to cauvery dispute and let me have your comments.
Following these comments, i doubt if there is any integrity left....If educated people like you using the internet can get to this level....then god knows what will be the situation among the uneducated farmers!!
Now i can imagine why we were under the rule of britishers for 200 years....
And by EDUCATED, I dun mean LITERATE ppl. I found that a lot of ppl are literate but not educated after reading through this forum.
The author in the above paper has researched a lot and has suggested some ideas based on facts.
Some ppl are really funny here. One guy is asking me to stop power from neyveli and mettur to Karnataka. And he said he will bring electricity to banglore from the dams within Karnataka. Do I have the power to do that? And is that possible? Y these irrational and impractical comments. Y these emotions?
In my previous message I suggested ppl to look at Mekong's river agreement. I had some replies stating that this is a domestic problem and international agreements should not be used. But looking at the messages here, Man it is worse than India-Pakistan. Even India and Pakistan dun have that many probs in sharing Indus and its tributaries.
I think foriegn MNCs can make a good deal of money if they sponsor and telecast live a Karnataka Tamil Nadu cricket match.
RE:So much hate is not good
by Sibi Ravindran on Feb 08, 2007 01:26 AM Permalink
Again, I'm not justifying the tribunal or the numbers. I dun have the knowledge, experience and facts to just blindly support or oppose it.
All I ask is to reduce the hate in the minds of both kannada and tamil ppl.
i just saw kaveri basin in karanatak, its so less, why it such a big duss when u loose some water,? why cant you make such protests when rest of karnatak is ignored? like northeast parts of the state. people there are struggling to survive.
RE:what a shame,
by thejaswi mg on Feb 09, 2007 03:07 PM Permalink
Kaveri is not just a river.We are very much emotional on this.And in fact Kaveri water reaches about 1.5 crores of people in the total strenght of 6 crores kannadigas.Includeing drinking water for B'lore. How can you say that rest of karanataka is igonerd.When there was problem on water sharing between Maharastara and Karantaka(Allamati dam northern part).there was protest in B'lore too. So think and talk.dont post messages with half knowledge. By the by where are you from???
If we Indians are fighting with each other , why cant pakistan conflict with India on border issue . We are children under Mother India and i dont understand why we are fighting like this ...
It is not fair scolding each other . Hey friend named as commonman , think u have no work atall .. 20(hope i assume) out of 86 posts are urs. First stop blaming game man . Learn to protest peacefully
RE:Beautiful India
by Ramesh Mokkapati on Feb 07, 2007 07:50 PM Permalink
Well Said, but Commanman (note this is the way he spells his name) is really funny to read as he tries to spread his Tamil philosophy and lack of knowledge. I wish he can ever learn how to protest peacefully. To all the Fanatics on this site, don't worry this issue will not go away in near future and hope to meet you all again.
For all ppl talking abt origin of different kannadigas here is the link for origin of cauvery
http://www.cauvery.com/cauvery_river.html
As u ppl say if origin is in TN he is a Tamilian Origin of Cauvery is in Karnataka Just like u ppl who r crazy that those personalities are from ur side Kannadigas are also crazy that Cauvery is theirs..Thay don't mind sharing water with u when its available but not at the cost of their own people
RE:Origin of Cauvery
by sandeep on Feb 07, 2007 09:05 PM Permalink
If origin is TN, it does NOT mean he is a Tamilian. He may be kannadiga also, as his mother-tongue might be kannada.
Origin of cauvery may be karnataka..But it is a national resource..If a national highway starts from my house, I cannot say that the entire highway is mine. It belongs to this nation. Similarly, Cauvery belongs to India.
RE:RE:Origin of Cauvery
by raj on Feb 07, 2007 09:21 PM Permalink
sandeep,
bala is referring to one of the funny guy(commanman) in this blog, who was referring all tamil origins are tamilians..and kannadigas bashing should be extended to them as well.. Any natural resource belongs to nation, it doesnt mean that the people who have first right to use should be deprived from their rights..