Total 57 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2
Passport to Professors family
by jaison thomas on Apr 19, 2007 07:44 AM  Permalink 

With respect to the Profesor and his family , one can not understand why the govt . paying the flight charges of entire family. One can undersatnd the paspport and visa formalities are completed with hrs but this simply misuse of power by the TN govt. Here poor soliders who are fighting the kasmir is not getting any such treatment

Please stop all these nonsenses onec for all

Role of Media
by hanumanth naik on Apr 19, 2007 06:53 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

For those people who find this death different for other innocent deaths, please read the following article which is true. That would explain how media and other politcal agencies take advantage for some situation for their benefit. I strongly condemn what happend in Virginia but also feel the same for other deaths at home country. Because of the stong US media which created big new, Indian media are taking advantage of it. At the same time of Virginia incident, many innocent lifes would have gone in India in a more tragic way. Those news never appear. Also Rediff is obsesed with people from IIT and takes oppurtunity to mention it every time.

The following has appeared in many blog sites:

By the time you read this news, the body of Major Manish Pitambare, who was shot dead at Anantnag, would have been cremated with full military honors.

On Tuesday, this news swept across all the news channels %u2019Sanjay Dutt relieved by court%u2019. %u2019Sirf Munna not a bhai%u2019 %u201913 saal ka vanvaas khatam%u2019 %u2019although found guilty for possession of armory, Sanjay can breath sigh of relief as all the TADA charges against him are withdrawn%u2019 Then many personalities like Salman Khan said %u2019He is a good person. We knew he will come out clean%u2019. Mr Big B said %u201CDutt%u2019s family and our family have relations for years he%u2019s a good kid. He is like elder brother to Abhishek%u201D. His sister Priya Dutt said %u201CWe can sleep well tonight. It%u2019s a great relief%u201D

In other news, Parliament was mad at Indian team for performing bad; Greg Chappell said something; Shah Rukh Khan replaces Amitabh in KBC and other such stuff. But most of the emphasis was given on Sanjay Dutt%u2019s %u201Cphoenix like%u201D comeback from the ashes of terrorist charges. Surfing through the channels, one news on BBC startled me. It read %u201CHisbul Mujahidin%u2019s most wanted terrorist %u2019Sohel Faisal%u2019 killed in Anantnag , India . Indian Major leading the operation lost his life in the process. Four others are injured%u201D.

It was past midnight, I started visiting the stupid Indian channels, but Sanjay Dutt was still ruling. They were telling how Sanjay pleaded to the court saying %u2019I%u2019m the sole bread earner for my family%u2019, %u2019I have a daughter who is studying in US%u2019 and so on. Then they showed how Sanjay was not wearing his lucky blue shirt while he was hearing the verdict and also how he went to every temple and prayed for the last few months. A suspect in Mumbai bomb blasts, convicted under armory act%u2026was being transformed into a hero.

Sure Sanjay Dutt has a daughter; Sure he did not do any terrorist activity. Possessing an AK47 is considered too elementary in terrorist community and also one who possesses an AK47 has a right to possess a pistol so that again is not such a big crime; Sure Sanjay Dutt went to all the temples; Sure he did a lot of Gandhigiri but then%u2026%u2026%u2026..

Major Manish H Pitambare got the information from his sources about the terrorists%u2019 whereabouts. Wasting no time he attacked the camp, killed Hisbul Mujahidin%u2019s supremo and in the process lost his life to the bullets fired from an AK47. He is survived by a wife and daughter (just like Sanjay Dutt) who%u2019s only 18 months old.

Major Manish never said %u2019I have a daughter%u2019 before he took the decision to attack the terrorists in the darkest of nights. He never thought about having a family and he being the bread earner. No news channel covered this since they were too busy hyping a former drug addict, a suspect who%u2019s linked to bomb blasts which killed hundreds. Their aim was to show how he defied the TADA charges and they were so successful that his conviction in possession of armory had no meaning. They also concluded that his parents in heaven must be happy and proud of him.

Parents of Major Manish are still living and they have to live rest of their lives without their beloved son. His daughter won%u2019t ever see her daddy again. Finally Major Manish, to my generation is a greater hero, someone who laid his life in the name of this great nation.

So guys, please forward this message around so that the media knows which news to give importance, as it is a shame for us since this Army Major%u2019s death news was given by a foreign TV channel!!!

RE:Role of Media
by citizen on Apr 19, 2007 07:39 AM  Permalink
sounds funny that Tamil Nadu Goverment is bearing the travel expenses of the family members of a US citizen ......
The Indian govt has done enough in investing in his life in the form of education in its best institutions ..and because of it he has worked for the betterment of US for 30 years ...
Dont hav enough words appreciate the swift action of the govt to support the family of a US citizen ,while the family of those patriots who laid their lives to protect their country & country men ,have to wait for YEARS to get govt attention ...
Even though we grieve along with others over his death ,this financial help is UNCALLED FOR

by Danish Iqbal on Apr 19, 2007 08:34 AM  Permalink
With all due regards to Mr.Loganathan berieved family.
That's true, media unnnecessary creates hype on IIT,IIM, AIRPORT,FLIGHT DELAYS etc etc.In some sense it belittles other people who may not be in a position to appproach such places.We should be sensible and compassionate to people who are not IITs,IIMs,regular airport visiting.Media,please be responsible, do not create unnecessay chasm between rich and poor.It is because pf this we may suffer sometimes from disgrunteled people.We(so called rich and educated) cause to create complexes in not so fortunate persons.

by Prasanna Kumar on Apr 19, 2007 09:40 AM  Permalink
A lot of news channels in India but shows only negetive news, they never shows about our brave sholders and our inventions. they show only Cricket!Politics and Cinema and whats more?

too sad to hear about Major Manish, Hats off you my dear brave man and condolence to his family.

All media including Rediff shuold stop buplishing such unwanted news and cover the news like Major Manish

Another unfair burden to the taxpayer
by Akash Nair on Apr 19, 2007 06:48 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

With all due respect to the deceased professor and his bereaving family, why should the tax payer bear travel expenses for the whole family? I have no grievance about the ministry of External affairs working with the US consulate to facilitate paper work for the passport and Visa. In fact it is the right thing to do. But asking the tax payer to foot their travel bills is way over the top. There are families of soldiers killed by terrorists in Kargil and Kashmir, running from pillar to post, doling out bribes to scumbag politicians to get a petrol pump sanctioned, so that they can make a modest living. TN government%u2019s action to %u201Chelp%u201D the family of the deceased professor is a travesty of justice and a slap in the face of our brave marytrs who paid the ultimate price to preserve and protect the sovereignity of our country.

RE:Another unfair burden to the taxpayer
by citizen on Apr 19, 2007 07:26 AM  Permalink
Our deep condolences to all the bereaved ....
We appreciate the efforts by the concerned authorities to expediate the docs required for the family members to travel to US ,but the Tamil Nadu government bearing the travel expenses of all the family members, who would be leaving for the US on Wednesday by a Lufthansa flight, is very RIDICULOUS ...
There are so many tragedies happening all over, every day ..Will the govt act with the same heart for all ...or is this because it happened in US??????
I think the govt should do more to help its citizens who have chosen to stay back in their own country & invest their education for betterment of their homeland ,rather than being too generous to people & families of people who CHOSE to leave India & settle abroad, for monetory gain ...
Instead of blessing the family members from the tax payers money, CM could have given from his pockets ..we would have appreciated that ...this definitely is uncalled for !

by hanumanth naik on Apr 19, 2007 06:54 AM  Permalink
Very well said.

