We aim to study...they aim to kill. We aim to serve humanity..they aim to destroy humanity.
Tragic.Saddening.Heartbreaking.
My heartfelt condolences to the members of the bereaved family. Ms.Minal and my late daughter share the same birthday..thier tragic death in tragic circumstances is also very close.
condolences to all who lost their life except the killer. why restrict to only indians all those who died has aspirations and bright future and only hteir fault is to be in the wrong place it is a loss for all those families and usa has to stop this culture f guns and schools need to havea dept for psycho ananlysis to help students who are a..h...e shits
My heartfelt condolences to the family members of Minal Panchal and of other students who got killed in the shooting spree at virginia Tech. I Wish the Almighty shall grant peace to the departed souls.
As this kind of situation is not new in US,to avoid this kind of nasty thing the university's student counselling system should take atleast partial responsbility.There should be many student counsellers atleast one per dormitory and they should monitor and know student living conditions.If any one is behaving differently, helping them psychologically mostly prevent this kind of happenings again.
My heartfelt condolences to the family members of Minal Panchal and of other students who got killed in the shooting spree at virginia Tech. I Wish the Almighty shall grant peace to the departed souls.
As this kind of situation is not new in US,to avoid this kind of nasty thing the university's student counselling system should take atleast partial responsbility.There should be many student counsellers atleast one per dormitory and they should monitor and know student living conditions.If any one is behaving differently, helping them psychologically mostly prevent this kind of happenings again.
It is heartbreaking to learn about the violent death of this young Indian. A promising career and a life full of great hope has abruptly come to an end. As a person having nieces and nephews as young as Minal, I am concerned and at the same time, offer my heartfelt condolences to the bereaved family.
RE:RE:Sad demise of Minal Panchal
by vishwas joshi on Apr 18, 2007 10:13 PM Permalink
DOnt worry after some days Bush will say it was plot of Bin La Din - lol ---------hahahahaha!!!! Abe tum log kyun ro rahe ho - CNN is not even showing photos of students who r not US citizens and all Indian news channels r showing photos of Minal from orkut website and more bewakuf Indians r still sracping her on orkut
RE:Sad demise of Minal Panchal
by on Apr 24, 2007 09:19 AM Permalink
and BJP will say the hand of Congress was with him!!! Let us clean up our acts. India a so called secular country doe not even have religious freedom. Missionaries being burned and people being jailed for speaking the truth and laws enacted as anti conversion bill.
What need is there to make such a hue and cry over the killing of two indians in the shhotout? The student might had died in an accident or illness for all we care. She must be belonging to a privileged family to go and persue her study abroad . Then she would had settled down permanently in that country after getting all that subsidised education in her country. What use would that be to her own countrymen? And the teacher who was killed himself expressed the desire for his last rites in the US. In fact he was asking his parents to join him there. Do you know how much our elite institutions like IIT and IIMs are suffering from shortage of faculties? The best brains of our country still think of going abroad instead of putting their education in use here.Campus shootouts are nothing new in US where obtaining arms is easy job. So let us stop all this mindess arguing and fighting over a non-topic.We have far more important things to argue about.
RE:indian student killed in Virginia shooting
by praveen on Apr 18, 2007 03:52 PM Permalink
Makes one wonder if you posess either a head or heart. May be a psych evaluation will help you.
by Tanya Shah on Apr 18, 2007 05:05 PM Permalink
dont post such crap dasgupta. If you dont respect the life than get your grey matter checked.
A life of a priviledged and the under priviledged holds the same value....god forbid but imaging the victim being one of your sibling or close to your heart and imagine her a priviledged child...would you mourn the death or not....
by Chilla Mat on Apr 18, 2007 08:12 PM Permalink
Dasgupta....Daru pita hai kya din raat...?? Abbe India India kya chilla raha hai..?? Insaan ki jaan gayi, samaza kar thoda...and why u against anyone who makes choices of their life...People have always migrated in search of something...Do u live in the same village where your grandPa was living..?? Stop preaching people what they should do, where they should live and work....Everyone has right of betterment.....and its everyone's choice ..you can not dictate that under false image of patriotism. All over the world immigrants have always helped their mother/father country. know more before you shout.
RE:RE:indian student killed in Virginia shooting
by saunak jyotindra pandya on Apr 18, 2007 08:43 PM Permalink
Indeed the way Dasgupta convey her view are totally wrong, but tell me you mourners how much of you feel same kind of pain when some thousands of innocentd died in India due to terrorism. We just read and forget about daily incident took place in India. They are also innocent people who has nothing to do with killer. Everyone hypes it coz this incident took place in US , that is wrong. Killing of human is barbarism irrespective whether its happens in India or in US.
by on Apr 24, 2007 09:26 AM Permalink
Mr Dasgupta, you are a patriotic loser of Indian origin , no doubt. Jealous that you could not go abroad, fuming because you could not succeed financially and cribbing about the brain drain from IITs and IIMs. As if you live to serve manking and your country. Get a life....
by Ravindra LB on Apr 18, 2007 04:04 PM Permalink
Something's wrong with you Dasgupta.. No wonder a person lik you would committ this sorta crime.. Absolute nonsense.. Feel for what has happened..
by shalini mahanty on Apr 18, 2007 05:36 PM Permalink
To some extent you are right. Lot of things (changes) are to be done in this country but probably this is not the right moment or the right way to do so. At the we are all humans and humanity is the prime religion so let us give some respect to the departed soul.
Now let us also try to do something good for our community if not the country.
by ukudup adop on Apr 18, 2007 04:04 PM Permalink
Your post is more barbaric than actual killing.It is rather a tragedy that we have nincompoops of your nature flourishing in India. You are an extremist and the CBI and FBI should watch. The post stinks. Incorrigible people have no good words for humanity. To be together at the time of loss of life to console is humane. I doubt whether you are one.
by iced spice on Apr 18, 2007 03:11 PM Permalink
A life taken is a life taken. How can u discount it like dat? Only ppl who lose somebody like dat no the pain. If u donn give a damn, then come here n post crap. Its not abt bein abroad wen she died...daz her choice to study there. N wat yr jealous of the fact dat she belongs to a priveleged family. Wat kind of crap is dat. The fact is dat she was a victim of some idiot's violence. Wud u say the same abt a siblin or frd whoz abroad n dies like dat??? Hell No!!! U wud be mournin it too. Its a tragedy dat somebody lost their life like dat for no fault of theirs. But u have no rt to discount the value of their life like this.
by Ken on Apr 18, 2007 04:47 PM Permalink
Firstly, any life lost is a life lost and deserves utmost sympathy. Given the nature of their deaths, they deserve more sympathy and heartfelt condolences. Having said that, I think media (again driven by their understandong of what sells and what does not) is trying to overhype this issue. Mr/Ms. Dasgupta is right to an extent when he/she says this is not the most important issue facing the country. For one, a drunkard who ran over 6 pavement dwellers has been Let's move on to something more relevant to Indians. We might as well be discussing some nerdy topic on next generation computers - as relevant to us here as this topic is. US Gun laws are obviously important to US citizens and have a background to that group of this world's population. Let's not comment on unknown topics!
by Rambo I on Apr 18, 2007 06:54 PM Permalink
Miss Dasgupta! Pathetic! Deplorable! People are sad or passing condolences not because Prof or Minal anyone of their use. They are feeling sad about it. Life is not all about calculating usefulness/non-usefulness and then reacting.
You Lack emotions! Sorry to say if someone else around you'd die we will be sorry you better take your pen and paper...calculate your IMPORTANCE of dropping 5ml of tears & react! Gud Luck!
Do you realise this incident is happening in USA (most liberal country) and the killer is from South Korea (one of the most peacefull and civilize country. It's really a SAD scene.
