Total 63 messages Pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >
Tiger population
by Mak C on May 04, 2007 07:40 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Serious question for Belinda....
Do we recognise that population control needs to be addressed as a multi-pronged approach to the issue? If humans increase they will encroach and collective intelligence, organised or otherwise is going to fall short of recording any positive results. Ultimately mother nature, the great leveler, will need to step in, pessimistic as it may sound, mankind as it is from current world affairs and our own desi inputs are rearing to destroy themselves thru divisive issues. As Hitler helped in the past(and I am not a nazi supporter) I guess we will have to depend on the Qaida Inc. with active support from Bush/Blair Inc and our own desi culture squad to help mother nature get results. Dreamer...yes, I am in one of those moods, but the question on recognition of population as an important ingredient in the failure of preservation programmes is genuine and control of population needs to go hand in hand with measures taken for saving, but not essentially restricted to the tiger counts within our country.

RE:Tiger population
by ankita pandit on May 24, 2007 03:00 PM  Permalink
I think we should immediately take some serious action about the conservation of the tigers of India as it is a national animal.

NGO
by Munish Raizada,MD on May 03, 2007 03:04 AM  Permalink 

This NGO working in area of socio-political justice needs a coordinator (m/f) to work in Haryana. Please visit:

www.TheIOL.blogspot.com

Protect National Mammals
by Bihari Lalu on May 02, 2007 01:49 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Lets protect National Mammals, principal among them, the "Human Being", particularly rural women, sick and needy children and old people. Animal protection can come later.

RE:RE:Protect National Mammals
by abhijit kulkarni on May 03, 2007 09:29 AM  Permalink
Bihari Lalu, you seem to forget that the country's population is more than a billion and there is no likelihood whatsoever for the homospaien to become extinct. Wild Life, along with the Tiger, is our national heritage and should have first priority. Humans have plundered Earth's resources too much, and driven many beautiful flora and fauna to extinction, because of their greed. Enough is enough. Population control of humans is needed so that other animals, who have an equal right to live, are given an opportunity to survive. Sick and needy children exist because we do not understand where to stop when it comes to reproducing our species. Human beings keep on reproducing without any sense of responsibility, as to how much pressure they are putting on Earth's limited resources. It is high time that young people like us realize what Sanjay Gandhi tried to do - control human population. Mrs Indira Gandhi strived so much and created this Project Tiger concept to save our national animal. But because of corrupt politicians, greedy businessmen, and unaware citizens like us, we are on the verge of losing our national heritage, our prized wild life.

Animals deserve much better treatment than what they are getting. Humans have misused the intelligence that God has given them so far - at least now, wake up! Otherwise it will be too late.

Well said, Sampath.

We are cruel than wild animals
by sampath on May 02, 2007 12:15 PM  Permalink 

The number of messages in this board proves that there are some people who are least interested in regular gossip of ash-abhi or shilpa-gere and are truly concerned about the extinction of the most beautiful cat in the forest which is unfortunately and shamefully even our national animal.
It's natural that animals kill other animals for prey but we humans kill humans for money, grudge, power and many more reasons and we don't even spare the marvelous gift of nature. we intrude their region, poach them for money, hunt them for fun, kill them for a feast.
We read news about these kind of issues, get fumed up and being helpless curse the politicians, government and the system.
We definitely want to aid and support for a good cause but do not know where to start and how to start.
We tend to get upset with these issues for some time but again get back to our mechanical life and divert our mind to any other fresh issue tomorrow morning.
We are talking about poaching in forests but an incident that occurred a few years ago will give you a picture of the worst and absurd situation that is prevailing in safeguarding these wild, yet helpless animals.
It is in the nehru zoological park of Hyderabad that a tiger cub named saaki has been skinned alive by a local rowdy sheeter. Imagine the agony of the animal which is the king of the jungle and a terror to all the other animals in the forest when its skin has been craped alive. Still tears roll in my eyes when this incident comes into my mind, not mind but my heart.
The rowdy sheeter was caught a couple of years back but the case is still pending.
I strongly feel that as a single person im helpless and cannot contribute towards the betterment of conservation of wildlife but as a group definitely we all can make a difference so i appeal all the fellow boarders and all the people who are genuinely interested in conserving the wild life to come forward and do something needful and useful.
We can start off with creating a group in any portal(website) and systematically plan something positive and beneficial.
I think the regular idea of bribery to get the work done in a govt organization should work even in this scenario. We can pool up a minimum amount every month and bribe the forest officials to do their work properly and efficiently that is to protect the forest.
People are requested to come up with solutions for the problem on a common platform.
let us give our education and civilization a sense of satisfaction and prove that we are not very selfish and care for the society too which becomes meaningless if the natural resources are damaged at this pace and threaten a serious biological and ecological effect to the coming generations.
I hope this long message of mine will make a difference at least in one mind.
Hoping for a positive change
My deep condolences for "saaki"
Sampath

Make Politician the National Animal.
by Rajesh Toppo on May 02, 2007 10:08 AM  Permalink 

This way we dont have to woory about the extintion of our National Animol...

We cant protect any thing - Bloody Selfish people
by True Indian on May 01, 2007 08:40 PM  Permalink 

We cannot protect anything in our beloved country. Tigers, children, women, farmers, the poor & down trodden no one. Because we are a selfish people who think only about themselves and have a vision that extends to the end of our noses. We rave and rant about corrupt politicians but we elect them again and again for our petty interests and based on caste & religions. We use the politicians to do our illegal work and then sell our souls to them. And have the audacity to call them corrupt. We the middle class are the most corrupt soulless class

...can't protect tiger
by pooja rao on May 01, 2007 01:00 PM  Permalink 

Privatise the national parks and let the private partners benefit from the tourism. Private parties now have incentives to protect the land, the tigers against the poachers.

..Can't protect wildlife
by Bodh Ramdeo on May 01, 2007 06:04 AM  Permalink 

There can be little doubt that many netas and babus are up to their necks in this poaching of wild animals, especially the 'exotic' varities -tigers, lions, elephants etc, etc. Without such wholesale connivance and collusion by these corrupt officials, such widespread destruction of wildlife could not have occurred. And that's why neither the state or federal govts have done nothing to prevent this wholesale destruction of its wildlife populations - there's just too much money and too many 'big' people involved in this illicit but extremely profitable criminal enterprise.

Who...
by ANIL SAMAL on May 01, 2007 05:20 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Reading an article at rediff and giving comment is very easy. Those who are killing tiger may be doing this cause they need some money to survive. They have no reason to think about what a national animal is. Or they even not know that tiger is our national animal.
But the mafia group that is giving them money to do so for little money, is the main culprit. And I have no doubt that the forest department and politician are getting benifit from them. They use these poor people to get huge benefit.

RE:Who...
by Praveer Kumar on May 24, 2007 03:18 PM  Permalink
Dear Anil.
this is the best and sensible response I read in the topic.
There is nothing related with the population of the human being with the population of the tigers at this moment of time, because most of the people do not want to stay in the jungle where the tigers live.
but ofcourse, population may be one of the reason but the main reason I think for the hunting of the tigers is to get the money out of it not to take or capture tiger's cave or their resident :).
so, the solution is here to give the employment and other sourse of income who are involved in the trade of the tigers dead bodies.

Total 63 messages Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >