Total 341 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Older >   >>
It is by the PEOPLE not by political people
by Harshavardhana Reddy on Apr 20, 2007 11:38 AM  Permalink 

All the developments are happening becaus eof the people who want to change their life respectfully. Pls support those type of people. Now the people are demanding for their rights, I am sure that soon we will see New India.

Well done Respected Nitish Kumar
by ravi pandey on Apr 20, 2007 10:56 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I belong to Bihar in SASARAM and have been In Bokaro Steel City since chaldhood days. Today I am an Software Engineer in a big MNC in Indore.
I am extremely happy with the approach of Nitish Kumar. Hew has done a very good jobs But
Please mind that lots of such jobs have to be done yet. This is not even 1% of that. Need not to mention that Some people have looted our Bihar to the foolest. After a long time We have got a good CM.
If someone asks me what should be done yet as the first job is Make schools everywhere in Bihar and making schools is not enough. Decorate it with all the basic facilities. Give good salary to teachers so that they would really like to teach in the class.Other thing is the connectivity like proper Roads, telephone lines etc. Lets start with them and continue over.
I am sure Our CM would have already planned for all these. Best of Luck to You Sir.
Please make my Bihar the same like it was during the Independence(I mean one of the most developed states in India)

RE:Well done Respected Nitish Kumar
by mrityunjay sahu on Apr 20, 2007 05:22 PM  Permalink
Hello, this is my request to all the Bihari's that the development which has started now may take long time. therefore we have to give chance to our CM on more time, i mean whenever you go home please tell people from ur village to give vote to NITISH KUMAR.
HE WILL DEFENITELY CHANGE THE FACE OF BIHAR.

RE:Well done Respected Nitish Kumar
by amit on Apr 20, 2007 02:07 PM  Permalink
Dear Ravi, Construction of roads and infrastructure in full swing, gov spending 300 crores rs for patna only, Massive progress can be seen on some NH, in recent news Nitish Kumar(CM) said that one should reach capital patna in 5.30 Hours from anywhere in Bihar, i am also residing in delhi but hopeful that situation will change and this will enhance the confidence of bihar as well.........good luck for future ....Amit kumar

RE:RE:Well done Respected Nitish Kumar
by alok ranjan on Apr 21, 2007 12:17 PM  Permalink
Hi Ravi
whatever u have discussed above, MR. Kumar has already taken the initiative in that field, be it education, roads, power, we need to give him time to get it implemented, it cant be done overnight

rediff is slowly learning...
by samir agrawal on Apr 20, 2007 10:44 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

rediff sud understand that there will b lot of takers for stories like this..after all, all true indians will b interested in knowing what real developments are happening in our country which can take india into the league of developed nation...it also throws light on the fact that efforts like these by a govt. can make a big difference in the way ppl can improve their life...it also eposes the corruption and indifferent attitude of ex bihar govt. esp laloo-rabri, who made themselves and their family richer and educated at the expense of ppl of bihar...

RE:rediff is slowly learning...
by protyush ghosh on Apr 20, 2007 11:48 AM  Permalink
Still no water in Rajdhani Exp toilets. And the dinner caused food poisoning.

by rohit roy on Apr 20, 2007 12:12 PM  Permalink
It's Shailendra Kumar in Railway and not Lalu who is doing the magic. Shailendra singh and his collegues are responsible for this change which took about 7 years to click.
IIM news is just half baked story. Simple logic: If he was so smart why he ruined Bihar?

RE:RE:rediff is slowly learning...
by Subba Rao Vure on Apr 20, 2007 02:32 PM  Permalink
Rohit roy is right. Work done by Railway officials and previous Railway Minister Mr.Nitish Kumar. But the credit goes to Mr.Lalu.As long as he won't put his finger in the administration, Railways will get profit. If he wants to try what he has done in Bihar, the state of affairs of Railways will be like Bihar under the rule of Mr.Lalu.

by samir agrawal on Apr 20, 2007 01:55 PM  Permalink
thats true!!!lalu is just gud for nothing...if he was so smart and honest, he wud hav done some meaningful things for bihar in his 15 yrs of misrule...although, railway started making profits just 2 yrs after he became railway minister, it is difficult to digest that its solely bcoz of his efforts..i think only time will tell the true story(may b a new govt. at the centre with a new railway miniter will b able to reveal this)

by raja ray on Apr 20, 2007 02:08 PM  Permalink
Not to mention the little issue of in-laws travelling ticket less in AC coaches

by Ethos K on Apr 20, 2007 10:50 AM  Permalink
well one thing i dont understand is...after laloo being so corrupt...how come he was able to run railways in a total success something that noone cud ever do...and he ends up giving a class at HBS - something which 90% of us can never ever dream of...!! i guess he's probably doing these things to get moksh of all the paap he has done in bihar..

by ravi verma on Apr 20, 2007 12:28 PM  Permalink
people living outside Bihar may not understand the LALOO PRASAD YADAV. But we Biharis know him very well.It's Media of our country who made Laloo's larger than life image. My question to all of you...Have you ever seen him giving reasons of turnaround.Never, even in IIM-A.Ye to kisi ka boya hua hai jo LALOO JI kaat rahe hain. Otherwise he has no guts to run even a Municipal Corporation of small city.

by Meenakshi S on Apr 20, 2007 10:55 AM  Permalink
If given a chance he still is corrupt. The only difference is, for a change I guess he let the IAS officials to do their job without interfering in their decisions and work processes. the wishes for the railways turnaround should go more to the IAS officials and less to Laloo. he's just taking the credit for all their good work. also, the wily politician that he is, he'll use this as a spring board for his political mileage at Bihar. i'm sure he's not done with Bihar yet as he's planned and he'll return. mark my words! all this is drama that he's doing to regain power in Bihar. that day would indeed be the most awful day in the history of Bihar.

by raja ray on Apr 20, 2007 02:09 PM  Permalink
u forgot to mention the little issue of in-laws travelling ticket less in AC coaches

by ravi verma on Apr 20, 2007 12:30 PM  Permalink
people living outside Bihar may not understand the LALOO PRASAD YADAV. But we Biharis know him very well.It's Media of our country who made Laloo's larger than life image. My question to all of you...Have you ever seen him giving reasons of turnaround.Never, even in IIM-A.Ye to kisi ka boya hua hai jo LALOO JI kaat rahe hain. Otherwise he has no guts to run even a Municipal Corporation of small city.

by ravi verma on Apr 20, 2007 12:26 PM  Permalink

by ravi pandey on Apr 20, 2007 11:02 AM  Permalink
I am sure Its not because of Laloo. If its really true, can he give a list of the different works he has done which none other could do. I agree his ideas are good enough but not always practical. Its only because of the improving Economic conditions of the people. Todays lots of jobs are there. people are making good money and lots of other factors are there in the contribution of Profir making Railways. Laloo only knows how to block the education system to poor people. How to arrange MBBS degrees. How to escape from the ghotalas kands and lots more.

by andre joseph on Apr 20, 2007 11:40 AM  Permalink
Why don't we stop criticizing Laloo and look at what he has done. Half a century went by without the railways making money and incidentally with Laloo at the helm, the railways is flush with money. I am reminded of a story I read somewhere. Columbus after discovering America went into a bar to have a drink. There were a lot of drunks in the bar and one of them pointing to Columbus said:
"Here's the guy who discovered America" to which another drunk said:"So what's so great in discovering America? Any idiot with a boat could have done what he did." Columbus asked the bartender for an egg and went over to the group of drunks. "Can any of you gentlemen stand this egg on it's tip" asked Columbus. "That's easy" said a drunk taking the egg from Columbus's hand. He tried and tried but the egg toppled over. After all the drunks at the table had tried and given up, Columbus asked them: "Now can I show you gentlemen how to stand an egg on it's tip"? The drunks were silent. Columbus took the egg and gave it's tip of the egg a slight tap on the table and stood it on it's tip. "That's easy" said the drunks. "So why didn't you gentlemen do it"? asked Columbus.
So, let Laloo do his job. He's doing well and come what may, he's at the top and the railways is laughing all the way to the bank.

by Anusha R on Apr 20, 2007 11:45 AM  Permalink
Andre....one thing I agree...whether LALOO does something good or not, by not becoming a hindrance to the Railway ministry/proposals, he is really helping...

one more thing...why should we stop criticizing Laloo... you may choose to forget his attrocities in Bihar - we cannot.

by andre joseph on Apr 20, 2007 12:47 PM  Permalink
Anusha, sorry, I know how difficult it is for people affected by a person's misrule not to hate him for that. Well, my comments were reserved for the railways, not about his rule in Bihar. Of course, I know how he ran a a government with his wife as chief minister. What the people of Bihar did is what he deserved. Threw him out lock stock and barrel. I hope Nitish Kumar achieves his goal of improving the lives of people in Bihar. It breaks my heart to think that a state with India's oldest centres of learning is in such bad shape in education. What a sorry state of affairs things have reached in our country. It is high time all of us united to throw out every corrupt politician. I haven't lived in India for sometime now, but miss India very much. Sorry if I hurt you guys in any way.

by Anusha R on Apr 20, 2007 10:58 AM  Permalink
Ethos - there may be two reasons:
1. Overnight one cannot make a turnaround in any loss making Industry - the positive turnaround may be the result of the previous Minister/government who have put in their efforts to come out with a strategy to revive the loss making Railways.
2. No doubt, Laloo is very smart (you need not get educated in IIMs, ISBs to be smart to understand a system which functions in front of you - just use the brain and IQ). He studied the proposals and gave a nod to implement the same (may be he was not able to come out with an alternate to the proposal placed before him) and it took off. It became so simple for him to take credit of that and start speaches of the success.
3. Laloo, being ousted from Bihar, had ample time to himself to concentrate on the Ministry which he was given charge or (he had nothing to do with Bihar for quite some time - moreso, there were many cases being initiated against him).
4. This is an opportunity which he has utilised very well to put the black marks behind the brain of people and come out of the corruption/murder charges levelled against him, leading to his long time ambition of becoming Prime Minister of India, one day.

Bihar is Rising...... a turnaround for sure
by srinivas alwala on Apr 20, 2007 10:43 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

WELDON GAURAV SINHA, GREAT JOB.

BIHAR PEOPLE SHOULD NOT FORGET NITISH KUMAR'S REMARKABLE RULING.

BIHAR PEOPLE SHOULD ELECT NITISH KUMAR AS THEIR C.M. EVERY 5 YEARS TERM.SO THAT THE BIHAR CAN REACH TO NO.1 POSITION.
Bihar is Rising...... a turnaround for sure
by Gaurav Sinha on Apr 20, 2007 10:25 AM

1) Few weeks ago, Bihar becomes the 1st state of India to accept supreme courts advice to implement new police act to free police from political interference and do positive policing. no other state has yet implemented this.

2) Bihar has become the 1st state of India to implement Right of Information fully and even on phone lines.

3) Bihar has become the first state of India to provide 50% reservation to women in panchayati Raj and extending it to assembly soon, a step which always failed in parliment of India even after having a lady president of the ruling party.

4) Police for the first time in India behaved like people friendly where they admitted 80,000 extremely poor children who had never been to schools, directly to schools, which sets examples to other states.

5) 1 year ago Bihar government recruited Ex-Armymen to it's special auxiliary force, a new way to benefit state security as well as armymen.
Same is being done for state vigilance where Ex-CBI officers are being recruited.

7) A compulsive policy implementation which sanctions amount to each school to avail basic amenties to students.
This is irony that while the government in Bihar is opposition of central government, the central government has declared most of the above described steps of the Nitish Kumar government as a model implementations should be followed by rest of India.

Most of these initiatives which I described above, were on Human resources side but there have been lots of postive changes in toto, which I continued with new Nitish Kumar, will surely make Bihar a developed state, a thing which looked impossible few months back!
But I ask Biharis who are well settled and residing aborad..that why don't they contribute to the state and stand only like shameless viewer of all ongoings be it bad or good? can't they adopt single children and provide him/her with complete education till college level and create a great citizen. I have done so and glad to tell you guys that the boy whom I had adopted is on the path of ebcoming a software engineer. Why you guys can;t do so witht he udner privilageds?
Don't leave everything to Nitish Kumar, do something yourself too.