by bharat on Apr 19, 2007 07:01 AM  Permalink
The government's assistance for expediting the issue of passports to the bereaved family is understandable but for the government to bear the travel expenses is totally inapproproiate. Just because Prof Loganathan's death has occurred in a sensational incident that made international headlines does not qualify the family to receive financial assistance. Every year, a few Indians die abroad due to unnatural causes, say accidents or murders which don't appear in the news. Does the government foot the expenses for the relatives of such incidents to travel abroad for similar reasons? TN government's action will set a very bad precedence.

campus death
by nalin hiralal gosalia on Apr 19, 2007 06:38 AM  Permalink 

it was a tragedy,but we can never forsee it.with his knowledge did he contribute anything to the faculty,and i dont mean financially,if not there is no reason for the govt.to go overboard,for just he was a indian.

GV Loganathan
by Joseph Thomas on Apr 19, 2007 05:37 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Govt. of TN may bear expenses of parents of Mr Loganathan. Not for entire family at the expenses of the tax payers.
P.T. Joseph, joseph_lois@rediffmail.com
April 19

RE:GV Loganathan
by lee on Apr 19, 2007 05:55 AM  Permalink
I am sorry but i shud say this....he was thr for his own career n interest...why TN Govt bear all expenses...??? thr r many poor peoples n TN not getting food for eating.....He was american n was working for them...I want to knw wt he has done for india.Iss desh ka kuch nahi honewaala....Gand marathe rahoooo sabbbb

by aditya lad on Apr 19, 2007 06:27 AM  Permalink
Haan.Jab crores kaa corruption hota hai tab inko tax payers ke paise ki yaad nahin aati.But 5 logon ke ticket ke expense par jaise aag lag jaati hai...you are accusing the prof for working for america naa, s-o-b tell me what you have done for India since you have born.Look at us, we are Indians ??? An american will say- His fellow Indian has died and he is worried about the expenses payed by his govt.If your son dies in one of the most unfortunate act of terror in US, will you abandon him for going to US??? Sahi kahaa tumne, Tum jaise logon ki wajah se yeh desh kabi aage nahin badh paayega!!! You are frustrated coz you didnt get a chance to GO to US, coz you could never do anything in your life.You lamer if you want India to progress, leave it asap or die asap.

by Gadde Rao on Apr 19, 2007 07:24 AM  Permalink
Aditya- the greatest S- O -B.

Oh Aditya we mean only the Savour of Best.

Ok we now understand from your post you have done so much for India- Tum jaise logon ki wajah se yeh desh jaldi badh jayega!!! WE AGREE... Right Lee??

We also understand now that your name appears everyday at every Indian home for fighting for crores kaa corruption because you are the only one Indian (SOB of course), kisko yaad aati hai tax payers ke paise ke baareme since you were born!

Sahi kahaa tumne, we are all lamers. We will leave Indian asap, Ok we will die. Before that can we see your SOB photo please...

by bharat on Apr 19, 2007 07:09 AM  Permalink
We should learn from our government officials on how to make a killing out of tragedies. A few lakh rupees will be disbursed under the pretext of helping the bereaved family and I am sure not all of this money will indeed reach the family members of Prof Loganathan.

by NareshKumar Madireddy on Apr 19, 2007 07:11 AM  Permalink
I dont agree with you joseph. I sympathise for the death of Mr.Loganathan. Pl note that he has
taken up American citizenship and living there for his own career. Even his parents dont deserve to be paid for the flight charges to USA. Lets think about those poor families in TN to whom we should extend help with taxpayers money.

Why should Tax payers bear the expense?
by Shantanu Bapat on Apr 19, 2007 04:41 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The kiiling of prof Loganathan was tragic act of a maniac. Something like this should never happen to anyone. I can't imagine if something like that happening to someone close to me.
With that said, "WHY SHOULD TAX PAYERS BEAR THE EXPENSES?"
(1) Professor Loganathan was not working for Indian or Tamilnadu Govt. He was there for his own career and personal interests, just like me and all of us.
(2) He was not killed in action working for India.
(3) He was not killed by a Tamilnadu tax payer or Indian Tax payer.
(4) Incident happened in USA and not in India.
So leaving emotions aside how can govt dole out hard earned tax payer money like this?
Someone should file a petition against this kind of doling out of tax payer money.