RE:This is happening in America
by Tanya Shah on Apr 18, 2007 05:08 PM Permalink
Bakshi one cant blame the President of the country for such act....Bush aint responsible for atleast this massacre...
RE:This is happening in America
by Vishal Jadhav on Apr 18, 2007 01:51 PM Permalink
The extent of furore is the biggest here...in India (2nd most populated country)...lol.
We extend our heartfelt condolences to the bereaved family members of Minal Panchal in the brutal shoot-out in USA. We pray the Almighty to grant eternal peace to the departed soul. Nagarajans-Arun/ Reeta
When I saw today's TOI I was surprised to see a half front page devoted to this news. I feel sorry for all those (Indians and non Indians) who died. But how much importance we have to give to this news? Shower prise on those people who are doing the work for India and not those who consume resources of India (in this case low cost education)and benefit other nation. Same applies to the former India born NASA scientist who died in tragic airbrorn accident. There are so many intellectuals who are serving for our mother nation. To name few Jayant Naralikar, Narayan Murthy, Abdul Kalam. We have to highlight them so that icons like these can become inspiration for our kids and younger generation. We are setting a trend where we are making these Indian born US citizens as our heros. How much contribution they are making for India? News like this should be somewhere in the middle page and not on frontpage
RE:How much important this news is?
by Akram on Apr 18, 2007 03:30 PM Permalink
well said ji - these people were in US only for their monetary gains and contribute nothing for the country.
i was very much disturbed when Indian brn Pepsi CEO name was nominated for the Indian of the year, whose contribution was null to country and also the news of a keralite lady joinin the US Army
RE:RE:How much important this news is?
by Chilla Mat on Apr 18, 2007 08:30 PM Permalink
Akram kya chakram jaisi baate kar rahe ho..?? and if you are that disturbed abt Pepsi then never drink Pepsi ..Drink ganne ka juice .. Of course people migrate for some kinda gain...that doesnt mean they dont contribute ..You fail to realise it and thats your problem.....First Think , what you contribute for your country..? If you are contributing then people will follow the good act (and in that case you wont have to preach others) and if you are not, read ur lines 100 times....
by Vishal Jadhav on Apr 18, 2007 01:38 PM Permalink
I agree that the news should not have hogged half the page in TOI.
by on Apr 18, 2007 10:16 PM Permalink
hey dude Shailesh, I think you need to meet a shrink. Do u have a heart? If you can, express your condolences for the death of your fellow Indian.This is not time to discuss these issues you jerk. How dare you judge people who are working abroad doesn't contribute anything to India. Do you know that they donate a lot to help the poor here in India? Do you know that they money send back to India is in a way helping the country's economy. Do you know that a jerk like you could get a job becauz these peolple don't compete with for jobs in India. Why do you westeners are out sourcing jobs to India? How do you think they got that trust initially on Indians?
by saunak pandya on Apr 18, 2007 08:51 PM Permalink
100% right Shailesh, When 50000 people died in gujarat earthquake, US newspapers reported it on small coloum. Why should our newspaper uses half page for lost of 33 lives? Unaka khoon khoon or hamara khoon pani?
by rajat on Apr 18, 2007 04:41 PM Permalink
i hope for your family's sake that you are not gunned down someday by a random gunman. you apparently dont understand what had happened.
by Chilla Mat on Apr 18, 2007 08:25 PM Permalink
NaikSaab ....TOI is a newspaper. NEwsmaking is a business . and TOI are there since many decades doing their business. You were not even born THEN. And now you tell them, what they should do.....And you decide which page they should print WHAT..... What a genious...If you didnt like it ,dont read it...Read only Kalam,Murthy etc. and what a logic about low cost education etc etc .. Are you a teacher in the same school where u got your EDUCATION..?? Think Bigger man....Don't just to stuck up one town,one state, region, country....and atleast not when there is tragic event happened...