RE:Bihar is Rising...... a turnaround for sure
by amit on Apr 20, 2007 02:15 PM  Permalink
True srinivas,,,,,,,,,

RE:Bihar is Rising...... a turnaround for sure
by Anusha R on Apr 20, 2007 10:45 AM  Permalink
sir.. a small correction... it is not Nitish Kumar's RULING.. it is Nitish Kumar's government and GOVERNANCE... Laloo was RULING Bihar.. even now many other states are under RULING..

Bihar & Rediff
by gurpreet singh on Apr 20, 2007 10:43 AM  Permalink 

Its a good article focousing on some reality of our country,i think we the people of India should rather consider topics as this rather than marriages of bolliwood stars....keep it up Rediff

Lalu Message
by san man on Apr 20, 2007 10:42 AM  Permalink 

"Hi, my name is Lalu Prasad Yadav. I have looted the state, encouraged goonda raj, rigged votes for myself, promoted corruption. But I want you to know that when the poor go uneducated IT'S ALL THE FAULT OF THE EVIL UPPER CASTES!"

RE:stop boring us.
by Anusha R on Apr 20, 2007 10:42 AM  Permalink
wah Indian (are you an Indian)... when your house is in fire and the neighbor says 'to hell with you', how do you feel... If this is what your feelings for fellow Indians, you will not hesitate to say the same to your kith and kin (even parents)...

by Ethos K on Apr 20, 2007 10:43 AM  Permalink
well probably people like u...enjoy reading abt rakhi sawant and meghna naidu and the like..assuming ur user name...

but there are some people who like to read sensible journalism, other than abt these rakhis bouncers and what mandira bedi wears and who is attending small b's wedding...

by samir agrawal on Apr 20, 2007 10:48 AM  Permalink
Anusha & Ethos!!stop commenting on this crap comments...ppl like him are big blot on this nation...if he doesnt enjoy meaningful articls, then he sud not waste his time here and sud visit some porn sites which is meant for ppl like him..

Good News
by raghavacharyulu nallani on Apr 20, 2007 10:31 AM  Permalink 

After so many days of movies and movie star news which are absolutely nonsense and not the topics for discussion, Rediff woke up today to provide some news with substance. Good move. Expecting more articles like this rather than creating blog fights in between the readers. Publish more news about Bihar and the developments (if there are any) taking place there after the Ravan Raj by Laloo and his un-educated wife. Photo features are best and we want them.

UP/Bihar
by Anusha R on Apr 20, 2007 10:27 AM  Permalink 

India shining, IT investments, mushrooming BPOs, skyscrappers, hundred of malls, IIMs, ISBs, IITs, Internet revolution, tourism attractions, and what now... when we read such article, we feel that UP/Bihar are not part of India et all. Unfortunately, our Parliament is consisting of maximum number of MPs and Ministers from those states. It is very visible and clear that the politicians of UP/Bihar were/is never interested in making these States progress with Education and better life conditions, fearing loss of their upmanship and political status and ministerial berths.
We will India get a Parliament to take care of the entire nation without any bias, particularly in education, infrastructure, food supplies, irrigation and medical facilities...

AT Last!
by Meenakshi S on Apr 20, 2007 10:26 AM  Permalink 

My 'atlast!' is for various reasons:
1) Finally, rediff has written about something that's worth reading about
2) Finally, the girls from Bihar are fighting for their basic rights and coming out of the cucoon they've been in for so long

The state has been greatly misruled by Laloo for his own ends. His perverted mind that made him maitain or aggravate the caste system and degrade the state into total disrepair for his vote bank politics. He blundered a state of great natural wealth and prosperity for his personal gain of being in power, and clung on to it as long as he could. There were times when i'd despaired for the state. There were also times when i'd felt the people of the state deserved what they got from Laloo for choosing him. But then, no politician, and particularly, not Laloo was above board or clean in his electoral proceedings. Most of the votes were rigged. So, all i could do was only pity the people of the state. It's really heartening to know that the girls are willing to fight for their basic rights & needs. Let's fervently hope and pray that the state regains it's lost glory. Most of all, kudos to Nitish Kumar for doing some exemplary work in the state and bringing about a turnaround in the fortunes of the state.

Total 341 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Older >   >>