RE:Why should Tax payers bear the expense?
by Roshan on Apr 19, 2007 05:31 AM  Permalink
Your anger is understandable. But, wait a minute.. you just indicated you too live in US for betterment of your own career, didn't you ? then why do you care what Indian government is doing.

You don't work In India
You don't like Indian Government
You disregard the decisions of an Indian government body.

Now, tell me.. why did you even bother to write this piece of message about it ? If I tell you, it is because you still care for India. after all we are all Indians and government knows that very well.

:)

RE:RE:Why should Tax payers bear the expense?
by Aditya Sharma on Apr 19, 2007 09:45 AM  Permalink
You frigging nut head ... a man here is talking sense and you are putting your dumb **** in between just for the sake of speaking.
If the F****** govt does even half of this for the families of the soldiers who die in Kashmir and elsewhere on our borders, we'll be a better country.

by sridhar nagarajan on Apr 19, 2007 05:40 AM  Permalink
I'm not sure that your train of thought leads to any logical assertion. "after all we are all Indians and government knows that very well." - yeah ...so?? Are you alluding that this justifies that TN Govt's attempted reciprocation of our 'care for india'? If so, I'd argue that this reciprocation is grossly misplaced and there cant be any genuine reason other than an endeavour to appease NRIs, to what end, I just HAVE NO CLUE! Appears to be one of those knee-jerk reactions borne out of misplaced emotion rather than anything else!

by panduranga vittal on Apr 19, 2007 08:22 AM  Permalink
It is simple. Tamil nadu governament expects to get chap popularity. Especially these things are very common with Karunanidhi Governament.

by shweta rai on Apr 19, 2007 04:51 AM  Permalink
any thing for votes my dear
the family must have made there arrangments by now and the govt is only making announcements and later money will be drawn from govt accounts in the name of this but will go in there accounts not to the family.

by bharat on Apr 19, 2007 07:05 AM  Permalink
This is politics and is specially relevant in Tamil Nadu where people are more emotional than many other parts of the country. This move is aimed at exploiting the prevailing sentinent among the people and extracting polical mileage.

Governments role
by hanumanth naik on Apr 19, 2007 04:13 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I hope our government is not trying to take political milleage from this event. Interestingly no such details have emerged from the Minal's tragedy. Media plays a big role in governments response. Several Indians die overseas in accidents, and I know my best friend who died in an accident in US. The news was no where leave alone any support from the biased government.

RE:Governments role
by nalin gosalia on Apr 19, 2007 06:47 AM  Permalink
no i dont agree that the govt should give the ticket for them to go.may be they have political clouts.all assistence at govt level should be given.his last wish was to have the rites in verginia where he felt he belonged.and he made the choice of his "karmabhumi".i respect it,no need to go overboard.

by TishaBhatia on Apr 19, 2007 04:26 AM  Permalink
Political mileage from this incident? Please be more specific. I agree that plenty of them die in accidents abroad. But a tragedy of this sort as I see it,is none less than an act of terror. If the world is coming together in support of this family in their time of crisis - I would not look upon it with suspicion.

by farokh Anklesaria on Apr 19, 2007 04:32 AM  Permalink
Well said tisha. It is not a question of political mileage rather more so specifically related to the kind of incident that occured. On the contrary for once the government has acted nobly and should be applauded. Regarding Minal's case definitely it would be really nice if gov had made the same arrengement.

RE:RE:Governments role
by hanumanth naik on Apr 19, 2007 07:40 AM  Permalink
So you mean no one in India died so tragically?? My response was why this sudden sympathy from Govt of India. Govt response till issue passport is appreciable but not paying money.

Total 57 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2